Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show

flower-garden-show-melbourne0022

It is that time of the year and the Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show is on at the Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens.  I’ve never been to it before so it has been fantastic to experience it for the first time. Also, now that I have a macro lens, I knew it was something I really wanted to do.  It started on Wednesday and is on until Sunday.

flower-garden-show-melbourne0033

There is a lot of flower arranging inside the Exhibition building.  There was lots of space, but it was needed. The above image was taken just as the show was opening.  It filled up very quickly.

flower-garden-show-melbourne0011

On Wednesday they had tables set up for people to create floral arrangements, I think they were all students I believe.  It was amazing watching them work. I was back there yesterday and saw how this one ended up, I really liked it.

flower-garden-show-melbourne0008

The inside seemed to be all about flowers.  There were lots of different ways of displaying them inside your home, or office or where ever.  There were some great ideas.

flower-garden-show-melbourne0026

Outside was all about the garden and what you could do with it.  What plants you could plant in it.  It was really nice, so many things for your garden.  There was one shop/stall that had lists of plants for your garden to attrack birds, I think I might take a closer look at that on Sunday when I go back.

flower-garden-show-melbourne0025

I think I’ve said before that the 100th anniversary of the ANZACs is coming up in April and there has been a big thing with people knitting, crocheting red poppies all over Australia and beyond for a display on ANZAC day in Federation Square.  Even my mum made some.  They look amazing and I will have to go and see them at Fed Square when they are there.  They did have some on display at the Flower and Garden Show , and they looked wonderful.  The display is being called 5000 Poppies, but I believe they have over 100,000 of them.

On Wednesday I used my 24-70mm lens.  I had actually gone there for a different reason, but I did get a chance to wander around and take some photos.  Yesterday I went in again, but this time I took my macro and got lots of shots with it. Some of them I absolutely love.  I will show you a selection of them tomorrow.

I have a gallery of more images for you, but remember if you are in Melbourne, it will be on all weekend and if you like photographing flowers, you will have the best time.  So many things to photograph there, too much almost.  Here is the link again if you would like more information on it, Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show. I hope you are having as good a weekend as I’m having.

62 Comments
  1. Beautiful photos, I would love to stroll this with my wife. 🙂

    March 28, 2015
    • Thanks John, I think you would love it, both of you, so many ideas and possibilites. 😀

      March 28, 2015
  2. benjii1993 #

    Awesome pictures!

    March 28, 2015
  3. I used to go to the flower show every year when we lived in Boston. Nothing like that around here, but soon the gardens will bloom (I hope!) … Gorgeous pictures, as usual.

    March 28, 2015
    • That’s a shame, but as you said, the gardens will bloom soon and you will have a beautiful display, I am sure. Thank you Marilyn.

      March 28, 2015
  4. Great photos. Those poppies are amazing.

    March 28, 2015
    • Thanks you Raewyn, the poppies were great to look at.

      March 28, 2015
  5. Love the orchids and the poppies and the building, love it all!

    March 28, 2015
    • There were so many orchids Gypsy, I got a bit sick of them at the end, haha. The other stuff was great. Thank you.

      March 28, 2015
  6. woo what an amazing event and aweful lot of beautiful flowers.

    March 28, 2015
    • It is quite amazing, so many things to look at, I’ve been twice and still don’t think I have seen it all. Thank you.

      March 28, 2015
  7. The colors are so beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

    March 28, 2015
    • You’re welcome Jarrod, glad you enjoyed the photos. thank you.

      March 28, 2015
  8. Really like the exhibition building and the red poppies image. The final display will be stunning. There was a pic of the London poppy display being taken down in mud by volunteers last November, which I thought you might enjoy …
    https://gardeningjules.wordpress.com/2014/11/19/wordless-wednesday-picking-poppies-by-floodlight-tower-of-london/
    BW
    Julian

    March 28, 2015
    • The building is incredible Julian, I love going there. I think you are right, the final display will be quite amazing. Wow that photo you have is great, why were they doing it at night?
      Thank you Julian.

      March 28, 2015
  9. The poppies remind me a lot of the display of ceramic poppies at the Tower of London last year! Love your full frame dahlia shots 🙂 I really like how the show is laid out. Lots of space to move around and view the flowers. The light in there looks a bit flat, maybe that’s why you were having trouble with the orchids? Some macros would be great on those clustered orchids in the square vases. Have fun when you go back 🙂

    March 28, 2015
    • They do don’t they Sarah, though those ones were ceramic weren’t they? These ones are knitted or crocheted. Thank you, I think I like Dahlias, I might have to plant some. The light inside was horrendous, either too dark or too bright. I really didn’t like it. You can’t get close enough to the orchids in the square vases, there is a barrier around it, unfortunately. Thanks, I’m sure I will. 🙂

      March 28, 2015
      • Yes, I love that this display is a different medium 🙂 It’s going to look amazing! Dahlias are one of my favourite flowers to photograph. Ah, I hate it when people are fenced off from displays like that! How can you fully appreciate the flowers at a distance? You might be able to get something better with a zoom lens or a distance prime if you have one! Have you got a flash with a diffuser? If you don’t have a diffuser there are some tips online for making your own.

