Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Planning Some Things

So here we are again and it is Tuesday where I am in the world. It has been a busy week, but also a week where not a lot has happened.  So I don’t know what to talk to you about.

Magazine

The magazine idea seems to have been well received by everyone, and it looks like it will be going ahead. Hopefully the first issue will be out before the end, I don’t know, June. Then the next one will be about 3 months after that. sccbg-1602So far I have found a couple of other writers, and I guess the next step is working out what to put in it.

I’ve had quite a few people ask me what I think it will be like.  I probably need to write a statement about it, but basically my idea is that the magazine wouldn’t be that different from other photography ones, just that this one will be showcasing women photographers, and all the articles will be by women.  I think it would be nice if men could read the magazine as well and to feel they can get a lot of out it as well.  I want to be able to show that women can do and do do the other types of photography, like landscapes, architecture, macro and the many other types of photography there is.  We want to change the perception that women only do portraits.

We do need a name and I’ve had some suggestions from people emailing me and I asked for suggestions on Facebook.  I got some great suggestions.  A lot had the word woman or women in them, but it isn’t really something I want.  I would like a name that isn’t that direct.  I don’t want to alienate men and make them feel they couldn’t read it.  My favourite was F-Stop, but unfortunately there is a magazine already with that sccbg-4hpm1337name.  I have put together a list and will put them into a poll so everyone can vote, if you could that would be great.

 Social Snappers

The first Social Snappers event is this Sunday, and we are going to Fitzroy Gardens to photograph the autumn colours.  I am hoping it will be stunning. Since I offered them for free, I advertised on Meetups and have had a great response, the outing is almost full. The photos today are from Cranbourne Botanical Gardens that I took a couple of years ago and I thought it might be nice to look at them again since one of the Social Snappers events is to there this term.sccbg-4hpm1311

Websites

One of the things I’ve been spending quite a bit of time doing is helping a friend set up her website and blog.  It has been quite an ordeal setting it up as a self hosted blog.  I have one myself, but my husband set it up, so this has been an entirely new experience. Her site is turning out quite well.  It has been a great experience. I think I will leave it there today. As I said in the beginning, a lot is happening, but not really.  Take care, I hope your world is busy too.

With the poll I’ve had to remove a couple of suggestions as they are already magazines.  Sorry, though I am really liking Dynamic Range.

62 Comments
  1. Beautiful photos Leanne!!
    Good idea to write this magazine, keep us informed about it!

    April 14, 2015
    • Thank you bCL, and I will keep you updated, hopefully it will all come together.

      April 14, 2015
  2. Stunning, Really 🙂 Love the shades of light and dark 🙂

    April 14, 2015
    • Thank you Morgan, it was so moody that day, I don’t think it will be the same when I go back. 🙂

      April 14, 2015
  3. I voted for perspective.

    April 14, 2015
    • Thanks Cate, looks like perspective is very popular.

      April 14, 2015
  4. How about “Dynamic Range”.

    April 14, 2015
    • Interesting, I like that too, I wonder if I can still add it to the poll. Might check.
      Thanks Victor.

      April 14, 2015
  5. I didn’t know that women were supposed to concentrate on portraits, duh! I’ve been doing it wrong!! 🙂

    April 14, 2015
    • LOL, I know silly you and silly me, I’ve been doing it wrong as well.

      April 14, 2015
  6. I’ve never seen a garden like that, wonderful!

    April 14, 2015
    • It is meant to be Australian, as in the Australian Flora, it is quite amazing. We do have some wonderful plants here. I’m looking forward to going back. Thanks Gypsy.

      April 14, 2015
  7. I am glad you’re moving forward with the magazine. The concept is wonderful.

    April 14, 2015
    • Thank you Cynthia, I hope so, it should be fun, though I am sure it will be a little rough at first, but hopefully we will learn as we go.

      April 14, 2015
  8. Lovely photos. Look forward to seeing this magazine.

    April 14, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn. It should be good, especially with so many people wanting to be involved.

      April 14, 2015
  9. Stunning photos. All the best with the magazine.

    April 14, 2015
    • Thank you, should be fun, and good I hope.

      April 14, 2015
  10. I really feel like the name is such a big thing. Sorry that I haven’t chimed in with an idea yet. I do like dynamic range. I looked around a bit, I will continue to think on it. This is the first idea that came to mind… Photo Kupia or just Kupia (Kupia means lady in greek and nod in Swahili which I like) It has a nice sound to it, at least as I hear it. Maybe it is too out there…just thought I would offer it up.

