Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Wine and Wildlife Tour Part 2

wine-wildlife-chocolate-debortli-chocolaterie-1023

Following on from yesterday on our Wine and Wildlife Tour once we had finished with the animals I changed the lens to my macro so I could take more macro photos.  We had really enjoyed the first part of the Wine and Wildlife Tour in the Yarra Valley, even though we didn’t get the close encounters that they said we would. Just goes to show you can’t believe everything.  We got ready to move on to our second part of the self drive tour.

wine-wildlife-chocolate-debortli-chocolaterie-1003

On the way out of Healesville Sanctuary, I took some photos of the Australian flora that is growing along the paths.  I love grevilleas.  I love the way they grow, the birds also love them, so I suppose I should plant more in my garden.

wine-wildlife-chocolate-debortli-chocolaterie-1006

Lunch was at De Bortoli Wines.  Very nice winery near Yarra Glen.  It was nice to go there and not have to worry about paying for it, it was included in the tour.

wine-wildlife-chocolate-debortli-chocolaterie-1014

I am not one that normally photographs their food, but since I was there with the macro lens I thought why not.  So I took a photo of the breads and oil we were given at the start, I took photos of the flowers in the vase on the table.  I even took photos of wine being poured into the glass, but as soon as they put my main meal in front of me I forgot all about the camera.  It was very nice. I was determined to photographed my dessert, the Bombe Alaska. I’d never had it before, it was also really good.

The lunch was fantastic, the waiters were wonderful and very pleasant, really the only thing that spoiled our meal was the table next to us.  They had brought along a very small child, probably around a year old, and it just squealed the whole time. A very high pitch squeal.  I don’t know why people bring children to restaurants if they are going to disturb other diners.  When my children were of the age where they couldn’t sit still, or made too much noise, we stopped going to restaurants, or we hired a babysitter so we could go.  Restaurants need, you know like the smoking and non smoking sections, they should have children and non children sections.

wine-wildlife-chocolate-debortli-chocolaterie-1018

After lunch we headed to the cellar to do some wine tasting.  I wasn’t really interested in doing any wine tasting so I took some photos.

wine-wildlife-chocolate-debortli-chocolaterie-1024

Then I headed outside to the wonderful gardens and took a heap of photos of the flowers with my macro lens.

Once the other two had made their purchases we headed to the Chocolaterie.

wine-wildlife-chocolate-debortli-chocolaterie-1029

The first thing we noticed when we got there was the massive number of cars. Then as we entered we discovered the place was absolutely packed.  You could hardly move.  We had so much trouble finding someone to help us.

Seriously, this was absolutely the worse part of the day.  Basically go in, have a taste of some stuff, if they have it available, then you can buy the chocolate with a 10% discount.  I hated it.  I don’t like crowds and not being able to move was terrible. They also told me that the chocolate I most wanted to try was available for testing. I put the chocolate I was thinking of getting back on the shelf and walked out. It was so different to the rest of the day.  There are so many ways they could’ve done it so it would have been better.

I liked the day, but if you were going to do it, I would insist on what they promise in the brouchure at Healesville Sanctuary. The lunch was great and so worth it.  However, the last stop, the Chocolaterie, I would skip that.  The chocolate is so expensive and you can find beautiful chocolate in many places in the city and the crowds are no where near as bad.

The day cost $88 and basically covered our lunch.  I get free admission to the Sanctuary anyway because I am a member, so for me, I shouldn’t have done the tour, just gone to the winery for lunch, it wouldn’t have cost me any more. Booking the tour was a waste of time, if you ask me.

I have a gallery for you now of some of my photos for you.  It is a wet rainy weekend here in Melbourne.  I hope the weather is better where you are.

67 Comments
  1. … a feast for our eyes! … sadly …. 😉 … only more water in our mouths. Bravo, Leanne!

    April 19, 2015
    • It was a feast Fabio, and very tasty. Thank you Fabio.

      April 19, 2015
      • Well deserved! Best to your Mum, you and the entire family! 🙂

        April 19, 2015
      • Thanks Fabio, you have a great weekend. 🙂

        April 19, 2015
  2. Sue #

    Oh, Leanne, I would have been up for the tasting – de Bortoli do some stunning noble rot (dessert) wines!

    April 19, 2015
    • Normally yes, but I don’t really drink very much, so not a lot of point, but there were flowers everywhere, so I needed to go and photograph them. LOL.

