Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bit and Bobs: Almost There

This week and next week could be quite busy, but if things go well, then the following week after Easter should be a lot easier.  I’m looking forward to not being so busy.  Still there is more to get through.

SITHOM

The exhibition SITHOM, which is about street photography in Melbourne is still on and if you would like to go and see it the information about the exhibition is here. I know some of you asked to see the images that I have put into the exhibition and I was going to show them here, but there is a link on the page to see all the artists, so for the artists clickscmpLC1_8449 here, you should see my name under the link and my images are there.  Though I would encourage you to look at the work of the others too, there are some fantastic street photographs there.

Other Exhibitions

I’ve had another piece accepted into a exhibition, this is one that is celebrating the 100th Anniversary of Gallipoli, which was a campaign, I think they call it that, during the first World War where many Australian soldiers lost their lives.  I took a photo of one of the war memorials here with the sun rising behind it.  Sunrise is a big part of the “Lest We Forget” remembrance of the war.  I think the exhibition is called “Recollections” and will be on at Hatch Gallery in Ivanhoe from the 21st of April to the 30th of May.  I will get back to you with more information when I have it.

Digital Photography School

My article “It’s my image and I will do what I want with it.” or something like that is being published today or tomorrow, not quite sure what time zone it will be published, I was told Tuesday.  I have a link to a page about me, and when the post is published it will appear there, so I believe.  So you can go to Author Profile: Leanne Cole. Keep an eye out for it.  I would be wonderful if I got lots of comments from you all.  I will put a link here to the article when I get it, and will also paste it on my social media sites as well.

Here is the link to it, It’s Your Image Do What you Like to it

Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show

As the title says the Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show is on this week, starts on Wednesday, well scmpLC1_9037tomorrow really. I have never been to this before, though have often thought of going, never quite got there. This year I’ve been given a pass so I can attend everyday, if I like.  I know I will be there at least 3 out of the 5 days.  Part of the reason for doing this also is because I was asked to be a judge for a kids photography competition.  It seemed like a good thing to do and I am looking forward to being part of it.

This weekend, I am sure you will see lots of photos of gardens and such.  I am looking forward to doing lots of photos with my macro lens and seeing what I can get with it there. I am hoping there will be lots of exotic flowers there.

Social Snappers

I am still working out dates for Social Snappers next term, but I have decided on the places we will visit, here they are but not necessarily in the order we will see them.

  • Fitzroy Gardens – autumn colours should be spectacularscmpLC1_8419
  • Cranbourne Botanical Gardens – lots of architectural elements with lots of native plants
  • Royal Exhibition Building and Museum – a tour of an empty Exhibition Building, hopefully
  • Werribee Zoo
  • Early Sunday morning shoot along the Yarra River

As I said previously, I am going to do them for free this term and see how we go.  I want to organise some special classes, like astrophotography along the coast, some night photography classes, and maybe some other things.

Meeting Other Bloggers

I said briefly on the weekend how I went out with a couple of other bloggers.  I went with Chris Wilson down to scmpLC1_9042Sorrento. Chris and I go out together quite a bit to take photos.  We were travelling down to Sorrento to meet up with another blogger, Wendy Philip.  Wendy is from Adelaide and was in Melbourne for the weekend.

I’ve spoken before about how much I love that aspect of the blog.  There are millions of bloggers out there, all around the world, and it is quite amazing to meet some of them as well. Wendy was no different, the conversation flowed the whole day and we had a ball going around Sorrento taking photos, seriously what better day could you ask for.

Wendy it was wonderful meeting you the other day, I had a great time with you. Next time you are coming to Melbourne we might have to organize something bigger.

I have chosen images to day of the areas we went, well in similar areas.  They were taken about 2 years ago, down at Sorrento just after I got my first ND filters, you will be able to see that they were cheap ones.  I learned a big lesson here.

61 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Iconic Tonic.

    March 24, 2015
  2. You have certainly been busy, and there is a lot going on there, indeed!
    I have generally found that if one ‘clicks’ (not only photographically!) with someone on the blog, when you meet it is like a meeting of old friends.

    March 24, 2015
    • It has been nuts Colonialist, just when I think I will get some time something else crops up.
      I have found the same, it is amazing, it is like catching up with an old friend, exactly.

      March 24, 2015
  3. so smooth and soothing to the eye and soul!! Beautiful!

    March 24, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, I like that.

      March 24, 2015
  4. benjii1993 #

    Super great pictures! You’re really good.

    March 24, 2015
    • I just have lots of practici Benji, but thank you so much.

      March 24, 2015
  5. You deserve a good rest I think Leanne!

