Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Traipsing Around the Beaches at Jan Juc

aireysinlet-lighthouse-beach-evening-ocean-0043

Recently I was given an opportunity to spend some time on the beaches at Jan Juc.  It was fantastic and I had a great time with Chris from sv-takeiteasy and she showed me around the beaches there.  I’ve never been there before and it was great to explore a new area.

janjuc-beach-evening-ocean-0041

The weekend was full of opportunities for both of us to take lots of long exposures.  We were both learning to how to do them, so it was a great time to experiment.

janjuc-beach-evening-ocean-0046

Staying not far from the beach there were opportunities to get out take photos of the sunrise.  It was a great spot to take them and it was nice basically rolling out of bed and a short walk to the beach.

janjuc-beach-evening-ocean-0036

Walking along the beach we were able to find some interesting things.  I’ve never seen a jellyfish like this before.  I loved the colours in it.

aireysinlet-lighthouse-beach-evening-ocean-0043

A trip to Aireys Inlet to try some long exposures around the lighthouse.  It was here or rather after this trip I discovered just how dirty my sensor was.  It was sent in for cleaning and I’m happy to say, all those annoying little dots are now gone.

aireysinlet-lighthouse-beach-evening-ocean-0045

Great weekend or weekends all round.  There were so many great places to go and take photos.  I am hoping that I will be able to go back some time and see what else I can get there.  It was such a wonderful spot for long exposures.

My weekend is happening so fast.  I have been busy doing more writing and today I am out again taking photos.  I have been very lucky being able to go and take photos all the time.  It should be nice.  I hope you are having a good Easter so far, for those that celebrate it, and for those that don’t I hope you are getting to enjoy the long weekend. Here is a gallery with a lot more images for you.

67 Comments
  1. It looks a beautiful place. Love the photographs but just to be awkward I have to admit that I prefer the shorter exposure ones where you can see the waves and the spray.

    April 4, 2015
    • It is, really beautiful, lots of peaceful beaches. That’s okay RJ, it is nice to hear what people prefer, I like both, though I love doing the shorter ones you never really know what you will get. Thank you.

      April 4, 2015
  2. These are just wonderful, Leanne! My kind of photos 🙂 Happy Easter!

    April 4, 2015
  3. Susan Portnoy #

    A lovely set of photos my friend. xoxo

    April 4, 2015
  4. EXTRAordinary!!!!

    April 4, 2015
  5. Oh my god!! These are real places?? I have never seen such a place through such beautiful shots. Splendid job!!!

    April 4, 2015
    • Oh yes, it really is a real place. thank you.

      April 4, 2015
  6. Absolutely Breathtaking 🙂

    April 4, 2015
  7. So beautiful, what a fantastic location.

    April 4, 2015
    • Thanks Karen, it was a beautiful place.

      April 4, 2015
  8. these are just captivating, nicely composed.

    April 4, 2015
    • That’s great Bill, thank you.

      April 4, 2015
  9. JanJuc as you show in your images seems to be a marvellous spot. Your long exposures are delightful, no hot spots, detail galore and give the impression you can see forever. Really enjoyable.

    April 4, 2015
    • It is, lots of lovely beaches to take photos. Thank you, I think I’m getting better at the long exposures.

      April 4, 2015
  10. Great photos. I would love to learn how to do long exposures too. Must work on it.

    April 4, 2015
    • They are fun to do Raewyn. I’m still learning what to do, but hopefully will get better. Thank you.

      April 4, 2015
  11. Wow! ~Rita

    April 4, 2015
  12. Lovely to see those beautiful images of Juc and Aireys. The lighthouse shot with a moody sky is wonderful.
    We are at Corner Inlet… Good sail yesterday, sunny but cold. No moon sighting last night…Too cloudy and looking even mire overcast this morning… 😞

    April 4, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, I bet you have very similar ones.
      I don’t know that place, it has been cloudy here today, but only partly, with luck the clouds will bugger off for tonight. I’m just going to try out my front door.

      April 4, 2015
  13. stunning capture and especially the long exposure on the sunset and the darken cloud on the lighthouse. Thank for sharing and a Happy Easter to your and your family.

    April 4, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, that is wonderful to hear which ones you like. You’re welcome, and Happy Easter to you and yours as well.

      April 4, 2015
  14. leecleland #

    Lovely long exposures Leanne. Water certainly looks good whichever way you shoot it but the ones from the cliff tops are especially beautiful. Enjoy the rest of your weekend we have steady rain here that looks like its settling in for a few days 😦 though we do need it.

