Skip to content

Up for Discussion: Favourite Places to Take Photos

Can you believe it I’ve had a major computer problem and have to reinstall everything. I downloaded something and got a virus that we could not get rid of, and the only option was to start from scratch.  It is going to take me a couple of days get everything back to normal before I got the bug.  I just hope it is gone now.

So a short post today, and thought we might extend the post I did a few weeks ago where we talked about taking photos in your backyard, or around where you live, but I think we all have places that are not close that we love to go and take photos.I thought we could look at those places that we like to go and take photos, then maybe why.

If I had to tell you the places where I like to go and take photos, I think there would be three. I know these are places that I love planning to go to and finding new places to photograph.

The Mallee

The Mallee

The Mallee

This is the area I’ve been to a lot, and perhaps because I grew up around the area there is a special affinity to the place for me.  I find this once prosperous area fascinating, perhaps because it is such a harsh area environmentally.  The area is having big problems with salt and now the landscape is changing again.  It is quite interesting, though having my mum still up there means I can visit anytime I like, get accommodation and just take photos.

The City

The City

The City

I love going into the city of Melbourne and exploring what is there, taking photos.  It is great photographing the same things over, though they always seem different. Then there are the new discovers when you find some new area that you didn’t realize was there before.  I haven’t explored it nearly enough and I really need to do a lot more.

The Victorian Coast

The Coast

The Coast

The coast along Victoria is quite amazing really.  There are areas where it is really rough and other areas where it is calm and gentle.  The weather can change the mood of the sea and I like that I never know what I will get. There is a real unpredictableness about it.  I know that isn’t a word, but that is what I think.

They are in no particular order, but they are probably my three favourites places away from where I live.  I will travel to them, stay there, do what is necessary to take photos there.

Do you have favourite places that you like to go and take photos of? Why do you like them.

Sorry this is a quick one today, as I said, my computer is starting from scratch and I have a lot of work to do on it.  I also have to spend some time with my mum, she arrived yesterday.  So much to do.  I won’t be going to any of my favourite places today or this weekend.  Here are some photos from those places.

73 Comments
  1. Ah my girlfriend was having trouble with a virus these past few days as well! The “Google Redirect virus”, it was a real nuisance!
    Hope you’ve gotten rid of it successfully!

    April 17, 2015
    • I’ve had some help notifications thing that keeps scanning your computer, it is gone now, thank goodness.
      Well the computer had to be set back to factory restart and I have had to reinstall everything, but I must be getting good at it, hasn’t taken me anywhere near as long this time.

      April 17, 2015
  2. Sorry to hear about your computer problem! Been there – lost that…and yes I too have my favourite places to take photos at or of – and I moved to one of those places last October – so now its even easier…but generally I take the camera where I go and sometimes those unplanned shots are my best – but then again – its just a hobby…

    April 17, 2015
    • I love that been there, lost that. Thankfully, I did lose much, a few sky photos, oh well. I was able to back up everything first. That is great that you got to move to one of your favourite places, wonderful. I do that sometimes, but I am always looking for new places and I like to go back to previous ones. Thanks Flaxworx

      April 17, 2015
  3. Did you backup? I hate when you get a virus and everything goes kaput.

    April 17, 2015
    • I did, thankfully, though I forgot a couple of things, nothing too important.

      April 17, 2015
  4. Sorry about your computer. My answer to your question is City Park (boring answer but true) and the French Quarter/Marigny/Bywater neighborhoods of my town (New Orleans), where all sorts of crazy bohemian things are always sprouting up.

    April 17, 2015
    • Thanks, it is good now, just have to get all my software downloaded again, time consuming, but the more you do it . . . I think it is the fourth time I’ve done it in a few months. NO where is boring if you enjoy going there, it can’t be boring if you keep going back. That other place sounds really good and really interesting.

      April 17, 2015
  5. Clear air and beautifully saturated images with many great pictures here, though my favourite is the very first. Simple with gorgeous colour …… a real beaut…

    April 17, 2015
    • Thank you Smithie, that first image is a place I keep meaning to go back to, I really want to spend a bit of time there.

      April 17, 2015
  6. Sorry to read about your computer woes Leanne. I know what a pain it can be.

    Yes, I have some favorites too. Just down the road from us is Duke Farms. This was the Duke estate. When Doris Duke died, she left the estate and a significant endowment so that it can be an environmental learning center. It has largely been restored to natural flora. They are open six days a week and admission is free. There is soooo much to shoot there.

