Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: More Birds from the Wetlands

western-wetlands-birds-werribee-water-1042

The last two three weeks have been crazy around here and a private matter has distracted me quite a bit from photography, however, good news and we got a very positive outcome.  Things should go back to normal now, well as much as they can.

So today I thought I would show you more of the birds from the Western Wetlands that I went to a couple of weeks ago with Chris from the blog, sv-takeiteasy. I showed you quite a few last week, but I have some more today, different birds.  I am not going to do a post like usual as all the information about the place was given last week.  I am just going to show you a gallery, and where I can, put the names of the birds as captions.  If I don’t know the name of the bird I will do my best to find out and put it there. If you know what it is, or can see I named one wrong, please let me know and I will fix it.

I hope you have a great Sunday, and relax by taking some photos, it is going to be 36 here again, with the possibility of thunder storms later today, might have to go and take some photos.

36 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on O LADO ESCURO DA LUA.

    February 22, 2015
  2. Great gallery and great photos.

    . . . a bit envious, too; I don’t have anything like this near me.

    February 22, 2015
    • Thank you Disperser, we are lucky here, there are quite a few places you can go and photograph the birds.

      February 22, 2015
  3. I liked the terns. They are such neat birds.

    February 22, 2015
    • I loved watching them flying around, wonderful.

      February 22, 2015
  4. Glad things are getting back to normal for you. Lovely seeing more of your new bird friends.

    February 22, 2015
    • Thank you, they are, which is nice. It’s been fun photographing the birds.

      February 22, 2015
  5. Fabulous!

    February 22, 2015
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Birds are the most curious of creatures. These are beautiful! :^)

    February 22, 2015
    • They are, are all so different, thank you Jackie.

      February 22, 2015
  7. davissteve32 #

    One of my favorite birds to watch as well.

    February 22, 2015
  8. Very impressive that you know all the different species, Leanne!

    February 22, 2015
    • Well I wouldn’t say I know, I’m sure I got some wrong LOL, waiting for confirmation from Anthea, she is my bird expert. Thanks Ardy, how’s the weather where you are?

      February 22, 2015
  9. Great gallery! So in my taste 🙂 Happy you too have birds to “shoot” fairly close.

    February 22, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, I am very lucky, there are a few places I can do it as well. 🙂

      February 22, 2015
  10. I feel like I just went bird watching! You captured such movement and real moments. Really fun to see them all in the gallery. I love the one of so many birds blowing in the wind with the branches, I think it is the 4th in the gallery. There is one bird staring you down so intensely 🙂 And the one with the flipped up wings, is so cool, I don’t know that I have seen a photograph like that before. Looks like you were enjoying yourself, which is great to hear!

    February 22, 2015
    • Thank you Carrie, that is wonderful to hear. I loved trying to get them in flight. Oh you like the sparrows, I love them too, they were so little and so hard to take photos of. I was enjoying myself, it was good fun.

      February 22, 2015
  11. Wonderful gallery!! I find birds always an interesting subject!

    February 22, 2015
    • Thank you, they are very interesting.

      February 22, 2015
  12. Ahh I see my local avocets have flown to visit you, I’m sure they’re the same flock! 🙂

    February 22, 2015
    • Now wouldn’t that be amazing and wonderful 🙂

      February 22, 2015
  13. Beautiful birds! I love the in flight photos! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    February 22, 2015
    • I do too Lisa, such a struggle to get them, but worth it when you do. Thank you.

      February 23, 2015
  14. Heartafire #

    These are lovely photographs, you are among the loveliest of and most stunning areas for wonderful views, thank you for sharing.

    February 23, 2015
    • Thank you, I think I am very lucky with what I live. You’re welcome.

      February 23, 2015
  15. You have some wonderful shots here Leanne, thanks for sharing. For irony, here it is nice and sunny for a change. Yesterday’s snow has pretty much melted and it’s 39 degrees!(F)

    February 23, 2015
    • Thank you John, and as I’m writing this a thunder storm is making itself know outside, it is about to bucket down and get very loud.

      February 23, 2015
  16. steveo #

    Including some rare flightless ones on slide 33. Very impressive!

    February 23, 2015
    • Oh I don’t know, I really don’t know much about the birds. Sorry. Thanks.

      February 23, 2015
  17. Hi Leanne, sorry I’m so late commenting… hurt my back and feeling a bit sorry for myself! Nice to see more birds from our trip to the wetlands, you have some beautiful shots. I have given you the names of some of the birds, straight on the images as some of them were not quite right. Hope you don’t mind. Chris

    February 23, 2015
    • So you should, hurting your back is terrible, take care and rest it. Thank you and also thank you so much for helping me identify the birds, I’m happy that I got close, I might get good at doing this. Oh, of course I don’t mind, really, thank you so much.

      February 23, 2015
  18. LB #

    Love that Pied Cormorant!

    February 23, 2015
  19. Reblogged this on more than just image.

    February 23, 2015

Comments are closed.

