Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Healesville Sanctuary Part 2

healesville-sanctuary-animals-birds-1079

The Healesville Sanctuary also has a Spirits of the Sky show where you can watch some of our amazing birds of prey and parrots flying around. It is quite amazing and you get to watch lots of birds doing their thing.  It was also a great place to practice photographing birds as they were flying. I’m not an expert at photographing them as they fly, but I had a lot of fun doing it, and I think it is something I will have to do again.  I might have to try it with the Tamron 150-600mm.  That would be interesting.

healesville-sanctuary-animals-birds-1044

Whistling Kite

There were a lot of birds in the show, starting with a whistling kite.  Beautiful bird.

healesville-sanctuary-animals-birds-1046

Sulphur Crested Cockatoo

Then the sulphur crested cockatoos.  We see these all the time where I live.  They fly in large packs.

healesville-sanctuary-animals-birds-1059

Red Tailed Cockatoo

The red tailed cockatoo, look at the beautiful colours in the tail, they are so nice.

healesville-sanctuary-animals-birds-1064

Black-breasted Buzzard

I think I got this one right, but not totally sure, the Black-Breasted Buzzard.  Someone else might say different.  It has that rock in it’s mouth because they showed us how these birds crack open emu eggs.  Quite amazing.

healesville-sanctuary-animals-birds-1072

Wedge-Tailed Eagle – in attack mode, the wild one swooped down

The star of the show for me, the wedge-tailed eagle.  The third largest bird in Australia, apparently.  As they were doing the show another wedge-tail came down, a wild one, and tried to attack her.  The stance she is in is how wedge-tails prepare for attack.  The other one flew away and the show went on as normal.

healesville-sanctuary-animals-birds-1075

Corella

The Corella was talking to us, hence the microphone.  They have a whole routine going, it was quite funny.

healesville-sanctuary-animals-birds-1078

Eastern Osprey

Finally the eastern osprey, again, I think this is what it is.  It dived into a pool of water to get a fish, but unfortunately the  photos I took of it didn’t work too well.

It is a great show and if you get to Healesville Sanctuary I would definitely recommend it.  It is free, but get there earlier, especially on the weekend as the seats fill up quickly. I have a lot more photos of the birds now, probably too many, but they were so much fun to photograph.  I hope your weekend is going well, and you have had some great things to photograph.

 

 

70 Comments
  1. Oh how absolutely wonderful Leanne!! That hawk looks as if he’s about to pounce on you 😉

    March 15, 2015
    • Thank you Sarah, beautiful bird, I know what you mean, don’t think I would like one to come after me. 🙂

      March 15, 2015
      • Have you ever flown birds of prey? I did a few times when I was younger and it’s just awe-inspiring and exhilarating 🙂

        March 16, 2015
      • No, I haven’t, only watched from a distance. I love to see the relationship between man and the bird, quite amazing. 🙂

        March 16, 2015
      • Birds of Prey can live for many years and form very close bonds with their handlers. I feel so privileged to have been involved with such majestic creatures and I’d just love to fly them again!

        March 16, 2015
      • I could see that, absolute trust with both. You are very lucky that you got to do that. I’m a bit jealous.

        March 16, 2015
      • You should look for Bird of Prey Experience Days! It’s done a lot here and I’d be surprised if there wasn’t something similar near you.

        March 16, 2015
      • I have never heard of them here, but will start listening out for them. They are so funny here about native birds, everything is protected.

        March 16, 2015
      • I did some reading and discovered that in Australia “falconry” is termed as hunting game with birds of prey! Lots of falconers here practice the arts of falconry without ever hunting wildlife. It astounded me that there is an outright ban, except for rescuing and rehabilitating a native bird, which you can free fly with a licence! Anyway, I did find these people who do one to one handling sessions and probably photography sessions too! http://www.fullflight.com.au/page.php?base=4

        March 17, 2015
      • Yeah, I thought it might be like that, they are very funny about people and native animals here. Thanks for your research and the link, that isn’t that far away, I might have to check it out.

