Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: More from Melbourne Zoo

melbourne-zoo-animals-0475

As I said yesterday I’ve been to the Melbourne Zoo a couple of times recently, once for Social Snappers, and then again just for the morning to get a few more images.  The membership is going to be great for that I think, just being able to pop in and out whenever I like.  Of course the other benefit is that Melbourne Zoo is part of a bigger group, and there are actually three zoos here in Melbourne.  This is the main one, but there is also Healesville Sanctuary, and then the Werribee Open Range Zoo.  They each work together to help the animals.

melbourne-zoo-animals-9868

One of the first places we headed was to the new lion enclosure.  I hadn’t seen it before, so I thought it would be good to go and take a look at it. This is all we could see of the lions. Which supports that notion that the enclosure is there so the animals can see us if they want, and if they don’t, they can hide.

melbourne-zoo-animals-0342

The first time we went past the tiger he was pacing up and down past a doorway, I think he was waiting for food. As we walking out of this area the tiger was sitting on the rocks near the front and was just staring back at the crowds.  Perhaps trying to decide which person it could have for dinner.

melbourne-zoo-animals-0467

The second time I went we went into the Lemur enclosure.  Very high tech to get into it as you are in the enclosure with them.  You can get very close to them, though there are still people there to make sure you don’t touch or do anything to them.  You will see a bigger picture of this guy in the gallery, he was just sitting on the fence, in a very relaxed manner watching us go by.

melbourne-zoo-animals-0531

This was something I was happy with, seeing the gorilla going to sleep on the ground.  I had to take the photograph through the glass, so I was happy that I didn’t seem to get any reflections.

melbourne-zoo-animals-0624

The giraffes are always great to watch.  We weren’t quite sure what was happening here, but it was still fun.  You could look at the animals here and feel sorry for them, but after my trip to Werribee Zoo last year I realise that many of the animals, like the giraffes and zebras are on kept at this zoo for a short time before they are transported back to Werribee Zoo where they can roam around in conditions much like the Savannah. I don’t know how often they rotate them, but it is done, so it is good to know they get a break.

melbourne-zoo-animals-0837

I don’t go into the Australian animal enclosure often, I see animals like what is in there around my home all the time, but we decided to go in and take a look. There are signs saying stick to the path and we came across another volunteer, and she said that we could pat one of the kangaroos because she was lying under the rope.  Apparently these kangaroos had been somewhere else where they got quite used to humans before going to the zoo so didn’t mind people patting them.  She loved being scratched around the ears.

I only have to go one more time to the zoo and I will have paid for the membership, meaning that the membership costs $88 but a visit to the zoo is $30 each time, so it works out well. The membership also means I get free entry to the Werribee Open Range Zoo and the Healesville Sanctuary, which I will be going to in a few weeks for Social Snappers.

I took all these photos with a very cheap Nikon lens that I have, it is a 70-300mm lens, that I bought for $165, and the more I use it the more surprised I am.  I know if I spent a lot more money on a faster lens I would get really clear shots, but I am finding this one alright, I don’t mind it at all.

I have a gallery for you now.  Sunday, so far is quiet here.  Yesterday was hot and apparently today is not meant to be so hot, though it feels very warm already. I hope you are having a great weekend.

68 Comments
  1. I use the 70-300mm a lot because it is so light and easy to use.

    February 8, 2015
    • It is a very light lens, not bad for the price.

      February 8, 2015
  2. Fabulous shots! I particularly love the shots of the lemurs. They are so characterful.

    February 8, 2015
    • I never thought so before, but after the last visit, I think I will have to go back and see them again. Thanks Laura.

      February 8, 2015
  3. That koala…! It’s like a little furball!

    What mode did you shoot on (manual, aperture, shutter)?

    http://itsjpei.wordpress.com/

    February 8, 2015
    • Very cute Koala, so funny watching it sleep like that.
      I nearly always use aperture priority.

      February 8, 2015
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I do feel sad for these majestic animals kept in cages and I am glad to hear they rotate them to a Savannah-like area. I guess that way the animals are less disturbed emotionally. That was good to know.

    When I look close at your lovely photos I can almost see their personalities. Very nicely done, Leanne.

    February 8, 2015
    • They have lots of space in their other home, where they can roam.
      That is great to hear Jackie, thank you.

      February 8, 2015
  5. Great photo’s enjoyed seeing them all!!

    February 8, 2015
  6. Fantastic images. I especially like the lemurs! A visit to the zoo is always a treat.

    February 8, 2015
    • It is, the animals are always different. Thank you Chris.

      February 8, 2015
  7. What a great set of pictures Leanne and I am sure you had a great time at the Zoo taking them! Don’t you just last night I watched a You Tube documentary on Koalas and Suburbia and another on Kangaroos. Then you post this it all goes together!

    February 8, 2015
    • I did have a great time Mitchell, thank you. Sounds like a good coincidence, it is so nice to see them in the wild too.

      February 8, 2015
  8. Reblogged this on Carole McCall Author and Coach.

    February 8, 2015
  9. These pictures warm my heart. 🙂 Your love of animals shows in these pictures. They are all fantastic.

    February 8, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, the animals are fantastic and it is great to see their personalities coming out. 🙂

      February 8, 2015
  10. i love the giraffe one with the intertwined necks- it looks like a poster/card for valentines day 🙂

    February 8, 2015
    • Yep, there looks like a lot of love there, thank you.

