Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: The Flower and Garden Show Through a Macro Lens

flower-garden-show-macro-edit-1043

Yesterday I told you that I went to the Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show with my macro lens on Friday. I took something like 550 photos and by the time we were ready to go I was exhausted. It is tiring when you’re taking lots of photos.

When I decided to start processing them for this post, I got a little carried away with some of them and couldn’t stop myself doing some new things to them.  I am trying out some stuff, and I thought I would try them out here and see how they go.  I am undecided what I think of them, but I think I like them.

I am just going to put them into a gallery and straight after I am going to put another gallery of images that were all processed in lightroom, and I haven’t done too much too them.

Here are the heavily processed photos.

Here is the gallery for the lightly processed photos. I am going back to the Flower and Garden Show today, the last day.  It will be nice to just wander and see what I’ve missed the other few days.

If you look closely you will also see the floral piece that I photographed the woman making in yesterday’s post.  It is was all finished and we could look at them.  I loved it and thought it was great.  There were also lots of very different plants and I had so much fun using the macro to photograph them.

I hope you are having a lovely weekend.

180 Comments
  1. John Olson #

    Beautiful photos!

    March 29, 2015
  2. chiaroscuro …. bringing your art out of darkness. beautiful!

    March 29, 2015
    • I also forget that term, thanks for reminding me of it, I like that style I think. Thank you Karen.

      March 29, 2015
    • I subscribe this comment!!!

      March 30, 2015
      • art of chiaroscuro!

        March 30, 2015
      • Thank you, reminds me of paintings were you start with a black background and build it up from that.

        March 30, 2015
      • That’s great.

        March 30, 2015
  3. Very nice shots!

    March 29, 2015
  4. Marvellous! These illustrate why you’re a pro photographer and I’m not! Fantastic shots.

    March 29, 2015
    • thank you, but seriously I was just playing around, and thought, ooh, I like this, so I kept going. I was really happy with them in the end, and it is even better to see that others like them too, so thank you.

      March 29, 2015
  5. … beautiful pictures … wondering which lens you have been using …

    March 29, 2015
    • I was using the Nikon Micro 105mm for all of these Bert, I got it late last year, and love it. Thank you.

      March 29, 2015
      • … I’ll use my old (1995) equipment for a while. unfortunately no AF, .. the Nikon Micro 105 is not affordable yet 🙂 …

        March 29, 2015
      • I was fortunate with mine and how I got it, I was lucky, didn’t think I would ever be able to get one. Though I did seriously consider the Tamron 90mm macro, have you see it, it is a great lens and half the price. Might be a better option. If I had got the grant to get mine, I would have got the Tamron Macro. 🙂

        March 29, 2015
      • Thx for the tip. I’ll have a look at that tamron. Sometimes one also gets better prices for an older model when a new comes out … I’ll keep my eyes open.

        March 29, 2015
      • I think macro lenses tend to help their own, unfortunately. I got a lend of the tamron one last year from a company for a couple of months and I didn’t want to give it back, I loved it. If you put tamron macro into the search thing in my side bar you should get a few posts of the photos I took with it and what I thought of it Bert, might help with the decision when the time comes.

        March 29, 2015
      • I will do that … I remember now that you compared Tamron and Nikon several months ago.

        March 29, 2015
      • Well I didn’t actually compare them, I had the Tamron one for a while and used it, but when it came time to get my own, I got the Nikon, it was more because of the grant that I got, than anything else.

        March 29, 2015
      • Great advice – I have the Tamron 90mm macro lens, it is fabulous!

        March 29, 2015
      • It is a great lens Krysten, I loved using it.

        March 29, 2015
  6. Both sets look absolutely enchanting! Beautiful work! 🙂

    March 29, 2015
  7. Breathtaking shots of the roses. Great work.

    March 29, 2015
  8. sandlera #

    Both sets are beautiful. I shot similar flowers at a winery this week. I’d like to know how you processed the first bunch.

    March 29, 2015
    • That would spoil the secret Anne, LOL, I did so many things to them, lots and lots of layers. Thank you, I like shooting flowers, do you?