        March 28, 2015
      • I don’t know why, I suspect to stop people from touching them. All the floral arrangements were like that. To be hones Sarah, I could use all that, but I’m not really serious about it at all, I enjoyed photographing the flowers, so don’t think I will worry about taking all that extra gear with me. I’m being lazy, haha. Thanks Sarah.

        March 28, 2015
      • I think we’re entitled to time off when we want 😉 It usually is to stop people, particularly children, from touching the display and causing damage but sometimes I feel we should trust people a bit more and let the public really appreciate the beauty of the flowers up close.

        March 28, 2015
      • From seeing what I’ve seen at these things, I think their distrust is warranted, people can’t help touching, even when there are signs telling them not. We were watching a kid pulling out things in some pots and his mother just standing there telling him not to, it didn’t stop him and he kept doing it. You can see a lot of the other flowers up close Sarah, just not some of the big displays which is fine really.

        March 29, 2015
      • We would never have got away with that kind of behaviour as children!! I see so many parents today who pretty much ignore their kids when they’re out and seem utterly unaware of what they’re doing! Worse is the the parents who actually encourage their kids to do things they’re not supposed to do like climbing on sculptures and walking on grass when there are signs everywhere saying not to! How on earth are children supposed to learn about right, wrong and boundaries when parents tell them it’s okay to break the rules? I really feel for those kids 😦

        March 31, 2015
      • Yes, this idea that children should be allowed to do whatever they like is so wrong, they never learn and then become big problems for everyone else, or can’t cope because suddenly they can’t do what they want. Too many parents want to be friends with their children, so they stop being parents and try not to upset them. Sad really.

        March 31, 2015
      • Too many parents seem far too wrapped up in themselves to really notice their children anymore! They seem to think giving them smartphones, tablets and consoles is a good way to buy peace and quiet whilst shirking all parental responsibility. My one consolation is that my dearest friends with children are great parents and they, therefore, have great kids! Yeah, all of them can play up at times but kids do. It’s part of the learning process for both children and parents 😉 I’m off to a local National Trust property and gardens with my friend Nikki and her two 🙂 It’s going to be a great day out!

        April 1, 2015
      • I agree, you have to be parents, I think it borders on child abuse what a lot of parents are doing with their children these days. Young adult suicide rates are up and you have to wonder how much of that is because they have grown up never knowing what disappointment is and when it happens they don’t know how to deal with it.

        April 1, 2015
      • Oh, the comment did come through!! My app was insisting that it had failed and wouldn’t let me do it. It’s certainly neglectful and downright selfish how many seem to behave! Children are not an accessory, a way to fix a relationship, a route to social housing and welfare, a way to fit in with your peers or a fix to loneliness. They’re not a right, they are a gift, a privilege and a responsibility. I have never been physically well and fit enough to give a child the full amount of care it deserves. I could certainly give it all the love but a child needs so much more! I have always wanted children but just because you want something doesn’t mean it’s the right thing to do. We live on a hugely overpopulated planet and it’s high time we collectively took a greater responsibility for the welfare of generations to come. I’d never make it in politics! People would believe me to be a dreadful dictator who just wanted to take away all their rights. Trouble is, I honestly believe that people should earn rights and respect rather than just demanding it!

        April 1, 2015
      • So true Sarah, so many people say having children won’t change their lives, then why have them? I would be the same, you have to give children boundaries, and they certainly need a lot more than just love. You have to say no to them, you do, you can’t fight their battles for them, and they have to learn that life often isn’t fair. You get screwed over. I admire your decision to not to have children, and you are right we do have to think about the future. We did the two children thing, just replacing ourselves, though I know many people who had none. I also agree with that last people, you do have to earn it, and that is something I find hard to get through to my girls at times.

        April 1, 2015
      • I agree! I have no idea what possessed some people to have children when they just treat them as an inconvenience. At least you interact with your children! I do think the whole concept of responsible parenting is a very tough thing for any parent to get through to girls when they reach a certain age! They’re being driven by hormones and the biological imperative that no longer exists for our species. I remember that at that age looking forward into the future seemed like a strange thing to do. I thought I was invincible and then my whole world view was changed before I’d even turned 20 because of the Crohn’s. Certainly made me wiser in some ways! I’m grateful for the relationships I have with my friends children and the soon to be step-grandchildren 🙂 It’s still a relationship that I have to keep on earning though and there’s great responsibility in being an adult role model as it were! I had such a brilliant day out with my godchildren today 🙂 We did an Easter Egg Trail at a local National Trust property in the woodland and they had to solve clues about exotic animals that lay eggs! Learning and fun together 🙂

