Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Snapping Along Bourke Street

melbourne-bourke-street-socialsnappers-1032

One of the first Social Snappers events this year was into the city to photograph Bourke Street.  Last year was so good along Collins Street so I thought Bourke Street might be good to.  It started off well, but toward the other end, near Southern Cross Station, it wasn’t so good.  Still it was nice to wander and take photos.

The weather wasn’t great, and the sky was bit washed out, so it was good to try and do some images that didn’t have the sky in it, which wasn’t always easy, but we managed.  It was a great day besides that, and I think everyone had a good time.

melbourne-bourke-street-socialsnappers-1040

We started at Parliament House, and we just walked around the steps and took lots of photos of the different features.  I have more photos in the gallery and there is a plaque there with some information on when it was built and such.

melbourne-bourke-street-socialsnappers-1042

Anyone who knows Melbourne knows about this place, especially if they like coffee.  It really is a Melbourne Institution.  Pellegrinis has been there for over 50 years.  I just read an interesting fact that said the first espresso machine delivered in Melbourne went there.

melbourne-bourke-street-socialsnappers-1048

I didn’t know until recently, that apparently Australia is the only country that calls McDonalds Macca’s, is it true, I don’t know, but Macca’s is what we call it here.

melbourne-bourke-street-socialsnappers-1053

Being a Sunday afternoon was interesting visiting places like this and seeing everything closed.  This is more the business end of the city and it really is dead on a Sunday.

melbourne-bourke-street-socialsnappers-1058

I found this building really interesting.  It’s now a Hotel, but when you look more closely you can see the VR 1889, so it was built then, and above the doors it says Police Station, so it was one for some time.  The doors are large and I imagine they were like that for taking horse and carriages in and out. I thought the big bars across the top.

There are quite a few photos, so I am going to put them into a gallery for you, and will put some explanations underneath.  I won’t be around much this weekend, I’m off to the coast again so will be out taking lots and lots of photos.  I hope you have a very busy weekend planned, it is a long weekend here, so extra time for photos.

40 Comments
  1. PHOENIX #

    Omggggodddd. I am so envious. I wish I could walk those streets! I regret not trying Pellegrini’s when I had the chance. And that is interesting about the building. Love the photos. I also have a similar shot of the Parliament building as that first one aha! Thanks for sharing and bringing some nostalgia.

    March 7, 2015
    • Pellegrini’s make great coffee, I love it there. Thank you, Parliament House gets photographed so much.

      March 7, 2015
  2. Such beautiful architecture there. I have never heard of Mickey D’s being called Macca’s before. Truly Australian. I call McDonald’s several other names, some are not too pretty. We avoid the place. Mickey Dicky’s, McDeezers, McDeath, and so on. 😉

    March 7, 2015
    • We do have some good stuff. Oh yeah, it’s been called Macca’s here forever, but australians have a tendency to give things nicknames, so anyone called McDonald would probably get called Macca. Thanks John.

      March 7, 2015
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I love the perspective shot at the top! I love these buildings – old and new.

    March 7, 2015
    • That’s great Jackie, thank you.

      March 7, 2015
  4. rmk #

    Cool pics. Seems like a fun event.

    March 7, 2015
  5. Those sculptures are really cool!

    March 7, 2015
    • I know, I love them, so funny.

      March 7, 2015
  6. Great photos. I like the idea of having a theme for the outing – ie not taking photos of skies, but focusing on eye level and below.

    March 7, 2015
    • It is an interesting thing to do, though the sky was horrible that day, so it was best to avoid it. Thank you.

      March 7, 2015
  7. That is so interesting. Makes me want to visit Australia.

    March 7, 2015
    • Australia is a great place to visit. I hope you can come one day.

      March 7, 2015
  8. Just amazing images … as always – I love when you goes into buildings details … and you have some even on an angle. *smile Didn’t know that you have a total different name for McDonald’s.
    I wish you a pleasant weekend. My favorite is ” just looking up”!

    March 7, 2015
    • Thank you Viveka, it has been a while since I did some, it was lovely doing them. Oh yes, we all refer to it as Macca’s, it isn’t really official, but is the name we have given it.

      March 7, 2015
      • Leanne, you’re good what ever you put your eye and camera against – but it’s nice to see that it’s not only me that has a world on an angle. *laughing.
        Not a fan of McDonalds …. but I have to visit a Macca when I come down under. *smile

        March 7, 2015
      • Well, I don’t know about that Viveka, Yeah, I like them at time, the angles.
        Yes, you will, we can get coffees from them at the McCafe’s.

        March 8, 2015
      • Yes, they have McCafe’s in UK, but I don’t think we got them here yet. I think I prefer McCafe’s to Starbucks *smile

        March 8, 2015
      • Same Viveka, and an interesting little fact, McCafe’s started in melbourne.

        March 8, 2015
      • Leanne, we learn someting new every day. *smile – didn’t know that … thought it was in US:

        March 9, 2015
      • We do, I was really surprised when I read that too. 🙂

        March 9, 2015
  9. Beautiful city! I’ve never heard of Macca’s before. I avoid those places anyway lol. Thanks for the tour!

    March 7, 2015
    • I was surprised when someone told me that we were the only country to call them that. You’re welcome, hope you enjoyed it.

      March 7, 2015
  10. I love to look at photos of Melbourne, makes me wanna go there. My favourites are the ones with reflections. And i just learned that Mcds is Macca over there 😄😄

    March 7, 2015
    • That is good to hear Andrea, I hope you get to come one day. It is, so if you want some when you come, you just have to say you want to get some Macca’s and everyone will know what you are talking about. Thank you Andrea, don’t forget to let me know if you are coming.

      March 7, 2015
  11. Thank you. I really enjoyed bourke Street!

    March 7, 2015
    • That’s wonderful, thank you.

      March 7, 2015
  12. Melbourne is eccentric all right, and very interesting. And my heart is there anyway because it is the home of Phryne Fisher. (Who is also eccentric and very interesting.)
    (This comes to your warm self from the Land of Snow and Ice. No, not the Arctic, just New England.)

    March 7, 2015
    • It is, great city. I haven’t ever watched that show, maybe I should. You keep warm and I will keep cool. We will be swapping seasons soon. Thanks

      March 8, 2015
  13. Your photos get me so excited to come to Melbourne. Never even heard of Macca’s before. I’m going to have to look up some more of these.

    March 7, 2015
    • Melbourne is a great city Adam, so much to see. Are you coming to Melbourne? Really an McDonalds is a Macca’s here. Thanks.

      March 8, 2015
  14. I guess Macca’s is like sangas, Shazza and Jonno. We just have to shorten everything! Lovely photos Leanne.

    March 8, 2015
    • That is it exactly, I was trying to work it out, but we do, we have to shorten everything. Thanks Carol.

      March 8, 2015
  15. Lovely photos, Leanne. Maccas is, I believe, truly Australian. I’ve not seen or heard McDonalds called Maccas anywhere else

    March 8, 2015
    • Thank you, yes, I think it might be too, we all refer to it as macca’s.

      March 8, 2015
  16. Hi Leanne!
    Ha – I like that you gave McDs a nickname. 😀
    Nice walk in pics that you shared.

    March 9, 2015
    • Not me, it is a very Australian thing, we do it to a lot of things. Thank you RoSy, it was a lovely day and great company. 🙂

      March 9, 2015

Comments are closed.

