Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Photos from Social Media

sunrise-banyule-flats-fog-swamp

Quiet Thursdays might change.  I have been trying to put up more images on Social Media and seeing what people think of them, so I was thinking that maybe I could start using this day to show them to you.  They often don’t fit into any other posts, and I usually do more work to them.  So today I have 7 images for you that I have put on Facebook and Google+ this last week.  It is interesting to see how they do on those and I’m looking forward to seeing how they go on WordPress.

They are all experimental, meaning I’ve been trying some new things.  Some things I love, some things not so much, but it has been fun to play with some images. I have put where they were taken underneath. I’m off to the zoo again today to see if I can see the new baby gorilla.

92 Comments
  1. My favorite yet! Fabulous, thanks for sharing.

    March 19, 2015
    • That is fantastic. Thank you.

      March 19, 2015
  2. Nice collection. My favorites are the mist rising from Banyule Flats at sunrise.

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you David, I think the mist photos were great, I was so happy to see it.

      March 19, 2015
  3. Love these images, the dark, moody quality to them. Beautiful.

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you Michael, I like that about them too, love making them like that.

      March 19, 2015
  4. I watch your wonderful photos on fb Leanne and Im happy to see them here too. I always know its your beautiful work 😃
    Have a great day at the zoo!

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you Robyn, the support is wonderful. We had a great morning, we were among the first to see the baby gorilla, funnily enough I have put a photo on fb of her.

      March 19, 2015
      • So exciting that you saw her 😃
        Will take a peek very soon!

        March 19, 2015
      • It was, and also because we are among the first, so that was great.

        March 19, 2015
  5. Utterly awesome and amazing beautiful works. simply love it. Thanks for sharing.

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you so much, that is fantastic.

      March 19, 2015
  6. Great shots. Keep it up!

    March 19, 2015
  7. Some more wonderful images Leanne. I especially like the last Sunrise at Bonyule Flats. You’ve really nailed both the low fog and the reflections on the water. The golden light is just right to create an ideal offset to the very dark trees. I also like the Marina Mordilloc where you got great perspective and color. The angle of the water past the boat really draws the eye into the horizon. Finders Blowhole has a wonderful mix of sharp and soft on the water and a stark contrast to the rocks.

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you John, I love that one too, though I like a few of them. The fog was hard to do, I did struggle with it a little, I think I need to practice more. Thanks again John, that is wonderful, glad you like them. This is the sort of work that means a lot to me.

      March 19, 2015
  8. I put a lot of my odds and ends on Facebook because sometimes, they images are more interesting than they are good. But these are good, too 🙂 I don’t think you know how to take a bad picture.

    March 19, 2015
    • Oh I do Marilyn, I take some really bad ones, I just make sure no one ever sees them. 🙂 Thank you so much for that.

      March 19, 2015
  9. I liked the marina.

    March 19, 2015
    • Thanks, that was such a great spot for photos, must go back.

      March 19, 2015
  10. Hi Leanne! These photos are marvelous! Here, or on social media, they do shine for sure! Love all photos, especially of that blue boat. Take care, my friend, and good luck on your excursion to the zoo! 🙂

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you so much Fabio, these sorts of photos mean a lot to me. Thanks and you take care too. 🙂
      The zoo was great, got to see the baby and take photos.

      March 19, 2015
  11. lensaddiction #

    I really like the two tree silhouettes with the sunrise and the mist 🙂

    March 19, 2015
    • That’s fantastic Stacey, thank you, it was a great morning for photos.

      March 19, 2015
  12. I love these Leanne as you know already… The sunrise shots over the marshes, the dark seascapes with the black basalt. They are all really distinctive. How different is the audience on Google+?

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you Chris. I love doing this sort of thing. It is quite different, the image of the mordi boat only got about 70 likes on fb, but on Google+ got over 300, so you never quite know. I seem to do better on G+ at times.

      March 19, 2015
  13. Very nice indeed!
    I like the first and the last best! 🙂

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you Tom, the sunrise shots, that’s great. 🙂

      March 19, 2015
  14. Your photos are always so lovely ~ thanks for sharing them!

    March 19, 2015
    • Oh thank you, what a lovely thing to say.

      March 19, 2015
  15. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The fog is delicious! 🙂

    March 19, 2015
  16. You’ve turned a bike rack into a beautiful, sparkling, thought-provoking work of art. This is a tribute less to your camera than to your vision as an artist. Also, the splash of red/orange color on the boat dock, in a set that otherwise seems to emphasize composition over color, caught my eye 🙂

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you, I love what you have said, it is fantastic. That’s really good, thanks again. 🙂

      March 19, 2015
  17. I like the last one “Sunrise Flats” especially – it looks like a painting. Soft fog is like pastels. Very calming.

    March 19, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear, thank you so much.

