Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Yackandandah Part 1

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1060

Last week or the week before I had to go to Wodonga with my daughter, she had to do something at the University there, and in the morning I had some time to kill so  some friends suggested that I go to Yackandandah to look around and take some photos.  It is an old Gold Mining town, and I have to say I wasn’t disappointed.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1090

There you are the sign says it all. Like many places in Victoria gold played a big part in their history.  You can see the remnants of that period in them as well.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1035

The wide footpaths in the main streets with the verandah part covering the whole part of the footpath.  Such an old fashioned thing now.  I love seeing them.  Walking along the street here I was very much reminded of Maldon, another gold rush town in Victoria, but Maldon is so much busier, and I don’t think nearly as pretty as Yackandandah.  There was a beautiful quaintness about it that I feel in love with.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1047

There are the nods to the history of the town as well.  They embrace that history and you can find information about it in many places.  I discovered this place and some others just from wandering off the main street. Sometimes it is good to have the time to just wander around and see what you find.  I wish I’d had more time to spend there. My daughters class was only three hours, so I was limited to that.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1051

It was very quiet when I got there and places like the skate park were very quiet.  The light on that morning was wonderful, and it really brought the colours out everywhere.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1040

This guy caught my eye, how could he not really.  It looks like he is guarding the Yackandandah Motor Garage, although it doesn’t take long to realise it is no longer the garage, but now it is the Spiritus Art Gallery and the creature in front is one of the main artworks that are available for sale there.  I took so many photos of him, that will be in the gallery.  I also took some photos inside the gallery.  Not really meant to, but was given permission for the blog.

I spoke to the guy who ran it, and I am so sorry I can’t remember his name, but I think it was Wayne.  He gave me lots of information about the town and told me some spots to go to take photos.  See talking to the locals can be great.

I have a gallery for you now of the images I took while walking around the town.  Tomorrow I have other photos that I took while driving, well I wasn’t driving when I took them, but I had to drive to get to the places.  You have to love a town that is fun to say, and Yackandandah was a great place, shame it is 3 hours drive away, but I I would like to go back.  I think a weekend trip might be in order, anyone recommend somewhere nice to say that won’t cost me too much.

 

58 Comments
  1. An amazing place. I love that sculpture. Great photos.

    February 28, 2015
    • That sculpture is amazing, I loved it, bit big for my place though. Thanks Raewyn.

      February 28, 2015
  2. I loved that dragon! Pictures of that made the whole trip worthwhile.

    Nancy

    February 28, 2015
    • It is so cool Nancy, I thought it was brilliant. Thanks, it was worth it.

      February 28, 2015
  3. Leanne, Great set of photos–and some unusual subjects for sure.

    February 28, 2015
    • Thank you, great place for photos, might have to seriously think about going back.

      February 28, 2015
  4. love the dragon!!

    February 28, 2015
    • How could you not Cybele, really, how cool is it?

      February 28, 2015
  5. Ooo, I love old towns! Cool photos 🙂

    February 28, 2015
    • I love them too,, they have so much character. Thank you 🙂

      February 28, 2015
  6. Never pass up on dragons . . .

    February 28, 2015
  7. Fantastic place and awesome photos. Thanks for sharing

    February 28, 2015
    • You’re welcome, it was a great little town. Thank you Cattan.

      February 28, 2015
  8. Its a gorgious little town isn’t it 🙂

    February 28, 2015
    • It is Chris, just gorgeous, I need to go back. 🙂

      February 28, 2015
  9. That’s just a few hours from here. Our town is very similar style, old fashioned but quaint with a great community spirit. Lovely photos of a lovely little town!

    February 28, 2015
    • Where are you Debbie? Thank you.

      February 28, 2015
      • A little place called Tumbarumba over in NSW.

        February 28, 2015
      • I’ve never heard of it, I better go and google it.

        February 28, 2015
  10. Wonderful, Leanne! Thanks for posting!

    February 28, 2015
    • My pleasure Sheila, glad you liked it. Thank you.

      February 28, 2015
  11. I knew someone who grew up in Yackandandah. What a pretty place it is.

    February 28, 2015
    • I feel like everyone has heard of this town but me. LOL, It is very pretty. Thanks Suz
      PS a parcel is on its way to you.

