Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Getting Published

fake-long-exposures-1

Some of you have already seen it, but for those of you that haven’t, my article for the Digital Photography School has been published.

It’s Your Image Do What you Like to it

That’s it and the link as well.  I would love it if you could all go, share the article, comments would be even better.  I really enjoyed doing it and I hope you all enjoy reading it.

Today I have more images that I have had on Social Media this week.  There aren’t as many, but one was a lot of fun getting.  The one of the gorilla with the baby gorilla.  I got that one at the zoo last week.  The baby was born 5 days before and I got to go to one of the first showings, members only.  It was fantastic, the image was taken with Tamron 150-600mm lens.

There is also a long exposure, and another one that looks like a long exposure but wasn’t.  I will put captions on them so you know.  I’ve been experimenting with taking photos and then turning them into something that looks like a long exposure.  I will share it with you, but I ask that you be patient as I’m still trying to work it out.

I’m home today and looking forward to some quiet time.  I really enjoy being at home.  I hope you get a chance to take it easy today too.

114 Comments
  1. These are incredible shots! And congrats of being published!

    March 26, 2015
  2. KBT #

    Fantastic article! Congratulations!

    March 26, 2015
    • Thanks, I hope you left a comment there, even if just to say this, help me get to write more.

      March 26, 2015
      • KBT #

        Didnt, but will!

        March 26, 2015
      • That would be wonderful if you can, thank you.

        March 26, 2015
  3. It’s a good article Leanne. You know we both agree. Well done!

    March 26, 2015
    • Thanks Adrian, yeah I thought we would. I hope you left a comment there too. I’m trying to get people to do that.

      March 26, 2015
  4. a lot of food for thought in the original article – i agree!

    March 26, 2015
  5. Nic #

    Oh my gosh, the baby gorilla is soooo tiny! 😀 Great images as usual, I’ll check out your article soon.

    March 26, 2015
    • I know, and so cute. Apparently she is very protective of her, they couldn’t have asked for more. Thank you Nic, and if you can leave a comment on it that would be great.

      March 26, 2015
  6. That’s great that you got to see the baby! I remember your post from a while back when you said she was pregnant.

    March 26, 2015
    • Yes, it was great, I have a friend who volunteers there and she told me what to do, which was great. Apparently early is good. I did post a photo of her, she was very pregnant. Thanks Cynthia and thanks for leaving a comment on my article.

      March 26, 2015
      • You’re welcome! I love your work and advice. I feel that I’m learning a lot!

        March 26, 2015
      • Thank you, and that is so good to hear.

        March 26, 2015
  7. Congratulations on the DPS article. I completely agree with you. Furthermore I think that sentiment applies to so much in life. So long as your way of being or doing is not causing anyone else harm or distress and is within the bounds of the law then you should feel free to express yourself however you see fit. I think we all waste so much time and energy fretting over the perspective and opinions of others.

    March 26, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, exactly, that is so true, and you have to be true to yourself as well. Absolutely, you just have to do what you feel is best.

      March 26, 2015
  8. congratulations…I remember reading a blog you wrote sometime in 2011 (or early 2012…anyway a while back) about undertaking this new journey…you have come along way…I hope today’s achievement is more than you imagined back then and that you continue your work…it is touching so many lives in a positive way.

    March 26, 2015
    • Thank you Brenda, that was a while ago, but it has been a great journey and I do love where my work is going now. It is rather, never thought I would be doing this, but now that is has, it is something I would really like to keep doing. Thank you so much for this.

      March 26, 2015
  9. That baby is so adorable. Love your photos.

    March 26, 2015
    • Very adorable, thank you Raewyn.

      March 26, 2015
  10. Great post… Loved the ensuing debate. Well done to you.

    March 26, 2015
    • Thanks Maxine, yes, lots of debate, this sort of topic always does. Thank you to you too for leaving your comments, I appreciate that so much.

      March 26, 2015
      • I really enjoyed your photos. Even more so because they fired up people. Isn’t that what art should do 🙂

        March 26, 2015
      • I think so Maxine, you want to get reactions from people, I’m getting that, I had forgotten about that. Great point. 🙂

        March 26, 2015
      • LOL

        March 26, 2015
  11. Thanks. Good article.

    March 26, 2015
    • You’re welcome and thank you.

      March 26, 2015
  12. sandlera #

    Great article Leanne and so true.

    March 26, 2015
  13. Janelle #

    Beautiful images!

    March 26, 2015
  14. Very good post – i did comment, but not sure if it took. I agree 100%

    March 26, 2015
    • I can’t see it there Robert, someone else I knew tried to leave a comment and it didn’t work. Thanks for trying. Glad you agree.

