Skip to content

Quiet Thursday: Looking to the Moon

Here we are again and it is Thursday again.  It has been a good week so far and I have got lots of work done.  On my facebook page and in my email box are lots of suggestions for names for the new magazine.  When I get a big list I am going to do a poll so you can vote.  I don’t want to make the decision on my own.

On another note last Saturday night was another Blood Moon or lunar eclipse. I actually got this one this time as the sky was clear for the whole period here.  It was fantastic, especially after the last one.  We didn’t get a full eclipse here, but I’m not complaining.

I took lots of photos with the Tamron 150-600mm lens that I have at the moment from Maxwell International Australia and it was great for this.  I had it set up on my tripod.  I took photos from the start, so the full moon and then right through to when the eclipse was on the other side, then I went to bed.  This time I just set the tripod up out my front door and did it there.

Then the next morning I spent the morning and much of the afternoon with a good friend who was in town.  We had breakfast out and then we went into Banyule Flats to take photos with my macro and her 35mm lens. It was great wandering around.  She also had another camera with her.  I don’t know what it was, some Fuji Instax camera.  It was like a Polaroid camera. I only took three shots, but I thought I would share them with you.

I like the effect and as I was looking at them I got thinking. Could I imitate them.  I still have to figure some things out, but I did have a go with one of the photos I took with the 35mm lens.

polaroid-effect-banyule-flats

So I guess the question is would you really be able to tell the difference if I didn’t tell you.  As I said, it isn’t quite there, but I am pretty happy with it.  I will have to keep trying.  I will let you know what I did when I work out what to do.

I’m leaving it there now for today.  I have a busy day ahead, have to go to the city.  I hope you get to have a quiet day.

90 Comments
  1. Lovely moon shots Leanne. It was rainy and foggy here so no blood moon for us this time.

    April 9, 2015
    • It seemed to be a problem in a lot of places this time. I was very lucky and I think it was good as last time I had all the cloud. Thank you Carol.

      April 9, 2015
  2. Phenomenal moon shots!!! 150-600 mm? That’s got to be a fantastic lens to take out and about.

    April 9, 2015
    • Thank you, it is a good lens, I’m enjoying using it. It is big, but still okay to hand hold, which is nice.

      April 9, 2015
      • My second telephoto is only 300 mm and I feel that extra weight each time I use it without a tripod! I’m imagining a 600 can be very interesting at handheld shoots.

        April 9, 2015
      • It is something you get used to I think. My arms certainly get tired if I hold it for too long, but again, I think that if I did that more with experience it would get better. I did use a tripod for the moon shots though.

        April 9, 2015
      • I agree, the more you shoot with it hopefully it becomes easier to manage. I did some eclipse shots as well and to be honest, wouldn’t think of not using the tripod!

        April 9, 2015
      • Yes, you do get used to it. I agree, tripod is a must if you want really good images.

        April 9, 2015
      • I definitely had to learn this the hard way!

        April 9, 2015
      • I think it is something we all have to learn.

        April 9, 2015
  3. …just wanted to comment separately on the final three shots. They’re good and what you did with the final one looks pretty good to my eyes. I’d be interested to see what else you had in mind for it.

    April 9, 2015
    • Thank you, I am not sure what else yet, still working on some ideas, but I might do something on it when I’m done.

      April 9, 2015
      • I’m not sure why… but ‘Louisiana Bayou’ just popped into my brain as I took another look! Something magical, dark and foreboding… or something like that!

        April 9, 2015
      • Really, that is interesting. This is an area of my local park, and it is sort of overgrown, but that is how we like it.

        April 9, 2015
      • I guess even more interesting is I’ve never been to Louisiana or any bayou for that matter! I was talking to an elderly couple in Golden Gate Park not long ago and told them I wish I could have seen the park in its infancy, when it was a bit more wild. They agreed it use to be and people loved it just as much.

        April 9, 2015
      • LOL but I know what you mean. We are lucky, the park near me was a farm for many years, and then recently it has been converted back to parkland and basically been aloud to go back to how nature intended it to be. I love that.