      April 19, 2015
      • Sue #

        Sounds like a good decision, then…😀

        April 19, 2015
      • LOL, yeah, I think so too Sue, hard enough getting macro shots in focus as it is without being drunk as well.

        April 19, 2015
  3. Your article on textures on DPS is great.

    April 19, 2015
    • Thanks Victor, I didn’t know it was published until I saw your comment.

      April 19, 2015
  4. This reminds me that I’ll have a glass of wine right now! Thanks Leanne!

    April 19, 2015
    • I hope it was good Cardinal. You’re welcome.

      April 19, 2015
  5. O M G !!! I LOVE everything about this post!!!!!!!!

    April 19, 2015
    • That’s wonderful Jodi, thank you.

      April 19, 2015
  6. great series of shots, even though the chocolaterie wasn’t great, your shots of the chocolates look yummy.

    April 19, 2015
    • Thank you, I did enjoy photographing them there. Let’s face it, give me a camera and I will like taking photos anyway. LOL

      April 19, 2015
  7. Once again, amazing photographs. You’ve really captured the essence of the spirit of the tour! The food looks wonderful!

    April 19, 2015
    • Thank you Jarrod, I tried to, I thought it might be nice to see if I could turn it into a photography trip, and there was no problem doing that.

      April 19, 2015
      • You always make me feel like I am there with your beautiful photographs.

        April 19, 2015
      • What a beautiful thing to say, thank you Jarrod.

        April 19, 2015
      • You are very welcome! Thanks for hosting me on your blog!

        April 19, 2015
      • 😀

        April 19, 2015
  8. Sorry your day wasn’t so good, but you made up for it in photos. I just love your food photos and those expensive chocolates look so yummy.

    April 19, 2015
    • I certainly did Raewyn, so it was a success in that way. Thank you, I enjoyed photographing the food, something different for me.

      April 19, 2015
  9. Weekend Wandering Wine and Wildlife Tour Part 1

    April 19, 2015
  10. Your photos make me salivate with hunger and thirst for wine.

    I’m with you on kids in restaurants. Our kids are pretty well behaved when we dine but we still only take them to family restaurant type places and never in the evening. Even when I’ve been out with my kids though we have had meals ruined by the behaviour of other people’s kids.

    April 19, 2015
    • That’s good isn’t it Laura? LOL, thank you.

      I know, we did exactly the same thing with our children. Just family restaurants, but they were still expected to sit at the table and not run around. When they were good at doing that, then we started taking them anywhere. I hate it when you go some where, pay a lot of money for the restaurant, and then someone else’s kids ruin the meal because they are too selfish to think of other people. I think this is why I say, don’t get me started. LOL

      April 19, 2015
  11. Beautiful photographs, really liked the wine pouring into a glass – we poured ourselves a glass on the strength of that!
    I’ve often not taken a seat if I’ve seen children out of theirs when we’ve gone into a restaurant. (I teach, I like children, but I also like a civilized meal). An old curmudgeon…Enjoy your weekend!

    April 19, 2015
    • Sounds like a good idea, I hope your wine was as nice as that one.
      I feel exactly the same way, you pay a lot of money to eat in some places and you should be allowed to enjoy it. If it was an adult running around, they would be asked to leave, so why is it different for children?
      Thank you.

      April 19, 2015
  12. Ann #

    I gained five pounds just looking at that Alaska bombe photo.

    April 19, 2015
    • Then I must have gained about 50 or more eating it. It was fantastic.

      April 19, 2015
  13. Amy #

    Beautiful post, Leanne! Wine. chocolate, and wildflowers, how wonderful and delicious. 🙂

    April 19, 2015
    • Thanks Amy, it wasn’t too bad, I didn’t try the chocolate, but my lunch was fantastic. 🙂

      April 19, 2015
  14. poppytump #

    Oozing with deliciousness on all fronts Leanne 🙂

    April 19, 2015
    • It was very delicious in reality too Poppytump, mmm. Thank you. 🙂

      April 19, 2015
  15. Delicious pictures Leanne!

    April 19, 2015
  16. What a feast for the eyes… The beautiful flowers, the enticing food and wine, the chocolates… Yum!

    April 19, 2015
    • Oh yum, it was a day of food and wine, very nice way to spend the day. Thanks Chris.

