Skip to content

Weekend Wandering: Snapping Around Hanging Rock

hanging-rock-woodend-victoria-park-1031

On a very hot summer day we had a Social Snappers excursion to Hanging Rock, which is a rock formation out near Woodend, north of Melbourne.  It is quite extraordinary the way it just sits there, almost in the middle of no where.  It is of course volcanic, and there is a link there if you want more information about it.  There is an Australian novel that is set there, and a movie was made of the novel.

It seemed very appropriate in a way that it was 36ºC. In the movie it was a hot Valentines Day that the girls had the picnic at Hanging Rock, and there we were the day after, struggling to climb up there ourselves in the heat.

hanging-rock-woodend-victoria-park-1053

I am going to just do a gallery of the photos, they all sort of look the same, but I have found the trailer for the movie, which could help set the scene.  The sound track was very haunting.

For those of you who would like to know where it is here is a map.

Here is the gallery.  Today is my wedding anniversary, we’ve been married for 25 years, which I gather is a bit of an achievement these days. We don’t have anything special planned at this stage, but you never know.

83 Comments
  1. Fascinating! Would love to explore this geology. Congrats on 25 years! The divorce rate in the States is around 49 percent or so. Sick. Chock it up to selfishness, economic struggles and whatever else. God bless your family.

    March 8, 2015
    • It is pretty incredible. Thank you John.

      March 8, 2015
  2. Great shots! 🙂
    Definitely not our flat Illinois!

    March 8, 2015
    • Thanks Thomas, no not flat.
      thanks. 🙂

      March 8, 2015
  3. Thank you for sharing

    March 8, 2015
  4. Great photos. Happy anniversary.

    March 8, 2015
  5. They look like giants milling about jest beyond the treeline.

    March 8, 2015
    • Yes, I think so too, big giants in a landscape.

      March 8, 2015
  6. In case anyone is interested:
    http://skeptoid.com/episodes/4308

    March 8, 2015
    • Thanks, I had a quick look. Away now will look more when I get home.

      March 8, 2015
  7. Victor Rakmil #

    Happy aniversary.

    March 8, 2015
  8. Reblogged this on Benji Martin Photography.

    March 8, 2015
  9. You were hanging around there to good effect! 🙂

    March 8, 2015
    • Yes, that’s it, actually we were trying to see if we could see the ghosts of the girls wandering around lost LOL. 🙂

      March 8, 2015
  10. Happy Anniversary! It looks like a wonderful place to visit.

    March 8, 2015
    • Thank you Norm. It was, I think it would be great in winter.

      March 8, 2015
  11. I still need to get to Hanging Rock … saw it at a distance some years ago travelling. Your shots remind me of a place close to me in Bathurst – Evans Crown at Tarana, same geology I think but without the history. Loved the book more than the movie. Wes

    March 8, 2015
    • Yes, you should Wes, it is a great place, why don’t you see if you can get there one winter and I will find out if we can do the milky way from there. It is a great formation and I think there is meant to be another one close by too. I have never read the book, but the movie is quite slow now, though the music was haunting.

      March 8, 2015
  12. Many years ago, I used to go rock climbing there. It is a haunting place, and not just because of the “Picnic at Hanging Rock” story. It is very easy to get disoriented amongst the many rock pillars!

    March 8, 2015
    • I agree, it is very beautiful, I love the way the rocks jut out of the ground the way they do. Yes, very easy, have to be careful. Thanks Chris.

      March 8, 2015
  13. Fine trip and photo’s.

    March 8, 2015
  14. Happy Anniversary to you! 25 years is an accomplishment.. Celebrate!

    March 8, 2015
    • Thank you, it does seem to be that way these days.

      March 8, 2015
  15. Hello Leanne,
    Lovely pics as always. Remember watching the film years ago, very atmospheric piece. I hope that you have a chance to celebrate such a great milestone in your marriage. Congratulations, and best wishes
    Julian

    March 8, 2015
    • Thank you Julian. The music really made that movie. I am not sure what we are doing, thought I would leave it up to him, which probably means nothing.

      March 8, 2015
  16. exceptional pictures. really amazing!

    March 8, 2015
  17. Happy Anniversary!

    March 8, 2015
  18. Nice setting and beautiful photos! That looks like a wonderful place to explore.

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! I wish you at least 25 more! My husband and I are only a few years behind you. 🙂

    March 8, 2015
    • Thank you, it is a great place for photos.
      Thank you, I wish the same for you. 🙂

      March 8, 2015
  19. Beautiful shots, Leanne. What a great place to go shooting.

    March 8, 2015
    • Thank you Cate, it was a great spot.

      March 8, 2015
  20. Happy Anniversary, Leanne. Looks like a beautiful place to explore. Love the rock formations.

    March 8, 2015
    • Thank you Jane. It was, I am looking forward to exploring it another time, maybe when it isn’t so hot.