        April 9, 2015
      • That’s very cool! Sometimes nature simply doesn’t need us ‘redesigning’ her or reining her in!

        April 9, 2015
      • Or controlled.

        April 9, 2015
      • Amen, sister! Kinda wish more people respected those words around the globe…

        April 9, 2015
      • I couldn’t agree more.

        April 9, 2015
  4. I love these! I took a picture of the moon on Friday evening here minus a tripod because I was in a hurry and only had a second to take a quick snap. It’s not awful, but it sure doesn’t look like this 🙂

    April 9, 2015
    • Thanks Kirsten, I did use a very big lens, that always helps, and I was on a tripod. Sounds like you got a great shot for what you were doing. 😉

      April 9, 2015
      • I don’t know if I would use that exact adjective! lol but I was pleasantly surprised for such a quick snapshot. Just so you know, I’m having lens envy right now 🙂

        April 9, 2015
      • Don’t Kirsten, it isn’t mine and will be going back to the company next week. So I only had it for a short time. Will have to write a review of it next week. 😀

        April 9, 2015
      • Will you be posting your review on your blog? It is the next lens that I would like to purchase, but I want to make sure it is worth the money.

        April 9, 2015
      • Yes, on my blog Kirsten, not sure when. I think it’s a great lens, and for the money fantastic.

        April 9, 2015
  5. just love the moon shots. beautiful.

    April 9, 2015
    • Thank you, nice to get some shots this time.

      April 9, 2015
  6. Reblogged this on Giai01's Blog and commented:
    xem

    April 9, 2015
  7. Fantastic blood moon capture and utterly happy for u to have such a wonderful len to paly with.

    April 9, 2015
    • Thanks Cattan, it was good to get something this time. I love it too that I get to play with it.

      April 9, 2015
  8. I love the moon!! and your effect works well!!

    April 9, 2015
    • Thanks Cybele though have to admit I didn’t do much to them.

      April 9, 2015
  9. Great captures of the moon. Lucky you to have clear skies for it and a decent hour.

    April 9, 2015
    • Yep lucky, last time it was overcast here and I really didn’t get anything. so I was so happy it was dear here. thanks Raewyn.

      April 9, 2015
  10. Cool moon shots. On screen it’s difficult to tell the difference between the instant shots and the digital replica. I shoot Polaroids and when I scan and upload them they look nothing like the little shiny squares in the frame I hold in my hand, but also on the scans you can see where the ink hasn’t taken at the bottom edge, and it’s not as sharp as the digital image is larger. Don’t think it will be easy to replicate that 🙂

    April 9, 2015
    • I like that, there is a little difference, but hopefully I can change that. I used to shoot them, but the film is just too expensive now. Though I might consider getting one of these Fuji Cameras. Yeah, that is pretty much what I thought, especially about the sharpness. I did scan the ones I took, but I think what I should’ve done is taken photos at the same place with the digitial and the instant. I think some of you will be and there are aspects you can take from the original photos and add them. More experimenting needs to be done.

      April 9, 2015
  11. Great moon shots, Leanne, much better than mine. I was using my 100-400 at full length, which was ok for getting close, but I wasn’t able to get nearly enough light to my sensor for the shots nearing totality. Would you mind sharing your camera settings for those shots?

    I’ve heard about that lens you used and find it very interesting. I could get one of those brand new for about the same price I could sell my Canon 100-400L for used…. Makes you think…

    April 9, 2015
    • Thanks Steve, I did have to do a fair bit of cropping, which is normal. Oh dear Steve, what a question, I’m not good at the settings, I will find one lot for you. ISO 1250, f6.3 and shutter was about 1/8 of a second. I had the camera on aperture priority, but keep putting the ISO up to get a faster shutter speed.

      I have to say, I am very impressed with it Steve, It is a great lens and I have loved the photos I have got from it so far. I think it’s better than the Sigma 150-500mm that I got a loan off from a friend. I wouldn’t mind getting one, but it is an expense I don’t need right now. Sounds like you should go for it.

