Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Time of Reflection

Easter has been a great time to sit around and not do much.  I’ve been planning some things, and going out with friends taking some photos.  It has been nice, but it’s time to settle down and get serious about what I am doing.

Social Snappers

I have updated the website for Social Snappers and announced the outings for the term.  As said previously they are now free, and hopefully some more people will want to do them.  It is hard to be enthusiastic about doing them when sc20110910-0093-7the same people are doing them all the time, which is lovely that they do, but I could just organise outings with them as they are friends.  Still, I will continue trying.  Onwards.

Monochrome Madness Themes

There does seem to be some confusion about how often we will be doing them.  Basically they will happen the first Wednesday of each month.  Wednesday in Australia, which is pretty much Tuesday for the rest of the world.  So if you LeanneCole-capeschanck-7690are wondering when to send your themed MM image, I will make an announcement here.

Don’t forget the next theme is fences.

Women Photographers

I have a bone to pick.  It is something that I’ve been realizing for awhile.  The photographing industry don’t think women can do landscape photography, or architectural photography, or anything that doesn’t have the word portrait attached to it.

I was keeping an eye on an online magazine, two issues, and neither one had anything in it written by women, or any articles on women photographers.  Seriously.

When I asked them about it, they reckon it was just a coincidence and they do feature women.  My question is, if as many women as men are buying cameras then why isn’t half the magazine representing the women out there taking photos.

Even when you look at places online where you can learn photography, they have women teaching portrait photography, like babies, pets, weddings, but when it comes to landscape photography or, say, architecture all the instructors are men. I know women are doing landscape photography, I see their photos everywhere, and there are a lot of them.

So while I was out with a friend she said I should start my own magazine.  I thought the idea was bonkers to start with, then I got to thinking, why not.  I could do something like a newsletter, but fancier.  I could get a few people to write for it, women of course.

LeanneCole-capeschanck-7460A photography magazine written by women for women photographers.  It is still an idea in progress, but there are three of us so far who are going to write for it, so I am hoping to find at least another three. Still need to work out what we will do, but I just want to get it out there that women do photography as well and we photograph more than just portraits.

We are going to need a name, so if you have any ideas would love to hear them.  I am also hoping that those of you who have signed up for the newsletter won’t mind if I use your email addresses for the online magazine.

Photos

Today the photos are from a couple of trips to Cape Schanck, landscape photos, if you can believe it, apparently I’m a woman and I’m taking some landscape things.  Okay just a little joke.

134 Comments
  1. The photos of Cape Schank are very impressive and special, Leanne. You live in an awesome part of the world. Never been to Australia, but twice to NZ. All the best to the other side of the world. Reinhold

    April 7, 2015
    • Sounds like it might be time to come and visit us Reinhold. We aren’t the same as New Zealand, but we do have a great coastline, you can go from one extreme to the other, photograph desserts, then photograph rough shoreline. Thank you.

      April 7, 2015
  2. The magazine is a great idea. I never noticed that men do the landscapes and women do the portraits more often. That makes no sense, if you’ve got the talent, go with it!

    April 7, 2015
    • Thanks John, I agree, it is so not true, I know lots of women, myself included, who don’t ever do portraits, unless for family.

      April 7, 2015
  3. Breathtaking photos

    April 7, 2015
  4. Love all the wild waves!

    April 7, 2015
    • It was a very wild day that we went. I got blown over once. thanks.

      April 7, 2015
  5. you always manage to take my soul on your journeys!! Absolutely beautiful Leanne!

    April 7, 2015
  6. I think your own magazine would be a great idea! If you need any help, I would be more than happy to do anything you need.

    April 7, 2015
    • Thanks Lore, that is great, I think it could be a lot of fun. Why don’t you send me an email.

      April 7, 2015
  7. Reblogged this on Vehemence! and commented:
    An exceptional Photographer is Leanne Cole! Please visit her site.

    April 7, 2015
  8. Just Gorgeous…As usual 🙂

    April 7, 2015
  9. Excellent shots! And I agree that a magazine for and by women photographers is a great idea. I’m curious what, in your opinion, people such as myself (hobbyist photographers who don’t have a say in what gets published) can do about that? I’m aware that I’m assuming that people such as myself have a say in instigating changes; any advice will be helpful.

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank you, and as to your other inquiry, I don’t know, you would probably need to write to them and ask them. Change magazines, it is a tough one.

      April 7, 2015
  10. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    A magazine for women would be wonderful! I do not know how Australia is but here and in other countries, women are constantly discriminated against simply on gender. That gender discrimination goes into every field, not just photography. People sometimes have preconceived notions about women and their ‘place’ in the world. Those judgmental values are similar to racism in that there is no real basis for that assumption. It also means that as a woman, you will have to work harder to prove yourself than your male counterparts.

