Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Taking it Easy

two-towers-rialto-melbourne-architecture

Really that’s what I’ve been doing?  It is a very lazy day for me, I just don’t seem to be able to get myself motivated to do much.  It could be a thinking day, do you have those?  Days where all I want to do is think and work out some stuff.

I have another article for the Digital Photography School being published early next week.  This one is on textures I believe, how to use them.  It is my first attempt at doing a tutorial for them, and it is something I need to work on.  I should be an expert at doing them by the time I am finished.

I have some other things I want to write about, but I need to think about it first.  Have the ideas going around in my head for a while.  Work out what I really want to say, take some notes and then start the writing process.

Today I have a couple of photos that have been on social media and were taken last Saturday at Healesville Sanctuary. I originally did the pelican for MM, but something about it, well, I don’t know.  Then I wondered if it wouldn’t be better in colour!

There is also a redo of the image that I did for last week’s MM.  I thought it was missing something so I’ve tried doing something else to it, I don’t know if you will notice, but I think it looks better now.  I also have one image that I did this morning, which is why this post is late.  I really wanted to try some things on another image.  If you stare at the tops of the buildings the clouds look like they are moving.

My mum is arriving this afternoon, so I’m going to leave it there for now.  I hope you get to have a lazy day as well.

47 Comments
  1. Hi Leanne – Well done on getting published in DFS again! You are on fire! … I love your pelicans – so sculptural. I have always wanted to get a shot that focuses on just the head and beak – you beat me to it… As for the Collins Street buildings, woah… excellent with the clouds.

    April 16, 2015
    • Thanks, I need to do some work on doing tutorials though, much harder when you don’t have someone say, hey I don’t get that. Healesville sanctuary was great for getting the pelicans, they were just sitting there, very nice. Thanks Chris.

      April 16, 2015
  2. I love them all but esp the pelican!!

    April 16, 2015
    • thank you Cybele, the pelicans just stood there while we took photos of them, it was great.

      April 16, 2015
  3. Great photos as usual Leanne 😀
    Sometimes I need time to think about a topic before I feel ready to write about it.
    Enjoy your relaxing day 😉

    April 16, 2015
    • Thank you Irene.
      I’m glad I’m not alone in that. I need to have a good idea of what I want to say before I start saying it.
      Thanks, I hope you can have a relaxing day as well. 🙂

      April 16, 2015
  4. Beautiful photos!

    April 16, 2015
  5. Tags rchitecture Birds Black kite City Healesville Sanctuary, Lazy MELBOURNE PHOTOGRAPHY

    April 16, 2015
    • Yes, they are the tags Donna.

      April 16, 2015
  6. Love the photos! My quiet day is Wednesday’s lol

    April 16, 2015
    • thank you, quiet days are good. LOL

      April 16, 2015
  7. Thinking days are good days! 🙂

    April 16, 2015
  8. Great pictures as usual. Your photography skills are awesome! ‘Likes’ from an expert are always very welcome and looked forward to 🙂

    April 16, 2015
    • Thank you, I don’t think I would call myself an expert, but glad you enjoy visits. 🙂

      April 16, 2015
  9. Elle #

    yes, I have plenty days where all I want to do is think and work stuff out in my mind. we all need those days once in a while

    April 16, 2015
    • It is good to know I am not alone in it. Though thinking sometimes really gets me nowhere sometimes. LOL

      April 16, 2015
  10. Sue #

    Love that last image, the clouds are moving!! I’m having a quiet day today, out of necessity…it will be good to gather my thoughts, and do a couple of simple posts.

    April 16, 2015
    • Oh I am so glad that someone else can see it as well. Lovely Sue, quiet days are great. I am wracking my brain and having trouble trying to think of something tomorrow. Take it easy Sue.

      April 16, 2015
  11. Reblogged this on diaryofabrokenheartedlesbian.

    April 16, 2015
  12. Adrian #

    Nice photos. I especially like the architecture ones. Congratulations on getting published… again. And yes, I also have ‘thinking days’, lots of them!

    April 16, 2015
    • Thanks Adrian, I like those as well. Yes, hopefully it will happen a lot more in the future. Oh good, it’s been good knowing that I’m not the only one.

      April 17, 2015
  13. Congrats on your article and have fun with your mom. Lazy days are good for the soul!!!

    April 16, 2015
    • Thank you Nora, we went to the quilt show today, she loves quilting. I think they are a must.

      April 17, 2015
  14. Reblogged this on Benji Martin Photography.

    April 16, 2015
  15. Great shots, as usual Leanne!
    I love both of the Collins Street

    April 17, 2015
    • Thank you, it was nice doing some more shots like that.

      April 17, 2015
  16. Love your images in colour – a lot more dramatic than the monochromes. The pelican head is powerful as well – better in colour as well. Just adds more dimension to it. Well done on your publication

    April 17, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, that’s great to know. I am not a believer that just because something is in monochrome it is better. I think the pelican is much better in colour too, thanks again Raewyn.

      April 17, 2015
  17. Congrats on getting published again in Digital Photography School. You are a wonderful teacher 🙂 I look forward to reading about what you have to say about textures. I also tried something new with some of my flower pics. I hope you don’t mind that I put a link to one of your posts in my post so people could see what you had done when processing some of your macro flower shots.

    April 17, 2015
    • Thanks Kirsten, what a lovely thing to say. Of course I don’t mind Kirsten, no problem at all. They look great. Talk to you soon.

      April 17, 2015
      • Thanks Leanne. I really liked what you did with your flower photos so I thought I would try something like it. I’m sure I did it the most complicated way possible, though! Lol. Talk to you soon

        April 18, 2015
      • I will have to keep experimenting I think, see what else I can do to them. We can look at it in our next lesson. 🙂

        April 18, 2015
      • I’ve been doing some experimenting with it too. I’ve only been using Lightroom, though. Well, I have used the “highpass” filter in PS to add some detail back in. I’ve been doing it on some of my photos that were boring and I wanted to add drama with cropping and the dark background 🙂 I would love to go over it with you in our next lesson!

        April 20, 2015
      • All the photos in that post were done in Photoshop, but if you want to learn how to do one, I can take you through what I did in a lesson, that wouldn’t be a problem. Experimenting is a great thing to do. I didn’t use the highpass filter in these, though I do use it at times. Talk soon Kirsten.

        April 20, 2015
  18. Oh enjoy your lazy day .. I don’t really think you ever have them! Wonderful pics Leanne .. 🙂

    April 17, 2015
    • I did Julie it was great, just hanging around and then spending time with my mum. Thank you Julie. 🙂

      April 17, 2015
  19. Always receive so much from my visits to LCP. Enjoy the time with your mum.

    April 18, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear Ruth, thank you so much, and my mum and I are having a lovely visit.

      April 18, 2015
  20. Thank you Leanne Cole more wonderful picture your Blogs are amazing

    April 20, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Quiet Thursdays: Taking it Easy | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

