Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Trying New Things

melbourne-zoo-animals-birds-0048

I am trying to get ahead of things this week.  It is good, now that I have decided to write more, I need to make sure I have time for that.

Tamron SP 150-600mm

As I mentioned last week the lens has arrived from Maxwell International Australia.  It is huge, and heavy, but not really that much heavier than the Sigma 150-500mm.  I took it to the zoo the other day to try it out.  I found it good to use, and loved how close I could get to the animals with it. melbourne-zoo-animals-birds-0039When I got the images onto the computer I thought they were so clear.  Whenever I’ve used the Sigma lens I’ve always been a little disappointed.  Though to be fair to Sigma, their lens is older, and could have improved since then.  I also haven’t tried the Sigma 150-600mm.

All the photos in this post were taken with the Tamron lens.  I have processed them a little, not much, and except for the gorillas, I haven’t cropped them as I wanted you to be able to see what I could get. Keep in mind that it is a zoo and you do get quite good access, or get close enough to take photos.

The RRP in Australia for the lens is $1399, so not too bad.  I have no idea how much it costs in other countries, though knowing what things cost here, I am sure it is cheaper overseas.  Maxwell’s sent me a brochure for you to check out, click here to see it. You can also check out the Tamron website for the Tamron SP 150-600mm Lens.

I have the lens for about a month, so I will continue trying it out.  I’m looking forward to trying it out on the birds at Banyule Flats.

Book on Banyule Flats

I am making plans and actually went down to Banyule Flats the other morning to take some photos. It was wonderful.  It was cold and there was a mist over the swamp, so it gave it a lovely atmosphere.  The sunrise wasn’t that impressive, but the mist made up for it.  I melbourne-zoo-gorillas-1033am going to be going down there a lot over the next few months, and the plan is to go down there at least once a week.  Get on with getting lots and lots more images for my book.  I will, of course, be trying them out on your first.

Online Courses or Learning from Me

I have had someone else sign up for some classes online, which is great.  This time it is going to be focused more on photo editing.  So something different again.  I am excited about doing there.  Remember if you would like to learn from me you can get information from my website on Online classes.

I have other things available to, like the One on One photography sessions, so please check them out.

Digital Photography School

I have submitted an article for the Digital Photography School (dps) and if everything goes well then it will be published next week. It still has to be edited, and they might think it isn’t good enough, but I do hope you will all go and look for it if it is published, and maybe leave some comments, well one each would be enough.  I would love to do more of this sort of thing.

Newsletter

melbourne-zoo-animals-birds-0044It seems the problems I was having with doing videos for the newsletter has been sorted out and hopefully this next newsletter I can add more to it than the last one. If you want to get the newsletter then you can sign up here for it here. I want to start doing more instructions and giving advise on how I do my photography.

SITHOM Exhibition

This SITHOM exhibition starts this week.  The exhibition is of Street Photography in Melbourne, though not limited to just photos of people, which is nice.  I have 4 images going into it.

If you would like to see the exhibition it here are the details of when it is on, Thursday, 19 – Monday, 30 March, 2015,Weekdays:  10am – 4pm   Weekends:  1pm – 4pm.

The opening night is Friday at 7pm, so come along and check out the images, should be a great exhibition.

The exhibition is being held at the Victorian Artists Society, 430 Albert Street, East Melbourne VIC 3002.

See you there.

That is enough for this week.  As I said earlier, the photos were all taken with the Tamron lens at the Royal Melbourne Zoo.

 

 

111 Comments
  1. Gorgeous! Love the lemurs! They are my fave!

    March 17, 2015
    • Thank you, I’d never seen them at feeding time, it was a great watching them.

      March 17, 2015
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Wow, these creatures are stunning! The ape at the bottom is amazing; you can even see his parted lips.

    Wonderful idea! Online classes would be great. First I have to get familiar with this camera. ❤

    March 17, 2015
    • Thank you Jackie, we had to wait for a long time for them to come out, as food was being thrown everywhere, then they just grazed on the food, it was wonderful.
      Thanks for that Jackie, I have to say I am enjoying the online classes, they are working out well, and I can record them as well, so that the people can have a copy of the session. Brilliant. 🙂

      March 17, 2015
  3. Will you share the images you have in the exhibition?

    March 17, 2015
    • Yes, not sure when, but I will try to, though I thought I might have already, but maybe I didn’t. I will see Gypsy.

      March 17, 2015
  4. love these and you got some of them to pose!! The gorilla is wonderful!

    March 17, 2015
    • Oh yes, I just told them what to do and they did it, haha The gorilla that is side on, the full body shot, she was very pregnant and had a baby on Saturday morning.
      Thanks Cybele.

      March 17, 2015
      • awww!!! All the best for mother and child!! The zoo will have their hands full- I’ve been watching how zoo babies born in captivity fare. The mountain gorilla sadly is on the endangered list!