      March 26, 2015
  15. leecleland #

    Great image of the mother and baby and great post on dps, Leanne. You really got the conversation going there 🙂 some interesting comments also.

    March 26, 2015
    • Thank you Lee, I saw your comment, thank you for leaving one there. Some interesting, such a contentious area of discussion. 🙂

      March 26, 2015
  16. Beautiful ND shots and gorgeous baby. Enjoy your quiet day and I hope you get lots more comments on your article. Well done!

    March 26, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, I think I am getting addicted to the ND filter. I will, it will be nice to do some of my own work. I do too, the more comments I get, hopefully will mean that I will get to do more. thanks.

      March 26, 2015
      • ND filter are addictive… I am glad you said that… I have been imagining the shots I can get at Easter on the Bass Strait Islands! Wade & Sue are going to be bored to tears with me!

        March 26, 2015
      • Haha, I will have to come one day, we will have a ball. I’m thinking of getting another one, a 16 stop, haven’t quite decided yet.

        March 26, 2015
      • Have just got a soft grad 3 stop as my other 2 were hard grads… gee they are expense! 16 stop! I thought our 10-stop big stopper was black enough, but 16?

        March 26, 2015
      • They are very expensive. I am still trying to decide. It is about $200, so I need to think some more. I need to justify it I think. could be fun, if I get one you can play it with as well.

        March 26, 2015
      • Goodie! It’s like sharing a toy box!

        March 26, 2015
      • It is, makes it easier too.

        March 26, 2015
  17. First, congratulations. Second, I just read the article and thought it was just what people learning photography should know. I left my comments too.

    March 26, 2015
    • Thank you Cate, and thanks for leaving your comment, it is much appreciated. I’m glad you thought it was a useful post, I think it is important as well.

      March 26, 2015
  18. Congratulations and kudos for the excellent article!

    March 26, 2015
  19. Congratulations, I’ll try to find time to read the article today. I hope you’ve gotten some rest. It would be well deserved.

    March 26, 2015
    • Thanks Tim, it has been a great experience. I am getting plenty today. It is nice to just sit.

      March 26, 2015
  20. Nice!

    March 26, 2015
  21. Very interesting article – and discussion! I’m definitely with you…it’s photography or fine art photography…it’s what the photographer sees, not only what the camera lens sees.

    March 26, 2015
    • Thanks Tiny, it has been a good discussion. I think that is the best way too. I like that idea about what the photographer sees verses the camera, great point.

      March 26, 2015
  22. Your pictures are terrific as usual. I really love the picture of the gorilla. She is holding her baby so securely but with tenderness. Beautiful photo capture.

    March 26, 2015
    • Oh yes, she wasn’t letting her baby go, she is very protective and so was the father. Thank you.

      March 26, 2015
  23. How exciting for you Leanne! Congratulations! The images and article are really great. I hope this is just the first of many guest posts for you across the internet.

    March 26, 2015
    • Thank you so much. It is nice to have something good happen. I hope so too, fingers crossed.

      March 26, 2015
  24. Great article and great insight into the mind of a PhotogrArtist (copyright pending!) I love your photos and whatever you do to get the effect you desire.

    March 26, 2015
    • Haha, you copyright that Jonathan and then no one will be able to use it. Thank you so much, that is wonderful to hear.

      March 26, 2015
  25. Sonel #

    Well said Leanne and I loved the article. I think some folks just forgot how to have fun as well and not only in photography. I love your photography and I also believe we can do with our images what we want. In the end it’s only our own opinions that matter. 😀

    March 26, 2015
    • Sonel #

      PS: Congrats on getting published as well hon. Sorry, it’s a slow day for me again. hahah! I love your work, you know it. Keep doing what you do and know there are a lot of us out there that admire your beautiful photos. 😀 ♥

      March 26, 2015
      • Thanks again Sonel, I will keep doing it my way, no problem there. I like what I do, and I really want to see where I can go with it. 😀

        March 26, 2015
      • Sonel #

        You do that hon and always know that you are an inspiration to others. Keep going. 😀 ♥

        March 26, 2015
      • That is wonderful, I find it quite strange that people find me inspiring, not something I am used to. It is nice, but strange. Thanks Sonel.

        March 26, 2015
    • thank you Sonel, that is great. I think you might be right. I think the same, the only person you have to please is yourself when it is all said and done. 😀

      March 26, 2015
  26. Congratulations to a great photographer. I will check out the article.

    March 26, 2015
    • Thank you so much, I hope you like it.

      March 26, 2015
      • It was good!

        March 26, 2015
      • Thank you, I hope you left a comment, okay if you didn’t, thanks for reading it.