      February 8, 2015
  11. The two giraffes are great. They look so loving towards each other 🙂

    February 8, 2015
    • They do, though I wondered whether one was trying to get rid of the other off the thing it was standing on. 🙂

      February 8, 2015
  12. More Melbourne Zoo Leanne Cole I have been reviewing so many animals this past week I am amazed at the number of people are enjoy all these beautiful creature. You have a good selection that you look after.

    February 8, 2015
    • They do always seem to be popular which is nice. Thank you Donna.

      February 8, 2015
  13. You know I love me some roos 🙂 and they are amazing when you see the muscle and power they have…their claws and feet always amaze me..so glad you got a close up peek..no chance here hahaah 🙂 and amazing also sometimes those cheap lenses are quite outstanding 🙂 Bev x

    February 8, 2015
    • It is amazing how muscle they have, incredible. It was quite a surprise to be allowed to pat them, well one, she just lay there and enjoyed the attention, I think. I know, it is unbelievable how good they can be, I bought really believing I was buying crap and that it would be useless, but I have used it to many times. Thanks Bev.

      February 8, 2015
      • So welcome 🙂 and yes their muscles are dynamic…on the move the power is awesome! 🙂 glad the lens has been good value 🙂

        February 8, 2015
      • I get to see them around here quite a bit, I must start trying to photograph them as well, means getting up early though. The lens has been great. Thanks again Bev.

        February 8, 2015
      • Early or dusk..they tend to ‘camp’ during the hottest part of the days too 🙂

        February 8, 2015
      • I’ve noticed that too, they like to sit on a nearly hill when when it is a lovely day. 🙂

        February 8, 2015
      • Yep ..just camping 🙂 you see some of their funniest interactions then 🙂

        February 8, 2015
      • I’m usually in the car, so I might have to take more notice next time.

        February 9, 2015
  14. Great shots… especially the sleeping gorilla!
    Here locally, a young boy (at Brookfield Zoo) fell into the gorilla enclosure. A large silver-back male protected him until the zoo personnel could get him out! That is compassion and intelligence!

    February 8, 2015
    • The sleeping Gorilla was a surprise.
      How amazing, they can be very compassionate creatures, very nurturing.

      February 8, 2015
  15. Beautiful photos!

    February 8, 2015
  16. Excellent photos, Leanne! I was delighted to see all of them. They really convey the ambiance of a great zoo like the Melbourne Zoo. Bravo! 🙂

    February 8, 2015
    • That is great to hear Fabio. It is a lovely zoo so I am glad it comes out in the photos. 🙂

      February 8, 2015
  17. Great images. I love the shots of the sleeping gorilla and koala. They are such precious moments in nature. Thanks for sharing =)

    February 8, 2015
    • The gorilla was a lovely catch, I’ve photographed sleeping koalas before. YOu’re welcome, and thank you as well.

      February 8, 2015
  18. I love the lemurs and the giraffes!

    February 8, 2015
    • How much character do the Lemurs have, so cute.

      February 8, 2015
  19. Wonderful pics Leanne .. Love the one of the elephant’s rears 🙂

    February 8, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, I love that one too, I took that for Karen from Days and Months. 😉

      February 8, 2015
  20. Love the elephant bums one

    February 8, 2015
    • That was too funny not to take a photo of, thank you.

      February 9, 2015
  21. Great shots Leanne……Zoos provide some wonderful photo opportunities, but they can also be tricky with so many things getting in the way.

    February 9, 2015
    • Oh yes, like people, haha, then you have glass that is so dirty from hand prints and peoples faces, yuck. Thanks Mark, it is a good place to practice I find.

      February 9, 2015
  22. Fabulous set Leanne! I particularly like your Lemur portraits and that wonderful sleeping Gorilla 🙂 Such a look of peace on that face!

    February 9, 2015
    • Thank you Sarah, I loved the sleeping gorilla too, didn’t think I would get a shot of that, the Lemurs have so much character, so cute. 🙂

      February 9, 2015
  23. Great shots. My favourites have to be the lemurs – especially the one where it leans on the fence with one hand.

    February 9, 2015
    • The lemurs were so cute, so much personality, I will have to go back and check them out more. Thanks Raewyn.

      February 9, 2015
  24. She_Who_Hears #

    It’s posts like this that make me wish there was a “love” button. I’m a huge animal lover and whenever friends see giraffes they seem to think of me. 🙂 Love love love the shots!!!

    February 9, 2015
    • well I can feel the love. thank you. the 200 is great for photos.

      February 9, 2015
  25. Reblogged this on My Blog.

    February 9, 2015
  26. I loved them too, they loved the attention I think. Thank you.

    February 9, 2015
  27. Oh, the Gorilla! I want to take him home…beautiful capture

    February 9, 2015
  28. Seems to me some animals have become accustomed to living the life of stars! Sleep till midday and wait for an easy feed! 😉

    February 10, 2015
    • I think they might have, must be nice not having to worry about much. 🙂

      February 10, 2015
  29. Great portraits, Leanne. 🙂

    February 10, 2015
  30. LB #

    Such a wonderful series! That sleeping gorilla … marvelous!

    February 10, 2015
    • Thank you, I loved that too, so peaceful.

      February 10, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings: More from Melbourne Zoo | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

