Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: More Early Mornings at Banyule Flats

banyule-flats-sunrise-20150322-1052

Recently I went back to Banyule Flats to try and get some more early sunrise shots.  It wasn’t the best morning for a sunrise, but I still had fun there.  We got to see some white faced herons sitting on some fence posts near us.

I hope you don’t get sick of the places, but I have to keep taking photos down there as I try to get the best shots for the book on the area.

As I am writing this I am trying to get photos of the lunar eclipse, so I am going to make this a quick one today. I am catching up with a friend tomorrow morning.  I don’t get to see her very often and then we are going to go and play with the macro lens.  The autumn colours are all appearing so it will be nice to get some of that.

It will be Easter Sunday, make sure you don’t get too sick on the chocolate eggs.  Have a great day.  Here are the photos.

107 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on My Blog .

    April 5, 2015
  2. 🙂 Blessings of Joy and Renewal on this Lovely Eastertide 🙂

    April 5, 2015
  3. FAbulous Leanne…One of the best photographs to click is the sunrise and sunsets..Gives a lot of energy to the soul…Great pictures

    April 5, 2015
    • thank you, they certainly do, I especially love the sunrise, there is something really rewarding about getting up to capture it and if you get a good one, then well, it just sets the day up for you.

      April 5, 2015
      • Exactly… I like doing sunrise photography a lot, but I am not a Pro-photographer like you, Joshi-Daniel and Ravi,

        I would definitely like to learn how to pick up lenses especially for this thing. Will be nice of you if you can suggest me a starting point.

        Regards

        April 5, 2015
      • I don’t think you need to be a pro to do them, just get out there and see what you can get.
        You can use any lens for this, but a wide angle is often the best, something like an 18-55mm is often a good place to start.

        April 5, 2015
  4. I love the light and mists of dawn. If ONLY it didn’t require getting out of bed so early. Great pictures. Beautiful location.

    April 5, 2015
    • It is amazing, I love them too. I like this time of the year, and winter for doing them, it is cold, but you don’t have to get up as early. Thank you Marilyn.

      April 5, 2015
  5. Leanne Cole…there is no other photographer that compares to you. Your work is so very good I can only hope to be as good as you one day. Stay creative Leanne….I am actually learning a little from you. Thank you, and Happy Easter! Blessings for you and yours!!!

    April 5, 2015
    • You will make me blush John. I’m no better than anyone else, I like to think, just a lot more experienced. You keep going and you will be just as good, maybe better. I just keep trying things. I will John, definitely and that is wonderful to hear. You’re welcome, thank you, and Happy Easter to you and yours too.

      April 5, 2015
  6. Lee #

    Wow! Would have loved to have been on that adventure!

    April 5, 2015
    • Saw some amazing birds that morning Lee, you would have loved it. Thanks.

      April 5, 2015
  7. Beautiful Pictures capturing the stillness of the water, the reflections and the fog.

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you, went back there this morning, but no fog, or sunrise for that matter, quite disappointing. Thank you Robin.

      April 5, 2015
  8. I love the reflections with the mist.

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you, I went back this morning and I have to say it was very boring with no mist. Thank you.

      April 5, 2015
  9. Wonderful gallery of photographs. The bird on the fence is priceless.

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you Victor, I loved the bird on the fence too.

      April 5, 2015
  10. Sue #

    Great to see you back at this place, loved your last post on the area …. This time round I like the last few images best

    April 5, 2015
    • thank you Sue, it is nice to be getting back in there and see what I can do. I’m also looking forward to exploring the area with the macro lens.

      April 5, 2015
  11. I never get tired of your photos. All just beautiful, Leanne.

    April 5, 2015
    • That is good to hear Lois, thank you.

      April 5, 2015
  12. Love the mood and the reflections of this series, Leanne. Beautifully shot.

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, I love shooting early morning for this reason.

      April 5, 2015
  13. I love the smoky mist in this series. They are really atmospheric and that quality of light throws the shapes of the trunks and branches into relief.

    April 5, 2015
    • I like that too Laura. I know what you mean, thank you Laura.

      April 5, 2015
  14. Phantas #

    Beautifully surreal. Love the contrast between the sky and silhouettes of the trees!

    April 5, 2015
    • I like surreal, thank you so much.

      April 5, 2015
  15. Absolutely marvelous photos. Can’t say much more.

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you, you have said plenty.

      April 5, 2015
  16. Happy Easter Leanne, hope you get some photography time!

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you Gypsy, it has been a good easter, I hope you have had one too, and yes lots of photography time.

