Skip to content

Up for Discussion: Photographing Your Backyard

Perhaps not literally, but what about the area you live in.  I have written about this before, but maybe it is time I did it again. Whether we live in one of the most picturesque places on the planet, or somewhere that no one cares about, there are images there to take.

I’ve lived in this area for 21 years and I’ve been doing photography for longer than that, but I’ve always thought that I needed to travel away from the area to take photos.  What on earth could there be to photograph around the Heidelberg area in Melbourne that anyone would be interested in.

Then I started looking at the images that many other people were taking of other parts of the world. These absolutely LeanneCole-heidelberg-20140308-0993spectacular shots of places in the best conditions.  I kept wondering how come every time I go to great places the weather never seems to be on my side.  I never get the sunrise or the sunset.  I don’t get beautiful lighting, I just get blah and often. The reality of the world is that there is more blah than beautiful.

Then about a year ago, maybe a little more, I started realizing that I did live somewhere rather special and that all I had to do was open my eyes to see it.

I live in an area surrounded by city, but here, just 15 or so kilometres from the city, where the Yarra River winds its way to the city, is an amazing area that was initially occupied by the Wurundjeri people before displacement and the “new” owners of the land took over and turned it into farmland.  It was LeanneCole-banyuleflats-20140525-9530farmland until about 20 years ago, and from then it is slowly being allowed to return to what it was when the Wurundjeri lived on it.

It has taken me many years to truly appreciate what we have here, and with that want to help protect it and save it.  Many of you know that I have received a grant to produce a book on this area, and so taking photos of it has become very important.

One of the things that I’ve come to realize is that I can go any time, it is just five minutes down the road. It makes it so much more relaxing.  If I go down there to get a sunrise, and I don’t get one, well there will be others, and there will be other opportunities.  I am still to get a good sunset down there, but I am working on it.

Getting good images of a place isn’t about going somewhere exotic, but knowing intimately the place where you are. banyule-flats-social-snappers-sun-6 Of course you can get to know a place that you have to travel to well, but you have to be prepared to travel there often.

I have decided that the trick to getting good images is to know an area and spending lots of time in it.  For Banyule Flats I am always looking for new things and the more you go there the more you notice.  I am always on the lookout for new things

I am always paying attention to the weather reports and looking out for days I think will give me good sunrises or sunsets.  If it looks good for a sunrise and I get up early, I can go outside and if there are no clouds, or it is overcast I go and have a cuppa.  If it looks like everything is set then I will take a drive down the rheidelberg-banyule-flats-parks-14oad. I don’t know how many times I’ve been disappointed when I’ve driven to somewhere for a sunrise and it has been a nothing morning and nothing has happened.

It is very easy to think that where you live is boring. You see it all the time, you are used to it, and we all know when you see something all the time that it can become boring, who wants to see it?  Well you don’t know, there is beauty everywhere and there is beauty where you live, you just need to find it again.

Start thinking about what if someone, say me, was coming to visit you, where would you take me to take photos, then go there and take some photos. Think about what light would suit that place and maybe try some different times of the day.  Try going in different weather, it is amazing how different weather conditions can give a place a different feel.

I hear so many times from so many people that where they live is boring, so I am challenging you all to pick somewherebanyule-flats-fog-parks-trees-11 that is within 5 kilometres or 3 miles from where you live and see what you can come up with.  Banyule Flats is within that area from me.  See what you can get, I look forward to hearing all about your place. If you do a post on the photos, then send a link, I will get to as many as I can to take a look.

So the photos today are an assortment of the photos I’ve been taking at Banyule Flats and surrounding areas over the last year and in different weather.

144 Comments
  1. Beautiful, serene, spiritual…What a great Backyard!

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you, I’m very lucky to live here, I feel that way every time I go there, shame they want to put a freeway through it.

      March 27, 2015
      • A highway?? I am so sorry for that! It seems like a sacred place…..If the people making the decisions on building the highway saw your work…perhaps they might change their minds 😦

        March 27, 2015
      • We are fighting it, but they have been talking about it. Well yes, we hope so, that is part of the reason for the book, to see if we can get people to want to save it and preserve it.