        March 17, 2015
      • They have had a few baby gorillas born there, but this is the one for quite a few years. They do a lot to keep them going. I love their enclosure, it is done so they can hide from the public if they want to.
        There is a glass viewing part, but they had to close it off in the last week as the male, the ones of the close up, kept scaring people away, he didn’t want them anywhere near the mother of his baby. Beautiful really.

        March 17, 2015
  5. Great shots Leanne…..I could watch and photograph Meerkats for hours, they are so fascinating.

    March 17, 2015
    • I have done a bit of that myself, though it wasn’t so good here, I’ve seen them in other enclosures there where you can see more and get better photos, but there were only a couple out in this one. I might have to go back to Werribee Zoo they have a much bigger encloser. Thanks Mark.

      March 17, 2015
  6. The photos are clear. I was curious if you hand-shot or used a tripod.

    FYI, B&H and Amazon both have the lens at US $1,069.

    March 17, 2015
    • Yes, I thought so too, they were all hand held, I didn’t have the tripod or monopod with me.
      Lenses are the type of thing we can’t buy overseas, if we do then we lose our warranty, do not worth it.

      March 17, 2015
    • Same here; you can get cheaper so-called ‘black-lenses’ but they come without the warranty. Some shops still sell them but offer their in-house warranty – or at least they used to. I don’t know if they still do.

      I wasn’t really suggesting ordering from here; just providing information for your US readers.

      March 17, 2015
      • Yeah good point, it is good information for them.
        We have the same thing, some places offer the inhouse warranty, but then my husband says, how good is it, does it actually work. I don’t know, I used to buy stuff that way and was lucky I never had a problem with it.

        March 17, 2015
  7. Nice review of this lens. I have been curious about it as there have been other reviews by Canon users and they really like it. Nice to hear from a Nikon girl!

    Tamara

    March 17, 2015
    • Thanks Tamara, it is quite a good lens, I really like it and am looking forward to going out with it again. I was actually really surprised with it, especially after using the Sigma 150-500mm, I think I like the Tamron one a lot more.

      March 17, 2015
  8. These are really good Leanne! Well done!!

    March 17, 2015
  9. great shots!

    March 17, 2015
  10. Your usual level of beautiful. I truly enjoy your work.

    March 17, 2015
    • Thank you Dee, that is so nice to hear.

      March 17, 2015
  11. Lovely photos as usual Leanne. We drove right past Banyule Flats on Sunday and I thought of you. Next time we’re in Melbourne I might get to come with you!

    March 17, 2015
    • Thanks Carol. Wasn’t it out of your way, how funny. I hope so, we should make sure it happens.

      March 17, 2015
      • We told Mrs Navman that we didn’t want to go on toll roads so she took us on a little adventure. We also managed to go past our old home in Watsonia to show Lauren, who was only three months old when we left.

        March 17, 2015
      • That’s nice, it was a little adventure. Sounds like it was a scenic trip.

        March 17, 2015
  12. Great shots. Looks like the lens is fab. Bit pricey… But fab.

    March 17, 2015
    • Thanks Maxine, it is pretty cool, though pricey, I think if you compared it with Nikon or Canon equivalents you might find the price just right. LOL

      March 17, 2015
  13. poppytump #

    You caught some lovely expressions Leanne .. from sleepy or maybe that should be dozy Lol Koala to the mama to be gorilla eyeballing you 😉
    I’ll look out for the DPS article … Have some more fun with that lens … wonder what’ll be next up 🙂

    March 17, 2015
    • I did, I think going early in the morning is the key. Thank you.
      Hopefully they will decide it is good enough to publish. Thank you, I’m sure I will before it has to go back. 😀

      March 17, 2015
  14. Amazing, Leanne!!! Just amazing!! And good for you for teaching classes. I am so happy and so proud of you for doing this! I really do wish you every success! Love, Amy

    March 17, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, I do like teaching, not sure if I am any good at it, but I do like doing it. Thank you so very much, you are a beautiful soul Amy.

      March 17, 2015
      • You can be good at anything you wish, as long as this is what your Heart desires and you practice a lot to become great. (smile) (((HUGS))) Amy

        March 18, 2015
      • So very true Amy, we can all do that. Thanks Amy.

        March 18, 2015
  15. Aw!!! amazing shots and the len is fab and have to save up some monies to get one that will be heavenly to me…

    March 17, 2015
    • Thanks Cattan, I know, I was amazed how the lens was. I think if you like shooting animals and birds, it would be a good one to get.

      March 17, 2015
    • Wow, Leanne! Wonderful photos!! In feel like I’ve taken that trip to the zoo right along with you 🙂 Thanks for sharing the info about the lens too. Fingers crossed for DPS – I’m an avid follower and fan!

