Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Autumn Mornings in Banyule Flats

banyule-flats-autumn-birds-macro-1092

Yesterday morning I took another trip back to Banyule Flats.  I have to return the Tamron 150-600mm next week to Maxwell International Australia and I want to get lots of use out of it before it has to go back.

It was a gorgeous morning, the perfect autumn morning. I started at the swamp taking some photos of the birds with the Tamron lens.

banyule-flats-autumn-birds-macro-1045

There was a white faced heron feeding there, that was a treat for me.  I’ve been enjoying watching the herons. There were also lots of ducks, lots of Pacific Black Ducks, I think they were.  banyule-flats-autumn-birds-macro-1050

I loved this, I think these are Eurasian coots walking on the water, quite funny.

banyule-flats-autumn-birds-macro-1041

I really like it when the moon is out during the day. It is quite surreal this view of the moon, it almost looks like it is blending into the background.

banyule-flats-autumn-birds-macro-1090

Once I was done with the birds I put the macro lens on and went for a walk around.  As I said the light was just stunning, it was a perfect autumn day.

banyule-flats-autumn-birds-macro-1101The walking path, the bike path, the way we all go when we go to the park.  Great park to visit, especially on a day like yesterday.  I was cold at the beginning but by the time I got back to the car I was feeling very warm.

I’m going to leave you with a gallery now.  I did take a lot of photos of the autumn leaves and other macro type images, but I will leave those for Sunday I think.  I’m off to Healesville today, back to the sanctuary/zoo and then lunch at a winery. Of course I am planning on taking my camera and a couple of lenses. I hope you have a great Saturday planned, and hopefully some opportunities for some photos.

37 Comments
  1. Beautiful photos as always, Leanne. The moon seems so mysterious, as though it is somehow watching everything going on down here.

    April 11, 2015
    • Thank you John, I know just what you mean about the moon, I think so too.

      April 11, 2015
  2. Really great photos !

    April 11, 2015
  3. Leanne, Gorgeous photos. Based on what I have seen of your work over the past year, I see the kind of photography that most interests me.

    April 11, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much.

      April 11, 2015
  4. The coots! The coots! Nice shot. LOL

    April 11, 2015
    • I wasn’t prepared for it and it didn’t turn out as well as I hoped, but I have a theory, that if I spend as much time down there as possible, then I will get more chances and get better ones, I hope. Thanks Elen.

      April 11, 2015
  5. Beautiful lighting. Love the moon shot. Have a nice weekend.

    April 11, 2015
    • It a gorgeous morning for photos Raewyn, you must be getting some of those too. Thank you and you have a good weekend too.

      April 11, 2015
  6. Excellent series, Leanne. And you really have me thinking about this Tamron lens. When you make the images really large is it as sharp as you would like?

    April 11, 2015
    • Thank you Robin, they are pretty good, I’m finding.

      April 11, 2015
      • Thanks, Leanne. That’s good to know. I have a couple of clients that always ask about how large an image will go, usually giving me numbers above 50 inches. So sharpness is something I have to worry about.

        April 11, 2015
      • I haven’t had to worry about it so much, but I think it is a nice lens.

        April 11, 2015
  7. It is hard to think of you entering autumn just as we reach spring but you make it look very inviting.

    April 11, 2015
    • It is quite weird, isn’t it? But autumn is definitely here, it is gorgeous, if you are ever going to come to Melbourne, I would recommend this time of the year, it is just beautiful.

      April 11, 2015
  8. Fantastic photos and love the lighting in the photos. Have a wonderful weekend.

    April 11, 2015
    • thank you Cattan, the lighting is spectacular at this time of year, I can’t wait to get back in there to do more.

      April 11, 2015
  9. I always appreciate your walks in this beautiful place, the birds and the landscapes. And, again, it’s funny how we see different parts of the waning moon being on opposite sides of the world in northern vs southern hemisphere.

    April 11, 2015
    • I am so happy to hear that Tiny, I am loving being down there at the moment, then again, I love autumn. Yes, the moon, so weird, it was there again today, so I took some more photos. Thanks Tiny.

      April 11, 2015
  10. What a beautiful place to try-out your new/borrowed lenses.

    April 11, 2015
    • It is Scott, I love going in there, thank you.

      April 11, 2015
  11. The moon shot is just gorgeous!

    April 11, 2015
  12. another lovely and rewarding outing to banyule flats, leanne.
    i especially like the shots of the woods and walk trails.
    makes me wonder where they will lead me to.
    i wish you a good weekend.
    ken

    April 11, 2015
    • Thank you Ken, lots of walking tracks through there, though people also ride bikes on them as well.
      They lead all over the place, but nearly all to the river.
      You have a good weekend too Ken.

      April 11, 2015
  13. Great images, a real pleasure to view. I too use the Tamron 150-600 and find it is great at all focal lengths. For me, the sweet spot seems to be about f8. Am I correct in thinking you are a Nikon user? I thought I recognised one in your blog on camera bags.

    April 11, 2015
    • Oh, all the photos in that post on the bags I took from the companies who make them, but I am a Nikon user, I love Nikon. It is a good lens, though it does have to go back, but I am thinking that I might have to think about getting one of my own, but not for a long time, too many other things to get before then. Thank you.

      April 11, 2015
  14. Wow, these are beautiful. You’re right, the moon looks amazing during the day. I love the birds too. Good to see wildlife.

    April 11, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, I know, how weird is it also, I took some images today of it as well. I have more for you in a week or so, lots of Australian stuff.

      April 11, 2015
  15. Great photographs. I always enjoy visiting the Banyule Flats with you.

    April 11, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear, because I think there will be lots more photos from there to come this year.

      April 11, 2015
  16. So … is this autumn? I assume the seasons are opposite, so it should be early autumn there since it is early spring here. Do your leaves change color? I’ll be watching to see what happens 🙂

    April 12, 2015
    • Yes, autumn Marilyn, it has certainly hit us here, almost mid autumn, and winter is definitely on the way, chilly mornings and evenings and beautiful days, well most of the time. Some leaves change, but a lot don’t. We get the odd tree here and there that do, but most natives don’t. We never get those woodlands where all the trees are changing, which would be amazing. 🙂

      April 12, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Autumn is here! - How to feel like Catalan

Comments are closed.