        March 27, 2015
      • Good Luck! Your work is beautiful, and I hope people will see the beauty worth saving!

        March 28, 2015
      • Thank you Karen, I hope for the same.

        March 28, 2015
  2. Your home area is really pretty!!

    March 27, 2015
    • Thanks John, it is very pretty, I love it here.

      March 27, 2015
  3. Lovely post, Leanne! I always enjoy seeing your photos of Bayule Flats. Getting out with my camera close to home is something I need to work on. I tend to think of photography as something I travel for, but I know that is not a good mindset. There are plenty of opportunities near home.

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you Pam, and that is great to get you thinking like that, I look forward to seeing what you photograph where you are. Good luck.

      March 27, 2015
  4. I love your photographs – so much space and light!

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you, that is wonderful, I am very fortunate with where I choose to call home.

      March 27, 2015
  5. Wonderful pictures!

    March 27, 2015
  6. Hello,
    Here is a post I did at the end of the year. Winter had set in here in Pennsylvania (US), and I was lacking inspiration. I managed to get some shots at our farm pond, so did a brief post. And on my home page, the photo in the lower left is a neighboring pond, and falls within under three miles. I don’t roam far from home during the winter, so I enjoy the challenge of finding interesting opportunities in my own backyard. Thank you for making me realize I’m not the only one who thinks about that!

    http://krystensimmons.com/2014/12/31/winter-pond/

    Krys

    March 27, 2015
    • I think it is a great thing to do, and photographing it over and over well it will always be different. You’e welcome, it is a great thing to do. Thank you and thanks for the link I will go and take a look.

      March 27, 2015
  7. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    You make a great point about looking close by for getting pictures and it is true. There was once a man who did micro images in his back yard, I think because he was disabled, and the pictures were beautiful. Banyule Flats is a beautiful area and the history only enhances it. I love the water shots and the trees. 🙂

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you Jackie, I think it is something we should all do. It is nice at times just going 5 minutes to get some shots. I love going down there and seeing what I can get. 😀

      March 27, 2015
  8. Excellent points, Leanne, since they speak directly to my recent experience. Having spent a couple of weeks in Kauai, where I took lots of photos, I was sitting at home bemoaning the fact that there was nothing comparable locally, when I noticed that the clouds were getting interesting and sunset was coming. I rushed out of the house, drove 5 km to a viewpoint, and got some very satisfying images. As you say, beauty is all around us, we just have to SEE it.

    March 27, 2015
    • Absolutely Derek, we need to open our eyes. There is always something to photograph. I can remember feeling the same way, but then when I started thinking about the area, and not from the viewpoint of living here, I started to realize that this area is steeped in history, well for Australia, and there were quite a few things I could photograph. Thank you Derek.

      March 27, 2015
  9. I guess we just don’t see the beauty that surrounds us. Or rather we take it all for granted. I must say that in this case we’re the winners because we get to see your surroundings in all their glory.

    March 27, 2015
    • I think we do take it for granted, and we don’t think about what is here or where you are. I’m glad you enjoyed seeing where I live, I do love here and think I am very lucky. Thank you.

      March 27, 2015
  10. Those are so amazing Leeanne! I’m going to try to post some picts of my new (to me) house and yard. We have apx. 3 acres, so it isn’t much, but I absolutely love it! 😀 Love your photos as usual! 😀

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you Keli, that sounds like a great plan, put a link here when you have would love to see what you come up with. 😀

      March 27, 2015
  11. Great post and beautiful photos. You are so right about the beauty we fail to see and appreciate in our own hometowns.

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you, I think someone said it very well, we tend to take what we have for granted and don’t really see it.

      March 27, 2015
  12. I love to take photos of my backyard…Bagni di Lucca…a gorgeous part of the world.

    March 27, 2015
    • I don’t know that part, will have to check it out, it is great to show off your part of the world. Thank you.

      March 27, 2015
  13. Well said Leanne…….its great to travel and photograph new places, but we should never ignore our local surroundings

    March 27, 2015
    • I totally agree Mark, it is wonderful travelling, but I think sometimes you also have a lot more control over your local areas, you have a better understanding of it as well. I like that. Thanks Mark.