      March 29, 2015
  9. Beautiful!~Rita

    March 29, 2015
  10. My eyes are dancing with the beauty they’re envisioning. 😊

    March 29, 2015
    • I like that description, thank you so much.

      March 29, 2015
  11. wooo, simply love the macro of the flowers and especially how you focus on the petals creating an abstract painting from the forms. You are enjoying your macro lens with all these gorgeous flowers shots. Look forward to see more photos from the show. Thanks Leanne for sharing.

    March 29, 2015
    • thank you Cattan, I am really enjoying it, I haven’t really had a chance to play with it for a while, but this was the perfect opportunity, and I can’t wait to do more macros now.

      March 29, 2015
  12. Amazing beautiful Leanne and a great experience to visit I think 😀

    March 29, 2015
    • It was a great experience Irene, I really enjoyed it, great place to practice macro photography too. Thank you. 😀

      March 29, 2015
  13. Good Afternoon All your beautiful flowers are wonderful. You have a Word Press on this site I not sure if I am to click on this to have it shared for your Facebook and Twitter I have not had to do this any of your others. If you would let me know. d.yule@sympatico.ca Thank you

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Donna. I am using the new editor and for some reason removed all the share buttons, but I have put them back now I hope, so hopefully it will be easier now.

      March 29, 2015
  14. I like what you’ve done with these Leanne! 🙂

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Chillbrook, so glad. 🙂

      March 29, 2015
  15. Processed or not…some good images there. I sometimes wish folk would just accept that the final image anyone creates, likes and then publishes should be viewed as that…..we shouldn’t get hung up on the after shot processing, if it makes the shot that’s great by me. Just have fun and you certainly have at the show (-:

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you David, I couldn’t agree more, I did enjoy doing this, so much so I spent all day doing it. We shouldn’t get hung up on that, I did have fun, and the show has been fantastic. 🙂

      March 29, 2015
  16. Awesome pictures Leanne! I really like the low key ones!

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Sarina, that’s great.

      March 29, 2015
  17. These are all lovely photos, and whilst I would normally prefer to keep things ‘natural’ I find the first gallery a lot more pleasing as it brings out all the different touches in the flowers. I recently did a similar thing with tulip images and it proved to me that if processed heavily, but tastefully, it can actually improve the image from the original. A great post 🙂

    March 29, 2015
    • You can get some wonderful effects, I learned a lot doing these, and I loved doing them, I’m happy to hear you do as well. Thank you Cade. 🙂

      March 29, 2015
  18. I really like macro photographs of flowers. A great set of pictures.

    March 29, 2015
  19. I really love your dark series, its nice to see something so different! The first rose would be fabulous framed.

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Gypsy, that’s wonderful, I might have try getting a couple printed, see how they come out.

      March 29, 2015
  20. These are stunning!

    March 29, 2015
  21. I think they’re very beautiful. They have been processed so skillfully and you can get lost looking at each one.

    March 29, 2015
    • I like that idea of getting lost in them, thank you Nana.

      March 29, 2015
  22. simply FANTASTIC, Leanne! Bravo!!!

    March 29, 2015
  23. Great shots. I think you processed them like some of your cityscapes and landscapes. Very dramatic lighting and contrast. It is good to see and try different processes.

    March 29, 2015
    • I didn’t process them the same way, but it is something that I hope to bring into them, will have to see, I like the dramatic lighting and contrast, a lot to play with. Thank you Luis.

      March 29, 2015
  24. Usually, I don’t like heavily processed photographs, but these I really do! The flowers have been taken down to their essences. Just lovely.

    March 29, 2015
    • That’s wonderful Linda, I am glad you like them. Thank you.

      March 29, 2015
  25. So beautiful, great macro shots.

    March 29, 2015
  26. Pat #

    Gorgeous shots.

    March 29, 2015
  27. These are lovely – I can’t imagine having to go through over 500 photos from a 1 day shoot !!!

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Nora, I do it often, I deleted a few, and then as ones stood out I processed them,

      March 29, 2015
  28. Magnificent work both sets. I adore the first set though…I really enjoy how much you use the shade to highlight the flowers…big fan of that.

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Julia, I am very proud of the first set, so it is good to hear that many people like them as well. I quite like that too, think I will have to do more of it.