    Next is the neighborhood where I grew up in upper Manhattan (New York City). This is where I started to love doing urban street photography. I know the neighborhood very well even though I haven’t lived there for a long time. There’s always something interesting to shoot if you keep your eyes open. At the north end is Ft Tryon Park. It has a lot of history, which I will spare you. It also houses The Cloisters, a 15th Century Spanish monastery that was dismantled and reassembled in the park. The Cloisters also holds the largest existent collection of unicorn tapestries. There are always interesting views and people in the park.

    My third favorite is the Old Sleepy Hollow Cemetery. This cemetery goes back to the early-mid seventeenth century. Walking through the cemetery is like walking through American history. This is not one of those long open fields cemeteries. Rather it has rolling hills, all sorts of trees and bushes, a stream running through it and a lot of other really interesting and unusual features. In the autumn it becomes a blaze of colors.

    There are a number of others, but I think three is plenty!

    April 17, 2015
    • It can be, though I think that I have done this a couple of times lately means that I am getting faster and better at doing it. Almost all there, so not too bad.

      so funny hearing about a cemetery that goes back to the mid 17th century, we certainly don’t go back that far, LOL, amazing. Sounds like you have picked some great places John, it is wonderful.

      Three is a good number, thanks for sharing them John.

      April 17, 2015
  7. Sorry to hear about your computer problem, Leanne! And glad that you keep your photos in a good ‘safe! Take care and enjoy the time spent with your Mum! 🙂

    April 17, 2015
    • Thanks Fabio, it’s almost sorted, just have to remember what software I have installed. I did, they are very safe, thank you, we are having a lovely time. 😀

      April 17, 2015
      • For professionals, it is a different thing. If it were with me, I would be in a big trouble. 🙂 Hugs to your Mum from California and I hope you all are having a terrific weekend! Best, Leanne! 🙂

        April 18, 2015
      • Haha, my husband set up a very good back up system for me, so they are very safe. Thank you, we having a great time catching up. YOu have a good weekend too. 🙂

        April 18, 2015
  8. There is a high mountain meadow I love to visit in the summers. It is completely covered in flowers, riddled with old abandoned mining claims, and rife with wildlife. Unfortunately, because of it’s elevation and snowpack, it isn’t accessible until late May/early June, but I’m really looking forward to getting back up there this summer and do some hiking with my camera! here are some pictures: https://introversioninc.wordpress.com/vipond/

    April 17, 2015
    • That place sounds amazing, I would visit it as much as possible too if it were close to me. I bet you are, looking forward to getting back.
      Looks fantastic, thanks for the link and sharing your favourite place.

      April 17, 2015
  9. Payne’s Prairie, just south of Gainesville FL is one of my favorite places to photograph, just because the landscape is so unusual. It helps that there is always some type of wildlife to see there, and I can usually snap a few gators. My other favorite is probably the beach of Escambia Bay in Pensacola FL because I have so many wonderful memories of it.

    April 17, 2015
    • You have to love unusual places, so wonderful.I don’t know about going somewhere where there are gators. I love beaches, they are great for photos. Thanks for sharing your favourite places.

      April 17, 2015
  10. I hope the bug is gone, and you can get back in order soon. I had to start from scratch once too, not fun. Your favorite places to take photos are all very interesting, my favorite perhaps being the pictures from Mallee.

    April 17, 2015
    • I think it is Tiny, thankfully. I must say, I’ve had to do it a few times lately and I’m getting much faster at it. Thank you, I love the Mallee, so different.

      April 17, 2015
  11. Ann #

    I just love your clouds in some of those Mallee photos!

    Where the heck did you find a Linux virus?!

    April 17, 2015
    • The mallee is a place of big skies, so you get some great clouds up there. Thanks Ann
      It was a windows virus, when I got my new computer my husband wouldn’t put linux on it, 😦 told me just to use Windows, well then he had to fix it.

      April 17, 2015
      • Ann #

        Whew! You had me worried. My computer has both, but I only use Linux when I’m online. After he reinstalls Windows a couple of times, he’ll probably set you up with a Win/Linux dual boot 😉

        April 18, 2015
      • Linux is really good for not getting viruses. I used to have it on my previous computer. I think if he has to keep doing it, then he teach me so I can do it. I usually use my laptop for the downloading, so if I get a virus it won’t matter. Oh well. 🙂

        April 18, 2015
  12. Aubrey #

    One of my favourite places is the Brisbane Ranges National Park just over one hours drive from Melbourne. It is a macro photographers paradise. Wildflowers are plentiful during spring but there are also many winter flowering plants as well. Many dirt roads run throughout the park making access to the wildflowers very easy.

    April 17, 2015
    • I haven’t hear for the Brisbane Ranges Aubrey, I will have to investigate, sounds like a place I would want to know about, thank you for telling me about it.