      March 27, 2015
  14. How true. For me looking around town at places I never knew existed has fueled my photography for the past few years.

    March 27, 2015
    • That is fantastic Victor, I must say, it has done the same for me. I would get depressed trying to think of places to travel too, but being able to do it all right here, is fantastic. Thank you.

      March 27, 2015
  15. Great post and pictures!
    I take most all of my photos locally… not traveling very far to get any fantastic shots. Traveling far involves using our antiquated, primitive fossil fuel cars and planes; and I love the earth too much to be spewing out pollution just to get some nice digital images. The living things are what’s important… not the images!

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you Tom. I like the way you think, it is something I need to do more as well, though I don’t travel too far, and I haven’t been on a plane for years, though that will change in the next few months. I’m okay with it, since it hardly ever happens. Thank you for sharing that.

      March 27, 2015
  16. Johann Briffa #

    This is something I have discovered for myself as well. Anyone can take a ‘good’ photo of a picturesque location. But that will just be another shot of an iconic place, and odds are that many other people will have done it better. It takes more skill and will be more personal and creative to take good photos of a place you know well. But that way you can get to show the true character of the place. At least that’s what I try to do myself.

    March 27, 2015
    • I agree Johann, photographing those iconic places means your photos are also competing with everyone elses. Yes, that is exactly what I think too, you really get to understand a place and see how it works. I’m discovering lots of things about the place I live in. Thanks Johann, I think what you do is what I am doing as well.

      March 27, 2015
  17. I live in a lovely city. It is small, which means that within 5 minutes I am out in the country. 15 minutes gets me to the coast. We have unique architecture due to the 1931 Earthquake. There are spots of native bush to see our native birds. I have done my travel and now it is nice to really explore where I live. There are also great photos to be taken even in your backyard. There is no excuse for not taking photos of where we live.

    March 27, 2015
    • I’ve heard of your city, and it’s history, I think you are very lucky to live there, and it is great that you feel that way about it, wonderful. I agree, I do hear from people who say that where they live is boring, but there is always something. Thanks Raewyn, some great points.

      March 27, 2015
  18. Great post and fabulous photos! You are really right on with this. Sometimes one needs to step back – look – re-look – and then one sees – clearly – intimately. I love walking the same path to see what is different – at times I am amazed!

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, great that you agree, I think what you said is so very important, there is always something to photograph. And yes, each time you do it you notice something different. I have several paths I can walk on, so lots ot see and photograph.

      March 27, 2015
  19. This posts subject is on a subject I have been passionate about -as a photographer – since I was knee-high to a tripod.

    I highly recommend reading this.. it’s my belief that it is the secret, unknown neighbourhoods that deserve our respect – the already famous iconic places don’t need our help!

    March 27, 2015
    • It is a great subject and I think one many overlook, I know I did for a long time, how could I have missed years of photos of Banyule Flats.

      I agree, the famous iconic places that have been photographed to death, almost, so boring, I like to find my own places to photograph. Thank you Helen.

      March 27, 2015
  20. As you know I am a big fan of taking pictures in my “backyard”. I really like yours as well 🙂

    March 27, 2015
    • It is a great thing, isn’t it Sarina, and thank you. 🙂

      March 27, 2015
  21. Leanne, when I did my travel writing course one of the suggestions was to start with local areas. There is so much to offer where we all live and I guess we tend to forget that what is normal for us is new for others. I’m currently planning my next series of posts and they are all about having a “staycation” close to home, although none are only five minutes away!

    Lovely photos, as usual.

    March 27, 2015
    • That is it exactly Carol what is normal for us is new to someone else. I look forward to your staycation series Carol, see how you go. Oh well, I’m sure they will still be close. Thank you.

      March 27, 2015
  22. You are absolutely right Leanne. I am very fortunate to have lots of great places to shoot all around this area. And yes it really is in New Jersey! I even have lots of great shots literally of my back yard. We keep bird feeders up all year, so I can relax on the deck with my camera at the ready and just wait for hungry birds!

