Skip to content

Introduction: Art in Entropy

Today I would like to introduce you to a blog that I’ve been watching for quite some time.  I found this blog in the reader and then started following it to see if it would be a good blog for me to introduce you to.  The blog is Art in Entropy and it is full of images that most photographers wish they had in their folders. They are those sort of images that I find myself thinking, “I wish I had taken them.”

the-worse-for-wear

Abandonment is a big theme for many photographers, and those that don’t do it feel like they should.  I suspect nearly every photographer out there has had at some stage taken photos of an abandoned building, even me, and those that haven’t are looking for one.

book-smarts

The colours are amazing, almost desaturated, but there is still that pop of colour here and there in the photos.  The overall colour is like a sepia photograph, giving the impression that the scenes are very old.  It works really well.

aesops-fable

There is something very dramatic about them as well.  It is almost like they were staged, set up.  I don’t know if they were or not, but like the distribution of artifacts all over the floor. It gives it a sense of theatre, like a story is about to unfold, but we don’t know what that story is.

back-at-the-lab

Then in other images there is an ordered chaos almost.  There are things all around, but it almost like they were merely placed there, like they were being stored or something.

boat-yard

Most photos are taken indoors, but there are the old few, with the same theme, but taken outside.  There is the abandoned feel to nature, what is left behind and forgotten until a photographer stumbles upon them.

There is a definite style to the work here, and they all look like they belong to the same person.  It is a wonderful body of work.

I did have permission to feature the work here and I would like to thank Art in Entropy for allowing me to showcase their work.  I’m sure you will all like it and I do hope you will go and visit his blog, Art in Entropy, where you will find even more amazing work.  I have a gallery for you now.

86 Comments
  1. Wow, 50 likes and not one comment on some remarkable photos. I never thought of it in terms of “abandonment,” but I do look for the old and unused, neglected, and yes, if I think about it, often abandoned. Thanks for the introduction–and for making us think a little more about why we look for certain types of photo subjects.

    April 20, 2015
    • Oh that is probably because I was asleep when it was published, LOL. Early morning here now. I think abandoned, and all the words you used are applicable as well. YOu’re welcome, it is an interesting thing, why we all seem to like it.

      April 20, 2015
  2. I loved . What a beautiful collection and your suggestions were awesome especially for Photographers.!By the way i like your Photos !

    April 20, 2015
    • That is wonderful, they are amazing photos, and it is good to see people like my suggestions. Thanks for that.

      April 20, 2015
  3. Sue #

    Right up my street!

    April 20, 2015
  4. these are gorgeous, will be following the blog.

    April 20, 2015
  5. These are probably the most beautiful photos I’ve seen in a long time, I am honestly blown away by his work!

    April 20, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear, they are pretty amazing.

      April 20, 2015
  6. Thanks for the introduction. Im now following. Reminds me slightly of the abandoned work from Infrared Robert.

    April 20, 2015
    • That’s fantastic, and yes, I thought the same.

      April 20, 2015
  7. I only wish as a kid I had at least taken pics (even with an old Instamatic) of some of the abandoned buildings (both residential and commercial) that we either searched through or played in. Of course, your present photo technology would do them incredible justice. Nice shots!

    April 20, 2015
    • I know exactly what you mean, we used to explore and play in some great places. If only. glad you like the work.

      April 20, 2015
  8. These are amazing. The car in the words looks like the first scene in a horror movie. They really elicit emotion and nostalgia.

    April 20, 2015
    • I agree Kerbey, they do, my mind wants to know why.

      April 20, 2015
  9. Susan Portnoy #

    Love this Leanne! I just love the photos and look forward to following more of the work.

    April 20, 2015
  10. “Abandonment is a big theme for many photographers, and those that don’t do it feel like they should.”

    That statement is sooooo true. I love that theme and often feel I should be searching out such places if I don’t encounter one by accident. I think I might need a buddy though as have a certain apprehension about entering dark, decrepit places…even with that siren song of creating and evocative image. I have watched all but one season of Supernatural after all!!

    April 20, 2015
    • I think so too, so many photographers love it Judy, extraordinary. InfraredRobert did a post on photographing those places, in the up for discussion posts, it was really interesting and made me think about some things that I hadn’t thought of. Oh I love supernatural as well and watched most of it, didn’t see the last season, I think it is past it now. Great show, I must watch it again.

      April 20, 2015
  11. Wow! Creepy and cool all at once. Feels like a set for a horror movie.

    April 20, 2015
    • Maybe they are. I don’t know whey he finds them, they are really amazing.

      April 20, 2015
  12. Wonderfully atmospheric. The lighting and use of colour is wonderful.

    April 20, 2015
    • I agree Laura, they are very atmospheric. Stories waiting to be told.

      April 20, 2015
  13. Amazing series!

    April 20, 2015
    • It is an amazing series, glad to see you agree. 🙂

      April 20, 2015
  14. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    In some of these images it looks as if the people just stepped out… 100 years ago. Well done! I love in most there is a focal point and then you begin to pick out the other objects. 🙂

    April 20, 2015
    • Doesn’t it, and then nothing has been disturbed. It is great photography Jackie, glad you like it. 🙂

      April 20, 2015
  15. Nucky Dana #

    Wow… amazing photos

    April 20, 2015
  16. Thanks for the introduction, Leanne. The photos leave me with so many questions and wanting to know the stories of the places. The baby carriage one was eerie – in a way. Wonderful photos. Thanks for sharing with us.

    April 20, 2015
    • I get the same thing from them Kirsten, absolutely, I want to know what happened there. You’re welcome.

      April 20, 2015
  17. Thanks for sharing such unique interest work Leanne!