        March 17, 2015
      • No worries 🙂 I was intrigued about the status of falconry in Aus! Here, the practice of falconry has actually helped to bring several endangered species back from the brink. The biggest success has been the red kites 🙂

        March 19, 2015
      • It isn’t something I had thought about, and I’ve seen it being done on shows overseas, but not really aware that it was something done here. I might have to look into it a little more. I suppose it is like zoos, it really can help. 🙂

        March 19, 2015
      • Even more so than zoos I think! It’s a close knit community but has many many members around the world so they can get diversity in genetics to help repopulate species in the wild. The educational programmes are great too 🙂 In many countries including the UK, falconry is also used in pest control which is far better for the environment than poison baits and trapping! I hope you can go to the local place to do some photography and maybe even get a hands on experience 🙂

        March 19, 2015
      • That is really good to hear Sarah, always good to hear. I will have to contact the local place and see what they say.Thanks again Sarah.

        March 19, 2015
      • Pleasure 🙂

        March 21, 2015
      • 😀

        March 21, 2015
  2. Spirits of the Sky so beautifully captured.

    March 15, 2015
  3. Great series! I think you did a wonderful job of capturing the birds in flight. In fact that Barking Owl shot is ah-maz-zing!

    It would be a great place to try/test out that Tamron 150-600mm lens.

    March 15, 2015
    • Thank you, it was a lot of fun, though they move so fast.
      Yes, I think you could be right, I might have to take another trip there with it.

      March 15, 2015
  4. You got some great shots Leanne. One of my photographer friends does amazing raptors in flight, especially eagles. According to him it is just a matter of practice and patience. Apparently with practice you get better at anticipating what the bird will do and that makes great captures a bit easier.

    March 15, 2015
    • Thanks John, I think you might be right about that, I think all the panning I did in cycling helps a lot, but I don’t know the birds,and I’ve heard that before, that if you study them you learn what they will do.

      March 15, 2015
  5. Reblogged this on Benji Martin Photography.

    March 15, 2015
  6. My favourite photo is the last one of the Eastern Osprey. Great shots and what you do think of the lens?

    March 15, 2015
    • Thanks Raewyn, I used the 70-300mm on these it is a very very cheap lens from Nikon, and I am always amazed at the results, I like it a lot.

      March 15, 2015
  7. Awesome photos, and it’s nice to see Willem DaFoe has hit on a second career as bird handler.

    March 15, 2015
    • LOL, yes, and we all get to watch him doing it. Thanks Disperser.

      March 15, 2015
  8. Sweet shots! The Corella, here in the States, would now be worth a fortune. Australia banned the exportation of parrots long ago. Here they are only captive bred… (which is a good thing).

    March 15, 2015
    • I’ve heard that before, though they still get exported, just not legally. I think it is a good thing. We have had so many introduced species here and it always ends up being a nightmare. Thanks Thomas.

      March 15, 2015
  9. Beautiful shots, Leanne! What a wonderful opportunity to see all these birds in flight!

    March 15, 2015
    • It was a great opportunity. Thank you Karen.

      March 15, 2015
  10. you have some really great shots there Leanne

    March 15, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, it was a fun day.

      March 15, 2015
  11. You truly captured the experience. I could almost hear their wings. I was almost there. Thank you.

    March 15, 2015
    • Thank you Berna, it was great photographing them. You’re welcome, that is great to hear.

      March 15, 2015
  12. Fantastic series of images, Leanne. The Barking Owl cracked me up as it zipped through the crowd.

    March 15, 2015
    • Thanks Robin, it cracked me up too when I saw the photos too, so funny with the eyes.

      March 15, 2015
  13. The Whistling Kite–what a great capture. I think you did super, Leanne.

    March 15, 2015
    • It was fun doing them and it was good to see what I got, thank you Lois, I loved the Whistling kite, actually I think I loved them all.

      March 15, 2015
  14. Awesome pix Leanne!

    March 15, 2015
  15. Wonderful to get so close to these amazing birds Especially like those which show the full wing span

    March 15, 2015
    • It was Diana, some of those birds are just amazing, and we don’t get to see the very often. Thank you.

      March 15, 2015
  16. Great pictures and I love this Wildlife Park!

