Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Yackandandah Part 2

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1033

Here is the second part of my trip to Yackandandah.  The man from the Spiritus Art Gallery and gave me some directions and ideas of where to go.  I knew I had to get a move on, as I would have to head back to Wodonga soon, and also the sun was starting to get to high for any decent photos, so they aren’t great, but they do give you an idea of what was there.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1032

This was part of the road into town, beautiful scenery really, the whole drive, from Wodongo to there.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1065

After leaving the main street I went to find petrol for the car, and saw a lovely park that I went for stop in. It had a small creek or something at the bottom and they had built steps that you could walk down and then go and walk around.  It was really nice in the morning light.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1073

At the back of the petrol station I saw this building, another art place, only this one is fall of studios.  My friends who told me about Yackandandah had suggested that I find it, they thought I would be interested.  I was, and I thought it was great.  I got talking to Helen Lemke, a ceramic artist. She was waiting for students to come to her class and we had a small chat and she told me about the place.  It is built on where the old station was, or near it. Not sure exactly, but it has to do with the old train station.  Definitely worth checking out if you go there, say hi to Helen for me.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1076

The man I spoke to in the Spiritus Art Gallery also suggested that I should go and check out the Gorge.  He said it wasn’t far out of town, and I wouldn’t have to walk far to find it. which was true I didn’t. Though I did almost drive straight past it.  I also had trouble finding what road it was on, there were no signs in the town to direct you to.  Maybe they don’t want people going there.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1080

This is the gorge. Not big, but from what I can read women made it, I don’t know. It was done during the gold rush to get water for the men mining the gold.  It is incredible to think how these things were built back then, when you consider they didn’t have the tools that we have today.

By the time I got to the gorge, I knew the beautiful early morning light was gone and that the photos wouldn’t be that good, but I had to go and take some photos, for scouting purposes if nothing else.  I would like to go back, but if I do I would go much earlier in the morning, when the sun was hitting it in a soft way.  Though, if I’m truthful, I think I would go back in winter, no chance of snakes, and the light is better then too, so much softer.

Someone mentioned looking it up on Google maps and I realized I hadn’t included a map so here is a map so you can see where the town is.

I have more photos for you now. I hope you are having a great weekend, I have Social Snappers this afternoon, we are going to the Healesville Sanctuary, so I guess there will be more animal photos soon.

 

47 Comments
  1. It’s so nice to see something green … with running, not icy water. It gives me hope.

    March 1, 2015
    • Oh yes, I can understand that Marilyn, our summers can be quite brown, but we have had quite a bit of rain this summer, so it is nice to be able to share that green with you, I imagine the colour white might not be so great now. Thank you, it will soon be over.

      March 1, 2015
  2. A model railway and a gorge, what a treat.

    March 1, 2015
    • The model train is a replica of the original train station there, apparently. Thanks Tootle.

      March 1, 2015
  3. Love this place, would love to visit there!!

    March 1, 2015
    • You might just have to plan a trip here John. Thanks.

      March 1, 2015
  4. AdamCharles #

    Thanks for liking my recent post! I love your photos, especially the shot of the toy train. Gabby and I are hoping to move to Melbourne in December!

    March 1, 2015
    • You’re welcome Adam. Thank you too, that is wonderful. Have you been to Melbourne before? I love it, it is a great city, I love it, did I say that already? LOL

      March 1, 2015
      • AdamCharles #

        Haven’t been there yet, but a great friend of mine from the UK moved there last year and loves it! Can’t wait, should be landing sometime round christmas!

        March 1, 2015
      • Just in time for our summer, lol, Christmas in melbourne is lovely, different, but we like it. That is wonderful that you have a contact here already. If I can help with information, send me an email.

        March 1, 2015
  5. Great shots! I especially like the gorge! It is amazing about how people did things back then without the fancy, modern machinery that we have now!

    March 1, 2015
    • Thanks Thomas, it was truly amazing, it must have been really hard work. Glad I never had to do it.

      March 1, 2015
  6. Spent a lot of time up that way when the kids were little used to walk u to town from my friends place , early mornings and late evenings are magic up there gorgeous bit of country

    March 1, 2015
    • That’s great, is your friend still there? I imagine in Autumn it would be fantastic. I think we should go there Chris.

      March 1, 2015
  7. Lovely shots by the way

    March 1, 2015
  8. I’d like very much to explore the walkway along the creek. It looks most pleasant and inviting. Did you see snakes, or just make an educated guess that they’re around?

    March 1, 2015
    • The walk along the creek looked nice, I didn’t go far. It is summer here, so there is always a chance of snakes, no getting past that one, we are all very vigilant in summer for them. They bite and they are nearly all poisonous.

      March 1, 2015
      • I know. I’ve been very fortunate not to have had any close encounters during my 20 or so visits, especially since I like to get off the road whenever I can!

        March 2, 2015
      • Yeah, you really have to be careful, I hate them, hate them with a passion, I like to do my exploring in late autumn and winter.

        March 2, 2015
  9. ymerlb #

    which camera do you use?

    March 1, 2015
  10. It is amazing to think they did so much with so little. Those were the days! 😊

    March 1, 2015
  11. Very picturesque!

    March 1, 2015
  12. Reblogged this on Benji Martin Photography.

    March 1, 2015
  13. Beautiful post and amazing nice nature Leanne 😀

    March 1, 2015
  14. Beautiful and love the little railroad!

    March 1, 2015
    • Wonderful, thank you, that is great.

      March 1, 2015
  15. I just love your work, thank you for sharing once again a great set of shots and story. 🙂

    March 1, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you.

      March 1, 2015
  16. It’s always surprising to find out how much there is of interest in these small country towns. Lovely photos Leanne.

    March 1, 2015
    • It is Carol, they are so much fun to explore. Thank you.

      March 1, 2015
  17. Beautiful place. I hope you also plan to visit Chiltern. I have been told there is a bird sanctuary there, which I know you would enjoy. I think you would enjoy the area around Daylesford too. Such a beautiful place.

    March 1, 2015
    • I know Daylesford Dave, been there many times, but haven’t heard of Chiltern, will have to investigate. Thanks for letting me know about it.

      March 2, 2015
  18. Beautiful images and i love the abundantly-syllabic place names in your country.

    March 1, 2015
    • We do have some very interesting names, many being Aboriginal which is really good. Thank you.

      March 2, 2015
  19. The Gorge was beautiful. I like how you included some pics of the background on the area – it really adds to the ambiance of the area. All the neat art places would be a bonus!

    March 2, 2015
    • Thanks Kirsten there was so much too it, but to be honest, I really didn’t want to explore too much, I didn’t want to come across any snakes.

      March 2, 2015
      • Eek!! I’m not too fond of snakes myself! I wouldn’t have been cautious in my exploring too 🙂

        March 2, 2015
      • Too many poisonous ones here, actually they are nearly all poisonous, so always best to take care and keep an eye out for them.

        March 2, 2015
      • I would have an eagle eye looking out for them 🙂

        March 3, 2015
      • I did Kirsten, LOL.

        March 3, 2015
  20. I don’t think Jane is posting on this blog anymore but in any regards:

    https://backtoyack.wordpress.com/

    March 6, 2015
    • I had a look, doesn’t look like it, but it showed me that autumn would be beautiful there.

      March 6, 2015

Comments are closed.

