Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Reflecting on Early Mornings

mordiallic-phillip-bay-boat-colour

The other morning I got up very early to go to Seaford pier to get the sunrise, but the clouds were not great, actually where the sun came up there were none, but lots on the opposite side.  So I didn’t get a good one, still the other side of the sun, there was some gorgeous light on the clouds there, and they were a lovely shade of pink.

seaford-pier-sunrise-portphillipbay-melbourne

I had to try the Lee Big Stopper here, though the clouds were moving very slowly, I do like the very still water.  This is reversed processed again. So made into a black and white image and then turned back to colour.

After that we went to Mordialloc.  There is a little marina there and we just walked around it.  Some very interesting boats.

mordiallic-marina-boat-water-colour

The colour version of yesterday’s Monochrome Madness image.  I loved the green in the image.  Again, reverse processed, though the image yesterday was then made black and while again from this, which gave it that sepia tone.

mordiallic-phillip-bay-boat-colour

There was a bit of a pier there and as we were walking down it this boat headed out into the bay.  I could see through the lens that the clouds were really dramatic, so I tried to capture it.  I didn’t have much time, and wish I had done it differently, but I’m okay with what I got.  I love how calm the water was that day.

That is enough from me today, I am going to leave you with a gallery of those three images.  I’m looking forward to a peaceful day.

88 Comments
  1. The. Magic hour live the ambience in these shots 🙂

    February 26, 2015
    • Oh yes, the magic hour, such a shame it is so hard to get up that early, LOL. Thanks Chris. 🙂

      February 26, 2015
  2. Great picture

    February 26, 2015
  3. I love the reprocess of the MM boat. The green is great. I also love the reflection on the water and then the clouds overhead. Is that some clearing in the distance?

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you John, I thought the green was great too, and it was what caught my eye with that boat. In the distance is Port Phillip Bay, big bay that Melbourne is on, protected by really.

      February 26, 2015
  4. Great photographs. I need one of those big stoppers.

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you Victor. I love the big stopper, so glad I got it.

      February 26, 2015
  5. I especially love that photo of the boat heading out into the water with that wonderful sky above. The lines of the boat’s wake and the lines in the clouds combine wonderfully well.

    February 26, 2015
    • I love that one too Laura, the sky really made it I think. I hadn’t made that connection with the wake of the boat, but you are right, it does work. Thank you.

      February 26, 2015
  6. I like the mood you created in the third photo Leanne.

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you Colline, I think it worked well.

      February 26, 2015
  7. I love the little boat under the big sky. It’s a whole story in a picture.

    February 26, 2015
    • I love the big sky, it worked well for this. Thank you Marilyn.

      February 26, 2015
  8. Great selection of photos for a quiet start to the day! I liked the bright green boat – the monochrome toned it down, but this is nice as it is.

    Nancy

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you Nancy, the green boat was great, I wouldn’t mind trying some other photos of it at some stage.

      February 26, 2015
  9. Beautiful photos and so quiet sea Leanne 😉

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you Irene, oh yes very quiet sea, it was a gorgeous morning. 🙂
      Yep I’m a bit thick, just got that, haha

      February 26, 2015
  10. Stunning! Always.

    February 26, 2015
  11. Beautiful morning shots! I love the one with the pier. Can I ask what the “Lee Big Stopper” is?

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you Kirsten, the Lee Big Stopper is a neutral density filter, it is very dark and stops a lot of light coming through the lens so you can get very long exposures, then you can get slowed down water, and clouds moving.

      February 26, 2015
  12. I have so much to learn!

    February 26, 2015
    • I think that is a great place to be, I feel the same way Bernadette.

      February 26, 2015
  13. What terrific images! Thank you for sharing them! ~Rita

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you Rita, and you’re welcome.

      February 26, 2015
  14. These are stunning!

    February 26, 2015
  15. Oh I am truly feeling the peacefulness now Leanne! Which is really nice for those of us heading to bed 😉 I can’t get over the green colour of the hull of the little boat that you shared in MM!

    February 26, 2015
  16. Beautiful!!! You are so inspiring!

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you Jodi, always nice to hear.

      February 26, 2015
  17. Lovely shots Leanne. In your spare time can we do a lesson on reverse processing?? 🙂

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you Kaz, what are thinking about the lesson???