    April 14, 2015
    • Okay, after further review here are a couple other ideas…Tonal Range, Saturation, Lossy, Moire (with the mark over the e), Fringe or Fringing, Chromatic Aberration.
      Beautiful images today, Leanne.

      April 14, 2015
      • Thanks Carrie, lots of great ideas.

        April 14, 2015
    • It is, I agree Carrie, it is what people will see first and remember.I just found out that quite a few of the names are already magazines, don’t think it’s going to be easy. I have put your suggestion in the poll, I quick like it. Thank you.

      April 14, 2015
  11. Like the idea of the magazine and voted for perspective!

    April 14, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, the idea has been popular, so it seems I might have to do it.

      April 14, 2015
  12. lmarea3070 #

    I also liked Perspective, but I don’t know if I can vote twice. Will this be an online magazine or print? I’m so glad you’re going ahead with this!

    April 14, 2015
    • Perspective is very populat, but I’ve found out that it is already a magazine, a bit disappointing. I am glad too, should be good, I hope. Thanks Lisa.

      April 14, 2015
  13. lmarea3070 #

    There’s also a woman’s magazine called Click (as in Clicking Chicks) I just bought the magazine this weekend. It’s geared toward stay at home moms who do photography.

    April 14, 2015
    • I was told about it and had a look, but it is the type of magazine that is what people think womens photography is, and I really want to stay away from that. I don’t want girlie and pretty. I know that isn’t me.

      April 14, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        The women also do fine art photography which I really like. I saw one woman’s work in a gallery here in Atlanta that was nice. But that’s just me.

        April 15, 2015
      • I like it too Lisa, I have a fine arts degree, so I have always thought of myself as more of an artist than just a photographer. Was the work really good?

        April 15, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        Her name is Kate T Parker. Yes, she does take pictures of her kids, but they’re not lifestyle photos.

        April 18, 2015
      • They are great images Lisa, I like ones like that.

        April 18, 2015
      • lmarea3070 #

        I sent you the link in FB

        April 18, 2015
      • Got it, thanks Lisa.

        April 18, 2015
  14. Oh, Leanne, I am just so excited for you! I haven’t been here in a while and I am just so glad I stopped by today. Since my Dad passed in January my Life has been nuts. But anyway, this idea of yours is great, you images are even greater [fantastic gorgeous!], and I voted for mascara lens. Perspective caught my eye as well, but for some reason, I think mascara lens will catch a lot more eyes. I wish you only the very best! (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

    April 14, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, I don’t think you are alone there, this year has been nuts for me too. It should be a lot fun, and exciting, fun times ahead. Take care Amy.

      April 14, 2015
  15. Beautiful photos as always! I didn’t know we women were supposed to shoot only portraits 😛
    I wish you all the best with your magazine. I think it’s a wonderful idea whether it includes portraits, landscapes or whatever! I voted for Perspective and look forward to the premier edition 🙂

    April 14, 2015
    • That seems to be the industries perception of women, I see it all the time. It is like women who do landscapes or architecture are rare, where in fact it is quite common, I see women all the time who do those.
      Thank you Terry, it should be great, the reception from everyone has been fantastic, I will have to do it now. 🙂

      April 14, 2015
      • Well then, the industry’s perception is just wrong, right? Perhaps discrimination is at work.
        Once again, I wish you the best with the project, and yes, it looks like you’ll have to do it now… now that we’ve all given input on a name! 🙂
        Blessings!

        April 15, 2015
      • I think to Terry, very wrong. I think discrimination is definitely at work.
        Thank you, Yes, look like it, should be lots of fun I think. Yes, we do seem to have a name. 😀

        April 15, 2015
  16. Another great gallery, each individual image is noteworthy. Back to theme, I reckon Dynamic Range is perfect as it illustrates the dynamism of the authors within and the vast range of interests demonstrated in the pages. Also it’s gender neutral which is a consideration if you want to capture the mature masculine reader. Any photography publication that has an obvious female bias will only attract the pervy blokes who think it will just contain nudity.

    April 14, 2015
    • Thank you, nice looking back. It has been interesting to see what people like. I think you could be right about the Dynamic Range, it would demonstrate that. I like that it is gender neutral as well. I also couldn’t agree more with that last part, we don’t want people thinking it is some girlie mag. Thanks again, some great points there.