        March 26, 2015
  27. nice

    March 26, 2015
  28. I saw and read the article. I like it a lot

    March 26, 2015
    • Thank you for reading it, and its good that you liked it.

      March 26, 2015
      • I wanted to formulate a more detailed reply than “I like it”, but I am so, so very sleepy that my brain is not able to do anything logical…

        March 26, 2015
      • No I understand it is like that at times, It is sleep time here too, good night.

        March 26, 2015
      • And, it looks like you may win the match!

        March 26, 2015
      • I haven’t been watching, haha, that;s good, well for us, but not you.

        March 26, 2015
      • True… I am not watching either, but I just checked the score!
        Let’s see who wins the Cup…

        March 26, 2015
      • Yes, we will, I suspect it might be us, the team is on fire at the moment but they aren’t very good sportsman, I don’t like how they are with the other players.

        March 26, 2015
      • Well, the way that NZ has been playing, I would not take them lightly… I may watch the finals..

        March 26, 2015
      • That’s true, it is sad to say that I hope the Aussies get beaten. I like the kiwis so maybe they will win.

        March 26, 2015
      • Maybe!

        March 26, 2015
      • Who won?

        March 27, 2015
  29. Great photos and great article! 🙂 Congratulations!
    (I love how human the great apes often seem!)

    March 26, 2015
    • Thank you Tom.
      Yes, I love it too.

      March 26, 2015
  30. as usual, beauiful shots! and congratulations are in order!

    March 26, 2015
  31. Dearbhaile #

    These are beautiful photos, thanks for the inspiration!

    March 26, 2015
    • You’re very welcome, and thank you.

      March 27, 2015
  32. Congrats on being published and wonderful photos (as always)!

    March 26, 2015
    • Thank you so much, it has been quite exciting.

      March 27, 2015
  33. Well said! Your article (in its entirety) reminded me of Rilke’s Letters to a Young Poet, especially when he exhorts the poet to pay as little attention to critics as possible, because “works of art are of an infinite solitude.” The work is yours and who’s to say it’s wrong? So, I have no reason to feel guilty about manipulating my images as little or as much as I want. Thanks, Leanne. 🙂

    March 27, 2015
    • You have no reason to at all, if people question it, say it’s my image I will do what I want to it. If you aren’t doing work that you love you will hate it. 😀 Thank you.

      March 27, 2015
  34. Big congrats from me Leanne. How exciting. I shall be heading over 😀 And I just love that pic of the baby gorilla. The Mum looks like she is holding it so very gently. Sigh …

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, it is quite exciting. 😀 The mum is so protective and won’t let go of her, it is wonderful, the zoo are so happy with her.

      March 27, 2015
  35. a great article Leanne. I wrote; “Yes, to the vision Leanne! It is what I try for as well. It is personal and it is art as your own images attest. I love your “drama and sense of theatre.” Images that produce a feeling or that haunt you are the ones you remember”
    I also love your mama Gorilla here and the shadowed tide pool at the bottom!

    March 27, 2015
    • I saw Cybele, thank you so much for that, it is very much appreciated.
      Thank you, the mama gorilla was great. I am so glad you like the last one too, I love that one as well.

      March 27, 2015
  36. GREAT article and wonderful images!

    Even photojournalists “tweak” their images (hopefully just to enhance the image quality and not to deceive). There is a place for unretouched photos, but postprocessing is an art that can enhance the mood or beauty of a photo. Here are 2 treatments of the same shot of a pine tree (the first for my blog and the second for my FAA offerings):


    http://fineartamerica.com/featured/snowy-pine-john-arthur-robinson.html

    And the same for a shot of a Gerbera bloom:


    http://fineartamerica.com/featured/red-gerbera-daisy-john-arthur-robinson.html

    There’s a lot to be said for Photorealism, but an equal amount can be said about photos as Fine Art.

    March 28, 2015
    • I agree John, post processing is also a way of making an image uniquely yours, especially if you develop your own style.
      I think so to, I love fine art photography, it can be very special. Thanks for the link and showing us your work.

      March 28, 2015
  37. P.S. I just entered only LINKS in my comment above, but the comment rendered the first link in each set as a photo and the second link as a link. To see the “Fine Art” version, you have to click on the link UNDER each photo.

    March 28, 2015
    • It’s okay John, I worked it out.

      March 28, 2015
  38. “A fake long exposure” == OMG! OMG!
    “A long exposure” == Aaaahhhh

    March 29, 2015
  39. Thanks for sharing the article – I really enjoyed it!

    Nancy

    March 30, 2015
    • You’re welcome, so glad you enjoyed it Nancy, thank you.

      March 30, 2015

Comments are closed.

