Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Some Time to Work

It is still crazy and I keep hoping for more hours in the day, but no one seems to be listening to me.  I thought this week would be a great catch up time, but alas, things have got in the way again.  I do have more days planned at home, so it should be better. Shall we get started.

Monochrome Madness

sccity-3hpm7145-2I will be spending this afternoon on Monochrome Madness so if you haven’t got yours in yet, you still have a little time.

Book

I had a meeting with with the Council last week about my book on Banyule Flats and we have come up with an idea for it, that we think might just work. It will be a beautiful book I think, and there may be a way that we hope can take the story of the area back to the original inhabitants, which I would very much like. More on that later.

Newsletter

sccathedral-HDR4The newsletter will go out in the next couple of days.  I’m very behind this month, but I plan on working on it in the next couple of days. Again, if you haven’t signed up for it, click here.

Social Snappers

We have two Social Snappers Excursions planned this week, St Kilda on Thursday and then Healesville Sanctuary on Sunday.  I’m looking forward to both and if you would like to join us check out the Social Snappers site for more information.

New York

There isn’t much news about New York I’m afraid, still planning on going in September.  I have my passport all ready, but dates still need to be confirmed and such. I am hoping that I can plan a day in San Francisco and a day in New York where people who follow me can come and meet me if they live in the area and want to.

Photos

sccity-6895Todays photos are from about 3 years ago. I took them on a trip into the city with a friend. I was going through a bit of HDR phase, everything I did was HDR. Then slowly that changed and now I find I rarely do them, but slowly I’m starting to see that sometimes they can be good, and am experimenting more with them again.  It turned out I was able to get Photomatix Pro again, and now I can start using it again to do some photos.  I might start trying to do more as well, not every image again, but some images do benefit, I just have to work out how to make it work for me.

I hope you are finding time to breathe.

 

 

50 Comments
  1. More wonderful images Leanne. I love shooting in churches. With a critical eye there is so much, especially putting it in a sense that enhances the wonderful spiritual aspects.

    February 24, 2015
    • I do too John, there is something quite amazing about them. Thank you.

      February 24, 2015
  2. Stunning interiors! I’ve just rediscovered using HDR photos too! Very handy if you know how to use it in the right situations.

    February 24, 2015
    • Sounds like we are on the same path Ardy, I think you hit the nail on the head, it really is all about knowing when to use it. Thank you.

      February 24, 2015
  3. Stunning architectural shots Leanne. There’s warmth, and so much detail in those beautiful buildings.

    February 24, 2015
    • We should have a day in the city sometime Chris, after we do more birds, the milky way, oh and some long exposures at the beach, LOL.

      February 24, 2015
      • Yes the agenda is getting longer by the day! 🙂

        February 24, 2015
      • It is, we might have to start on it soon. 😀

        February 24, 2015
  4. i like the HDR on the clock tower. the mosaic floor is very impressive! ‘..time to breath..’ i like that 🙂

    February 24, 2015
    • Thank you, The floor is amazing. Yes, time to breathe, I need that right now. 🙂

      February 24, 2015
  5. Leanne as always a very interesting blog – ties in beautifully with a post I have just made regarding property. Whilst your post is architecture – we are both challenged by verticals and horizontals. HDR – I have never liked HDR in extremis but now people are getting a greater understanding of HDR and are utilising it in a more realistic way – it is not the turn off it once was. I use NIK software for HDR using the templates to get started then fine tuning – often I will run it back through Camera RAW to calm it down a bit apologies for the ramble – and I am hugely impressed by your output – Scott

    February 24, 2015
    • I am the same Scott, never liked extreme HDR, always wanted to do it so you couldn’t tell it was one, think I am in a better position to do that now. I have the Nik software too, and have used it a few times, I think Nik is good for some images and Photomatix for others, it really all depends. I always put them back through camera raw, that is where the magic can start at times. Thank you Scott.

      February 24, 2015
  6. Great news about the Council Leanne … go get ’em! Can’t wait to see the book – it will be splendid!

    February 24, 2015
    • It was Julie, really happy with where book is going to go now. Thank you, hoping it will be done by October.

      February 24, 2015
  7. Oh! The clock tower close-up! I’m in love.

    February 24, 2015
    • Thank you Julia, it is a beautiful clock tower.

      February 24, 2015
  8. A wonderful series, and here are the images of Leanne that I remember fondly so well.

    What?? New York in September ? Well, you know you’ll just have to make a stop over in Baltimore/Washington DC and spend some time with me on the Chesapeake Bay. Have plenty of room. Really..I mean it..seriously..drop me a line if you want. bellaremyphoto@aol.com
    Hugs!
    Emily

    February 24, 2015
    • Thank you Emily, they were done so long ago. I used to spend so much time working on photos, I miss doing that.