    March 24, 2015
    • Yes, that would be nice a week at home doing nothing.

      March 24, 2015
  6. So very beautiful post Leanne 😀

    March 24, 2015
  7. Reblogged this on cameronstlaurent.

    March 24, 2015
  8. ah, peace and beauty at the edges of day….

    March 24, 2015
  9. I love these glowy images you are doing recently!

    March 24, 2015
  10. Glorious pastel tones Leanne!

    March 24, 2015
    • Thank you Sarah, it was a gorgeous morning.

      March 24, 2015
      • I can tell Leanne. A perfect calm 🙂 I love being out in the freshness of the air on days like that. Makes you want to breathe in so deep that all the colours are drawn in with the calm!

        March 27, 2015
      • Oh yes, that perfect calm, it doesn’t happen often. I love it, makes you feel great.

        March 27, 2015
      • It really does Leanne! I think the fact that it only happens once in a while is what makes it feel so special. Almost like stepping outside of life for a moment 🙂

        March 28, 2015
      • Oh yes, I love catching it when I can, that stillness, I must get up and out more often early in the morning. 😀

        March 28, 2015
      • I just wish I could Leanne!!!

        March 28, 2015
      • It would good if you could, but I understand.

        March 28, 2015
      • Frustrating but it is the way it is!

        March 28, 2015
      • It is, we all have to deal with limitations in a way.

        March 28, 2015
      • Very true Leanne!

        March 28, 2015
  11. Nice to read that things are going well Leanne 😉 The colours are simply beautiful on these photos.

    March 24, 2015
    • Thanks Andrea, things are going well. 🙂

      March 24, 2015
  12. You captured nature’s works of art so beautifully.

    March 24, 2015
  13. I do so love your photography

    March 24, 2015
    • Thank you Dave, that is such a nice thing to hear.

      March 24, 2015
  14. Congratulations on all the good heading your way: published, accepted, judge! The kids photo contest should be a lot of fun. Yay for you!

    March 24, 2015
    • Thanks Lois, I hope so, except I might have to get up in front of people.

      March 24, 2015
      • picture all of your followers just smiling at you and cheering you on!

        March 24, 2015
      • I will Lois, thank you so much.

        March 25, 2015
  15. Wonderful images and wonderful news. Hope you get more work exhibited.

    March 24, 2015
    • Thank you Luis, I am going to be exhibited, just not sure the details of the exhibition, how bad does that sound.

      March 24, 2015
  16. Oh Leanne ! These captures took my breath away. The colors are truly glorious.

    March 24, 2015
    • Thank you Emily, I went back there last weekend and it wasn’t nearly as calm, which was disappointing.

      March 24, 2015
  17. Nice images, Leanne! I am looking forward to your article tomorrow. I love the title! Brilliant!

    March 24, 2015
    • Thanks Nicci, hopefully people will like what I’ve written.

      March 24, 2015
  18. beautifully serene, very lovely. all your images are stunning 🙂

    March 24, 2015
    • Thank you, it is always nice to hear that. 🙂

      March 24, 2015
  19. Beautifully photos, Leanne. Simply stunning. Congrats on the exhibition, don’t think I’ll be able to make it due to work but it sounds splendid and amazing you got to judge the kids competition. Busy is good but not when you can’t find time to breathe 😀 I am looking forward to Easter too, it’s going to be hectic for me 😀

    March 24, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, funny how they were taken quite some time ago. Thanks for the that too, it is nice to get work into a couple of exhibitions, it has been a while. It has been fun, judging, though not always nice. I like busy but not stressful. Easter should be nice here, very relaxing.

      March 24, 2015
  20. As wonderful as ever Leanne!

    March 24, 2015
  21. So much excitement… You wear me out 🙂

    March 24, 2015
    • I wear myself out, haha, no all good, thanks Maxine. 🙂

      March 25, 2015
  22. Wow, you really do have lots happening Leanne. It’s all good stuff though. Congratulations on the exhibitions.

    March 25, 2015
    • I hope so Carol, it is crazy, so many things happening, which is nice. Thank you.

      March 25, 2015
  23. Reblogged this on NOCTURNAL RECORD.

    March 25, 2015
  24. great pictures; I especially love the last one!

    March 26, 2015
    • That’s wonderful, thank you Eugenio.

      March 26, 2015
  25. Amazing potpourri of magnificent scenery. It can be overwhelming but you shine through like your photos. There are ah hah moments, and then there’s, whew, but in the end, it’s mostly, ah hah.

    March 26, 2015
    • I like that description, thank you for sharing it with me, it’s wonderful.

      March 26, 2015

Comments are closed.