    In high school I was told I could not take shop, carpentry, masonry and the like. When I took a class to learn to shoe my own horse and ponies, the instructor was skeptical, but I did what everyone else did. In the market for a house with a workshop, every agent would direct questions to my husband who knew nothing about power tools and lumber.

    If you could do that, make a magazine for women, how would that be different than one for photographers in general? You have piqued my interests. 😉

    April 7, 2015
    • It happens a lot here too, women still don’t get equal pay for doing the same job as a man. I think you are right, they do have preconceived ideas about it. Oh yes, you do don’t you, have to work harder that it.

      We didn’t have limitations like that at school, actually we had to do woodwork and such initially, they made us all do it, just as the boys had to do sewing and cooking.I get that when we go to buy a car, my husband doesn’t drive, he doesn’t have a license, but they ask him all the questions, makes me so mad. After buying one car they sent out a survey to find out what we thought of it. It was sent to my husband, so I sent it back to them and told them if they wanted it filled it they should send it to the person who purchased the car and drives it.

      It wouldn’t really be that different, but it will be written by women, so it will have women doing the photography that other magazines tend to always show men doing. I don’t want it to be some sort of thing where we are trying to get equal rights, more just showing the world that we can photograph what we want. So women doing landscapes, architecture, macro, astrophotography, all that. 🙂

      April 7, 2015
      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

        That is funny about the survey. 😛 I wish you all the best if you decide to do it.

        April 7, 2015
      • I think I will do it Jackie, it could be just the project I am looking for. Thanks 🙂

        April 7, 2015
  11. I like the idea of a photography magazine by and about women photographers. Count me in as contributor. 🙂

    April 7, 2015
    • That would be great Cate, do you want to send me an email, we can discuss it. Thank you.

      April 7, 2015
  12. i love the shot of the skinny bridge, it makes me wonder where it’s going…. 😀

    April 7, 2015
    • All the way up Ruthie, a long way up, it is the path to get down to the rock and then back up, 😀 Thanks.

      April 7, 2015
      • Wow, that sounds like a work out! Welcome.:)

        April 7, 2015
      • Oh it is, really hard work out. the trick is to walk straight down, no stopping, then take all your photos on the way back up, lots of breaks then. 🙂

        April 7, 2015
  13. That is funny…I just saw a crowd funding campaign for a German woman photography magazine… I was actually consider supporting it. I don’t mind if you use my mail for that! 😉

    April 7, 2015
    • So I see we are the only ones feeling like we are being misrepresented in the industry. Interesting. Thank you Sarina, hopefully it won’t take us too long to get the first issue out. 🙂

      April 7, 2015
  14. I love the photography in this update, Leanne! And I agree about the representation of women photographers. I’ve noticed that all lifestyle photographers seem to be women, but haven’t noticed much about the representation in other genres. Interesting!

    April 7, 2015
    • I think the world has very definite places where women are, unfortunately and it doesn’t really represent the reality of the situation. Should be interesting, thank you Sabina.

      April 7, 2015
  15. Hi Leanne, lovely pictures as usual 🙂 I love the idea of a women’s photography magazine! I am currently looking to buy an entry level dslr, any recommendations? Thank you 🙂

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank you Kayla, I think it could be really interesting and fun to do, hopefully. I am a Nikon girl, so I will always recommend Nikon, LOL, I think the Nikon D5300 is a great camera, good one to learn on and grow into. If you get it with a couple of kit lenses, then it should be all you need for a while. If that is too expensive, Nikon do a D3200 or D3300, can’t remember what they are up to now, and it is their entry level camera, again, a good camera. You’re welcome.

      April 7, 2015
  16. I agree with you. Your landscapes are amazing. I love doing landscapes too. I don’t do portraits or babies simply because they don’t interest me as much as nature does. I find male photographers to be more pedantic – everything has to be perfect with little editing needed – generally speaking of course – I don’t want to have any negative comments on that – it is just my own experience. Also when I belonged to a camera club there were only a couple of women – and I was the one who experimented the most.
    So it is time for me to go out and take some more landscapes – highlighting our autumn colours.

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, that is great and I think there are lots of women who do as well. I agree, I think there is a difference between the way men and women take photos, I think women are more creative about their approach, where men are often more technical. They are generalizations and I don’t think that applies to everyone, but it has been my experience.
      I think the magazine will be good because it will show that women can do other types of photography, that we aren’t all doing the same stuff, such as portraits. I don’t want it to be negative, and it won’t be a women are better sort of thing, it will be like a normal one, but it will be highlighting women.
      Sounds good Raewyn, I would like to do that as well, but might have to wait until later in the day.