      February 26, 2015
  18. Your photography is incredible. Also, thanks for visiting my blog!

    February 26, 2015
    • You’re welcome and thank you.

      February 26, 2015
  19. These images are just stunning!

    February 26, 2015
  20. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I love the green boat. 🙂

    February 26, 2015
    • Thanks Jackie, that green boat really caught my attention. 🙂

      February 26, 2015
  21. Oh I adore this color version of the boat with the pink skies!! I’m curious about this “reverse process”.

    February 26, 2015
    • Thanks Laura, I love that green. I did talk about once before, didn’t I?

      February 26, 2015
      • Hmm did you? lol Maybe once or twice. It’s worth it though. You’re welcome Leanne.

        February 27, 2015
      • Thanks Laura, I love the result. I need to work on it more.

        February 27, 2015
      • You’re welcome. 😀

        February 27, 2015
  22. Magical shots! ❤ Feeling so calm and happy to see these images 🙂 Thank you very much for sharing!!! 🙂

    February 26, 2015
    • That is great, feeling calm is good, I felt calm walking around taking photos. You’re very welcome and thank you too. 🙂

      February 26, 2015
      • You’re more than welcome 😉 Cool, that how you can take brilliant pictures ❤

        February 26, 2015
      • Well I try to, thanks again. 🙂

        February 26, 2015
      • You’re welcome 🙂

        February 27, 2015
      • 🙂

        February 27, 2015
  23. I’ve never even heard of reverse processing Leanne, you know so much about photography!

    February 26, 2015
    • Oh, it is something I made up Gypsy, something I do to the images.

      February 26, 2015
  24. Love the sky in the second image.

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you, that’s wonderful Leslie.

      February 26, 2015
  25. it would be amazing to have a small boat and cruise along on a nice lovely day in blue waters:)

    February 26, 2015
    • Oh yes, it would be wonderful, very relaxing.

      February 26, 2015
  26. Great shots Leanne. I especially like the boat heading out. Very clever use of watermarks as well.

    February 26, 2015
    • Thanks Damo, that was a lucky shot.

      February 26, 2015
  27. I do love your photographs Leanne…your work is inspiring.

    February 26, 2015
    • Thank you so much, it is nice to hear.

      February 26, 2015
  28. Beautiful photos Leanne. What an interesting processing technique. Love the photo with the green as well as the first one. You just never know what you will get with the weather and sunrises!!

    February 26, 2015
    • You really don’t, you can think it is going to be great, then you get out there and nothing, no clouds, so a waste of time getting up early sometimes. Thank you Ardy.

      February 26, 2015
  29. Brilliant! 😃

    February 26, 2015
  30. Leanne, there is very few places that have this fantastic light purple light … St Ives, UK – Dieppe, France and Skagern, Denmark and all places are very popular with painters. Stunning images – my favorite is the one with the single boat.

    February 26, 2015
    • Oh dear Viveka, you’ve caught me out, haha, I kind of faked it. It just seemed to work. Though the sky had been very pink, so it is almost like that. Thank you, I think that is my favourite too.
      I fixed up the typing to fast and deleted the other comment, I hope that’s okay.

      February 27, 2015
  31. Early morning is the best time of the whole day. I get lots done then. Gorgeous pictures again Leanne.

    February 26, 2015
    • I think so too Carol, the house is so quiet, and peaceful. I love it. Thanks Carol, we should do some early morning shots in Hawaii.

      February 27, 2015
  32. beautiful photographs. Really captured the ambience

    February 27, 2015
    • Thank you, it was a pretty calm beautiful morning.

      February 27, 2015
  33. Wonderful dawns – I’m glad I’m not the only person who usually includes looking west at dawn and east at sunset for something beautiful.

    February 27, 2015
    • You really have to do look in the opposite direction don’t you, sometimes it is where all the action happens. Thank you.

      February 27, 2015
  34. Just the ambiance of the lighting. Worth the early start.

    February 27, 2015
  35. I get up early – but have to get ready for work – it certainly pays off in photography!!!! Beautiful photos

    February 27, 2015
    • It does Nora, very tiring though. Maybe you can do it on your day off, see what you get.

      February 28, 2015
  36. Poetic skies!!!

    February 28, 2015
  37. They still are quite lovely Leanne

    March 2, 2015

Comments are closed.