    March 27, 2015
    • I feel like I have to say that too, yes, I really do live in the burbs, but I am surrounded by all this beauty. We aren’t encouraged to use bird feeders, instead to grow things in our gardens that the native birds would love. So that is my plan now. sounds like fun though. Thanks John, glad you enjoy your backyard too.

      March 27, 2015
  23. You live in a fabulous are for photography!

    March 27, 2015
    • I do Gypsy, took me a long time to realize it though, I am very lucky.

      March 27, 2015
  24. These photos make it look beautiful… Not boring at all.

    March 27, 2015
    • thank you Maxine, it isn’t boring, now that I am truly looking at it, and I know you do the same, you have some wonderful photos of where you live too.

      March 27, 2015
      • Aw, thanks Leanne. We’re both very lucky to live where we do 🙂

        March 27, 2015
      • I think so too Maxine.

        March 27, 2015
  25. Love the one with the sunlight filtering through the silhouetted trees and bathing the grass in green… beautiful! 🙂

    March 27, 2015
    • Yes, that was a great morning, a bit fresh, but that just made it so much better. Thanks Ruth.

      March 27, 2015
  26. Gorgeous photos Leanne. As you know, most of my photos are of ‘my backyard’, an area within about 2km of my house. And you are so right in all your observations. Going out over and over, even when you think you’ve seen it all, there is always something new. The light may shine differently on a particular tree or rock, or an animal may appear. Only yesterday I was photographing a tree I have shot many times, but the light was especially nice, so I aimed for it again. Just as I was shooting, a flock of galahs flew by. What luck!! But luck is preparation (practice) meeting opportunity. And it is also getting out there and doing it, time after time. Great post, thank you.

    March 27, 2015
    • That is wonderful Ardys, I love it when that sort of thing happens, I had a similar thing last weekend, was just taking photos of a none sunrise when two white faced herons came and sat on the fence posts, it was fantastic. I agree, it is all about being prepared, and just being out there too I think. Thank you for your story, it was wonderful. We were getting lots of galahs around here a while back, but they seem to have flown away now.

      March 27, 2015
  27. If I had a backyard like yours I’d be photographing it all the time! Mine is just too suburban.

    March 27, 2015
    • I am sure there are things there you could photograph, interesting streets, or buildings, we have some interesting buildings around here too, which is nice. See what you can show me.
      thanks.

      March 27, 2015
  28. It is a good idea for all of us. Lovely series of photos.

    March 27, 2015
  29. The vast majority of my pictures are taken in my own area and many literally in my own back yard. I really feel that I should try to get out more!

    I enjoyed your ‘backyard’ pictures today.

    March 27, 2015
    • Yes, well, it is nice to get out, but sometimes close to home is really good.
      Thank you.

      March 27, 2015
  30. Great pics and great surroundings …
    Every morning when I walk the dogs, I notice things worth to be photographed. Sometimes there is no time … most pics on my humble website are taken @home … 🙂

    March 27, 2015
    • Thankk you Bert.
      It is great taking photos around home, I need to do it a lot more, going for walks in the area is really good.

      March 27, 2015
  31. I so agree Leanne…most often I don’t have to leave my property and when I think I have seen it all something wonderful my way comes…seasons change and bring even more opportunities.floral and fauna…we live in a wonderful time when we can travel far quite quickly but often under our noses the magic happens 🙂 Bev

    March 27, 2015
    • So very true, there is always something, I love it. Exactly, I love what is under my nose, not just my mouth, LOL, Thank you Bev.

      March 27, 2015
      • Haahaha yep…I have even found the biggest things here..some trees I walk past all the time suddenly have a certain light and they become magic 🙂 welcome Leanne 🙂

        March 27, 2015
      • I know just what you mean, one day you are there at a different time of the day and there is something you had never seen before. It is amazing. 🙂

        March 27, 2015
  32. It really is a beautiful place, through your pictures to know more about this wonderful place and landscape.

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you, I think it is beautiful as well. That is wonderful to hear.

      March 27, 2015
  33. Not too many blah photos in this gallery Leanne! I like your challenge although suburbia might make it hard… might force me to look at street photos and street art around Brunswick!