      April 17, 2015
  13. your love of Oz shines through!! that sweeping grey sky swept me up!!- and those wonderful kangaroos!!

    April 17, 2015
    • I’m glad Cybele, I do think I live in a good country for photos, so that helps. Thank you.

      April 17, 2015
  14. PS good luck with the pc – I had a similar problem a while back everything had to be reinstalled!!

    April 17, 2015
    • Thanks, just about under control, nearly have everything installed again, nearly.

      April 17, 2015
  15. A really eclectic and beautiful gallery of photos Leanne. I love to take photos wherever I am. I can’t think of a place I’ve ever been where I wouldn’t have been able to find an interesting photo. Best wishes getting things back into place. It is horrible when you have to start from scratch!

    April 17, 2015
    • Thank you Ardy, I like taking photos in lots of places too, but I find these places I keep going back too. I agree, there is always something to photograph. Thanks, it is almost sorted out, I did back a lot of things up, so that was a blessing.

      April 17, 2015
  16. Good luck with removing your computer bugs, that’s so very stressful.

    April 17, 2015
    • Thanks, it is almost, annoying but unfortunately a necessity.

      April 17, 2015
  17. So many beautiful photographs! Pretty sure that when we eventually travel to Australia there’ll be dozens of new favourite places to photograph…
    I enjoy taking photos in and around the Canadian Rockies – lucky enough to live just an hour east of the mountains. I’m not a photographer, I point the camera and press the button, but on many days the light and scenery seem to take care of the rest!
    Another favourite place to take pictures is around Clayoquot Sound, on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Beautiful rainforests, mountains and beaches, with shades of green we just don’t see in Alberta.
    The city of Calgary is an interesting place to be – it is growing and changing so quickly that I imagine a talented photographer could have lots of fun documenting the downtown skyline as new buildings are thrown up.
    Enjoy your day!

    April 17, 2015
    • Oh yes, I am pretty sure you won’t have any trouble finding things to take photos of.
      The Rockies sound amazing, I would love to take photos there one day. I would love to do that train trip through them.
      I haven’t heard of that other place, but I am sure it is wonderful. Maybe add some links so I can take a look. Calgary sounds great too.
      Thanks, you enjoy yours as well.

      April 17, 2015
  18. good captures, what do you do to keep a less bright background?? i wanna bring the same effect

    April 17, 2015
    • I do a lot to darken my images, I like that effect. Bring out the foreground. Thank you, and good luck.

      April 17, 2015
  19. Maybe I am a restless soul, but I rarely photograph the same place twice! Unless it is the local duck pond or Melbourne City, those I shoot regularly. I like to find new places to visit, explore, photograph and then move on. In say that I seem to be making my way around the coast! As always beautiful photos

    April 17, 2015
    • I like going to new places, but the thing I like about going back is you learn when they are good to photograph, what time of day etc. I always think of my first time to a new place as a scouting trip and then I plan it better the next time I am going to go. I love the coast, so many great places to take photos. Thanks for sharing that Julie.

      April 17, 2015
  20. Beautiful images here. I can’t comment on specifics in your country, but it is the light that makes the shot appealing so often…city lights, streaks of sunlight (God Rays), contrast.

    April 17, 2015
    • Thank you, I hadn’t thought the light here was any different, perhaps it is, interesting, I have to think about this.

      April 17, 2015
      • The light itself may not be different…I have not been there, but the light conditions for photography make the images more compelling, wherever we are. This was my general answer because I can’t say I have a favorite place to shoot. Frankly, I have fallen away from photography of late and am hoping your beautiful blog will inspire me back to it!

        April 17, 2015
      • Oh yes, I agree, there are days that I love taking photos, sun out, but lots of dark grey clouds in the sky, with lots of definition. I did that, stop loving photography, it was with film for me, then I picked up a digital camera a few years ago and haven’t stopped, so I hope you find it again, maybe you need to change direction or something like that.

        April 18, 2015
  21. A smashing gallery Leanne! I’m sorry to hear about your computer – hopefully it’s all healed now.

    April 17, 2015
    • Thank you Cardinal, it is or was a sad state, I’m back using it and it looks like it is gone, though I am sure I have lost some stuff. Yes all healed.

      April 17, 2015
      • Always keep back-ups of your photos Leanne. 🙂

        April 17, 2015
      • I lost of couple of things that I had forgotten about, but all my photos were very safe, I made sure I backed them up first before the computer was wiped. 🙂

        April 17, 2015
  22. alex-titley #

    Sorry to hear about your computer crashing, it is not nice, however your photographs are fantastic.

    April 17, 2015
    • Thank you Alex, computer is all better now, so back at it.

