Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Catching Up

Slowly but surely I am starting to catch up with everything.  Things are starting to take shape and I can start planning some new things.

Newsletter

The Newsletter finally went out yesterday.  Sorry, it took me so long to get it out.  I will make sure that doesn’t happen again. I had problems with my computer and I couldn’t do any tutorials, but hopefully that will be fixed for next time.

Online Classes

I just want to mention them again as I have just had one person sign up, so it reminded me that others might be interested.  They are a great way to get individual tuition.  I charge $350 for five claripponleal-20131011-8938sses and they last for an hour to two hours, depending on how we go.  We can look at camera skills or photo editing.  It will really be directed by you.

Writing

I have decided to start writing some better articles for the Up for Discussion posts.  I want to get better at writing and I need to experiment with you guys, so I am hoping to start writing better articles on photography for you.  It is a direction that I think I would really like to go.  Especially since teaching is so much harder than I thought it would be.  So look out, hoping to do my first this Friday, one on Tripods.

Social Snappers

I’m also thinking about making some changes to Social Snappers and perhaps expanding it to something else as well.  I have been trying to advertise it  here in Melbourne, but it has been great, people are looking at the excursions but not doing them.  I enjoy them so much so I want to see what I can dripponleal-20131011-8846o to get more people to come to them.

I also want to start offering some Social Snapper one off classes, like teaching night photography in the city, or doing a class down the coast on photographing the milky way.  Doing editing classes.  Make it a more complete thing, rather than just going out and taking photos, but offering more as well.

I will announce more soon.

Trip to the USA

ripponleal-20131011-8917No more word yet, it looks likely I will be there early in September.  I don’t know what it will be like there. I suspect I will miss the fall colours, too soon, but we can hope for a mild summer and an early Autumn.

Photos

Today I went back into the archives to look for photos.  I found some that I remember taking, it was of Ripponlea.  I loved going there, it is such a beautiful building, but it is the gardens that are lovely.

I’m off now, I will be out getting more photos today.  I feel like I am doing it all the time at the moment, it is wonderful.  I hope you have a good day.

 

53 Comments
  1. wonderful architecture and the gardens are beautiful. That doorway and long arbour begs for you to walk through it!!

    March 3, 2015
    • Thanks Cybele, it is a great place to explore and for fairies to hang out I think. You would love it.

      March 3, 2015
  2. Lovely photos as always. I am looking forward to your trip to America and seeing what you and your photographer’s eye make of this country.

    March 3, 2015
    • Thanks Laura, should be very interesting. I am looking forward to it as well, hopefully my photos won’t be disappointing.

      March 3, 2015
      • I cannot imagine your photos ever being disappointing.

        March 3, 2015
      • I don’t show those ones, but there are many.

        March 3, 2015
  3. Doesn’t matter what time of the year you visit NYC, you’re going to enjoy it.

    March 3, 2015
    • Now that’s what I needed to hear, thank you David.

      March 3, 2015
  4. All that greenery is beautiful. I love the fact that the path has trees with some bark to them.

    March 3, 2015
    • It is nearly always like that there. What do you mean about the bark on the trees, don’t trees always have bark?

      March 3, 2015
      • I may have used the wrong word. I was speaking of the thickness of the tree trunks. Some city lined paths have thinner trunks. I like the age of older tree trunks.

        March 4, 2015
      • Oh, okay that makes more sense, I get you now. Yes, I think the trees are quite old, which could be the reason, it is the main drive up to the house, so probably planted around the time the house was built.

        March 4, 2015
  5. I also wish you luck with all you have planned.

    March 3, 2015
  6. Gorgeous photos Leanne.

    March 3, 2015
  7. I’m looking forward to reading your Up for Discussion posts Leanne. I always learn something new. It’s lovely to hear that you are taking so much pleasure from your photography at the moment.

    March 3, 2015
    • thank you Carol, hopefully I will do a good job of it. That’s wonderful to hear. I am, it has been fantastic, so many photos, I don’t know what to do with them all.

      March 3, 2015
  8. Yay! Can’t wait to read the post on tripods…. Have just started using mine regularly… At the moment, just getting used to not tripping over its legs 🙂 Lovely photos.

    March 3, 2015
    • Wonderful Maxine, I will try and put some stuff in it about that. Oh yes, I’ve tripped on the legs, kicked them while taking photos, etc.
      Thank you.