      March 29, 2015
  29. Macro is my favorite – beautiful work, Leanne! Thank you for sharing!

    March 29, 2015
    • I do love what you can get with the macro, thank you Krysten.

      March 29, 2015
  30. Lee #

    Wow! What beautiful flowers!

    March 29, 2015
  31. Sometimes post processing can assist the very reason that the image was taken, enhancing composition and subject.

    March 29, 2015
    • I think so too Sally, I hope that means you like them. Thank you.

      March 29, 2015
  32. I took a run at doing some creative post processing myself this week Leanne, great minds think alike LOL. beautiful shots, beautifully captured and treated.

    March 29, 2015
    • So it would seem Tina, great minds thinking alike, what could be better. thank you so much.

      March 29, 2015
  33. Your heavily processed images look superb, just glowing and intense in colour. I especially like that effect. The others are beautiful too, but more what we expect to see. Really nice work Leanne!

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, I like that description. I agree, the second lot are fairly ordinary, I do love the first lot, so it has been great to see that others do as well.

      March 29, 2015
  34. I love the drama in first gallery, and the second one is lovely too!

    March 29, 2015
    • I love that drama too Cynthia, thank you.

      March 29, 2015
  35. Beautiful work, Leanne. A very fruitful day. Interesting contrast in post-processing and both sets are very pleasing but the first wins for drama.

    March 29, 2015
    • It was, very fruitful and fun. I think so too, the first one is very dramatic. Thank you.

      March 29, 2015
  36. My favorite things to take macro shots of 🙂

    March 29, 2015
    • That’s wonderful, mine too. Thank you. 🙂

      March 29, 2015
  37. Beautiful, Leanne!

    March 29, 2015
  38. As art photos, I prefer the heavily processed ones. For ‘real’ flowers the less processed. But as a committed mess with flower pictures person, I’m all for processing!

    March 29, 2015
    • the heavily processed ones do make better art photos I think. That is wonderful to hear, thank you so much.

      March 29, 2015
  39. leecleland #

    Wonderful macro shots Leanne. Like both Galleries but the heavily processed does it for me.

    March 29, 2015
    • That’s wonderful to hear Lee, I love those and it is great to see that others like them as well.

      March 29, 2015
  40. I am drooling! I love macro images (as I know you know) and there are so many gorgeous colors and details in these galleries, such fine work Leanne. I love that you are trying out things with your edits, the low-key first gallery pops off the screen. They are so dramatic and deep. The less processed images are beautiful on their own as well. It all depends on “what you are going for”, love seeing both versions. Looks like a lot of fun! What a great variety of flowers to use as subjects.

    March 29, 2015
    • Here let me wipe up that drool for you Carrie, LOL, so you must have a good macro setting on your new camera, don’t you? I really enjoyed doing this Carrie, I spent all day on the computer, my back was killing me at the end of it. I love the heavily processed ones, I love how they have come out and would love to do a lot more of them, and try them with different things, so I think you can expect to see more of that style. The flower show had lots of flowers, that’s for sure, so many different things to photograph. Thank you Carrie.

      March 29, 2015
      • Ha Ha, Thank you 🙂 Yes, my camera has a great macro setting. I just (last week) figured out how to get it to focus where I want it to. So, now I am back in business with macro images. There are limitations in how close I can get though, which is where the drool is coming from!

        March 30, 2015
      • That’s wonderful to hear Carrie, there are always limitations with how how close you can get Carrie, even with mine, still pretty good though. Thank you.

        March 30, 2015
  41. Wonderfully captured amazing images.

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you so much.

      March 29, 2015
      • Hope you like my blog too and do have a visit when u get time,and do follow me if u feel so.
        Thank you.

        March 29, 2015
      • I took a quick visit, but I don’t tend to follow blogs unless I feel a connection with the person who does the blog. It looks like a nice blog.

        March 29, 2015
      • I have started it somehow,but I am planning to make a documentary of photos out of it Based on India.Hope someday You will find it more interesting.Thanks for your visit.

        March 29, 2015
      • You’re welcome.

        March 29, 2015
  42. My favourites are the super-edited ones. They have become seperate art pieces. I love Lightroom!!

