Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Some Time to Relax

beach-rocks-sunrise-janjuc

It has been crazy, good crazy, but still crazy this year.  I love being busy, but I think I need a holiday now. I’m off to a breakfast this morning to celebrate International Women’s Day which should be nice.  Though I have to say, I have heard the political party that is in power at the moment, the Liberals, apparently have organised an event to celebrate International Women’s Day as well, but it is in a men’s only club.  I am not sure what message they are trying to say, but can’t help thinking it’s that they really don’t care about women, which has been proven time and time again.

Last weekend I was in Jan Juc, which is near Torquay with Chris from sv-takeiteasy and we took some sunrise shots and a few others around the beaches there.  It was very relaxing, though the sunrise was a bit disappointing, one minute it was there, the next, it was gone, we only got a couple of shots.  Then we walked along the beach and took more.  After breakfast we went for a drive to Bells Beach and there is one shot from there.  I still have lots to work on one.  It was good fun and playing around with slow shutter speeds was also good.

I am just going to put them into a gallery for you now, there aren’t many, but expect you will see more as time goes on. To all the women who follow my blog I hope you have a lovely International Women’s Day.

94 Comments
  1. are those skies filtered ?

    March 5, 2015
    • What do you mean by filtered? I didn’t use filters on them.

      March 5, 2015
      • the colors were so lovely, I wondered if they were enhanced. Nice work.

        March 5, 2015
      • Oh yes enhanced, I enhance everything Bill, LOL. Thank you.

        March 5, 2015
  2. Phenomenal shots, Leanne. Just stunning!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, the sky was pretty incredible too, then later that day we got a massive storm.

      March 5, 2015
      • Each and every one of these images, Leanne, is excellent. You are really doing an outstanding job with the slow shutter speeds. I have so many ideas to try this coming spring and summer. You have given me some ideas, so I really thank YOU!!!

        March 5, 2015
      • Thank you Amy, I am loving playing with the slower shutter speeds. I bet you do, how exciting, it will be there soon. You’re welcome, always happy to help.

        March 5, 2015
  3. Stunning shots, Leane.

    March 5, 2015
  4. One can not expect to understand the “Liberal” mind. Not here in the States anyway. I won’t go on a political rant…. 😉

    March 5, 2015
  5. You have a town called Torquay? The original is twenty miles down the road from me!

    March 5, 2015
    • We have lots of towns with the same name, we have a Brighton, a Chelsea, there are probably more but I can’t think of them now.

      March 5, 2015
  6. Beautiful skies!

    March 5, 2015
  7. Happy Women’s Day all you ladies

    March 5, 2015
    • Thanks Ken, though apparently I got the date wrong it is on the 8th of March, my wedding anniversary.

      March 5, 2015
      • That is even better Leanne

        March 5, 2015
      • Haha, yep 25 years.

        March 5, 2015
  8. Lovely sea images, Leanne!

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you Pam, going down there again this weekend, hopefully get lots more.

      March 5, 2015
  9. I love sky shots, I’m totally obsessed with the sky ❤️ X

    March 5, 2015
    • I am a bit too, a sky can make or break an image.

      March 5, 2015
  10. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Gorgeous sunrise in Australia today. And a happy International Women’s Day to you as well. 🙂

    March 5, 2015
    • Well apparently the women’s day is on Sunday, the 8th of March, I got the date wrong. Thank you Jackie.

      March 5, 2015
  11. Gorgeous. And done with a light hand. We ALL enhance everything … at least a little bit 🙂

    March 5, 2015
    • Oh yes, I love enhancing, sometimes the best part. Thank you Marilyn.

      March 5, 2015
  12. Beautiful post Leanne 😀

    March 5, 2015
  13. Stunning photos. Happy International Women’s Day to you too.

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, though apparently IWD is on sunday, woops.

      March 5, 2015
  14. Wonderfully relaxing images Leanne 🙂

    March 5, 2015
    • That’s good to hear Sarah, I love the coast. Thank you. 🙂

      March 5, 2015
      • There’s something very restful about coastal areas, even in stormy weather I love the sounds of the wind and waves crashing 🙂

        March 6, 2015
      • I think so too, maybe is the moving water, and it makes you realise how calm or still you are. I love that too, especially when I am sleeping.

        March 6, 2015
      • I think much of it is to the rhythmic sounds. It’s a bit like a heart beat! A lot of therapists use sounds of the sea as part of relaxation with the thought that it reminds a part of the brain of the sounds a foetus hears in the womb.

        March 7, 2015
      • I think you might be right Sarah. Yes, it is a very relaxing sound, I love listening to it.

        March 7, 2015
  15. Such wonderful skies! Wow! Fabulous photographs as always.

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, I love dramatic skies, the best sort.