    March 27, 2015
    • I have been lucky, great taking photos down there. Brunswick has some great things, surely, architecture, Sydney Road would be interesting. Oh yes, the street art. I look forward to seeing what you get.
      thanks Chris

      March 27, 2015
  34. Beautifully said Leanne, I also had my epiphany about a year ago and realised there is beauty everywhere and I don’t have to travel overseas to some exotic place to capture it… its right here. A very interesting read and beautiful pictures as always 🙂

    March 27, 2015
    • I agree, it was a revelation for me when I realised that, and Australia is a country so many people travel to, so why couldn’t I photograph it, and be more intimate with it. I love that. Thank you so much, I love what you photograph around you as well.

      March 27, 2015
  35. Remarkable. Backyard indeed!! It’s funny because I shoot my backyard again and again, same shot, different light, different angles, night, day.

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you, I’ve never tried doing that, though I do shoot at the same places at Banyule flats over and over. Interesting to see what you get.

      March 27, 2015
      • Exactly…it’s always a little different.

        March 27, 2015
      • Always.

        March 28, 2015
  36. Such beauty!

    March 27, 2015
  37. What a gorgeous yard and area you live in! ❤ I love it! Here is part one of an outside tour of my yard. I'm going to put the other parts of my yard up in 2 more posts. https://emsphotographyadventure.wordpress.com/2015/03/26/a-tour-of-my-yard-part-1/

    March 27, 2015
    • Thanks Em, though not literally my backyard, but very close by. I love it too. You can see that winter has visited you and I hope spring will be there soon. We have fences everywhere, do you have those?

      March 27, 2015
      • We don’t have any fences around here. . We are going to put up some garden fences and fence the chickens in this year. While I love when they roam around the yard, I will be glad to be able to walk on my back porch and not worry about tracking chicken droppings into my house. hehe. When it warms up a little more and isn’t raining I will be taking walks again. We have some nice little views down the road.

        March 28, 2015
      • It is funny to see no fences, that so wouldn’t happen here, people might not put up front fences, but there are always back fences, everyone wants their privacy in the back yard. Haha, love the bit about the chooks, I can completely understand that. LOL. I look forward to the walks you take with your camera Em.

        March 28, 2015
      • Where we live, no one can see into our yard, so there’s no need for a fence. If we lived around others, I would definitely love a fence. 🙂 We do like to see what our farmer neighbor plants in his field behind our house. When the kids were small, he took them for a ride in his tractor. It was cute. 🙂 We love country living.

        March 29, 2015
      • That’s good, nice to have a big back yard and a private one too. Country living is fun, I grew up in the country, moved to the city when I was an adult. 😀

        March 29, 2015
    • Thanks for sharing your back yard with us Em

      March 27, 2015
      • You’re welcome! Thanks for taking a tour. 🙂 Now to get inspired. haha It was raining when I snapped the pictures, so I was in a hurry.

        March 28, 2015
      • It will be spring there soon Em, lots of possibilities then. I must say it did look a little wet. There you go, just imagine if I hadn’t asked you wouldn’t have taken photos when it was raining, now you can do some in different lights, and see how they all turn out.

        March 28, 2015
      • I almost ran outside this evening, but it was so cold. lol It didn’t even make it to 30 degrees Fahrenheit here today and overnight tonight it’s going to get down to 14 or lower (F). It’s been a LONG winter! 🙂

        March 29, 2015
      • I think we are going to be in for a long winter this year, it is getting cold already, quite a bit of mist around this morning.

        March 29, 2015
      • How cold is a winter where you are?

        April 2, 2015
      • Cold, but probably wouldn’t be to cold compared to you. During the days we rarely have days down to 10C or 50F, and overnight when it is very cold it might get down to -1C or 30F. That is the coldest it gets, and then during that we often get beautiful days of over 20C, 68F, lovely gorgeous sunny days.

        April 2, 2015
  38. And oh my goodness what an incredibly beautiful place and the light you have captured in some of these images is just sublime!! Here’s to peoples backyards!!!

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you Trees, it really is, sad that we might lose it to a freeway. It is amazing how different it can look at different times of the year. Oh yes, here’s to peoples backyards.