    April 4, 2015
    • thank you Lee, I agree, I like the water all sorts of way.I’m looking forward to what I’ve got going. I hope the rain goes away for you Lee. The moon will be rising soon, I’m concentrating on that this year.

      April 4, 2015
  15. This looks like a fabulous outing and the photos are beautiful! 🙂 Have a blessed Easter weekend!

    April 4, 2015
    • It was Linda, thank you and Happy Easter to you too. 🙂

      April 4, 2015
  16. Gorgeous shot of the lighthouse!

    April 4, 2015
    • Thank you, one of my favourites, just disappointing about the spots on the sensor.

      April 4, 2015
  17. Great series!

    April 4, 2015
  18. Awesome photos. I was planning something similar today but Sydney and environs are having wild wet weather!

    April 4, 2015
    • Thank you Paul, I’ve heard it is raining there, bit of a change, that is usually what is happening here.

      April 4, 2015
  19. What a wonderful gallery of images Leanne. The long exposures are a great success. Wishing you a Happy Easter weekend 🙂

    April 4, 2015
    • Thank you Andrew, I did have some luck with them, though still a lot of guess work involved. You have a good Easter too. 🙂

      April 4, 2015
  20. Wow. Really. Color, texture. Everything. Wow.

    April 4, 2015
  21. poppytump #

    Of course I LOVE these ! Looks like you had a great time joining up with a photography friend in a super location Leanne . Lovely share . I’m still finding it very hit or miss with long exposures . The timings can be very iffy and experimental . But when I see I’ve captured that *one shot where the clouds have been blowing and moving across the sky in just the right direction it’s a real inner squeal moment . I bet you know what I mean 😉
    My Lindt Bunnies are still lined up … did you get to the supermarket yet 😀

    April 4, 2015
    • I did Poppytump, we had a great time. It was a lovely morning for photos, a bit cold, winter is coming. I am finding the same, I just keep trying different times. I know what you mean, and the clouds do have to be going in the right direction, any way except across the image, so boring.
      Haha, lovely, I went to a place to day and got some chocolate for us all. I also got myself a Lindt bunny, it is in the freezer, I love my easter egg chocolate frozen.

      April 4, 2015
      • poppytump #

        Haha that IS good to hear … so I don’t have to share mine after all then 😉
        Winter coming …. you’ll be after more of those frosty shots and starry skies 🙂

        April 4, 2015
      • Well you still can, but I understand how good those Lindt bunnies are, so I will be okay if you don’t want to share them, LOL.
        Oh yes, I hope so, I can’t wait for it. I hate summer, really hate it. Autumn is coming early this year, so I have to get out and take some photos. 🙂

        April 4, 2015
  22. Pat #

    Beautiful!

    April 5, 2015
  23. I am partial to those lighthouse shots, Leanne.

    April 5, 2015
    • Me too Elen, I want to go back. Thank you.

      April 5, 2015
  24. Very good! I like especially the long exposure shots from above the beach.

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you, that’s great to hear, it is good when they work.

      April 5, 2015
  25. Beautiful pictures!

    April 5, 2015
  26. Awesome shots. My best is of Lighthouse. Its so tempting and enigmatic 🙂

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you, the one of the lighthouse is one of my favourites too.

      April 5, 2015
  27. the dark lighthouse is great!

    April 6, 2015
    • Thank you, I really like that too.

      April 6, 2015
  28. Leanne – each shot stunningly spectacular!

    April 6, 2015
  29. love it .

    April 6, 2015
  30. Happy Easter to you too. Your time lapses are looking great and giving the landscape great effect 🙂

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank you so much Kaz, we will be able to do some of this too. I hope you had a good Easter too. 🙂

      April 7, 2015
  31. Some wonderful shots Leanne. The lighthouse is one “dark” treatment that I really like!

    April 8, 2015
    • thank you John, it was a long exposure that I must have stopped, but I like the effect too. Thank you.

      April 8, 2015
  32. Great area for a weekend – and for photographing. Just a place for me to come 😉 – but I’m afraid it will take a little more than 4 years before I come back to Australia!

    April 10, 2015
    • It was Truels, I loved it there, it was really good and I enjoyed spending time with Chris. We had lots of fun together. I’m sure I will still be here Truels, I don’t think I am going anywhere soon. Thanks.

      April 10, 2015

Comments are closed.