      April 9, 2015
      • Thanks Leanne. I guess I just didn’t go for a long enough shutter speed. I was afraid that I would get motion blur, but based on your shots I could have slowed it down a lot more. Oh well, there will be another one in September… And I will definitely have to think about getting that lens.

        April 10, 2015
      • It is a tricky one Steve, fast shutter, higher ISO lots of noise, so trying to find the balance. I think around 1/10 of a second is okay, others might disagree with me though. That’s true, there is always another one. Perhaps practice on the full moons between now and then, that might help.

        April 10, 2015
  12. Hi, Leanne: Your moon shots are looking good, I’m impressed with the results you got from this lens. I suspect with all the interest you are generating Tamron should give you one for free. AFter doing a little research (inspired by your post), I am definitely considering it and that would make it the first non-Nikon lens I have purchased. Looking forward to your review.

    April 9, 2015
    • Thanks Robin, though I probably have had more luck if I had remembered to turn the stabilization off, I am not used to that. That would be nice, but I don’t think it will happen, haha. It is quite a good lens, and a great price. I am going to try it on some birds again tomorrow morning, so hopefully I will get some more good shots.

      April 9, 2015
  13. Amy #

    Breathtaking moon shots!!!

    April 9, 2015
  14. eclipse / moon shots are fabulous, I am envious! 🙂

    April 9, 2015
  15. Yay, the weather cooperated. That is so great for you. What a moon and those final blood moon shots with the three layers of color are just stunning Leanne. Thanks for sharing these, wow.

    April 9, 2015
    • It certainly did Carrie, thank goodness, I think you would’ve heard me yelling there if it had been overcast again. Thank you and lovely to be able to do it out my front door. You don’t need to thank me for sharing, but thank you for looking.

      April 9, 2015
  16. Nice moon shots you lucky one!

    April 9, 2015
    • I was very lucky, and I didn’t have to go far, loved doing it out my front door. Thanks Chris.

      April 9, 2015
  17. WOW!

    April 9, 2015
    • Thank you, it is Shawn or Mojo?

      April 9, 2015
      • Shawn… Mojo is a 22 pound black cat that I had for about 18 years so when he passed away I three his name on Front. Oh and nice to meet you Leanne so speak

        April 9, 2015
      • Nice to meet you too Shawn. Sad about your cat, I’m not looking forward to the day it happens to ours. 😦

        April 10, 2015
  18. Reblogged this on MadeleineMaya.

    April 9, 2015
  19. poppytump #

    Those are really lovely Leanne sort of glowing with a warmth we don’t see normally of course .. How lucky to have that lens at this time ! Hope you’ve had a good day 🙂

    April 9, 2015
    • Yes, though you really couldn’t see the red this time with your eyes, I only saw it after the photo was taken which was different to previous times. I was very lucky, great coincidence. 🙂

      April 9, 2015
  20. Sonel #

    Absolutely fabulous shots of the moon Leanne! 😀

    Love the Fuji photos as well. Not only am I a Fuji fan, but I also believe it doesn’t matter what camera you have with you, it’s what you do with it and these are really excellent!

    I can see you had lots of fun hon. Thanks for sharing. ♥

    April 9, 2015
    • thank you Sonel, so nice to have a clear sky this time. 😀

      The Fuji was fun, but expensive to use, so still undecided where or not I will get one. I agree, it is what you do with it.
      Thank you I did have lots of fun, always good catching up with friends.

      April 9, 2015
  21. benjii1993 #

    You are really amazing and inspirational!

    April 9, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you.

      April 9, 2015
  22. I love seeing your photos! The moon photos are beautiful!

    April 10, 2015
    • Thank you Jennie, a lovely thing to say.

      April 10, 2015
  23. Absolutely incredible moon shots, Leanne! Here in Chicago we didn’t get to see the Blood Moon; thank you for sharing these amazing photos1 Cher xo

    April 10, 2015
    • YOu’re welcome Cher, we have been lucky here so far and have been able to see them, though the last one we didn’t see much as the sky was too overcast. Thank you.