        April 2, 2015
      • I know, it is just too weird, it annoys the hell out of me when I go out somewhere like a restaurant and someone has brought their children and the children just run around everywhere out of control and the parents refuse to stop them, or can’t stop them. It ruins my experience there that’s for sure. When my girls got to an age where they wouldn’t sit still we stopped going to restaurants, unless they were specific ones for children. OMG and people who bring babies or small children to movies, argghhhh. WTF, it just shouldn’t be allowed, get a babysitter, that is what they are for.
        It is a great responsible where ever you have an impact on children. I like the sound of your easter egg hunt. 😀

        April 2, 2015
      • Yeah, we have quite a few restaurants that are designed for families and young children but some parents just don’t care! Most of our cinemas do parent and baby showings of the top films that are often shown in the middle of the day during the week so parents can still go to see things and it doesn’t matter if babies are crying etc. There’s loads of things out there for families to make use of but some people are just too lazy or disinterested!

        The egg trail was brilliant 🙂 They had such fun making a den in the woods too and we spent a while in the bird hide, even getting to see a treecreeper! I just love that they are excited to be outdoors and have a real love for nature 🙂 Nikki’s a great mum! I’m hoping we get a chance to do Wisley as well next week. Time is so very precious with them 🙂 Have a really great easter Leanne!

        April 3, 2015
      • A lot of parents don’t care, that is what we are finding here. Our cinemas do the same, but it has become a practice to take your children regardless of that. They think that their life shouldn’t change just because they have a baby, so the rest of us are inflicted with their screaming revolting badly behaved child.

        That sounds wonderful, I am so glad you get to enjoy children, if you know what I mean. They can be wonderful and lots of fun. Thanks Sarah, you have a great Easter too. 🙂

        April 3, 2015
      • One of the wonderful things about spending time with young children is being reminded of the wonder and newness of so many things. The drive to explore, learn and discover! To take some of those journeys with them just brings it all back to you 🙂 Some of children and young adults I know do really give me a lot of hope as well as joy.

        April 3, 2015
      • Oh yes, and things that you thought were boring are suddenly different because you see them through a child’s eyes. I love that. that’s wonderful Sarah, I think so too.

        April 3, 2015
      • Exactly!! Helps rekindle so many joys in life 🙂 Children are so much better at appreciating the simple pleasures in life.

        April 3, 2015
      • So very true Sarah.

        April 3, 2015
  10. How lovely. That close up in the centre of the yellow dahlias is gorgeous.

    March 28, 2015
    • It was Carol, it was really good, thank you.

      March 28, 2015
  11. Wow very nice that’s a really good snapshot of the show , I didn’t see the poppies so much to see in one day , I like the setup shots you got 🙂 the macros of course are insane 🙂

    March 28, 2015
    • Thank you, there was a lot, I have been twice and still haven’t seen it all. Thank you Chris, though, I have to say that there aren’t any shots with the macro here, they were taken with my 24-70mm, it can do a good shot at times. 🙂

      March 28, 2015
  12. I like the hall almost as much as the flowers.

    March 28, 2015
    • It is quite an amazing hall, I feel the same way, thank you.

      March 28, 2015
  13. Beautiful flora

    March 28, 2015
    • and lots of it, glad you liked it.

      March 28, 2015
  14. leecleland #

    Notice that you snuck a bit of architecture in there also Leanne. A beautiful old building indeed. Looks like a photographers wonderland, looking forward to seeing your macros 🙂

    March 28, 2015
    • Oh yes, had to Lee, the building is far too beautiful not to. LOL. It really was Lee, so many things everywhere to take photos of, it was wonderful. Thank you, macros tomorrow working on them now.

      March 28, 2015
  15. These are all so lovely! I can only imagine the fun it must have been – so much to see and capture.

    March 28, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, it was a lot of fun, and too much to see, you really get caught up in it.

      March 29, 2015
  16. Wow, your gorgeous pictures brought the sun up on the sky! Thank you! Have a lovely weekend 🙂

    March 29, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say Lucy, thank you so much. You have a good one too.

      March 29, 2015
  17. Beautiful Leanne – garden shows give such inspiration to creative types and gardeners.

    March 29, 2015
    • I agree Mary, it was a great place to see lots of flowers and practice my macro photography on. Thank you.

      March 29, 2015
  18. I would have liked to have gone to this. I don’t think we have an event like this in Sydney. But then I would have more hundreds more photos to add to my ‘to process’ pile …

    March 30, 2015
    • That’s a shame Karen that they don’t have one in Sydney, I don’t mind having a massive pile of photos, means that I won’t run out in a hurry.

      March 30, 2015
  19. Such good colorful photos – too good, thanks!

    March 30, 2015
  20. drkottaway #

    Gorgeous!

    March 31, 2015
  21. HOW BEAUTIFUL CAN IT GET!?! I love it!

    April 2, 2015
    • It is pretty amazing, it was great to go to. Thank you.

      April 2, 2015

Comments are closed.