      February 28, 2015
  12. Not tempted to check out the gallery? Maybe an outlet for your work 🙂

    February 28, 2015
    • I did have a look Gypsy, but it is really more sculptures. Nice thought though, thanks, 🙂

      February 28, 2015
  13. Looks Iike a very interesting old town 🙂

    February 28, 2015
    • It was Kaz, I loved it, wouldn’t mind going back.

      February 28, 2015
  14. Thanks Leanne for introducing me to Yackandandah. I love old towns. Look forward to the rest of your story. I live on the other side of the world in Victoria, Canada.

    March 1, 2015
    • So your Victoria is a city, is that right? Whereas here it is a state. The rest is published now, and glad to hear you enjoyed it, it is a lovely little town. I want to go back.

      March 1, 2015
  15. RMW #

    You never know what you are going to find when you go wandering… interesting place.

    March 1, 2015
    • That is so true, and I love it when you walk around just going “oh wow”, that is the best. thank you.

      March 1, 2015
  16. What I really like about photo blog sites is that one gets to view more diverse yet everyday areas of the world– not normally covered in commercial travel brochures. Thanx for sharing.

    March 1, 2015
    • that is true, I guess also, because I’m a photographer taking photos for other photographers, so it means that I take photos from a different viewpoint I guess. You’re welcome, and thank you to you too.

      March 1, 2015
  17. Lita Pixel #

    I need to visit this place. Thanks for sharing such beautiful pictures.

    March 1, 2015
    • Well worth visiting, I loved it and I’m sure you will too. Though I would recommend going in about late March April, I think Autumnn there would be beautiful. Thank you and you’re welcome.

      March 1, 2015
      • Lita Pixel #

        Maybe one day — soon! 🙂

        March 2, 2015
      • I hope you do, one day. 🙂

        March 2, 2015
  18. megan #

    Yack (as we call it) really is a fantastic little town with so much to offer. A vibrant community that embraces its heritage and supports its artists. Well worth a visit.

    March 1, 2015
    • It is, I loved visiting it. It was fun and everyone seemed so friendly. That is great to hear, I love communities that do that. Thanks.

      March 1, 2015
  19. So pleased you like our town. My husband and I run a small business called Colonial Inn Guest Rooms – very close to the Allans Flat Waterhole (9 km from Yack). We have very reasonable prices – look us up when you want to come and visit again.

    March 1, 2015
    • I did Susan, loved it, I will have to remember that if I come or when I do come back, I would really like too. Thanks.

      March 1, 2015
  20. What a wonderful little town. I like how it seems so vintage and then you have the contrast of the sculpture in front of the art place that seems almost futuristic. I really like that sculpture and the other ones inside the store.

    March 2, 2015
    • It is Kirsten, I loved it, would like to go back, especially when the bakery is open, I have heard it is very good. The old and the new nestle in very nicely together. YOu could have that sculpture, I believe it is about $33,000, then I guess you have the plane fare, etc. Easy. Thanks Kirsten.

      March 2, 2015
      • That’s more than my car costs!! I think I shall enjoy the sculpture from afar 🙂

        March 2, 2015
      • Same, but lovely sculpture, I have no where at home for anything that large, it would take up my whole garden. 🙂

        March 2, 2015
  21. Fabulous post and pictures! We will share on social media.

    March 2, 2015
  22. My first thought was – looks quite like Maldon, then realised you’d said so in the text – it’s lovely that some of the old towns got passed up by ‘development’! It’s a shame so many councils got rid of the old stone gutters – Castlemaine used to have them, too.

    March 2, 2015
    • I thought the same Sukie, they are very similar. I think so too, very nice, “development” isn’t always good. Those gutters are amazing, great for sitting in to get good images of buildings.

      March 3, 2015
  23. Please remove me from your mailing list.

    March 5, 2015
    • That is not something I can do, if you don’t want to be on this mailing list then you need to unfollow it, just press the following button and it should remove you.

      March 5, 2015
  24. Always so interesting to read your post with the added bonus of good photos. 3hr drive must be a long way!

    March 8, 2015
    • Thank you Diana, and it is a long way, so I won’t be going back for the day, maybe overnight might be better.

      March 9, 2015
  25. Reblogged this on aspiblog and commented:
    There are some excellent photographs in this post about a mining town…

    March 14, 2015

Comments are closed.