    April 20, 2015
    • My pleasure Jodi, great to see that people like it as much as I do.

      April 20, 2015
  18. Abandonment is not my thing, but these images have a definite style and evoke emotions through their interesting light and mood.

    April 20, 2015
    • I like the potential stories that are there, they are great that way. I am glad you still like them Chris.

      April 20, 2015
  19. They’re fantastic photos.. I’d love to do some of this type of work but never know where to find buildings like that .. and if I can find the building, how to get in (legally) to photograph them.

    April 20, 2015
    • It is quite amazing work, and I don’t think you are alone there. I’m the same I can never fine those sorts of buildings either.Though I have to say I don’t think many of them are photographed legally, I don’t know for sure, but that’s the impression I get.

      April 20, 2015
  20. Thanks for sharing Leanne…these photos are nothing short of amazing. The word “abandon” seems to resonate with a lot of people and perhaps that is the fascination with this set of photos; they tell a story that is no longer, a story that has come to an end and the only thing left is a memory.

    Take care ~ Dave

    April 20, 2015
    • You’re welcome Dave. I think the same, the what was, and is no more. Great that you enjoyed them too.

      April 20, 2015
  21. Super inspiring indeed…I have a thing for the left and neglected always appeals to my sense of trying to make sure things are not forgotten..of course this coming from a woman who gave her workboots a send off! awesome shots..

    April 20, 2015
    • I think many of us do Bev, so weird that many of us do. Haha, love that about the work boots.

      April 20, 2015
      • I wonder if it is because deep down we like to think we leave something behind..my boots got a lovely photo shoot and then farewelled in the garden with violas …bless em…

        April 20, 2015
      • It could be, and maybe it is, or because we like stories, and there are stories there. I love that about the boots, I just throw mine away. LOL,

        April 21, 2015
      • Hahaah nup my boots are my besties 🙂 always a sad day 🙂

        April 21, 2015
      • It is sad when you realise your comfy boots or shoes need to be replace, 😦

        April 21, 2015
      • Yep ..like jeans…tragic really 🙂

        April 21, 2015
      • Oh yes, very tragic, 🙂

        April 21, 2015
      • 🙂 🙂

        April 23, 2015
  22. Very dramatic, theatrical, stylish and cool!

    April 20, 2015
  23. Thanks for sharing. Great images.

    April 20, 2015
  24. Fantastic subject, and an excellent set of images, love this genre of photography, wish there was more opportunity here in NZ to do it.

    April 20, 2015
    • So glad you think they are wonderful. I don’t think you are alone in loving it, so many people do. There aren’t many like that here either.

      April 20, 2015
  25. Creepy and cool from a previous comment really sums up these photos. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the link to this great blog!

    April 20, 2015
    • You’re very welcome, glad you found them creepy and cool.

      April 20, 2015
  26. Fascinating images full of drama.

    April 20, 2015
  27. Wow, what can I say! That is a big follow from me … Cheers Leanne 😀

    April 20, 2015
    • Wonderful Julie, his work is rather special. 😀

      April 20, 2015
  28. poppytump #

    A fine introduction Leanne , what a fabulous gallery of work from this photographer ! So MUCH to appreciate and wonder about in each and every image … the light accents and faded colours work so well for these scenes of neglect and abandonment .
    I feel lucky if I find one old barn or outhouse which is *sort of accessible 😉 once in a blue moon where I might find a photo or two …

    April 20, 2015
    • That is fantastic Poppytump, so glad you like his work.
      I am the same, I never seem to see them around, sometimes up in the Mallee where my mum is I get lucky. 😉

      April 20, 2015
  29. Love!

    April 20, 2015
  30. Some Awesome Shots .. sad and neglected looking beautiful ❤ Thank you for sharing

    April 20, 2015
    • You’re welcome Maia, glad you like them.

      April 20, 2015
  31. Truly brilliant work! Thank you for the introduction, Leanne. I’m now following the blog. 🙂

    April 20, 2015
    • That’s fantastic that you are following, it’s brilliant. 🙂

      April 20, 2015
  32. Reblogged this on Bridge Lake Photo Group and commented:
    Another photography blog featuring fascinating work, introduced by Leanne Cole on her blog.

    April 21, 2015
  33. Indeed, quite nice and just my sort of thing. I am curious if everything is taken untouched – I’ll assume so unless I find out otherwise because right now I feel a surge of Urbex inspiration coming on.

    April 21, 2015
    • From what I understand Robert, some of it is untouched, most, and some are touched a little to give dramatic effect, though he only moves what is there, doesn’t add anything. That’s sounds great, I look forward to seeing what you get.

      April 21, 2015
  34. Really impressive pictures!

    April 21, 2015
  35. What an amazing collection! Pure jewels, such beauty, it seems as if it came out of a dream totally surreal, thanks 🙂

    April 21, 2015
    • I am glad you think them that, I know what you mean, they are quite amazing.

      April 21, 2015
  36. what wonderful stories in these !! I love this series Leanne- beautiful and haunting!

    April 21, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, I really enjoyed making them, they looked quite good printed as well.

      April 21, 2015
  37. These are extraordinary photos… They left me wondering what the stories behind them were… Who lived there? Why did they leave? Why did they leave all their things behind?

    April 22, 2015
    • I think many of us had the same reaction Reggie, we want to know the stories.

      April 22, 2015
  38. Reblogged this on ademijuc's Blog.

    April 23, 2015
  39. Amazing images!

    May 4, 2015
  40. Really, truly inspirational images … So interesting with a lot to explore in them, Eileen

    May 4, 2015
    • Oh yes, I was there though, exploring them and taking the photos.

      May 5, 2015

Comments are closed.