      April 7, 2015
  17. And gorgeous are they. I love how you caught the power of the moving water.

    April 7, 2015
  18. Because we all go a little crazy and being human is being wild and wildness brings our own beauty. This is a lonely world there may always be something missing but within the madness is where you find yourself. My first blog, I hope you enjoy it

    April 7, 2015
  19. Wooo!! fantastic capture of the foaming waves crashing against the rocks. Amazing beautiful photos and wish you all the success of a new magazine for women photographers.

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, it can get very wild down there. Thank you for that too, I hope it will be very interesting.

      April 7, 2015
  20. Ahh, I love that footbridge winding deep into the frame and there are some beautiful images of the waves too. Looks similar to many of the coastlines by me, with the haystacks just beyond the beach, so beautiful.
    I love your idea of a women’s photography magazine. While I am not a high caliber photographer I do love to write and my photography is growing each month, I would enjoy contributing if you are interested. When I read about this idea of yours I said out loud, “yes, this is a true direction for her!” I really think that this incorporates many aspects of your passion. It is a beautiful idea coming from a well-intentioned place. I am on board in what ever way I can help.

    April 7, 2015
    • That footbridge is horrible, you have to walk down it, which is fine, but coming back is hard work. I am sure you have coastlines like this too, it is quite amazing.
      Thank you Carrie, I think it is a good idea and judging by the reactions I’m getting so far it looks like it could be a really good idea. If you are interested Carrie, then perhaps pitch some ideas. I don’t see any reason why everything should be about photographers using DSLR’s or that sort of thing. I think you are right, and it does seem to be a logical step for me. We need to find a name.
      Email me with your ideas Carrie.

      April 7, 2015
      • A never ending view on the way down to distract you from all the walking…I can see why the way up would be challenging! It does remind me of some here, beautiful images Leanne! I’ll e.mail you too!

        April 7, 2015
      • Oh yes, and a never ending view coming back up, LOL. Thanks Carrie, I will look for you in my inbox.

        April 7, 2015
  21. I love your idea. I do photography as a hobby but interestingly have no desire to increase my portrait photography skills. But anything nature or macro is what I find fun and rewarding. Great post!

    April 7, 2015
    • I don’t think you are alone Nora, I think there are a lot of women who feel exactly the same way. I’m glad you like the idea as well, the support so far has been great. Thanks Nora.

      April 7, 2015
  22. I’m pleased you have touched a nerve about gender bias in photography. It’s about time that talent was recognised for what it is. In my local camera club, females outnumber men by almost 5 to 1. Landscapes predominate and portraits are rare. In fact, I can’t remember portraits being a competition subject for years.
    I’m sure that your newsletter/magazine will be a real hit. Congrats too on your latest images. all are rippers.

    April 7, 2015
    • I agree, it is incredible how women are basically ignored in areas like landscape photography. As you point out it is biased. thank you the support has been fantastic, and looking at the number of people interested it should be fantastic.

      April 7, 2015
  23. leecleland #

    Women photographers of the world unite ! 🙂 Takes a creative to see the gap in the market, go for it Leanne. If I can help with anything let me know.
    Love Cape Schanck what a wild place and great captures. Did you take some of these with a wide angle lens?

    April 7, 2015
    • Oh yeah Lee, absolutely. I hope so, I think it is needed, we need to have voice and let people know that we are here. Thank you, perhaps send me an email. Then I will keep it and if I need some help, I can let you know.
      It is a wild place, and yes, I am fairly certain I used the wide angle, perfect for a place like that.

      April 7, 2015
  24. I love these, as I love all your work. But, I have to tell you that it took me aback a little when I saw the title, “Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs” because it is still Monday where I am. For a fraction of a second I had to stop and question myself about what day I was actually in.

    Thanks for the short sprint in brain calisthenics. 🙂

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, oh sorry, didn’t mean to scare you like that, but yes, I am a day ahead. Glad you enjoyed the brain calisthenics, I often have to do that each morning when I wake up, work out what day it is. 😉

      April 7, 2015
  25. Fantastic idea Leanne about the online magazine. Its amazing when discussing with other people what comes out of it. I don’t feel qualified to write anything but happy to lend my support! 🙂

    April 7, 2015
    • Thanks Kaz, it seems like it is needed I think. Oh yes, I’m glad I was talking to Chris about it now. I don’t feel qualified to write either, ahaha, thanks.