      April 5, 2015
  17. Great photos Leanne. Our blood moon wasn’t until the early hours of the morning. When I went to bed at 11 PM it was starting to cloud over. So I couldn’t catch it this time. So have a happy Easter and I hope you were successful last night.

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, we were lucky it was over by 11 pm here pretty much. Though we didn’t get a full eclipse, but it was still nice. I got one or two shots, thanks Raewyn.

      April 5, 2015
  18. The shots are lovely!!

    April 5, 2015
  19. leecleland #

    I for one will never tire of Banyule Flats it seems a nearly magical place. Love the mist rising from the water, it adds to that magic.

    April 5, 2015
    • That is good to hear Lee, I was taking more photos there today. There wasn’t any mist and it was a bit boring really. Thank you.

      April 5, 2015
  20. Wonderful shots, Leanne. It obviously pays to get up early!

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you Richard, it does sometimes.

      April 5, 2015
  21. I will have to get up earlier. These are an inspiration.

    April 5, 2015
    • Yes, sometimes it is so worth it, sometimes not, but when it all comes today, amazing. Thank you.

      April 5, 2015
  22. Leanne .. These are just amazing! Such wonderful photos ..😃wow!

    April 5, 2015
    • thank you Julie, do you think you like them more because you have been there?

      April 5, 2015
      • Good question .. Probably, but seriously Leanne, these pics really are beautiful. 🙂

        April 6, 2015
      • Thank you Julie, it is interesting to see whether there is a difference between someone who knows the area and someone who has never been there. 🙂

        April 6, 2015
  23. hutchphotography2020 #

    This group of photographs are beautiful. The light, the misty water, and dead trees gives them suspense and a feeling that something is lurking beneath the surface.

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you Hutch, I like that, I might have to try making some really creepy images from it.

      April 5, 2015
  24. It’s great! Could use it as a vinyl cover for some post-metal/rock band! ; )

    April 5, 2015
    • What a lovely compliment, thank you do much.

      April 5, 2015
  25. Don’t fret about reshooting the same area. I totally get why. I do it myself. These are breathtakingly gorgeous.

    April 5, 2015
    • That is great, I love going there, and seeing how different it is at different times. Thank you.

      April 5, 2015
  26. Beautiful! ~Rita

    April 5, 2015
  27. beautiful photographs, especially love the fog above the water ^_^

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you, the fog is brilliant when you can get it on the water like that.

      April 5, 2015
  28. Beautiful, Leanne – I’d be hard pressed to pick a favourite. And kudos to you for being up early enough!

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you Sukie, that’s great. Haha, I have to admit I often get up early, but I usually don’t leave the house, so it has been good to get out. I am hoping to do a lot more.

      April 5, 2015
  29. Magical light in these gorgeous photos! Sunrise wanderings are not my cup of tea, but need to try to get up early more often…inspiring!

    April 5, 2015
    • thank you Tiny, I love early morning wanderings, everything is so quiet and peaceful. I hope you can Tiny, it is always worth it.

      April 5, 2015
  30. Thanks for these photos

    April 5, 2015
    • You’re welcome, and thank you too.

      April 5, 2015
  31. Love the pink and purple sky you captured there at the beginning of the sunrise. The fog is brilliant, not that thick so you can see yet enough to add a bit of a spooky feeling to your photos. Great shots, well done. Sounds like your Easter is going very well, enjoy it. Tomorrow is a holiday as well 😀

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, I like when the fog is there, didn’t see it this morning, unfortunately. It has been, I hope yours has too. Yes, more photo ops. Thanks again 😀

      April 5, 2015
  32. You have utilised every element of the subject brightness range with great skill. Loved the moodiness you’ve created. Hard to emulate this when living in central NSW where rain filled creeks and billabongs etc are bone dry at the moment.

    April 5, 2015
    • Thank you, we had that for many years, though we really need some rain right now. Though with them being bone dry you could get some interesting shots.

      April 5, 2015
  33. These are amazing! Nice start to my day for me!

    April 5, 2015
    • That is wonderful, so glad, thank you.

      April 5, 2015
  34. Great images of the early morning mist over the flats, Leanne. You’ve got a great collection!

    April 5, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, you will have to come one morning. How did you go with the moon?

      April 5, 2015
      • No good. Too cloudy… It would appear for a minute then disappear for ages. What about you?

        April 5, 2015
      • I was lucky, it was really clear here and I could watch the whole thing. Made up for last time. Though a lot of my photos were crap, I did get a couple which were okay. I put them on facebook, let me see if I can put a link,

        April 5, 2015
  35. poppytump #

    Lovely sunrise Leanne … looks like you have this gorgeous spot to yourself each time . * can’t think of anything better 🙂
    WOW .. that Blood Moon … terrific …. *envious nothing doing in the sky here :-/

    April 6, 2015
    • I did, I often do Poppytump, it isn’t that well known for photographers, so I rarely if ever see other photographers down there. Lucky me, 🙂
      Thank you Poppy, it was good fun photographing it, did you see the photo on facebook?