      March 8, 2015
  21. Happy anniversary – 25 (with the same person!) is certainly an achievement. Nice pictures from a hot location

    March 8, 2015
    • Thanks Freddy, it is these days.

      March 8, 2015
  22. Congratulations on 25 years! ‘Picnic at Hanging Rock’ is one of my mum’s favourite films so I’ve seen it a few times. I had not appreciated how off the rock formations are.

    March 8, 2015
    • Thank you Laura. I’m impressed, I thought only Australians would know the movie. It is quite amazing, I want to photograph it some more.

      March 8, 2015
      • We are all movie nuts in my family so we tend to know even obscure movies. Australian TV and film is very popular in the UK, however. As a teen with insomnia I became addicted to ‘Prisoner: Cell Block H’.

        March 9, 2015
      • That’s fantastic Laura, in Australia we see movies from all over the world.

        March 9, 2015
  23. love Peter Weir films!! Your photos have caught the mystery of the place. What a fantastic formation!

    March 8, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, it is fun going there because of the movie. It is weird, the way they stick right out of the ground.

      March 8, 2015
  24. PS And a joyful anniversary!!

    March 8, 2015
  25. Congratulations lovely! Great pics, I enjoyed the movie 🙂

    March 8, 2015
  26. Did you have a picnic there?

    March 8, 2015
    • No, we did have cold drinks and ice creams when we got back down.

      March 8, 2015
  27. Yay, my favourite place in Victoria! Happy anniversary and best wishes for the next 25 years.

    March 8, 2015
    • That’s wonderful Carol, you will have to tell me if there are any others.
      Thank you.

      March 9, 2015
  28. Wow–Hanging Rock! Had a most disturbing experience there a few years back. And, boy, it was terribly hot, too. Our pics were shot on a disposable camera (if memory serves) so thanks for sharing these much better quality images!

    March 8, 2015
    • You’re welcome Lori, and thank you. What happened there, did you almost disappear too, or did you see some ghosts?

      March 9, 2015
      • Let’s just say, we could easily have gotten lost and not sure when we would have been found–*shiver*

        March 10, 2015
      • It can be very disorienting, but the upside is that it really isn’t that big, you would find your way out eventually.

        March 10, 2015
  29. I wish I could see it in real life, amazing!

    March 9, 2015
    • Maybe one day you will. Thank you.

      March 9, 2015
  30. Hunting place and so was the movie. It’s on my bucket list.

    March 9, 2015
    • Yes, it is Sherry, I hope you get there. Thanks

      March 9, 2015
  31. Happy anniversary! We’re coming up on #27! Love your photos. It looks like a fascinating place and unusual geography! I’ll have to check out that movie (it’s on Netflix!).

    March 9, 2015
    • Thank you, so we got married a couple of years apart. It is quite amazing, you can see it for miles. Be warned the movie was made in the 70’s, so is very slow compared to today’s standards.

      March 9, 2015
      • I’m surprised I haven’t seen that movie unless it wasn’t in the US in the 70s. I thought I had seen most everything! Heehee! Slow is okay with a good story. I’m a fan of lots of the movies of the 30s and 40s! 😀

        March 13, 2015
      • You might be able to find it on the net Linda, I loved the music. 😀

        March 13, 2015
  32. Fantastic captures and congrats on your 25th anniversary.

    March 9, 2015
  33. Such an beautiful gallery – I so want to visit.
    Congratulations on your wedding anniversary- successful marriages don’t just happen.

    March 9, 2015
    • Thank you on both counts, hope you get to visit.

      March 9, 2015
  34. Beautiful photos, Leanne. I’ll definitely be taking a look at the trailer too. Congratulations on celebrating your silver anniversary! Hope your hubby came through with some nice plans for the evening 🙂

    March 10, 2015
    • Thank you Stacy. well we didn’t much truth be told I was so tired from my trip to the beach.

      March 10, 2015
  35. Congratulations on your anniversary! We’re coming up on 27 ourselves…
    Love these rock formations-so different from our flat landscape!

    March 10, 2015
    • Thank you Karen. That is a great achievement too’ quite weird these rocks jut out from a flat plain.

      March 10, 2015
  36. Song Traveler #

    “Picnic at Hanging Rock” is a great film. Peter Weir is a fantastic film maker. I remember the first time I saw the film I tried to find some photos of the actual place. I don’t remember finding many good shots. These photos are great! I love when writer’s use a real setting in creating mystery and ambiguity. It makes a place even more magical.

    March 12, 2015
    • Yes, though like many films of that period, it has dated quite a big, but definitely an Australian Classic like Storm Boy, or Mad Max. I was trying to find some of the places, but couldn’t really remember them properly, would like to go back again some time, spend more time looking around. thank you. It is nice, and I think really fooled many people that it was a true story.

      March 12, 2015

Comments are closed.