      March 18, 2015
      • Thank you Stacy, glad you enjoyed the visit with me. It is a nice lens, hopefully going out to shoot some birds soon.Thank you, I haven’t heard anything, so that is good, means the article is probably okay. 🙂

        March 18, 2015
  16. Amy #

    Love this post! All are so beautiful, made me smile… Thank you so much, Leanne! 🙂

    March 17, 2015
    • That’s wonderful to hear Amy, so glad and you are very very welcome. 🙂

      March 17, 2015
  17. The clarity is fantastic…. the bird shots are just great! The heron would have to be my fav : ))

    March 17, 2015
    • That’s what I was thinking, it did a great job. I love the heron too, so pompous, well almost. Thanks Trees.

      March 17, 2015
  18. so cute!!!

    March 17, 2015
  19. Great start with the lens, Leanne. I adore the meerkat! Crystal clear! Much better than Bengie’s impersonations too😊

    March 17, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, it is turning out to be quite a good lens, looking forward to some time down in Banyule Flats, there are always lots of birds there. The meerkats are so funny, I will have to see Bengie’s impersonation one day.

      March 17, 2015
      • Banyule flats is on my list… never been there so I might join you! As for Bengie, she is a sticky beak and often sits on her bottom on the boat, standing up on the table like a meerkat, to checkout what’s happening out there!

        March 17, 2015
      • That’s good, we can wander around the swamp and over to the river, lots of birds there. I think I’ve seen a photo of her doing it, not totally sure.

        March 17, 2015
  20. Les #

    Very nice photo’s with your new Lens. Wish that I could afford one of those “big” Len’s. It would come in handy if I want to photograph Wildlife. Could have used one today while at Middle Creek Wildlife area. It would have been better to have one, since the Snow Geese were out there further than my best Lens would reach. Oh Well. I’ll use what I have. ~ Les

    March 17, 2015
    • Thank you Les, though not my lens, I have a loan of it for a couple of weeks to review it and then it has to go back, unfortunately.It would be good to have one for what you are talking about, I would like one for similar things here. We might both have to save up Les.

      March 17, 2015
      • Les #

        Sorry I’m late. Ahh, yes. Renting a Lens. Have been thinking of doing the same thing just to see how a big Lens works and how good they are. To rent a big “Widlife” Lens, say a Nikon 800 or over a 1000mm Lens would cost plenty. Not sure if I want to do that. What would happen would be that I’d get the darn thing and really like it, then I’d want it! I’d better leave well enough alone.

        March 19, 2015
      • NO problem Les. Lucky for me, it was loaned and I’m not renting it, so I get to use it and try it out and then tell you all what I think of it. I tried to see if Nikon would lend me one of their big lenses but they said no, actually they never really said anything, just stop responding. Haha. That is a major problem, I was like that after the macro, but luckily for me I was able to get my own soon after.

        March 19, 2015
      • Les #

        I asked Perfect Image about renting one of their big Lens’s. For a Sigma 150-600mm Lens the cost would be for 7 day’s $175.00. Nope!

        March 19, 2015
      • Whoa, that is a lot, then once you rent it once you will keep wanting to. Maybe save up Les.

        March 19, 2015
  21. Gorgeous zoo shots! I just got the Canon 70-200 and am hoping to get an extender for it. I can’t justify me getting a longer zoom for mainly portrait use. But I do have a lot of other toys (lenses) I want to add to the arsenal! 🙂

    March 17, 2015
    • Thank you Carol. That is a nice lens too. I am a bit the same, how much photography like this do I really want to do, if I got one, how often would I use it. I have lots of lenses now, and pretty much all I want, so this would be an added one. Something I need to think about. You could ask people if they want “really really” close ups. 😉

      March 17, 2015
  22. awww adorable pictures!

    March 17, 2015
  23. You got some great shots Leanne. Imagine what you’ll do with that lens when you are used to it! I’ve used the Sigma 150-500 and gotten some excellent results, especially on some birds. I guess that’s part of what makes the world go around.

    March 17, 2015
    • Thanks John, yes, it would be good to have enough time to get used to it before it has to go back. It is.

      March 17, 2015
  24. Awesome shots!
    Animals rock! 🙂

    March 17, 2015
  25. All these pictures are great! I’m anticipating that you’ll get excellent pictures with this lens even when you go to “shoot” the birds in Banyule Flats.

    March 17, 2015
    • Thanks Tiny, I hope so, it will be good to shoot them with this lens.

      March 17, 2015
  26. These photos are amazing, Leanne. I love the one of the bird on the branch the most. It is so dignified looking. Please tell us when the article posts so I can be sure to comment.

    March 17, 2015
    • I know just what you mean Nicci, it is like it is very pompous. I will try to, I should be able to put a link to it in next Tuesday’s post, that is if they post it. Thank you.