      March 27, 2015
  39. Hi Leanne,

    I could not agree more with you on this one. I read a book by Brooks Jensen a while ago and he was saying the same, he kept going to famous places where all big photographers would take amazing photos and he was just not able to make anything spectacular out of it. Then he came to realize that one should know the place to capture it’s beauty. One should go 100 times to the same place, see it in different light and different angles. He also have as an example Ansel Adams. He spent a lot of time in the Yosemite National Park, he probably took hundreds of photographs until the ones that made him famous came to see the daylight.
    One should feel a connection with the scenery and transpose it in the photo taken 🙂

    March 27, 2015
    • Thanks Klaudia, I totally agree with Brooks Jensen, exactly why I wanted to start photographing my backyard. Photographing somewhere close means you have more opportunities to get good photos and you learn more about when it is good to photograph. thanks for sharing that, it was great.

      March 27, 2015
  40. Beautiful photos Leanne and a really great post! I definitely agree, there is much to be seen and found in our own areas.

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you Robyn, glad you agree with me, it’s been fantastic.

      March 27, 2015
  41. Some beautiful shots there Leanne. Love the bare gum trees in the water- did they die in a flood?

    March 27, 2015
    • Thank you, I love those bare gums too. The land had been drained for farmland and then it was allowed to be a swamp again, so when the water starting filling up all the time the trees died. I imagine at some point they will fall over, sadly.

      March 27, 2015
  42. I couldn’t agree more, we just need to look closer to the world that surrounds us. I used to take photos only on my travels, but recently I started to go out and about my neighborhood and look for interesting subjects. My last two ABF entries over at Stacy’s blog are just that, the boat and the graffiti on the bridge on the river Sava, where I spend most of my mornings with my dog.

    March 27, 2015
    • I think it is great thing, you also get images that no everyone else in the world has. I think that is the aspect I like, when I take photos of my area, an area which isn’t a big travel destination, really not one at all, then I know I am getting some unique images. Sounds like a great place you are photographing Lore, and sounds interesting. Thank you.

      March 28, 2015
  43. LOVE your “local” images, Leanne.

    Our “yard” has many trees, shrubs, perennials, etc., and about half of our lot is a wooded ravine. MANY of TheDailyGraff photos are from my yard. This past winter prevented much travel, but I was able to get some great snow photos just outside our door.

    March 28, 2015
    • I don’t really photograph much in my yard, except when doing macros, I have quite a few flowers I can photograph, which is nice. The area here in these photos is about a 10 minute walk from my place, so not too far, I call it my backyard, as it is the area I live in. That is great that you can get photos in your yard, especially when the weather is bad. I have to say that is one think I love about it here, it rarely gets that bad weatherwise what we can’t go out and take photos. Thanks John for sharing that.

      March 28, 2015
  44. Great work! I have literally shot my yard hundreds of times and it always looks new and different. Doing this also makes me stop and contemplate the beauty around me instead of the ‘tasks’ that need doing. Thanks for the beauty.

    March 28, 2015
    • Thank you, that is great to hear. It is a good thing and you really do stop and look, I really enjoy that part. You’re welcome.

      March 28, 2015
  45. Enjoyed your essay and the accompanying photographs very much. Here is a post I did this past July, walking to a spot that is a mile and a half from my home. I love going to this nearby park, and I find one of the benefits of going over and over to the same place to be that you can see what is different that day—the gems call out. I’ve been going to this same stretch of Ohio’s Vermilion River for 16 years.

    https://lindagrashoff.wordpress.com/2014/07/09/iron-bacteria-in-northern-ohio-3/

    March 28, 2015
    • That’s wonderful Linda, glad you enjoyed them. Oh yes, the gems, the image in your post is quite interesting, fascinating, is it iron ore in the rock. I think going to the same place all the time can mean you have more possibilities of getting an amazing shot. Thank you for sharing your backyard with us.

      March 28, 2015
      • There is iron (in the form of pyrite) in the shale, which is the rock you see in the photo on my blog. But I’m not sure it would be called ore. It’s in a microscopic form called framboids—so named because under a microscope the bits of iron look like the tiniest imaginable raspberries. (“Framboise” is French for “raspberry.”) My big photographic passion is for the evidence left by bacteria that breathe this iron once it’s been liberated by (by other bacteria) into the river water. My very favorite bacterium is Leptothrix discophora, which creates prismatic films on top of the water. See, for example, https://lindagrashoff.wordpress.com/2014/10/03/leptothrix-discophora-of-late-september-1/.

