Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: The Calm After the Mess

It has been a lovely week, and I’ve had plenty of time to sit around home and just enjoy being here.  I’ve been doing some writing, but not much editing of my photos.  We have had some rewiring done in our house, so limited internet, no big computer, so no access to my photos. It will be great when it is all done, but it means I haven’t been able to do everything. The network in the house will finally be much better as well.

I have been working on a couple of photos.  Not really sure about them, but I was trying out on them what I did to the flowers the other day.  I think these might need more experimentation.  Time will tell, will see what I get. I’ve had both photos on facebook, only the first on G+, but before I put the second one in this post I made some changes to it.

I’m off to clean up the house and get it sorted after the massive upheaval.  I also need to spend some time our cat Tiddles, who is very confused and frightened from everything.  He doesn’t like men, and having electricians in the house working has upset him a lot.  I hope you have a lovely day and maybe catch up some things as well.

94 Comments
  1. Excellent work

    April 2, 2015
  2. I like both photo’s Laura, excellent!

    I’m building a house right now so I think I can sympathize with your situation, and yes the waiting (for it to finish) takes forever. Give Tiddles a hug from me…I know nothing about electricity…but I like cats 🙂

    Take care ~ Dave

    April 2, 2015
    • Thank you, though its Leanne, ;), glad you like them.
      It is all done now, and the lights are so much better, but it was a bit of head ache when it was happening. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like building a house. Tiddles is getting lots of hugs and yours was just passed on. He really is out of sorts, I think he can’t believe they are gone. 🙂

      April 2, 2015
      • Whoops…sorry for the name mix-up Leanne. Must be my advanced age, ha!
        ~ Dave

        April 2, 2015
      • Haha, no problem Dave, you aren’t the first to do it, I’m sure you won’t be the last, LOL.

        April 2, 2015
  3. joseluisgomez #

    Reblogged this on Arte y Cultura Perú.

    April 2, 2015
  4. Hi Leanne, A couple of very interesting shots. It looks to me like the top corner opposite the “rock” in each shot is too dark. I’m sure that there is something there, but to me it literally fades to black.

    April 2, 2015
    • No too dark at all John, the way I did it. I like dark and if bits are all black, so be it. Never been a problem for me.

      April 2, 2015
    • I think art is in the eye of the beholder. I quite like the black myself. It adds a sense of menace/brooding.

      April 2, 2015
  5. Elle #

    absolutely beautiful!

    April 2, 2015
  6. Sensational, moody, dark, and dramatic. Beautiful work!

    April 2, 2015
  7. We had a new circuit box put in a couple of years ago. But at least we no longer worry about catching on fire. Look on the bright side 🙂

    April 2, 2015
    • We did the circuit board thing about 18 years ago, they are so good. The nice thing is that now all the lights work and we can see what we are doing in the dark. 🙂

      April 2, 2015
  8. Poor kitty! I hope your being with the cat will settle it down. They are people too, you know…

    April 2, 2015
    • I’m he will John, I think now that they are gone he is really worried they will come back so won’t settle down.

      April 2, 2015
  9. Domestic upheaval is stressful even when you know it will all be worthwhile in the end. We had our last house built and now we’ve bought a house that has not been decorated at all since 1970 with the exception of the kitchen so we are renovating it. I’m familiar with the stress.

    April 2, 2015
    • We live in a 70’s house and we’ve been here for 20 years and not done much, so it is time, so I guess I am going to have to get used to the upheaval, quite a bit needs fixing. I do love that our seventies house is coming back into style. Thanks Laura.
      PS does yours have a flat roof too?

      April 2, 2015
      • No, we have a pitched roof here but I grew up in a house with a flat roof. It is handy that 70s style is now appealingly retro. The curtain fabric that I would have recoiled from closer to my 1970s childhood now appeals to me. I’ve also kept the fitted cocktail cabinet and the fire surround. The 1970 bathrooms will need to be replaced, however, as they are on their last legs and I can’t even convey the horror of our master bedroom. It’s so overwhelming that we are leaving it until last. Room by room we will gradually get there.

        April 2, 2015
      • You are lucky that you don’t have the flat roof, it has been such a pain. It is funny isn’t it, though I grew up in the 70’s so can’t imagine much of it ever appealing to me again. It is good to keep some of the features. Our kitchen is original and a friend said we should keep it as original as we can, though things like the stove top and oven have been changed and a dishwasher added. Our bathrooms were redone by the previous owners, but do need redoing now. We were lucky, no wallpaper, but we did have the yellow glass near the front door. It can be, overwhelming that is, I keep seeing things in our house that need to be done and a husband who doesn’t understand that you have to maintain the house.

