Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Monochrome in Reverse

emu-flat-church-colour

It is still a busy week, with days taken up with something I wish I never had to do and hope I never have to do again, I am well behind.  As much I would like to do a bigger post today, I have to get ready to do something that I do love doing, taking photos.  There is a Social Snappers event today and we are off to Sorrento today, and I couldn’t think of a better place to go. I’m looking forward to seeing the beaches and rocks.  I am going to take my long exposure filters with me as well, you never know, it might be perfect conditions to get some photos there.

Today I just want to leave you with an image that you have sort of seen before.  I did the same image, but in Monochrome for last weeks Monochrome Madness.  I tried doing the reverse processing on it again, and it has turned out okay, not perfect, but I like the colour of the church.  You will have to see it for yourself.

emu-flat-church-colour

75 Comments
  1. Amazing!!!

    February 12, 2015
  2. Reblogged this on admiral of reveries and commented:
    Amazing!!

    February 12, 2015
  3. Very nice. I really like this picture.

    February 12, 2015
  4. I like it Leanne, So it was long exposure that gave you that cloud effect? Very nice, I missed the monochrome version I guess, but this is great!!

    February 12, 2015
    • It was a long exposure, but the sky was crap, so I gave the image a new sky. I used the monochrome image last week for Monochrome Madness. Thank you Jim.

      February 12, 2015
  5. I love it!!

    February 12, 2015
  6. I really love how this turned out. I’ll look forward to seeing what you get from your SS event today.

    February 12, 2015
    • Thanks Laura, glad you like it. It was a gorgeous day down at the beach, will have to work on some photos.

      February 12, 2015
  7. this is captivating.

    February 12, 2015
  8. So beautiful. Loved the reverse effect more.

    February 12, 2015
    • Thank you, I like it more too I think.

      February 12, 2015
  9. “There are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs.” ― Ansel Adams

    February 12, 2015
    • So very true, a great thing to live by.

      February 12, 2015
  10. Karen #

    I really love this image Leanne – beautiful!.

    February 12, 2015
    • Thank you Karen, that’s great.

      February 12, 2015
  11. Beautiful image in colour, Leanne. Thinking of you and wishing you better days ahead 🙂

    February 12, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, I like the red bricks at the front, and thank you, hopefully not long to wait now. 😀

      February 12, 2015
  12. wow, Awesome pic

    February 12, 2015
  13. I love that image

    February 12, 2015
    • That’s wonderful to hear Wendy, thank you.

      February 12, 2015
  14. I think it is really beautiful.

    February 12, 2015
    • Thank you Nia, thank you so much.

      February 12, 2015
  15. Stunning!

    February 12, 2015
  16. That’s amazing. I love the moodiness of it and the slight distortion of perspective…unless that’s my eyes, lol! Well done!

    February 12, 2015
    • Thank you, and yes there is a slight distortion, caused by the wide angle, I don’t mind it, I hope you don’t either.

      February 12, 2015
      • Not at all. I think it adds to the mood 🙂

        February 14, 2015
      • That’s good to hear. 🙂

        February 14, 2015
  17. I really like this, Leanne.

    February 12, 2015
    • Wonderful Katrina, thank you.

      February 12, 2015
  18. I like the colour of the church too, it looks rather vintage. And love how you made it stand out from the dark background. Hope all is well with you, Leanne, and hope you get nice photos. Busy is good, but sometimes too busy isn’t good either. Wishing you a good weekend ahead 🙂

    February 12, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, I have to say I am quite proud of this one. It is well, well at least it will be, thanks for asking. Busy is very good at times. You have a good weekend too. 🙂

      February 12, 2015
  19. Love it:) hope Sorrento was awesome 🙂

    February 12, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, it was, perfect weather, bit like what we had at Point Lonsdale. 🙂

      February 13, 2015
  20. I do love old stone churches!! we have so many here and they are gorgeous….great shot..i hope the week ends better for you..i have an idea it will soon be done and dusted…and a distant memory…Bev x

    February 12, 2015
    • Oh yes, you do have lots around there, I love them too, really old little buildings like that are great. Thank you Bev, time will tell, I just hope it doesn’t all drag on for too long and we get the result we hope for.

      February 13, 2015
      • I agree and if they are crumbling even better :)..I am sure it will be over soon and I can imagine the week..i have of course out two and two together…so I hope the result is one that is appropriate..xx

        February 13, 2015
      • Oh yes, there is something about long exposures and churches. We now have to wait until next week, so who knows, we will find out Monday or Tuesday.

        February 13, 2015
      • Well have a great weekend and don’t mull over it until next week 🙂 churches..fab..i must head to some cemetaries they are so beautiful and historical 🙂

        February 13, 2015
      • Thanks Bev, we will do our best, just wish it was over. Oh yes, cemeteries can be amazing too, especially old ones, new ones are too flashing, too shiny, me no like. 🙂

        February 13, 2015
      • I agree..found some stella ones in Tasmania..:)

        February 13, 2015
      • Oh yes, there would be there.

        February 13, 2015
  21. dramatic . i love it

    February 12, 2015
  22. I love the effect on this post, and am looking forward to the Sorrento beach picture!

    February 13, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, I took so many photos at Sorrento.

      February 13, 2015
  23. I love the light – energy – from the sky above ~

    February 13, 2015
    • Thank you, I love manipulating the light in images.

      February 13, 2015
  24. Wow! Everything about it is fabulous. The lighting and especially the sky makes it really dramatic! Leanne for president! One love 😉

    February 13, 2015
    • Thank you so much Damo, it was a great image to work on.

      February 13, 2015
  25. Lovely image Leanne!

    February 13, 2015
  26. Love this photo. There is nothing like going out and taking photos to soothe the soul. Hope things improve for you.

    February 13, 2015
    • So very true Raewyn, it is always a great way for me to be distracted from reality at times, thank you.

      February 13, 2015
  27. You talented freak you! 🙂

    February 13, 2015
  28. I love the moody effect of the light and sky – the red brick just sets it all off so well!

    February 13, 2015
    • I think the red brick really makes it, as you said really sets it off, thanks Sukie.

      February 13, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        I agree even thought it’s a dark picture, the colors pop! It’s a nice change, doing color I mean. 🙂

        February 14, 2015
      • Yes, I think so too, it is quite interesting. thank you. 🙂

        February 14, 2015
  29. I love this image Leanne. That red brick does really pop out against a dark sky.

    February 16, 2015
    • Thank you Mark, I have to say I am quite taken with it as well, I think the same about that red well, it does just give it that extra push.

      February 16, 2015
  30. Hi Leanne, I admire your images so much! I have tagged you as the third photographer of five I would like to invite to take the 5 Day Black & White Photograph Challenge. I hope you will join the fun! Here’s my Day Three post and more info about the challenge: https://sherijkennedyriverside.wordpress.com/2015/02/15/5-day-black-white-photograph-challenge-day-three-to-the-heights/ Cheers!

    February 16, 2015
    • Thank you so much, this is the second tag I’ve had today, I’m not sure if I can do it, though I might try, but can’t do it this week. I did this for facebook, forgot after a couple of days, and then the people I nominated for it didn’t want to do it.

      February 16, 2015
      • Certainly no pressure. Only do it if it’s fun. I fully enjoyed changing my eye for a few days and seeing my neighborhoods differently.

        February 19, 2015
      • Thank you, it can be fun, just not something I think I have time for right now. My personal life keeps getting in the way at the moment.

        February 19, 2015
      • That happens, for sure. Take care, and enjoy the moments you do find to post and/or express your creative side.

        February 20, 2015
      • Thank you.

        February 20, 2015

Comments are closed.