      April 7, 2015
  26. Hi Leanne .. I wrote about the issue of women in photography last year [https://juliehardingpnp.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/women-in-photography/] and find it very frustrating that we are not taken seriously when it comes to our passion. I come up against discrimination all the time, surly I can’t be a good photographer because I am a woman and should concentrate on keeping house over capturing beauty. I would be interested in contributing to your magazine if you need a regular scriber or an occasional one-offer …

    April 7, 2015
    • I couldn’t agree more Julie, I find exactly the same thing, I approach companies about things and just get ignored. I’m sure they don’t do it too men. We should start asking them how many men they sponsor with how many women they do.
      Send me an email Julie, I’m collecting names.

      April 7, 2015
  27. I really love the pictures, where it was taken? It’s so breathtaking.. Surely you have a beautiful gift in taking pictures 🙂

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank you, they were taken down at Cape Schanck, near a lighthouse on the Victorian coastline. 🙂

      April 7, 2015
      • What country? sorry to ask.. because I am a filipina and im from philippines.

        April 7, 2015
      • Australia,I live here.

        April 7, 2015
      • Thank you for the reply 🙂

        April 7, 2015
      • My pleasure. 😀

        April 7, 2015
  28. Wonderful images!

    April 7, 2015
  29. I have to add that I totally agree with your point about the lack of female landscape and architectural photographers. I hope that you continue to plan on a magazine for and by women photographers 🙂 Might just change the world!

    April 7, 2015
    • I don’t think their is a lack of them, I think they are forgotten and ignored by the photography industry, do it is time we let them know we are there and annoyed. It might, wouldn’t that be amazing. Thank you Mary.

      April 7, 2015
  30. Magnificent set, Leanne. What a fantastic set of seascapes.

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, great place for photos.

      April 7, 2015
  31. lmarea3070 #

    I like your idea about the woman’s magazine. I hope you start it. I didn’t get the joke until I read the comments. When I was taking photography classes, the women outnumbered the men. You landscapes reminded me of the paintings from the old masters because they are very dramatic; very nice!

    April 7, 2015
    • I think it is going to happen Lisa, especially if the response today is any indication. I agree, there are so many women doing photography, but we are sadly neglected by the photography industry. Thank you for that, what a gorgeous compliment.

      April 7, 2015
  32. What an interesting idea to do a magazine for women! I think your landscapes are beautiful and look forward to what you and other female landscape photographers have to say!

    April 7, 2015
    • I hope so Cynthia, I think it would be good, showcase women photographers. Thank you.

      April 7, 2015
  33. Your own magazine! That IS a good idea. I subscribed to one magazine here and will not renew as I was disappointed in the “substance” or rather lack of it. Your landscape photos are always great…and so are these!

    April 7, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, I am hoping it will be. Hopefully ours will be good and be full of great information. Time will tell.

      April 7, 2015
  34. Great idea Leanne..i mean i do not take portraits in fact i only really sneak pics of people when they are unaware..almost like a stalker hahaa..i have very little interest in it..of course some folks assume woman ,camera equals happy snaps of frills and babies..a shame..

    April 7, 2015
    • You stalker, I knew it, I knew there was something funny about you, LOL. I know, they think women only do the fluffy stuff, unfortunately. Thanks Bev, glad you think it is a good idea as well.

      April 7, 2015
      • Yep stalker from way back ..you get a more honest picture 🙂 that goes for the animlas as well..i have some hilarious shots of dogs..doing their thing..owners blissfully unaware..maybe women are always going to be seen as light weights..but those that put themselves out there are making a change..i hope..i know there are men out there who will not climb trees or risk a snake encounter..but i see that as an individual human choice..not just a choice due to the sex you are…urghh 🙂

        April 7, 2015
      • Haha, good to see you are honest about it.
        I think that too, as though we don’t do really serious photography. Exactly. It has been good today, it has been reassuring to see how many people or women think I should do it. 🙂

        April 7, 2015
      • I am glad and it does show women and men can produce the same good and bad images…it is all individual and as such should never be seen as dominated by one sex..chefs have been predominantly male but women are fast proving their worth…and a s much as I do joke I am super serious about my wildlife..so go for it 🙂

        April 7, 2015
      • So very true. I really don’t think what we produce is that different, and that men are automatically better just because they are men. I am very serious about my photography as well, and don’t think I should be given less credit just because I am a woman. 🙂

        April 7, 2015
      • Damn tootin! art is art and our eyes see all things differently..male female we each see what is unique to us..that is a human quality 🙂 and a photographers quality..:)

        April 7, 2015
      • That is, and I think that men and women do approach photography differently as well. I think men can be more technical about it, but women approach from a more creative aspect. I am more concerned about what I am trying to capture rather than what camera settings I’m using, which gets me into trouble all the time. LOL

        April 8, 2015
      • You are singing my song…hahaahah sometimes the image will not wait for the setting…or the person behind the camera gets too involved in the image ..kind of my mantra ..just sayin 🙂

        April 8, 2015
      • Haha, I hope you can’t hear it too loud, I can’t sing. Exactly, sometimes you just have to go for it.