      March 3, 2015
  9. I seem to have missed mention of your USA plans. Sorry! What locations are you planning to include?

    March 3, 2015
    • I’ve mentioned it a few times over the last few months. I am going to San Francisco and New York.

      March 3, 2015
      • Have you been here before? Both are surely worth brief visits, but there’s so much in between! Forgive me, but it’s like going to Sydney and Perth, with no visit to at least Tasmania, and saying that one has seen Australia. Sorry, I don’t know enough about your history to be critical in any way. At the very least, I’m very much looking forward to your particular perspective on NY and LA!

        March 4, 2015
      • My trip is being sponsored, so where I go is basically being determined by that. They are the places I can go to this time, so I will have to be happy with that. It is my first time there. I know what you mean, but since this trip is being payed for by someone else, I have to go where I can, and that is it. It should be good, I think they will be a great introduction.

        March 4, 2015
  10. I love going to gardens and doing photography. The only problem is that I get side tracked from processing my photos from there because I take at least 200 photos when I visit 🙂 I even got a membership to our local garden which has reciprocal membership throughout the US. So hopefully, I can venture out farther than 10 minutes from my house. Looking forward to your Friday post 🙂

    March 3, 2015
    • Only 200 Kirsten, LOL, I take about the same. It is good to go to gardens, especially with a macro lens, I love my macro lens. I must go and visit some gardens soon. 🙂

      March 3, 2015
      • I love my macro lens too. I need to use it more often 🙂

        March 3, 2015
      • Same, my hibiscus is flowering right now, I should take some photos today. 🙂

        March 4, 2015
      • You definitely should 🙂

        March 4, 2015
      • I will try to remember to Kirsten. 🙂

        March 4, 2015
  11. In regards to Social Snappers, it would be great to perhaps do a session on delayed exposure or astrophotography, or even sunrise/sunset. Definitely be in on that.

    March 3, 2015
  12. I don’t think you’ll miss the fall colors 🙂 In my town in the state of Virginia, the colors didn’t change that early…at least I don’t think they did.

    March 3, 2015
    • So I would miss them, meaning I will be too early for them?

      March 3, 2015
  13. P.S. I suspect it would be fun learning how to capture the sky at night.

    March 3, 2015
  14. Beautiful photos of Ripponlea. I like the waterfall shot. Not much water, it looks like a bit of a tease. Good luck with planning your classes and teaching, sounds like there is a lot to do. It’s March already, how time flies. I’ve been busy myself, which is good 😀

    March 3, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, I love Ripponlea. Thank you, there is, so it should be good. I know, it all happens so fast. that is great to hear. 😀

      March 3, 2015
  15. Thank you for liking “Night Beauty” and for sharing these great photos of Ripponlea. The flowers, the trees, and the waterfall are beautiful.

    Wow, I did not realize how busy you are! At least you have some exciting plans in the works. Good luck! 🙂

    March 3, 2015
    • You’re welcome, and thank you. It is a great place for photos.
      Yes, lots of plans, hopefully some time to get it altogether.

      March 3, 2015
  16. Leanne, these photos are perfection. And what a joy for me to wake up to on a grey, wet day. I too love the shot looking into the pergola and that veranda sure has style!
    There is something magical about your work and something very, very professional. Like you , I take photos every day. One can only hope that I am learning a little more all the time.
    Thank you, for your effort, commitment, dedication and the inspiration you give to us all to all push and try harder.

    March 3, 2015
    • Thank you, that is great to hear they brightened your day.
      I think if you keep practicing you have to keep improving, at least I hope so.
      You’re welcome, wonderful to know that people enjoy and like what I do.

      March 3, 2015
  17. Great info Leanne! When I’m next in town, I would love to go out shooting again. Now that I’m not on auto 😀

    March 4, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, oh yes, absolutely, we must do that, great to hear 😀

      March 4, 2015
  18. I love the red table and chair. It’s waiting for me. I can tell. 😉

    March 5, 2015
    • I do too, it just says, glass of wine or a nice cup of tea, and relax. 🙂

      March 5, 2015
  19. If you are in Seattle let me know! You will fall in love with America!

    March 6, 2015
    • I would love to go there, but it’s not going to happen this time around. I am limited with where I go, but I hope to one day.

      March 6, 2015
  20. i AM SURE THIS HAS BEEN COMPLETED THank you Leanne

    June 19, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Catching Up | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

