Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s: Day Trip to Bacchus Marsh

bacchus-marsh-chickory-kiln-0032

It was great to see the first Monochrome Madness for the second year, and also good to see that many of you are still enjoying it, I know I am.  It is a day for relaxing for me, and to relax I will be spending the day at the zoo trying out the new Tamron 150-600mm lens that Maxwell International Australia have lent to me.  I thought the Melbourne Zoo would be a great place to experiment with it.  I hope you don’t get sick of the bird and animal photos that I keep taking.

Today I have some photos for you taken last week on a trip to Bacchus Marsh.  I went there with Christine Wilson, it is a place she has been to before, but my first time.  We went to an chicory kiln.  It is a popular photography subject.  We also took a few photos around it.

I am going to leave it there today and just put the photos into a gallery for you.  I hope you get a chance to relax today.

38 Comments
  1. Love these. My kinda of subject matter.

    March 12, 2015
    • That’s good to hear Cate, I like taking images like this. Thank you.

      March 12, 2015
  2. They have come out really great Leane , it was a great day out , I hope to get to mine eventually 🙂

    March 12, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, not bad, I was happy with what I got. I’m sure yours will be great. 🙂

      March 12, 2015
  3. I really like the mix of black and white and color. The Kiln with the moving clouds is a really powerful image, almost has a time-travel type feel. I really like the color version and as I was looking at it I thought, oh I wonder what this looks like in Mono…then the next image told me 🙂 That was great. Looks like a pretty day for photographing.

    March 12, 2015
    • Funny how since I started doing MM I look at some images and just think they will be better in monochrome now. Thanks Carrie, I like the moving clouds as well, really gives it a different feel. It was a great day, then again, always a great day when you can go out with friends to take photos.

      March 12, 2015
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Love love love that fence post!

    March 12, 2015
    • That’s wonderful, thank you Jackie.

      March 12, 2015
  5. I just noticed your Flickr logo – good to see you there as well!!!

    March 12, 2015
    • Yes, though new there, a few months anyway. I don’t use it enough, I have to get better at it.

      March 12, 2015
  6. I look forward to the bird and animal pictures.

    March 12, 2015
    • That’s great to hear, I got 800 photos at the zoo today, so will take me a while to process them.

      March 12, 2015
  7. I love that the way you relax is to shoot ☺ I feel the same way.

    March 12, 2015
    • Oh yes, one of the best things to do in the world. I love taking photos. Glad I’m not the only one. Thanks Julia.

      March 12, 2015
      • I’m finding that it also urges me to get out of the house to find something to shoot. I live with Bipolar Disorder and am on short-term Disability…getting out isn’t always easy. So in this way other than the creative aspect it’s soooooo good for my mental health! I didn’t shoot yesterday and already I’m itching to get at it today lol.

        March 12, 2015
      • What a great thing photography is then Julia, that is an amazing revelation and such a big thing to share, and it is wonderful to see people using photography, I guess like therapy. I hope you manage to get out Julia. My camera is being cleaned, so I am looking forward to getting it back.

        March 13, 2015
  8. Beautiful :). I would love to know what you think of the Tamron 150-600 lens. It is 2nd on my list for lenses to buy next!!

    March 12, 2015
    • Thanks Kirsten. Well initial impression with it is wow. I took it out today and I got some gorgeous photos. I think it might be better than the Sigma one, I love the shots I got with it. I still have a few things to work out with it, but so far I love it.

      March 12, 2015
      • I can’t wait to see the photos you post on your site using the lens! I’ve heard nothing but good things about the lens.

        March 12, 2015
      • I can understand why. I might post a couple to facebook soon.

        March 12, 2015
  9. Great shots, I also love Christine’s blog too! So dramatic

    March 12, 2015
  10. Photo outings are so much fun! I have one planned for sometime this weekend! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    March 12, 2015
    • That’s brilliant Lisa, I have another planned for this weekend too, which I’m looking forward to.

      March 12, 2015
  11. Beautiful photos, Leanne. Love how you mix up B&W with coloured photos. Very nice. Congrats on 1 year of MM, it’s an amazing feat and you do a wonderful job putting up everyone’s photos each week. It surely takes effort, well done 🙂 Now that work has started again for me, don’t think I’ll get a chance to relax until middle of the year. Full steam ahead with that and writing, and blogging 😀

    March 12, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel. I am quite proud that we have go for longer a year, it has been a great ride. Busy is good, I do enjoy it, but sometimes it gets quite exhausting. 😀

      March 12, 2015
  12. Amy #

    Love this set of series! Great shot of the fence, and the first one is a great image!

    March 13, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, there was a lot there, besides the kiln, but we managed, which can be nice sometimes.

      March 13, 2015
  13. Great photos. I look forward to seeing your work with the new lens. The zoo is a great place to try it out. So many different opportunities.

    March 13, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn. I had the trip and I have to say, I’m impressed with it so far. It is a big heavy and my arms got sore, but that was after a couple of hours, I’m sure I would get used to that. I loved the images, I put some up on Facebook and G+ of the gorillas.

      March 13, 2015
  14. love the kiln!!

    March 14, 2015

Comments are closed.