        April 8, 2015
      • Hahahahahaha 🙂 you sure do!

        April 8, 2015
      • Hahahaha 😀

        April 8, 2015
  35. Hey Leanne … gosh a magazine too! No time left in your day. Lovely pics as always …

    April 7, 2015
    • Well, hopefully it won’t be too hard, will see. Yes, I guess I will have to stop pissing around and really do some work, haha.

      April 7, 2015
  36. Your work is beautiful 🙂

    April 7, 2015
  37. Wow. Beautiful pictures!

    April 7, 2015
  38. poppytump #

    Whoa … LOVE that rock and furious sea all round Leanne ….
    Maybe *they* think women shouldn’t or can’t do rugged and wild .. 😉

    April 7, 2015
    • Oooh I like that, the furious sea.
      I don’t know what it is, I think it is time we showed them that we can and do that sort of thing. 😉

      April 7, 2015
  39. These are all wonderfully striking.

    April 7, 2015
  40. I love the idea of an online magazine for women about photography. I’ll be following your progress with interest Leanne.

    April 8, 2015
    • That’s great Carol, the support so far has been great, that I can imagine it will be quite successful, I hope. Thank you.

      April 8, 2015
  41. Sonel #

    Wow! Looks like you had a fantastic time Leanne! Excellent captures for sure and I am glad and grateful that I was able to see it through your eyes. It’s so beautiful there. You are blessed. 😀

    I think that’s a great idea about the magazine Leanne. I am sure you will find the perfect name for it. ♥

    April 8, 2015
    • I did Sonel, I always do, LOL. I’m glad you enjoy them, thank you.
      I got quite a few ideas today on Facebook, lots of good ones too.

      April 8, 2015
      • Sonel #

        I sure did and I am glad you did. Would love to see the results. Have fun. 😀

        April 8, 2015
      • Going to be interesting, the next thing will be if I can pull it off. 😀

        April 9, 2015
      • Sonel #

        I know you will. 😀

        April 9, 2015
      • 😀

        April 9, 2015
  42. robert87004 #

    Leanne, maybe you have seen this, Anne is primarily a landscape photographer. 🙂 http://annemckinnell.com/blog/

    April 9, 2015
    • Yes, I’ve heard of her, approached her once about doing a feature on her and she said she would get back to me, but never did. Good point though, yet another landscape photographer who also happens to be a woman.

      April 9, 2015
  43. Reblogged this on VDHProductions and commented:
    Love the work of Leanne Cole! Very inspiring also!! 🙂

    April 9, 2015
  44. I like your creative and unintrusive placement of water marks

    April 9, 2015
    • Thank you, I’ve tried hard to make it blend in.

      April 9, 2015
  45. That’s such a great landscape to work with Leanne 🙂 So many moods and stories! Some rocks really can come alive 🙂

    April 10, 2015
    • It is Sarah, quite amazing, shame the climb down is so bad, actually the climb down isn’t bad, it is the climb up that is hard. I think so too, though it never seems calm, always angry. Thanks Sarah. 🙂

      April 10, 2015
      • Well that rock takes quite a beating! I think I would have plenty of pent up anger too 😉 I actually find going down slopes or hills harder than going up. Not that I’m fit for any real rock clambering!!

        April 11, 2015
      • There is a wooden path and steps all the way down Sarah, you do have walk on rocks at the bottom. I am fine going down, but never seem to be fit enough coming back up. 😉

        April 11, 2015
      • Oh, stairs! My complete nemesis unfortunately whether it’s up or down. There are a few places in London that I like to go where you can’t avoid a couple of flights of stairs and I must drive the rushing Londoners nuts as I have to go a short step up one foot at a time and very, very slowly. Lots of pauses! Some people huff at me which just makes me laugh 😉 As if huffing and tutting at someone will suddenly make their legs work a bit better!

        April 12, 2015
      • Stairs are the nemesis of many, I really don’t like walking up steps. I’m glad the people make you laugh, no point letting them upset you. 😉

        April 12, 2015
      • I like to laugh 😀

        April 12, 2015
      • I’m glad to hear that. 😀

        April 12, 2015
      • Best medicine Leanne 🙂

        April 13, 2015
      • Always, 🙂

        April 13, 2015

Comments are closed.