      April 10, 2015
      • Amazing, Leanne! Yes, even to see one is such a gift! Cher xo

        April 10, 2015
      • What a beautiful way of putting it, thank you Cher.

        April 10, 2015
      • 🙂

        April 10, 2015
  24. Nice moon shots. We had pretty clear skies in Auckland but I only had my iphone as were at the observatory. Still figuring out how to photograph something through a lens. And like you, I like the ‘dreamy’ effect that polaroids have. My only grouse is that they fade over time.

    April 10, 2015
    • Clear skies is always a brilliant start. I was trying to use my phone, but couldn’t get anything. There is something about polaroids, weird really. Yes, but thankfully we have scanners now and can protect them, or save them. sort of. Thanks Vasun.

      April 10, 2015
  25. The moon shots are very pretty. Love the tonal qualities and the reddish or blood orange hues on the latter shots. Funny remembering some paints called Monster Colors and one called dried blood orange. Yeah, I feel it when I hand hold my camera with 300mm lens so can only imagine the 600mm. Maybe when I go to the gym instead of little weights, I should take my camera and exercise with it instead?

    April 10, 2015
    • Thank you Judy, it didn’t seem to be as red as it was previous times, when you just looked it, but it was nice to get some photos of it in the end. Haha, tripod is good when trying to use the big lens, though I am getting better at hand holding it. Today I was using a post to help me, that was nice. Thanks Judy.

      April 10, 2015
  26. Fantastic moon shots, Leanne!

    April 10, 2015
  27. I got my times mixed up & totally missed it. Thanks for sharing what you caught of the blood moon.

    April 10, 2015
    • Oh no RoSy, well if it helps there is another one in September. You’re welcome and thank you too.

      April 10, 2015
  28. Absolutely amazing shots of the moon! Very nicely done!!! ❤ I could never capture such good pictures before, so it's wonderful to see yours. Thank you for sharing!

    April 10, 2015
    • It helps having that massive lens, it lets you get very close. Just keep going Lucy, it really isn’t that hard to get them. Thank you and you’re very welcome.

      April 10, 2015
  29. I had to chuckle when I saw the opening shot. We were overcast and foggy for the eclipse, so I got some full moon shots on Saturday. When I saw your lead image, I was wondering if you had used one of mine, they look that much alike. Another fun post. Thanks Leanne.

    April 11, 2015
    • That’s a shame John, seems lots of people had the same experience, though last time that was me. Haha, the moons would look different, don’t they, the craters in different places. It was weird the first time I took photos of it here how it was different to the photos I’d seen in the past. You’re welcome John, and thank you as well.

      April 11, 2015
  30. Wow – great shots of the blood moon, Leanne. You’re so lucky to have seen it; we were in Falls Creek and it was overcast unfortunately.

    April 11, 2015
    • Thank you, it seems many places were overcast, I think I was very lucky, then again it was overcast last time. Another one in September.

      April 11, 2015
  31. setitikvanilla #

    Reblogged this on Guru Nyentrik.

    April 13, 2015
  32. Great shots! Having that lens must have been fun for this. Funny you were out your front door and I was out my back door photographing the blood moon at the same time! We had lots of wispy clouds moving through and it made the moon hazy, but still fabulous to watch.

    Tamara

    April 14, 2015
    • You have to love a subject you can photograph from your front or back door, don’t you think Tamara. It has been fantastic having it, I’m definitely not looking forward to it going back. We had a very clear night which made up for the last time where it was too overcast to see much. Thanks Tamara.

      April 14, 2015
      • Yes, especially at the hour I had to get up, 3:15 a.m. just to out to my backyard!

        April 14, 2015
      • I always forget about the time difference, it happened about 11pm for us, which was good. I watched the whole thing, from start to when just after. I was watching tv and would run out during the ad breaks. Ad breaks can be handy.

        April 14, 2015

Comments are closed.