    March 29, 2015
    • They are my favourites too, I like that about them, though I must confess they were all done in Photoshop, lots of layers. I love lightroom too, the second gallery was done with that. Thank you Suzie.

      March 29, 2015
      • Photoshop sounds far too confusing for me. I’m still trying to master Lightroom. I need simple. 🙂

        I think I’m going to have to join you on a weekend photography adventure soon.

        March 29, 2015
      • It is a good place to start, Lightroom, work your way up Suzie.
        That would be great if you joined me on a weekend adventure, we could have some fun. 😀

        March 29, 2015
  43. Your heavily processed images are very dramatic and vibrant – I love them. They do suit the macro lens really well.

    March 29, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear Raewyn, thank you, I really like them too and they did work well with the macro flowers.

      March 29, 2015
  44. These are beautiful pictures Leanne. Showing the two sets of photos really highlights your skill in processing to make fine art photography.

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Katie, I probably should have waited before showing them, but I couldn’t wait, so I had to show both. It was so nice working on them and seeing the final images.

      March 29, 2015
  45. Samjoth #

    Amazing !! Couldn’t be more better !! 🙂

    March 29, 2015
  46. Great shots! I especially like colour and contrast of the processed images.

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Jussi, that is great, they have been quite popular, which is nice.

      March 29, 2015
  47. Incredibly beautiful! I can’t even pick a favorite. Very nicely done!! ❤ I always wanted a Venus flytrap and last year I got one for my birthday. Gorgeous little plants!

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Lucy. I know what you mean, I loved how they came out. I had one of those a long time ago, funny plants, now my daughter wants one.

      March 29, 2015
      • Really gorgeous. You are very talented! Unfortunately my little one died. I left it with my mom, when I moved to NL, and it’s gone. I suspect foul play haha 🙂

        March 29, 2015
      • Thank you Lucy, I think it is more experience. Yes, mine died too, I think they are hard to keep alive. We don’t let flies inside, so I don’t know how they are meant to eat. Your poor mum, haha. 😉

        March 29, 2015
  48. Simply beautiful.

    March 29, 2015
  49. They are all lovely! I will say I really love your processed shots – they all have such an intense feel – adding mystery and depth. But – my favorits shot is the fire pit – love it! Macro lens’ are fabulous and the 105mm is quite impressive.

    March 29, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, that is wonderful, I like that intense feel. The fire pit was so amazing, I took so many photos of it. I love my macro, I need to get out more with it.

      March 30, 2015
  50. Amy #

    Wow!! Girgeous!

    March 30, 2015
  51. Amy #

    Gorgeous shot! Incredibly beautiful!!

    March 30, 2015
    • thank you Amy, it was a great place for getting some great photos to work on.

      March 30, 2015
  52. Oh Wow! These are amazing…like a fireworks display. Just gorgeous.
    Karen

    March 30, 2015
    • I like how you described them Karen, very nice, thank you.

      March 30, 2015
  53. I love the heavily processed ones. I think it’s your “signature”. 🙂

    March 30, 2015
    • I think you could be right Carol, I like how I brought back the dark to my images, it has been missing for a while. thank you 🙂

      March 30, 2015
  54. Nice photos. 🙂 I got a Panasonic Lumix CSC in January and the next lens on my list is a macro!

    March 30, 2015
    • Thanks Melinda, the macro is brilliant, so if you can get one wonderful. I love it.

      March 30, 2015
  55. Hi Leanne, the processed ones look like awesome paintings, I like how foreground and background are coming close together, you should definitely continue “playing”, the other ones are a series of stunning photographs with one special eye catcher for me. The flames of fire are brilliant and one could think of a flower of flames. All the best, Reinhold.

    March 30, 2015
    • Thank you Reinhold, I thought similar with those images as well. I will be continuing, seeing what else I can do. the flame has been a popular image as well. I took so many of those, I want to try something, still will I think.

      March 30, 2015
  56. Those are some great shots! Well done!

    March 30, 2015
  57. Gorgeous images Leanne that macro lens is magic

    March 30, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, it is, I can’t wait to go out with it again.