      April 19, 2015
  17. Thanks for taking us along – sorry part two was not as much fun and I agree that there does need to be child-free zones in restaurants. Hope the rain help to keep your fire threats down – we had our first really nice day here in a long time.

    April 19, 2015
    • You’re welcome Robert, oh yes, child free zones would be amazing. We are long past fire threats now, winter is on it’s way and the weather is changing and the leaves are changing, it is a fantastic time to be in Melbourne. I love autumn. That is great that the seasons have been changing for you and the weather is getting warmer. I’ve been really enjoying your planes and trains, great series.

      April 20, 2015
      • Thank you!

        April 20, 2015
      • 🙂

        April 20, 2015
      • PS – the train series begins my shooting with my new D800 FX camera

        April 20, 2015
      • That’s great Robert, how are you finding it? Is it your first full frame?

        April 20, 2015
      • I am constantly amazed at the resolution and detail it renders – the RAW files are huge, but I absolutely love it (after studying the manual for a month) – yes, my first full-frame after renting several to test out – very similar to the layout of the D700…I hated the D610 – more to come from this..It did “cost” me my vintage MG-B car – so the transportation series is fitting 🙂

        April 20, 2015
      • They are huge, but worth it really, I love mine. That is great to hear, glad you like it and am enjoying it. 🙂

        April 20, 2015
  18. Sounds like my kind of tour 🙂

    April 19, 2015
    • As long as someone else is driving 😉 unfortunately no wine was included in the price. 😦

      April 20, 2015
  19. For someone who doesn’t normally photograph food, your shots are yummy!

    April 20, 2015
    • Thank you Doug, I’ve been paying attention.

      April 20, 2015
  20. Great food photos, despite you claiming you don’t do it very often. The chocolate running from the dessert was lucious and the bread and olive oil have reminded me that it is lunch time.

    April 20, 2015
    • thanks, I think photographing food is possibly the same as photographing anything, just looking at lighting and such. When I put my spoon into and saw all the chocolate I had to get the camera back out. Thank you I hope you had a nice lunch too.

      April 20, 2015
  21. I have extension tubes (the ones with the electronic contacts) until I can save up for a macro lens. It’s such an enjoyable part of photography.

    April 20, 2015
    • I used those for a while before I got my macro lens, I must try them on my macro. they are a great alternative. I got the Kenko ones. I think so too. Thanks.

      April 20, 2015
  22. LB #

    What a fabulous trip! And I agree with the non-children sections OR at least keeping your children quiet and under control.
    It’s so nice to visit here today, Leanne. I’m trying to catch up all over WP today 🙂

    April 20, 2015
    • Thanks Laurie, it was a great trip. I know, I used to hate it when mine were little and I would go out without them and then other people would bring there’s and I would have to put up with. So evening still ruined. NOT all children are cute, some of them are just annoying and brats.
      You’ve been busy, what a wonderful trip meeting all those people from WP, I hope to meet many when I go there in September.

      April 20, 2015
  23. Now I’m hungry, thirsty, and craving chocolate! lol All that to say – wonderful photos, Leanne. It stinks about the Chocolate Factory (I was going to try and spell the fancy word for it, but I stink at spelling :-)). At least you got some wonderful photos!

    April 20, 2015
    • Haha, sorry, I hope you get to eat, drink and have some chocolate soon. Thanks Kirsten, it was disappointing, (took me several attempts to get the spelling right) I did, lots of photos.

      April 20, 2015
  24. Thank goodness we can enjoy the delicious beauty of the food you photographed without all the hassles you had to go through! Did you exclusively use your macro for the entire day?

    April 21, 2015
    • Yes, though it wasn’t all bad. I started with the Tamron 150-600mm at Healesville, which were in Part 1, then I put the macro lens on and only shot with that, so all the photos in this post were taken with the macro. Thanks.

      April 21, 2015
  25. Can life get any better then this post?? Chocolate, wine wildflowers and photography! Your photos are absolutely stunning. My favorite today is… the peony bud. But I am partial to that desert the Bombe Alaska as well. Yumminess!

    April 22, 2015
    • Haha, I know what you mean Nancy, brilliant. Thank you, I love peony’s I need to get some for garden. The dessert was unbelievable, will have to have that again.

      April 22, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings: Wine and Wildlife Tour Part 2 | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