    March 15, 2015
    • Thank you, you would love it, it is amazing.

      March 15, 2015
      • I do love it. Been there a couple of times 😉 We kind of stick to Ballarat Wildlife Park though…

        March 15, 2015
      • I didn’t know there was one in Ballarat, you might have to tell me more.
        I remember as a kid there was a lions park at Bacchus Marsh. We went once.

        March 15, 2015
      • Ballarat Wildlife Park is definitely worth a visit. It’s small, family run but so awesome. We love it there. You should go! http://www.wildlifepark.com.au/

        March 15, 2015
      • I will have to remember that the next time I come to Ballarat, haven’t been there for a couple of years. Thanks for the link and info about it.

        March 15, 2015
  17. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Birds amaze me for their grace in flight and their beauty; these were stunning.

    March 15, 2015
    • Thank you Jackie, glad you liked them, they are quite amazing, I love watching them, and I love photographing them, can you tell?

      March 15, 2015
  18. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend Wanderings: Healesville Sanctuary Part 2

    March 15, 2015
  19. A wonderful opportunity. The wedge tailed eagle was quite something.

    March 15, 2015
    • Thank you, it is quite a bird.

      March 15, 2015
  20. Really enjoyed this post, Leanne, as you might have guessed! Beautiful birds, gorgeous photos! I noticed the Eastern Osprey looks very much like “Mama Osprey”, it probably was a female. Thanks for sharing!

    March 15, 2015
    • That’s wonderful Tiny, thank you. I have no idea, I’m afraid when it comes to the birds I am a complete novice.

      March 15, 2015
  21. Ericson #

    Great photos that captured the kings of the sky in motion! 🙂 The images reminded me of the time I wondered what it would feel like to sprout wings and traverse the skies, just like a bird… 🙂

    March 15, 2015
    • Thank you, they do rule the skies. Wouldn’t that be wonderful, something I guess we will never know. 🙂

      March 15, 2015
  22. poppytump #

    You show the way so many times Leanne ! Such great timing you have with these fabulous bird shots … I see you remarked about the experience you’ve had with photographing and panning cycle races .. maybe I should have at try that . My attempts at capturing just one or two seagulls in flight recently have been rather abysmal 😀 … re your lens … must check I do believe I have the very same so ….
    I love them all but the yellow crested cockatoo I’m very fond of … I have a glove puppet I bought as a souvenir for myself I call Kiki Lol
    Hope you’ve had a great Sunday 🙂

    March 15, 2015
    • Thank you Poppytump. Yes, I think the panning helps, know how to focus and follow a subject and then clicking. It can be tricky to do and hard to get, but persistence always pays off. One of the things that I have noticed is that you have to have a fast shutter speed, really fast, in the 1/1000’s or you get blurred wings, they move so fast. How cool, it isn’t a bad lens.
      People used to have those as pets all the time, but not so much now, I don’t know that you are allowed to now.
      I did have a great Sunday, I was out taking photos, which, is perfect if you ask me. Are you back from Iceland. 🙂

      March 16, 2015
      • poppytump #

        Smashing … Oh thanks very much for that info Leanne … 🙂
        Yes back from Iceland physically … 😀 but mind still there …

        March 16, 2015
      • Funny how your mind can stay in one place, looks incredible.
        You’re welcome Poppytump.

        March 16, 2015
  23. Very nice. The barking owl is my favorite – the eyes are penetrating.

    March 15, 2015
    • That owl was so hard to photograph, they move so fast. Thanks Frank.

      March 16, 2015
  24. Awesome shots! Great captures! I know how hard it is, I’ve tried, though not very successfully. Good job.

    March 16, 2015
    • All practice, I think, I would like to do more, thank you.

      March 16, 2015
  25. Amazing photographs. Especially the ones of birds in flight!

    March 16, 2015
    • Thank you, I was so happy to get the ones in flight.

      March 16, 2015
  26. Fantastic post and can see you are enjoying yourself snapping at the birds. Thanks for sharing. Amazing capture.

    March 16, 2015
    • It is something I never thought I would do, but it is very nice. Thank you.

      March 16, 2015

Comments are closed.

