Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Another Week Passes

Things are happening and it is great to have plans and ideas.  I have another article that has been published on Digital Photography School, the magazine is coming along and so are my online classes.

Digital Photography School

I have had another article published at the Digital Photography School, it is Applying a Texture Overlay to Your Images to Create an Antique Look. I do hope, and ask you, to go and take a look, then if you would share it with people you know or on leannecole-ocean-ant7567your social media that would be wonderful.  I also hope you learn how to use textures, if you don’t know already.

The Magazine

The name has been decided, I believe, and I know I am very happy with it.

Dynamic Range

I like it, it is not gender biased and won’t look silly if a man reads it.

With the name decided it is now time to start looking for women to write for it and make sure we get some great articles. Looks like I have people already, but might need to find another couple of people. So if you are interested, let me know and I think what I will do first is get you to write a guest post for my blog, for the Friday posts.

leannecole-antiquemalle-7197The next step is working out what people want to see in the magazine. What sort of articles do you want to see? I am open to suggestions. I was thinking perhaps interviewing some women photographers. Perhaps some tutorials and reviews. I would like to hear from you and what you would like to see or read in it. I can’t promise that I will be able to do everything that is suggested, but I would still like to hear.

The other thing that I think that people need to be aware of is is that it isn’t going to be fancy. I hope it will get a lot better, but to start with, it’s going to be pretty rough.

Online Photography and Editing Lessons

I just wanted to remind you that I do offer Online Editing and Photography Lessons.  They are individual and designed to leannecole-antiquemallee-8961suit what you need.  Each session lasts for an hour to two hours, and I can record the sessions so you have a copy of what we do. I don’t claim to know everything, but what I don’t know, I know how to find out for you.  I do make sure that you understand and I am always happy to explain things in different ways to help you understand.

They are also a way for you to see how I edit my photos and learn many of the tricks I use.

Photos

I chose the photos today because they go well with my tutorial on Digital Photography School.  They are lots of photos that I have done using textures, and if you want to know how they were done, then go over to the article Applying a Texture Overlay to Your Images to Create an Antique Look.  There is even a video there to help explain it.

66 Comments
  1. I love each and every pic in this series. Awesome!

    April 21, 2015
    • Thank you, that is fantastic.

      April 21, 2015
  2. Congratulations on all your achievements Leanne, very well deserved.

    April 21, 2015
  3. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    April 21, 2015
  4. I am looking forward to the magazine, i am sure it will be interesting. These photos are fab, i havent tried this stuff yet, but i may have a go this antique feel looks great.

    April 21, 2015
    • That’s fantastic Andrea, I’m looking forward to it as well. Hopefully you will learn everything you need from it. I did a lot of this, I still add textures to images, but usually for something very specific now. Thanks Andrea.

      April 21, 2015
      • I am sure i will learn a lot, theres still a few things i need to pick up in photography.
        I only did a few pictures but i will try it and add textures a bit more, if it fits the photo.

        April 21, 2015
      • I hope so Andrea, working with textures can be a lot of fun. Sounds like a good plan, good luck.

        April 21, 2015
      • Thank you Leanne 😉

        April 21, 2015
      • 😀

        April 21, 2015
  5. Sounds like lots of your projects are progressing. I think the name for your magazine is fantastic. Great choice. I’m off to look at your article on DPS now.

    April 21, 2015
    • Yes, slowly but surely. should be a lot of fun, I hope. I love the name too. Thanks Laura.

      April 21, 2015
  6. Nice article Leanne. I picked up a tip or two.

    April 21, 2015
    • That’s great to hear John. I think it is something that many people already know about or something. Thanks for checking it out.

      April 21, 2015
  7. I had a look at your tutorial and it looks good. I already know the trick, but it’s a helpful article for those who don’t. Congrats on getting it puiblished and this a great gallery!

    April 21, 2015
    • Yes, I hope so Cardinal. Lot of work involved in doing tutorials. Thank you so much, I did these a while back, even got some printed, they looked great printed.

      April 21, 2015
      • Yes, tutorials is definitely a lot of work. I’ve made a few myself.

        April 22, 2015
      • I am finding that out big time, can take a couple of days to do them.

        April 22, 2015
      • I agree. You have to plan the presentation and how to write it (taking into consideration if the audience is experienced or not and which level they’re on), do the actual thing you’re making a tutorial of while taking screen shots and process them. Then writing it up, placing illustrations at the correct places, double checking that everything is understandable and that you didn’t miss out on anything, then proof read.
        that’s why I don’t do them so often. I just don’t have enough time in between all the other projects…

        April 22, 2015
      • Exactly, I’m working on another one for dPs and it is hard, I have to assume that people know nothing. I’ve been working on it all day.