      March 5, 2015
  16. Excellent skies!
    Reminds me of some of E.E.Cummings’ paintings!
    http://eecummingsart.com/gallery/?g=s&sg=6&p=8

    March 5, 2015
    • Wonderful Thomas, you have to love dramatic skies, thanks for the link, great paintings.

      March 5, 2015
  17. Why do all my photographer friends insist on going out before sunrise? Well, at least they share their stunning world with me and others. Thanks, Leanne, these are beautiful! 😉

    March 5, 2015
    • I have no idea, it seems to be something to do, the light is quite amazing then as well. I don’t do it to often. thank you Ludwig, glad you liked them. 🙂

      March 5, 2015
  18. You inspired me to hit the beach this weekend no matter how cold.

    March 5, 2015
    • That’s great to hear Cate, it isn’t going to be too warm here and looks like I will be hitting it again too. Good luck, hope you get some fantastic dramatic images Cate.

      March 5, 2015
  19. Hey Leanne .. happy International Women’s Day to you! Lovely pics … 😀

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, and same, though I got the date wrong, it is actually this Sunday, the 8th. 😀

      March 5, 2015
  20. Ah Ah! I recognise these images! That wide angle shot of Bells Beach with the mean storm clouds is amazing! I’ll be doing a post next week, combining hopefully 2 week ends worth of ND and Long Exposure shots! Stunning gallery 🙂

    March 5, 2015
    • Oh yes, I am looking forward to seeing your images as well Chris and even more looking forward to more shots this weekend. Hopefully some great clouds for us. Thank you. 🙂

      March 5, 2015
  21. The sky in that last image is other-worldly, wow. I really love the image with the water circling the rock too, that is a special shot. Looks like you found some great color even if it left quickly. These are really beautiful!

    March 5, 2015
    • thanks Carrie, I purposely went for those clouds, I loved them. I did, we had to be very quick, but great that we got a couple of shots.

      March 5, 2015
  22. Pat #

    Beautiful shots.

    March 5, 2015
  23. Spectacular, as always 🙂

    March 5, 2015
  24. Beautiful work

    March 5, 2015
  25. Leanne, these are truly remarkable!

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you Edwin, I’ve been having fun playing with them.

      March 5, 2015
  26. Art pure and simple!! Beautiful and brilliant beaches!!

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, I do love the ocean and rocky shorelines, they make for very interesting photos.

      March 5, 2015
  27. lensaddiction #

    Love the big sky shot of Bells Beach where the clouds look like they are boiling 🙂

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you Stacey, it is like that, they were rolling around, I had to get my wide angle out and take some photos. 🙂

      March 5, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        Gotta love the wide angle lenses 🙂

        March 6, 2015
      • You do, don’t you, I love mine. 🙂

        March 6, 2015
  28. Loving sharing your work, Leeann. Have a great International Women’s Day!

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you, and thank you Jeni, though I got the date wrong, apparently not actually until Sunday, but still.

      March 5, 2015
  29. Unbelievably stunning! Excellent work Leanne! 😉

    March 5, 2015
  30. These are totally stunning Leanne. They actually made me feel something inside, the way a poem does sometimes. So much more than a photograph…they are very powerful and so beautiful.

    March 5, 2015
    • Oh thank you Karen, that is so lovely to hear, I want to do more now.

      March 5, 2015
  31. Beautiful post, Leanne, as always 🙂

    But, what a treat !!!, you had saved for all those who read the post till end…

    An incredible image with a stunning composition 🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing…

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you Sreejith, that last one was a bit of a beauty, it had a great sky. 🙂

      March 6, 2015
  32. Beautiful photographs. I always love sunrise and sunset photographs, especially over the sea or any sea photographs really. It is hard though to find the perfect sunset (sunrise) so dependant on what nature gives you.

    March 5, 2015
    • That’s great to hear, I often prefer sunrises, mainly because of the lack of people. I know what you mean, so many times I go out looking for it, just to be disappointed. I do love photographing the ocean, not sure why, but I love it. Thank you.

      March 6, 2015
  33. Awesome. Brushstrokes in every appearance. Very relaxing.

    March 5, 2015
    • Thank you, I like that, a lot.

      March 6, 2015
  34. Wow, the clouds.

    March 5, 2015
  35. Sukanya Ramanujan #

    Just amazing photographs

    March 6, 2015
  36. These are awesome shots.

    March 6, 2015
  37. Lovely shots… And my favourite place – the beach 🙂

    March 6, 2015
    • Thank you Maxine, it is one of my favourite places too, I love photographing the ocean and rocks. I don’t like sand though. 🙂

      March 6, 2015
      • LOL. I like it but my camera probably doesn’t.

        March 6, 2015
      • Oh yes, I find I have to keep cleaning my lens, so much salt and stuff gets on it.

        March 6, 2015
  38. Lovely seascape images Leanne!

    March 10, 2015

Comments are closed.