        April 2, 2015
      • It can indeed get overwhelming. We were beginning to feel swamped by everything that needs to be done. That’s why we are now taking a room by room approach so that chaos is contained to one room at a time – though our bedroom also functions as a warehouse at present. One room is almost done. I will have to write a makeover blog post when it’s complete.

        April 2, 2015
      • That is a good idea. We are doing it by what is the most important, the shower in the ensuite will have to be next, though the roof needs some attention. You should do the blog about it now, people love reading about that sort of thing.

        April 2, 2015
      • Some things definitely jump the queue that way. That’s when the stress and upheaval becomes acute.

        Maybe I will blog about it. Thanks for the encouragement.

        April 2, 2015
      • They do, unfortunately as well. I would prefer to spend the money on other things.
        Now if you do start one for it, let me know, I would love to follow it.
        The other thing is you might find lots of other people doing similar things and you might get some great ideas.

        April 2, 2015
      • I’m no interior designer but I might write a post on my regular blog ever so often.

        I hope all of your house projects go smoothly and that order is restored soon.

        April 2, 2015
      • I am the same Laura, though I have a friend who loves my house, so she often gives me ideas of what I can go.
        I will look out for the posts then. thanks, it is going to go very slowly I think.

        April 2, 2015
  10. pure drama, leanne- LOVE
    sure the upheaval will be worth it 🙂

    April 2, 2015
    • Thank you so much, and yes, it will be, it is, we have lights now, well we had them before, but now they all work.

      April 2, 2015
  11. I found them a little dark, could just be my monitor. Otherwise the dramatic is all there! I love the light on the water. I don’t remember it being night………or did you go back? lol

    April 2, 2015
  12. P.S glad your wiring is finally all done. Poor Tiddles, give him a few days and lots of attention

    April 2, 2015
  13. All that’s needed is a lightning bolt striking the top of the rock and you have a cover for a suspense novel I think Leanne.

    April 2, 2015
    • Wouldn’t that have been amazing if lightning struck while I was taking it? Thank you Suz.

      April 2, 2015
  14. Sonel #

    Wow! As usual, these are absolutely stunning Leanne! I just love them! 😀
    I am glad to hear everything is settling down. Please give Tiddles a hug and kiss from me. He sounds like me. We do not like our routine to get messed up. 😆

    Have a great weekend hon. ❤

    April 2, 2015
    • Thank you so much Sonel. I am so glad you like them.
      It is and I did give Tiddles that kiss and hug and told him it was from you. No, I am so glad we got it done though, it is very nice having lights that all work. 😀
      You have a great weekend too, I’ve got a few photos planned.

      April 2, 2015
      • Sonel #

        I always love your photography Leanne. One day when I grow up, I want to be an excellent photographer like you. 😀

        Awww, thanks hon and I bet it is. 😀

        Thanks, I will. Can’t wait to see them. 😀 ♥

        April 2, 2015
      • YOu are too kind Sonel, but thank you so much.
        It is very nice and that’s good to hear, because you know you will see them. 😀

        April 2, 2015
      • Sonel #

        Oh, I know I will. Do hurry up, won’t you? LOL!

        April 2, 2015
      • I have to take them first Sonel, LOL

        April 2, 2015
      • Sonel #

        Shucks! Too slow gal, too slow. LOL!

        Don’t worry, I’ll try to be patient. hehehe.
        Have a great weekend. 😀 ♥

        April 2, 2015
      • Sorry Sonel, but you will need to be patient LOL.
        I will be showing photos soon.

        April 3, 2015
      • Sonel #

        hahhaha! I will do my best. LOL!
        You have fun Leanne and very excited to see what you’ve been up to. Enjoy hon! 😀 ♥

        April 3, 2015
      • I will Sonel, I usually do, a few early mornings, how bad can it be. 😀
        Happy EAster.

        April 3, 2015
      • Sonel #

        Not bad at all Leanne…not bad at all. 😆

        Same to you and yours. ♥

        April 3, 2015
      • Thanks Sonel 😀

        April 3, 2015
  15. Leanne!! These remind me of other worlds!! I love them – A voyage to Arcturus or Jupiter’s moon, Europa!!

    April 2, 2015
    • I like that the idea of the other world, thank you, and the voyages, brilliant. Thanks Cybele.

      April 2, 2015
  16. benjii1993 #

    So beautiful! You are amazing.

    April 2, 2015
    • Well, I don’t know about that, but I am very happy that you like my image, thank you.

      April 2, 2015
  17. Wow these look haunting Leanne!

    April 2, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, I’m trying some stuff.
      I’ve been meaning to email you about something, but I keep forgetting. I will remember eventually.

      April 2, 2015
  18. Hopefully your cat will soon relax again! We just had painters who painted the whole interior of our house… and our elderly, blind dog was not happy about it; but she adjusted after a time and relaxed. Now rain is coming and she is nervously shaking (as usual with storms).