      March 19, 2015
  18. I love the sunrise at Banyule Flats

    March 19, 2015
  19. Amazing photos, Leanne. The Banyule Flats one is simply stunning. Look at that reflection. Hope you had a great time at the zoo and saw the gorilla 😁

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, the flats was gorgeous that morning. I did have a great time, was in the first group to see the new baby gorilla which was great.

      March 19, 2015
  20. a fantasy delight!! Some of these are otherworldly beautiful and I also love the boat image.

    March 19, 2015
  21. Amazing shots! Keep up the great work!

    March 19, 2015
    • I’ll so my best, thank you.

      March 19, 2015
  22. Beautiful images! That last one is my favorite. 🙂

    March 19, 2015
    • I think it is a popular image today, who knew, thank you so much.

      March 19, 2015
  23. Kylee #

    Wow, this is so Beautiful 🙂

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you, that is wonderful to hear.

      March 19, 2015
  24. I think your work is superb ! Just carry on !

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you Jenny, no fear there, I will continue on.

      March 19, 2015
  25. I love the Banyule shots, it’s worth getttng up early!

    March 19, 2015
    • It was worth it Gypsy, thank you.

      March 19, 2015
  26. Love the two Banyule flats misty sunrise images!

    March 19, 2015
    • That is wonderful Sue, thank you.

      March 19, 2015
  27. Love the drama of the last one! And the boat (of course! 🙂 )

    March 19, 2015
    • Seems the last one is very popular, thanks Jo. 🙂

      March 19, 2015
  28. They’re all gorgeous, Leanne. Painterly and quiet. I love them.

    March 19, 2015
    • I like that description Distan, thank you.

      March 19, 2015
  29. Lovely shots Leanne, I really like the early morning ones at the flats, well worth the effort, as much as I would like to take them and will, I can imagine the cold and frosty morning that it will be when we are out and about 🙂

    March 19, 2015
    • Thank you Kaz, seems the early morning ones are very popular and yes worth the effort, but yes, it can be very cold here in the mornings, you will need lots of warm clothes. 🙂

      March 19, 2015
  30. The water ones are standout for me ….great atmosphere love the colours so subtle and delicate : ))

    March 19, 2015
    • I like photographing water, so I am happy to hear that Trees. Thank you.

      March 20, 2015
  31. Beautiful images as always.

    March 19, 2015
  32. Nice work! You got yourself a follower. 😊

    March 19, 2015
    • That’s wonderful, thank you.

      March 20, 2015
  33. Love it!

    March 19, 2015
  34. Great tree silhouettes

    March 20, 2015
  35. These are all fabulous!

    March 20, 2015
  36. Gosh these photos are wonderful. You have a real talent! Thank you for sharing

    March 20, 2015
    • Thank you and thank you for what you said.

      March 20, 2015
  37. Great photos. My favourite just has to be the first one of the Banyule Flats. Stunning colours and reflections.

    March 20, 2015
    • It would seem the photos of Banyule Flats have been very popular, thanks Raewyn.

      March 20, 2015
  38. You have some really beautiful peaceful images there.

    March 20, 2015
    • thank you, I like the idea of peaceful, lovely.

      March 20, 2015
  39. elmediat #

    Excellent set, especially the Banyule flats. There one I care for the least, and that is a personal preference. The monochrome blowhole composition gets to me a bit. I know it is a processing style – it creates this surreal quality to the flow of liquid. There are times when I am fine with it – you know how much I love surreal & monochrome – but in some compositions when this “hyper-reality glow-flow” effect appears, it bothers me. Perhaps it is because I am anticipating a more naturalistic style in some situations and to me there is a noticeable difference – on its own it has a dramatic dreamscape quality.

    Then again, your work is amazing and it leaves me humbled that you even pay attention my blogs. 😀

    March 20, 2015
    • Thank you.It is okay if you don’t like it, I know that not every image is going to appeal to everyone. We all have our own individual styles and tastes. This image is definitely not naturalistic, by any means. I’am glad you like the others.

      March 20, 2015
  40. Leanne, beautiful images. I have seen more on Facebook. I so enjoy seeing your work there too 😀

    March 20, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, it has been fun posting more often on Facebook, and I like it that you follow me there too. 😀

      March 20, 2015
  41. Love the Banyule shot Leanne … Perfect moment. Wes

    March 20, 2015
    • Thank you Wes, I love it that it is just down the hill from me pretty much, I can go there anytime.

      March 20, 2015
  42. This is SUCH a wonderful set of photos, Leanne!

    March 20, 2015
  43. poppytump #

    Aah the misty Banyule Flats … very atmospheric Leanne and please don’t make me choose 🙂 The coooool hues are rather special … and the warmth in the other full of promise for the day ahead …

    March 21, 2015
    • Okay Poppytump you don’t need to choose. 😀 I love the hues, I had to do a lot of work there, so worth it. Thank you so much, I’m a bit overwhelmed at how much people have liked them.

      March 21, 2015
  44. Beautiful!

    March 22, 2015

Comments are closed.