        March 30, 2015
      • Okay that makes sense Linda, I did wonder if it was actually ore if they would really just leave it. thanks for that other link, quite amazing.

        March 30, 2015
  46. Wonderful pictures! Even if I live in the same area, I don’t believe it’s boring at all, and I always see something beautiful to photograph. Every day, every season, they are all different. It’s up to us to find the beauty in the things around us. Have a great weekend and thank you for your beautiful writing!

    March 28, 2015
    • That is great Lucy, I feel the same way, there is always something. Very good point, it is up to use to find the beauty. You’re welcome, thank you and I hope you have an inspiring weekend.

      March 28, 2015
  47. Yes you DO have a special back yard Leanne. And you’re right…the best places to shoot are those you know best. Cheers!

    March 28, 2015
    • I have to admit, it took a long time, but I think I am very lucky with where I live. They certainly are the best places to shoot, you really get to know and understand them. Thanks Dan, I am looking forward to seeing your backyard in September.

      March 28, 2015
  48. I totally agree with you in that there is always something to photograph out there. Or even in your home. You just need to get your mind and eyes out of the same routines and look at things differently. Part of what I liked from the Photo 101 course was that sometimes I wasn’t able to go outside because of bad weather so it forced me to think of different ways to complete the assignments. Great post and lovely images!

    March 28, 2015
    • I think you are right Cynthia, it is about opening yourself up to the possibilities as well. That is great that the Photo 101 did that for you, it is good to be able to photograph what is around you. Thank you.

      March 28, 2015
  49. Your images are always gorgeous!

    March 28, 2015
    • Thank you Susan, what a lovely thing to say.

      March 28, 2015
  50. Feast for the eyes 🙂

    March 29, 2015
  51. I do wish my back yard was in Australia. I’ve never been, but I hope one day to rectify that. In the meantime, your photos of your “back yard” are achingly beautiful!

    March 29, 2015
    • If you ever come Mary maybe I can show you my backyard, well this one at least. Thank you so much.

      March 29, 2015
    • Looks like a great place as well Julie, lots of great photo ops. Thanks for sharing it with us.

      March 29, 2015
  52. poppytump #

    How brilliant it is to wander round your backyard from the comfort of my sofa with a glass of wine in hand 😀
    As you’ve said Leanne .. you get to know your own area and can plan more easily for trips out , but also for those impromptu visits which can often be a real gift … when maybe the sky turns out not to be so blah after all 😉
    Banyule Flats are rather special !

    March 30, 2015
    • I am glad you enjoyed it Poppytump, the wine sounds nice. 😀
      I agree, I think it can be a great thing, and then your images become that much more special because you know the area so well.
      I think it is as well, very special. WE are very lucky.

      March 30, 2015
  53. I’ve come to the same realization with where I live. This area is actually a pretty busy tourist spot and my blogging friends (even the ones who live nearby) enjoy seeing what is near my house. It took me a while to figure out that it WAS interesting and worthy of being studied, photographed, and shared in my blog.

    Good topic!

    Nancy

    March 30, 2015
    • That’s great Nancy, and good when you come to that realization, took me a long time too, got there in the end, we must take the best images and ones that others will only be lucky to get, what do you think Nancy? Thanks, glad you enjoyed this.

      March 30, 2015
  54. Lovely

    March 30, 2015
  55. The first ‘Heidelberg School’ artists knew what they were doing! And it is still gorgeous by the looks of your lovely photos, Leanne.

    March 31, 2015
    • They did, though looking at their paintings, sometimes I wish it still looked that beautiful, much of it is being overgrown by ugly weeds that have been introduced. Thanks Christine.

      March 31, 2015
  56. Elle #

    simply breathtaking photo

    April 12, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Autumn Outings – Dawn over Prospect Hill Reserve | Photographic Jewells
  2. Keeping it Local | Coppertone Photography

Comments are closed.