      March 30, 2015
  58. Ammaazinngg! I can scream that out in bold too! Simply amazingly beautiful shots!

    March 30, 2015
    • Thank you, so glad you enjoyed it.

      March 30, 2015
  59. Wonderful shots

    March 30, 2015
  60. WOW!

    March 31, 2015
  61. Lovely images Leanne…love those with the black background, they look “glossy” and very professional

    March 31, 2015
    • Thank you Mark, I haven’t done any like that for so long, I should do more.

      March 31, 2015
      • Can I just ask….are you putting in the black background in post processing or were they shot against a black background?

        March 31, 2015
      • These I made the backgrounds black, the ones in today post were done with a dark backdrop.

        March 31, 2015
  62. Leanne you never cease to amaze me and draw out an audible exhale!! ( after the inhale!!)

    March 31, 2015
    • I hope I can continue to surprise you Cybele, it is nice trying new things. Thank you.

      March 31, 2015
  63. Hi Leanne. To me the “heavily” processed shots are a bit dark and somber. In most scenarios I like to see florals a bit brighter and more lively, but that’s just style. I’m also noticing that the narrow DOF range on a macro is more obvious in the heavy processed shots. What would be interesting would be to have the same image(s) with both treatments. Regardless, you got some very nice shots. I love that last shot of hte gas flame.

    March 31, 2015
    • Yeah, I get that, but I like dark, so I’m okay with that. Others have like them too, so that’s a bonus. the narrow DoF could also be because of what I was doing to them, I don’t have an issue with narrow dof, not at all. YOu look where I want you to look is my motto. Thank you.

      March 31, 2015
  64. OMG I think you have hit it out of the ballpark for me… especially the processed ones. As I commented, flowers lend themselves for post processing and it looks fantastic… my two standouts are the orange rose and the first picture of the purple flower but everything else a close second…. You’ve hit the mark! Did Monday’s photographer inspire you a little?

    March 31, 2015
    • Thank you Kaz, it was great fun doing them, and I love processing them like that. That is great that you think I hit the mark, I am looking forward to trying more. Yes, he did inspire me, a lot really. I couldn’t get his images out of my head, so I asked him if he would mind if I tried doing something similar. Lucky me he said yes.

      March 31, 2015
  65. PS the darkness just popped the flowers more and had less distraction, without it you would lose some of the detail to my eye would wander. I found it impressive. Just my opinion though.

    March 31, 2015
    • I was hoping for that, I like the idea of them coming out of the darkness. I like your opinion Kaz, I like it a lot, thank you so much.

      March 31, 2015
  66. Flower photography after my own heart. Well done, Leanne!

    April 1, 2015
    • That’s wonderful to hear, thank you.

      April 1, 2015
  67. I especially love the heavily processed images! Just incredible!

    April 1, 2015
    • Thank you, I really enjoyed doing them and seeing how they came out.

      April 1, 2015
  68. lmarea3070 #

    You’re just a photoshopping fool! 😉 Nice work.

    April 1, 2015
    • Thanks Lisa, and yes, I think I might be.

      April 1, 2015
  69. Wow, great macros!

    April 3, 2015
  70. All of these turned out wonderfully. I really like the drama in the more processed photo. The darkness drew me to the amazing details in the macro without the distraction of what was surrounding the flower. Really, really like your processing technique 🙂

    April 4, 2015
    • Thank you Kirsten. I like that darkness too, really makes you concentrate on the details. You might be able to get your teacher to show you how to do it. 😉

      April 4, 2015
      • Lol…I was hoping my teacher might offer to show me how to do that!! 😃

        April 5, 2015
      • She might, maybe when you are talking to her next you could ask. LOL

        April 5, 2015
      • 🙂 I hope you got my email about, Tuesday.

        April 6, 2015
      • I did and your comment reminded me to reply, I hope you got that.

        April 6, 2015
  71. Great photo!

    April 21, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Took the Long Way Home 9 | Romancing Reality
  2. Tulip Experiment (Before & After) |
  3. Yellow Drama (Before & After) |
  4. AzaleaPalooza – I see beauty all around by rob paine
  5. Quiet Thursday’s: Things Are Coming Together | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Comments are closed.

