Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s: Taking it Easy

This week I have been home a lot more and taking it easy, or rather catching on some work.  I got a new computer the other day, so I am also trying to download all my software again, trying to remember what I had on it.  I am also trying to set up things like Lightroom properly, which I really didn’t do the first time.  It will be good to have it set up right, from the beginning.  I know so much more about it now, which is fantastic.  It is going to be a slow process, I’m sure, there are things I am not looking forward to.  I won’t be able to use Photomatix anymore unless I want to buy it again, as they won’t let me download it again.  Oh well, maybe it is time to start using and trying some other software.

Last night I was in at the Royal Exhibition Building trying to get some early evening shots. I haven’t really had a chance to work on many, but I did a couple for you to see.  They are long exposures, a couple of minutes each.  I didn’t use any filters, it was just the night and light determining how long they should be. It is so much fun doing this.  The clouds were moving so quickly, so they looked fantastic.

I will leave you today with two images.  I hope you can enjoy some quiet time today.

45 Comments
  1. We love parallel lives I am sure! same here with my new computer..photoshop is useless on it as the program appears to struggle with a better res computer..so trialling Lightroom and already made a right mess of it! I do love what can be done in it so may just scrap what I have done and start over..transferring files has been a pill..so I feel your pain! so I have a TV on my table in my sewing room hooked up to both computers and am surrounded by chaos..weekend we make a cork board bwahahaa 🙂 hugs Bev

    February 5, 2015
    • We do, though I have to say, so far everything has gone smoothly for me, and everything is working well. It sounds like you are in a bit of mess, LOL. Chaos, I think you might love it. 😀

      February 5, 2015
  2. I love that fountain image. Your night photography is always brilliant.

    February 5, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, that is nice to hear.

      February 5, 2015
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The Royal Exhibition Building looks all lit up! Reading your message I could hear my father in my head: “Do a job once and do it right.”

    February 5, 2015
    • The light it up at night, well some of it, probably more when there is an exhibition on. Haha, when I put lightroom on my laptop, I didn’t really know what I was doing, but I have a better idea now, so a new beginning. Thanks Jackie.

      February 5, 2015
  4. Have fun with your new computer.

    February 5, 2015
  5. as they say in French Superb! 😀

    February 5, 2015
  6. Reblogged this on Benji Martin Photography.

    February 5, 2015
  7. Pretty! I love the soft glow of the fountain and sky.

    February 5, 2015
    • How cool is it Cynthia, I love it too. Thank you.

      February 5, 2015
  8. Very nice images. I particularly like the one with the dome in it. The light radiating from the background is terrific.

    February 5, 2015
    • The light in the background is coming from the city Tim, quite amazing. Thank you.

      February 5, 2015
      • Yes they are. I just got a new heavier tripod and I’m anxious to get out and use it. We’re expecting rain so I may have to wait.

        February 5, 2015
      • I have a heavy tripod too, so worth the money. Hopefully the rain will hold off until you can use it. Maybe some approaching storm photos, or time lapse.

        February 5, 2015
      • Nice ideas. Thanks

        February 5, 2015
      • You’re welcome Tim, good luck, I hope you get some good shots.

        February 5, 2015
      • Me too

        February 5, 2015
      • 🙂

        February 5, 2015
  9. I like the second shot a lot where the sky looks a bit purplish. It’s my favourite spot to look at the REB when I’m there. Haven’t been around that area at night, I’m sure it was quiet and peaceful. Have fun with the new computer. Setting it up takes a while but you have shiny new gadget to play with, which is certainly fun 😀

    February 5, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, it is such a gorgeous building, I think I like it at night. You should go, but go with someone, I think I might run a special social snappers there at some stage. It was quiet, you could hear the city, and see the rats playing, that wasn’t so nice. Thanks, the new computer is great so far, having lots of fun with it. It can take a while, but I am sure I will get there eventually. 😀

      February 5, 2015
  10. ….lovely effect!

    February 5, 2015
  11. These look great Leanne!

    February 5, 2015
  12. Just beautifully quiet !

    February 5, 2015
    • I like quiet images, so that is great to hear, thank you.

      February 5, 2015
      • You know, I am always jealous of your photo taking my dear friend. 😀

        February 5, 2015
      • No, you don’t need to be, it is all in the processing really. I just know how to dress them up nicely. 😀

        February 5, 2015
      • I Think I must learn intensively. Have a great day my dear friend. 🙂

        February 5, 2015
      • Just take it slowly and keep learning, best thing to do, thank you, night time here, time to sleep, YOu have a great day. 🙂

        February 5, 2015
  13. I hate it when computer upgrade time comes around, such a lot of wasted time to get things back on an even keel. Good luck with it all.

    February 5, 2015
    • So far it has been too bad, this new one has twice as much memory, so that has to be good. I am looking forward to doing some great images on it. Thanks Bill.

      February 5, 2015
  14. Nice night images……

    February 5, 2015
  15. Beautiful shots! Good luck with your new computer! I did the same in the Fall – ups and downs – but finally got it all working.

    February 6, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, so far it hasn’t been too bad, though I still have lots of software to install. My problem is the license keys, no idea where they are.

      February 6, 2015
  16. Have fun with your new computer. I use Photoscape a lot but that is rather limited. I also have GIMP which I have been encouraged to use more often. I have struggled with that before. But I used my iPad most of the time for my black and white. Snapseed and Aviary are my go to apps. It is something I love to do in the evenings which is how I did my black and white series. I must look into getting Lightroom. Lovely long exposures.

    February 6, 2015
    • Thanks Raewyn, it has been great so far, so much faster. I haven’t heard of Photoscape, I have used GIMP in the past, but not for a long time, I must install it on this computer, I have heard it has improved since the days I was trying to use it. I have snapseed on my phone and use it quite there as well. Lightroom is a great tool to have, it can really help you sort your photos and work on them. Everything done in it is non destructive, so your original image is always intact.

      February 6, 2015
  17. beautiful 🙂

    February 7, 2015
  18. Yay. Cool to see you here again. My second website, well personal chats. I am a computer tech, but GOD knows sometimes I hate having to start all over on a new computer. All those installations again and loading and plugin, sheesh. Then again we do junk up out PC over time so a fresh start means we only install what we need and use mostly than anything else.

    February 9, 2015
    • It can be a bit of a pain getting a new computer, but so far it has been good, though I still have lots to download and install, but plenty of time to do it I think.

      February 9, 2015

Comments are closed.