      Yes, New York in September. I don’t know if I will be able to do that. I will send you an email.

      February 24, 2015
  9. Beautiful images and YES I will meet you here. No way you are coming all the way here without me being here to see you!

    February 24, 2015
  10. I sometimes like HDR and other times not so much. These I enjoyed. Although I can understand why one would use it sparingly.

    February 24, 2015
    • I am the same Kirsten, I like it sometimes, depends on the final look. Yes, I think it is good to use it sparingly. Thanks.

      February 24, 2015
      • I have some questions about your online teaching. Is it best to email you?

        February 25, 2015
      • Yes, possibly Kirsten, easier to talk, you have my email address don’t you?

        February 25, 2015
  11. Gosh I envy your indoor shots girl. I love them.
    And didn’t you read my post about ‘there is time enough in each day to do what needs to be done’? 😉

    February 24, 2015
    • Thank you Sue, I love doing them.
      Haha, I did see it, but still, I need more time. Things should down more now for me, so I hope to get more time.

      February 24, 2015
      • I hope you do Leanne. I seem to still be chasing it myself. lol

        February 28, 2015
      • Thanks Suz, it isn’t a good feeling, I like being busy, but I like slow times too.

        February 28, 2015
  12. I too went through an HDR phase, but quickly gave it up for a “blended phase” that continues to this day. The interiors you of the churches/ cathedrals are lovely. There are several wonderful cathedrals in San Francisco among the other photographic places to image. If you do get to spend a day in the city…” San Francisco” please post it. I’d love to come up and spend some shooting with you if I’m free on the day you are there.
    If I can’t and you want to verify shooting locations just shoot me an email dmzajac2004@yahoo.com.

    February 24, 2015
    • I am doing some of that now, manual HDR isn’t that what they call it. Thank you, glad you like the interiors. I will keep everyone here posted when I will be there and what day we will set up for a meeting. So stay tuned.

      February 24, 2015
  13. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your book Leanne. I’m sure it will be lovely.

    February 24, 2015
    • Thanks Carol, it is good to have some idea of where it will go.

      February 24, 2015
  14. Hi, Leanne. So New York in September instead of May? That can be a very good time to go as well. Hope maybe to catch up with you there, but an Iceland expedition (4-14 Sep) may interfere.

    February 25, 2015
    • I will be in New York from the 15th to 24th at this stage Robin, so hopefully we will still be able to catch up. Iceland, wow, you are getting around, that is fantastic.

      February 25, 2015
      • The 15th to 24th could work out. I was planning to go straight to NYC after the Iceland trip so maybe we will be able to catch up. Iceland came up at the suggestion of two other photographer friends with whom I occasionally travel on photography quests. I’ve always wanted to go there, so this seemed like a great idea.

        February 25, 2015
      • Even better if you are planning on being there anyway Robin. I have to say, people ask me if I want to go to Iceland, and I’m like, not really, everyone goes there, I’ve never been one to follow the pack, or go where everyone else goes. That is just me, or could be that I could never afford it, so what’s the point. LOL

        February 25, 2015
  15. Fabulous pix, Leanne. You have a very talented eye. Good luck with the book. That sounds great.

    February 25, 2015
    • Thank you, what a lovely thing to say, I try. Thanks for that too, I’m excited about the book, never done anything like that before.

      February 25, 2015
  16. the church is so beautiful and like walking into another time!! and that ominous looking city scape is awesome!!! Yes, I’m trying to breathe!! 😀

    February 25, 2015
    • The Church is one of the best here in Melbourne, one of the biggest too. Thank you Cybele, yes, sometimes that is all we can do is breathe. 😀

      February 25, 2015
  17. The colours are amazing in churches. I am thinking of doing a social snappers programme here for Women’s Refuge – any advice?

    February 25, 2015
    • I know what you mean Raewyn, the detail in them, especially the big cathedrals are just incredible.
      Why don’t you email me Raewyn and we can talk.

      February 25, 2015
  18. Jasmine Body #

    Hi Leanne, Ive started a blogging link party for photographers to show their behind the scenes moments of their shots to help teach others and create a community of Photography Bloggers. If you would like to contribute heres the link http://goo.gl/s95I8X. Please share if your interested. Thanks 🙂

    February 25, 2015
    • I would like to say yes Jasmine, but I don’t think I would be organised enough to do it. Why don’t you send me an email with some more information and I will mention next week in Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs. My email is leanne@leannecole.com.au

      February 25, 2015
      • Jasmine Body #

        Thanks will do 🙂

        February 25, 2015
  19. The running out of time, having the same experience. Just a busy, busy week.

    February 28, 2015
    • It is shocking isn’t it, I’m looking forward to some quiet time, I hope you get some soon David.

      February 28, 2015

Comments are closed.