      April 14, 2015
  17. I like Perspective, but there is already a magazine called that. Unfortunately same goes for Flare and F4F. I voted for Dynamic Range. I like its meaning as a technical term in photography, but also that the magazine will feature the various ways that women produce photography.

    Beautiful images, by the way.

    April 14, 2015
    • A couple of people have told me that now which is a shame. I do quite like Dynamic Range, and think it would fit the bill perfectly. I should remove those other ones from the list.

      thanks Cynthia.

      April 14, 2015
      • Perhaps adding something to perspectives could make it work. Like “perspectives in something” or “something perspectives”. It could create a clever acronym that the mag uses for short. I still like dynamic range tho.

        April 14, 2015
      • It could, but I think Dynamic Range is a great name, and could work really well, and you like that too Cynthia, so that is good.

        April 15, 2015
      • Yes, I also really like dynamic range!

        April 15, 2015
      • Oh good, I really think it is the perfect name.

        April 15, 2015
  18. Bit late but ‘Iris’ seems to link photography to the female without being too obvious. Maybe a little old fashioned? Otherwise, I quite like the enigmatic name of Kupia. It’s a great idea though. Oh, and great photos.

    April 14, 2015
    • I saw that someone else too Maxine, I think I am thinking for a name that is more gender neutral, I think someone said, something that men would read too. I quite like Kupia as well.
      Oh, and thank you lol

      April 14, 2015
  19. I love that your magazine is gaining traction, Leanne. It’s about time there’s something like that – written by women, not necessarily shouting out that we are women photographers and we are better – and I would certainly want to read it. I voted in the poll, really like Dynamic Range as Victor suggested. When I bought my camera in the middle last year, shooting portraits was the furthest thing from my mind (though I won’t rule out doing that one day). Generally, I’m usually drawn to shooting nature and what’s happening on the street.

    Hope you have a fun time at the Fitzroy Gardens. I went there on the weekend and many of the trees still had green leaves, especially the bigger ones. The leaves on the smaller ones definitely look autumnal 😀 Also, great set of photos in this post of the Gardens, but you already knew that 😀

    April 14, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, that is wonderful that you think it is a good idea, I think we are underrepresented in the photogrpahy industry and perhaps it is time we showed them what we are capable of. I like Dynamic Range too, it isn’t feminine or masculine, whichis good. YOu’ve followed my work Mabel, I rarely shoot portraits either.

      There is something about autumn in Melbourne, it is the best time for Melbourne. Hopefully the weather will be beautiful. I love this time of year. Thanks Mabel.

      April 15, 2015
      • Agreed. Dynamic Range is gender-neutral but so focused on what the magazine will be about. Anyone who has at least a slight interest in photography should be able to grasps its meaning. Whichever title you choose, I have faith it will be a good one.

        The only portraits or portrait like photos I recall seeing on your blog are the shots you did of your daughter. They are very, very good…but I will honestly say your usual postings of landscapes stand out more 😀

        April 15, 2015
      • I think so too Mabel, most people who read the magazine are going to know what the reference is. Thank you Mabel, it is going to be fun doing this, I hope.

        I used to do a lot of fine art portraits, putting girls in costumes, but I stopped doing it. I think I am a better landscape photographer as well. I’m certainly more comfortable with that sort of photography. 😀

        April 16, 2015
  20. I’ve Mentioned you in my recent blog, have a look https://kourtneydr.wordpress.com/2015/04/14/week-23-my-favourite-types-of-photography/

    April 14, 2015
    • Thanks for the that, always good to get my name out there. I did go and take a look.

      April 15, 2015
  21. the blues and greys are phenomenal and a few look quite alien!! I love them!

    April 15, 2015
    • It was quite a day for photos, very dramatic, it was threatening rain nearly all day, I love days like that. Thanks Cybele.

      April 15, 2015
  22. What a cool place! The photos take good advantage of the weather. Congrats!

    April 15, 2015
    • Thank you Eduardo, I love days with clouds like that, so moody.

      April 15, 2015
  23. Oh gee, I must be boring, I didn’t select Dynamic Range. But I rather like Iris as someone else suggested. Good luck with selecting that name Leanne! 😀

    April 16, 2015
    • I think finding a name that everyone likes would be very hard, but I like how non gender specific DR is. Thank you Julie. I just sent you an email. 😀

      April 16, 2015

Comments are closed.