      April 17, 2015
  23. Hey Leanne .. gulp! Please tell me you aren’t Mac? One of my worst fears. Hope you are on to it! As if you don’t have enough to do! Enjoy your weekend 😀

    April 17, 2015
    • No Julie, not a Mac, I use a PC, though I think this one is one that can be found on other systems, just don’t download stuff, or make sure what you are downloading is secure. This one piggybacked with something else. Thank you, you enjoy yours as well. We are expecting a wet one.

      April 17, 2015
  24. good luck for you fight against the virus, Leanne.
    That’s one of the reasons for me to switched to Linux and Mac. Even my kids aren’t allowed to use internet with a windows computer. I was so bored to wast my time and energy for these unnecessary tasks repairing and setting up my computer, only because that company makes it so easy to hijack somebody else computer. In more then 30 years of developing operating systems they are still bad in their job.

    One additional shield is to work with an unprivileged account all the time and use the admin account only when absolutely necessary for installation reasons. This might be a bit of inconvenient , but it helps to keep your computer safe.

    April 18, 2015
    • Thanks Solaner, I think I have fixed the problem, so hopefully that will be the end of it.
      The problem with Linux is that I can’t run photoshop, and since that is basically what I do, play with photoshop, then my husband decided that I didn’t need Linux, so wouldn’t put it on the new computer. I have to be careful with this now, so I don’t get anymore, I was trying to download something for it, which I thought was safe, but apparently not, anyway, I am getting so much faster at reinstalling everything, so it didn’t take as long this time.

      I will have to Dave, my husband if he knows about that, could be a good option, thanks for the suggestion.

      April 18, 2015
      • great!

        April 18, 2015
      • I told my husband about what you said and he said I already have that set up.

        April 18, 2015
  25. Having to do a master reset (factory restore) is no fun, especially when you have everything going well until that one download that turns out to be bad.

    About going places and taking photos, it’s always on the list. Sometimes it works out, other times not so much. One of the limited series on TV here is called “Haunting Australia”. First three episodes (the ones I saw) were in Geelong. The show’s overly-dramatic narration said Geelong has many historic buildings. When Geelong appeared in the scant episode information in the listings, the city’s name sounded familiar. I remembered your posts of the bike races you photographed there. 🙂

    April 18, 2015
    • I have to reinstall things a few times lately, so I have to admit I have got faster at it. Thankfully.

      I haven’t heard of that show, but yes, Geelong is full of historic buildings and is an old town. You have a good memory David, I haven’t photographed the cycling there for a few years now, but I should go back and photograph Geelong perhaps. Thanks.

      April 18, 2015
  26. Beautiful

    April 18, 2015
  27. I’m sorry to hear about your computer problems. I hope you didn’t lose too much. I love how you’ve captured the sky and water in these photos. I’m always on the lookout for a new favorite location. I used to do a lot of photoshoots in the alleys behind Melrose Avenue in West Hollywood, California. Despite the lovely storefronts, the backs of them had a very deteriorated industrial look. Out in nature, I love several spots around the Puget Sound in Washington State. On a clear day, in one shot, we get the view of forest, water, and a background of Mt. Rainier capped in ice and snow. I’m also fond of various historical buildings and odd architecture. I’ve contemplated making a secondary blog on here, more of a creative journal and idea book. I think I’ll be doing that soon.

    April 19, 2015
    • No, I knew it was going to happen so I backed most things up, it is trying to remember what I had installed that is the problem. Thank you, I love new locations as well, always nice to go to and find new things to photograph.They all sound very interesting Teri, sounds like you have found some great places to take photos. Thank you for sharing them with us.

      April 19, 2015
  28. robert87004 #

    Wow, favorite places? and sorry to hear about the computer problem, as many have said, we have been there. I still like the woods, in Albuquerque, along the Rio Grande the best, because it is a good place to walk, photos or no, and it becomes a challenge to find a good photo when you see the same place day after day. I walked that same two mile pathway five or six days/week for almost 18 months and sometimes despaired and sometimes felt completely inspired. It was a great learning experience. I’d take photos there even today if I were there, but not. 🙂

    April 21, 2015
    • Oh yes, I’ve been in a similar place a couple of times, so I’ve had to do a complete reinstall about 4 times now, only twice because of viruses, get good at remembering what I have to do. That sounds like a great idea Robert, and sometimes it is a challenge, I can understand that. Thanks for sharing that with us.

      April 21, 2015
  29. Very nice. Would love to visit Australia. It is a pain to have to re start everything because of a virus. You can’t be too careful anymore.

    April 24, 2015

Comments are closed.