      March 17, 2015
  27. That’s a brilliant portrait of the gorilla. If he were a movie star, that would be his official head shot.

    March 17, 2015
    • Thank you Marilyn, I love that idea. He was a gorgeous boy.

      March 17, 2015
  28. Love these!! Amazing!!!

    March 17, 2015
  29. Oh Leanne, such wonderful pics! Great news about the DPS ..

    March 17, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, I hope so, it has to be published first.

      March 17, 2015
  30. Nice photos. I look forward to hearing more about the lens, I’m looking to graduate from my 70-300(I have a sigma and a nikon – both old)) and have been looking at this and the sigma.

    March 17, 2015
    • Thank you Frank and you will hear more, I have lots of plans for it before it has to go back. So far, I think it is a great lens, I liked using it and I was really surprised at how clear they were, brilliant.

      March 18, 2015
  31. Wow, exceptional, Leanne! The lens is a keeper for sure, stunning close-ups! And I will check it out. Might be better priced in the U.S.

    March 17, 2015
    • It would be, well if it were mine, but I can see why people like it. I think someone found a price in the US for it, and it was much better. thanks Alexandria.

      March 18, 2015
  32. Whatever be the lens… we could feel the signature style of Leanne in all these images 🙂

    Doesn’t really look like, they are captured in a zoo …

    Now you have a 600mm lens, then we can expect some real visual treat in coming days 🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing, Leanne and have a beautiful day 🙂

    March 18, 2015
    • Thank you, what a lovely thing to say.
      They have done things at the zoo to give them lots of room, and the space like they would have in their own environment. Which is wonderful. 🙂
      I will do my best, hopefully shooting some birds soon.
      YOu have a great day too Sreejith. 😀

      March 18, 2015
      • More color on it’s way, then 🙂

        I don’t mind waiting at all 🙂

        March 20, 2015
      • Oh yes, more colour.
        That’s good to hear. 🙂

        March 20, 2015
  33. Impressive photos. Love the lens

    March 18, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn. I think I love the lens too.

      March 18, 2015
  34. Lee #

    Super photos!

    March 18, 2015
  35. great set, leanne. I especially like 0044,0045 and 1033. beautifully framed and for me brings out that bit more character out of these beautiful creatures.
    ken

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you Ken, it is nice seeing them up close, well through the lens. I think I could fall in love with the lens.

      March 19, 2015
      • Good morning, Leanne.
        And why not, it looks like a good one. I am waiting for the Fuji 100 400 which will be announced later part of the year.

        March 19, 2015
      • Good Morning Ken.
        Problem is it has to go back in a couple of weeks, so if I full in love with it, then I will be devastated when it goes back, LOL. Oh well, maybe one day. 🙂

        March 19, 2015
      • Maybe Tamron Australia can make out a permanent review loaner item for you 🙂 , hope they are reading this :-).

        March 19, 2015
      • That would be nice, but don’t think it will happen, I will just have to enjoy it while I have it. 🙂

        March 19, 2015
  36. I love parakeets.. they are so beautiful and cute and noisy.. 🙂

    March 20, 2015
    • Oh you mean the lorikeets, they are very beautiful birds, but also very loud. 🙂

      March 20, 2015
      • Yes them…I heard their cries late into the evening in Cairns and love them:-)

        March 20, 2015
      • Haha, we don’t hear them around where I live, we get them sometimes, but not often, more likely to get the cockatoos or Corellas.

        March 20, 2015
      • I used to have an Indian rose ringed parrot for a pet and it would perch on my shoulder (like pirates) and nibble on ears.. so I am fascinated by these birds even cockatoos and Corellas. They are intelligent beings too..

        March 20, 2015
      • That is so funny, I didn’t think parrots really did that. They are great birds, especially if you can get them to talk to you.

        March 21, 2015
      • Leanne mine ate away at my zirconia earnings -the shiny stone was tempting. If you get them to talk they are just too cute 🙂

        March 21, 2015
      • I hope it didn’t choke, LOL, I love it when they talk.

        March 21, 2015
      • hehe no amazingly found the stone intact in its poop lol. Mine could only say mummy otherwise would mutter things which we didnt understand.

        March 21, 2015
      • That was very lucky and great that it said something.

        March 21, 2015
      • 😀 yes.. it was lucky

        March 21, 2015
      • 🙂

        March 21, 2015
  37. These are really great photographs. The one thing I miss with my camera is having a long lense.

    March 20, 2015
    • Thank you, oh yes, long lenses can be fantastic, though all of these were shot with the 24-70mm I think.

      March 20, 2015
      • Really! You must have got close then. Anyway they were really very good photographs.

        March 20, 2015
      • I guess I was fairly close, I like wide angle. Thank you.

        March 20, 2015

Comments are closed.