    April 2, 2015
    • He is almost back to normal now Tom, still a bit clingy, but that’s okay, means he’s very cuddly. I hope your dog doesn’t get too scared or that the storms weren’t too bad.

      April 2, 2015
  19. I love the dark moodiness.

    April 2, 2015
    • That’s fantastic Kevin. Thank you.

      April 2, 2015
  20. These are amazing Leanne! I like the dark brooding feel to them. It almost makes you want to hold your breath because you the lightening is coming next. The cool thing is that you took them during the day, but it looks like moonlight.

    April 3, 2015
    • I do enjoy the dark brooding mood, I hadn’t thought of the lightning, someone else said the same thing, so looks like great minds think alike. I love that too, it is something I really enjoy doing in images, changing the light so it look completely different. Thank you Kirsten.

      April 3, 2015
  21. Lovely photos, as always. All of the mess and undoing will be worth it in the end, chin up. Kitty cuddles are in order.

    April 3, 2015
    • Thank you, it is all done now and we have lights and they all work, which is fantastic, and Tiddles is almost back to normal. Thank you.

      April 3, 2015
  22. I like the name – Pulpit Rock. Where was it taken? Best to kitty!!

    April 3, 2015
    • Pulpit Rock is the rock formation at Cape Schanck down on the Victorian coast Elen. I’ve been there before, but never got quite this close before. The tide was right out.
      Thank you, I think Tiddles is enjoying all the virtual attention.

      April 3, 2015
  23. Great photos. They look like something out of The Hobbit. Hope things improve for you.

    April 3, 2015
    • I like that idea Raewyn, someone else said they were other worldly, nice, thank you.
      Things have already we now have a house full of lights that all work, big bonus.

      April 3, 2015
  24. awesome photography (Y)

    April 3, 2015
  25. Exceptional edits and all the best with the house clear up. Whenever I’ve dabbled with b/w I’ve found that a shot taken intentionally on b/w setting usually has the edge over colour switched into b/w; – generally take both b/w and colour of the same subject. (Useful tip for painters wanting to sort out tonal gradations).

    April 3, 2015
    • Thank you so much, it is a bit of job, but it is happening. I have avoided doing that, I do the conversions on my computer, but I do manipulate all the tones on the computer. Thanks for the tips Nexi.

      April 3, 2015
  26. Ooh, I love the mood to these! I feel a story from them too, though I’m not totally clear what it is yet. It almost seems as if you spent the night there and are showing us the last and first light; the rock that stands fast against the storms and sea; softness surrounding the solidity.

    Our Luna is very much like your Tiddles! She loves us but is terrified of most other people except for my parents and my support workers who treat her like the princess she is and make a ridiculous fuss over her 😉

    April 8, 2015
    • That is great Sarah, I am experimenting with turning images that were taken in the middle of the day to look like they were taken at night, I love moonlight, so that is great that you thought that. Thank you.

      Tiddles is funny, it is only men he is like that with, it is like he is a one man cat and my husband is that man. He is usually pretty good when girls or women come. Apparently a lot of cats are like that, weird. 😉

      April 8, 2015
      • Yes, cats often imprint on one person or a particular gender and show utter contempt for anyone who doesn’t meet their criteria 😉 Luna quite likes my dad mostly because he doesn’t like cats (all cats like my dad because of this!), essentially it’s because he ignores cats when he meets them which is actually good cat etiquette. She absolutely adores Simon!!! They have some pretty amusing conversations. I’ll catch him out one day and get it on film 😀 Yes, I really like experimenting with altering the perceived time of day or weather conditions a photo was taken in. I quite like the ambiguity 🙂

        April 8, 2015
      • Isn’t it amazing how cats always do that to the people who don’t like them, it is almost like they are teasing them. Tiddles is the same with my husband Dave, so much so we call Dave Tiddles Boyfriend. LOL It is good fun doing that, making it so you don’t know when it was taken. Good fun.

        April 8, 2015
      • Hahahahaha!! Yeah cats just love people who ignore them 😉 Luna stares up my dad and purrs very loudly! I think he finds it slightly disconcerting 😉 Cats are evil geniuses! I must do some new photos of our girlies 🙂

        April 8, 2015
      • They are so funny that way, it is like they can’t stand it if someone doesn’t like them, too funny. I think you should too. I should do some more of Tiddles. 🙂

        April 9, 2015
      • A “cat” challenge 😉 You’re on! 🙂 🐈

        April 9, 2015
      • Haha, oh no what have I got myself into, LOL 🙂

        April 9, 2015
      • Te he 😉

        April 9, 2015
      • LOL

        April 9, 2015

Comments are closed.

