Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Birds at Werribee

The last 24 hours have been so crazy and I almost thought I wouldn’t get a post done.  So I have made the decision to do a quick one today, I hope you don’t mind.  I spent a lot of time yesterday with Wendy Philip and Chris Wilson. Wendy was visiting from Adelaide and we organised a sunrise shoot down at Sorrento. I was up at 4am and then spent the day with those wonderful ladies photographing the ocean around Sorrento.  You will have to wait for those photos, they need too much work at this stage.

Today I am just going to do a gallery for you of some photos I took with Chris from sv-takeiteasy a couple of weeks ago when we went to the wetlands over at Werribee. I was using the Sigma 150-500mm on my old camera, the Nikon D300s, been a while since I used it.  It is so fast.  We saw lots of birds, and I know some are Cape Baron Geese, some spoonbills, lots of different ones.

I hope you are having a good weekend and enjoy your day.  I think I might try sleeping, or I might have to start working on some photos.

55 Comments
  1. Leanne, those pix are lovely.

    March 22, 2015
    • Thank you, I wasn’t sure about them, so that is great to hear.

      March 22, 2015
  2. My favorite is the very last one.

    March 22, 2015
    • That’s great Victor, thank you.

      March 22, 2015
  3. That last shot is s cracker.

    March 22, 2015
    • Yep, an absolute cracker, LOL, thanks Debra.

      March 22, 2015
  4. I really like the last photo of the long-legged bird coming in for a landing. Nice!

    March 22, 2015
    • Thank you, it seems to be the most popular of the bunch.

      March 22, 2015
  5. Am loving your “series” of images in your posts, Leanne; really astounding works! FYI, I don’t know if you’ve had a chance to check out my new blog site now at http://www.lauriemerritt.photography/blog/. Take a look, and I hope you enjoy some of them. Take care!

    March 22, 2015
    • Thank you Laurie, I will go and take a look.

      March 22, 2015
  6. Lovely gallery!!

    March 22, 2015
  7. Birds are such wonderful beings. Great feeling of freedom in the photos.

    March 22, 2015
    • They are Mary, and wonderful to them in places where they can just fly.

      March 22, 2015
  8. Nice to see birds from Australia! Some of them are a bit different than what we have here, like the ibis and the spoonbill. I don’t think we have the Cape Baron Geese. Thanks for these great pictures!

    March 22, 2015
    • You’re welcome Tiny, and we do have some different ones, some from the same families but are different in some way. Thanks.

      March 22, 2015
  9. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The reflections are a plus in these; Werribee is perfect for these water birds. 🙂

    March 22, 2015
    • Thanks Jackie, I think because this area is fenced off and the gates locked so only some people can go through means it is a safe place for the birds. 🙂

      March 22, 2015
  10. Great photos! 🙂
    I have a fossil plate of a long-legged bird (from 50 million years ago) that is much like the birds in the lower photos. So these types of birds have been around a lot longer than us! Humans have only been around for 2 to 4 million years… and that’s a stretching it considerably!

    March 22, 2015
    • Thanks Tom, and that fossil plate sounds amazing. I wouldn’t be at all surprised at that, very interesting.

      March 22, 2015
  11. Wow you got a great sampling of birds on this outing LeAnne! Looking forward to seeing shots from your latest outing at the ocean.

    March 22, 2015
    • I did, it was great to see so many. Thank you, not sure when I will get them up, soon I hope.

      March 22, 2015
  12. Sigma and Tamron produces some good lens these days. Nice captures.

    March 22, 2015
    • They are, really getting competitive as well.

      March 22, 2015
      • Glad, let the prices drop. lol 😛

        March 22, 2015
      • 😀

        March 22, 2015
  13. You are becoming a Twitcher, Leanne😀! we’ll have to keep going so you can identify them! Love the Cape Barren Geese and the Black-Winged Stilts, in particular those with the reflection in the water!

    March 22, 2015
    • Oh no, am I, LOL. I am surprised how much I am starting to identify them now. I loved the reflections in the water too, they were great that day.Thanks for taking me there.

      March 22, 2015
  14. Wonderful birds 🙂 Makes me long to fly!

    March 22, 2015
    • Thank you Marilyn, I know what you mean, the freedom. 🙂

      March 22, 2015
  15. Some great pictures here. I am sorry that you are hattered. I hope that things calm down for you.

    March 22, 2015
    • Thank you, yes, been too busy going out and taking too many photos, hopefully after the flower and garden show.

      March 22, 2015
  16. Amy #

    Beautiful bird images! Really enjoy the flying bird captures.
    Hope you get some sleep, Leanne. 🙂

    March 22, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, I really like the birds flying too, I love getting them in flight.
      I did get some Amy, thank you. 🙂

      March 22, 2015
  17. Great photos. I just love how the birds were reflected in the water. Take care.

    March 22, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, the reflections worked well.

      March 22, 2015
  18. These photos are great.
    They capture the movement of birds quite well.

    March 22, 2015
    • Thank you, glad you think so.

      March 22, 2015
  19. Lovely photos, and captures the mood of a tranquil scenery 🙂

    March 22, 2015
    • Thank you, I like that word, tranquil. 🙂

      March 22, 2015
  20. The stilts are soooo elegant!!! And what a feast of birds it must have been fantastic! !

    March 22, 2015
    • Aren’t they, I love them, love watching them as well. There were so many, I was really surprised. Thanks trees.

      March 22, 2015
  21. Beautiful Leanne …

    March 22, 2015
  22. poppytump #

    *sigh you have me wishing for wings and long legs Leanne 🙂
    A splendid collection of the wetland birds !
    Looking forward now to seeing the ocean pictures from your meet up … have a lovely evening.

    March 22, 2015
    • Haha, you and a couple of others Poppytump.
      Thank you, it was a good day for the birds.
      I won’t be showing the other images for a couple of weeks I think, I need time to work on them.
      You have a lovely morning.

      March 22, 2015
  23. Great pics. Looks like my kind of place.

    March 23, 2015
    • If you love birds, then yes, perfect place for them. Thank you.

      March 23, 2015
  24. I especially like the ones with reflections!

    March 23, 2015
    • I think they have been quite popular, thank you.

      March 23, 2015
  25. LB #

    I completely get the time thing, Leanne! It’s been so long since I’ve had time to visit many of my favorite blogs on WP. It’s good to be here!
    Glad you got to enjoy the wildlife and photography session

    March 23, 2015
    • It’s hard isn’t it, shame we can’t do everything. Glad you are enjoying taking a look around.
      I did enjoy it Laurie, it was a lot of fun.

      March 23, 2015
  26. no worries – it’s always a pleasure to check out your images 🙂

    March 23, 2015

Comments are closed.