      April 6, 2015
  36. What a fantastic place to take photos. These are really nice.

    April 6, 2015
    • Thank you, it is a great place and so glad that it is just down the road.

      April 6, 2015
  37. I Love Your Work. Shared on G+ as well as FB.

    April 6, 2015
    • Thank you and thanks for sharing.

      April 6, 2015
  38. These are really breathtaking, Leanne! By the way, I tried to comment on the last monochrome article, which I thought was excellent. I received a message saying my comment wasn’t posted, so in case you didn’t see it, I’m summarizing my long comment here with: “great work.”

    April 6, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, Oh, I wonder what happened, though quite a few people have been complaining about the same thing, comments not being sent.

      April 6, 2015
  39. Thank you for liking “The Downward Spiral of Gift Giving” and “Happy April Fool’s Day.” Wonderful photos! 🙂 The morning light and mist in these photos are gorgeous. I also like the reflections of the tree silhouettes in the water.

    April 6, 2015
    • You’re welcome, and thank you for what you said about my work as well.

      April 6, 2015
  40. do you ever take a canoe and slip into the mystery!!? So beautiful!! I hope I can get to Australia one day!

    April 7, 2015
    • No, you aren’t allowed to, they don’t want people disturbing the birds, so you can walk to the edge, but that is it. I hope you do too, we could have a great time. Thanks.

      April 7, 2015
  41. Wonderful images.
    And – nice that you got to meet up with a friend.

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank RoSy, yes, I do like going out with friends, so it is great.

      April 7, 2015
  42. These turned out really well, Leanne. Fog fascinates me. I love how it hides and reveals. The way it moves – changing a scene in a heartbeat. Now if I can just get my lazy behind out of bed early enough to capture a foggy dawn here! LOL

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank you Kirsten, I am the same, it fascinates me too. I love watching it, though it is hard to photograph, so I found. Get out there girl, go get some early morning shots, it will be peaceful, you might get addicted to it.

      April 7, 2015
      • You are now going to be the little voice in my head that tells me to wake up at the crack of dawn! lol

        April 7, 2015
      • You don’t have to do it every morning, when we skype next I will tell you which mornings to look for, how does that sound?

        April 7, 2015
      • Sounds good. Because the mornings I’ve done it have not been very good choices, but I got a lot done before Noon on those days 😀

        April 7, 2015
      • That is always an added bonus, I have put a note next to it for next week.

        April 7, 2015
  43. Amazing beautiful photos and the misty morning with sunrise give this reserve a beautiful, haunting and magical mood.

    April 7, 2015
    • It does, I think so too Cattan, I love the fog/mist on it. Thank you.

      April 7, 2015
  44. Gorgeous shots, with the mist and the old fence and those trees give it such mood 🙂

    April 7, 2015
    • the old fence posts really add to it I think, I like seeing them there. Thanks 🙂

      April 7, 2015
      • It gives the sense of what was here before, and the history…. it was a paddock… how things have changed since it was that and why…

        April 7, 2015
      • Yes, that is so true, which is exactly how it was, farmland until about 20 years ago. Yes, the swamp wasn’t there, good to see they put it back.

        April 7, 2015
  45. Worth getting up for! Beautiful morning captures. Inspiring for my next holiday. Regards Peet

    April 7, 2015
    • Oh yes, so worth it, and nice that I don’t have to travel far to get it as well. Thank you Peet.

      April 8, 2015
  46. Sonel #

    Excellent photography as usual Leanne! Wow! I love the mist and fog and you’ve captured it all so well. You know which one is my favourite of course. 😆

    Thanks for sharing the beauty of the part of your world hon. 😀 ♥

    April 8, 2015
    • I think the fog and mist have been very popular, I went back there the other day to take some photos it was boring as there was no mist.
      You’re welcome, great to see that you like it. Thank you. 😀

      April 8, 2015
      • Sonel #

        hahaha! Funny how it seems to be boring when there’s no mist or fog hey? I also prefer cloudy or stormy days. With that light you get, you can do anything with a photo. 😀

        April 8, 2015
      • I know, after you see it it isn’t quite the same without it. There is often fog/mist there, so I know I will be able to get it again. Early morning sun is lovely here at this time of the year. 😀

        April 9, 2015

Comments are closed.