        April 22, 2015
      • Yes, usually people need to get all the details. I’ve written a few “tutorials” where I just mentioned the steps (for example: I added clarity), but then they’re for people who already know the tools and the “language”.

        It’ll be interesting to see the Magazine that you mentioned in your post. Will it be a photography magazine written by women only?

        April 22, 2015
      • Yes, and then you worry if you haven’t explained something properly. Yeah, it is easy if people know what everything is, but when it is for people who know nothing, mmm, doing my head in. LOL
        Thanks, should be interesting. Yes, all the writers will be women, there are lots of places for men now, and they usually get so much further than women do.

        April 22, 2015
  8. I love the name of the magazine. A couple of suggestions for topics – maybe lighter cameras or smaller cameras for those with smaller hands or can’t lift a camera for too long, Photoshop editorials and maybe small competitions ????? Love your work with textures. I am working on learning that as well. Now that I have a computer that can cope with Photoshop.

    April 21, 2015
    • Good tips Raewyn, we shouldn’t assume everyone is professional, though I never think of myself that way either and tend to think everyone is just having fun. I like all those suggestions. I hope you find the tutorial I did on textures helpful then Raewyn, I love textures, I have so many of them. Photoshop is a great tool. Good luck with it and thank you.

      April 21, 2015
  9. look forward to checking these things out. Sounds like you are doing some great stuff leanne!

    April 21, 2015
    • Thanks Jodi, trying to, I just keep hoping one of them will be successful for me. Fingers crossed.

      April 21, 2015
  10. robert87004 #

    I think your magazine name is great and for the reason you stated. No matter who writes for it, it is a magazine that will be for everyone, I am sure.

    As an example, I bet you carry more gear (in weight) than I ever would, as I have a permanent weight restriction of less than 10 kilos. So if you were to write an article on which gear to carry, it would be relevant to anyone, for more than one reason.

    I wish you much success with the magazine. 🙂

    April 21, 2015
    • That is exactly what I am hoping for Robert.
      That’s a good point, though you would be surprised at how little I carry at times, but you are right, that could make a good article, thanks for the suggestion.
      Thank you so much, I hope it will be a lot of fun.

      April 21, 2015
  11. leecleland #

    Love your use of textures, this article has reminded me that it is a long time since I played with them.
    Great name for the magazine Leanne. I would love to see articles about what other women are shooting, sort of like a portfolio of their work and then a bit about them, where they live, why they like to shoot what they do, do they travel and shoot alone, what difficulties they have experienced as women in the field particularly if they shoot in foreign countries.

    April 21, 2015
    • Glad to have reminded you Lee, they can be fun to play around with.
      Oh yes, like interviews with female photographers, I have some plans there, of course I have to find some too. I like that, exactly part of the reason for starting this, to showcase women’s photography and in fields like that.

      April 21, 2015
  12. Well done on the article, the magazine progression, the classes… you are going great guns Leanne! I like the effect in moderation and found your tutorial on textures really useful… and it was more than a how to on just textures! Very handy to add to my tool kit. The farm/homestead pictures and those of the lighthouse look particularly good in that vintage kind of look.

    April 21, 2015
    • Thanks Chris. I feel like I am going in a good direction. Yes, I agree, and they can overtake an image quickly. I tried to show some other techniques as well. I love the lighthouse, it looked really good printed as well.

      April 21, 2015
  13. Great name for the Magazine! Tutorial, tips and tricks would interest me, in addition to reviews and interviews. Can’t wait to subscribe!

    April 21, 2015
    • Glad you like it Tiny, seems like a good name to go with. Maybe we can have a page where people can send in tips and tricks, I can never think of them when I need to. Thank you, hopefully it will all happy soon.

      April 21, 2015
  14. Thanks for the information about the antique technique. Good article! Love the name of the magazine! Best of luck, looking forward to reading it!

    April 21, 2015
    • You’re welcome Cynthia, glad you liked it, good to know. I love the name too, great one, thank you, fun times ahead.

      April 21, 2015
  15. the textures are fantastic! I do these too sometimes!!!

    April 21, 2015
    • I love collecting them, I have quite a few now.

      April 21, 2015
  16. Elle #

    congrats on the published article! great photo also!

    April 21, 2015
  17. Reblogged this on Giai01's Blog and commented:
    xem

    April 21, 2015
  18. I’ve never “worked” on photos. I have PShop, don’t know how to use it. Guess after looking at this stuff, I need to learn! All very nice photos. Question: why only women writers for the magazine, especially if a man wouldn’t look silly reading it?

    April 21, 2015
    • Wow, you don’t know what you are missing, LOL, I love working on photos, almost as much as taking. thank you
      There are lots of magazines out there and they are very biased towards male photographers, there is the general impression that women don’t do landscapes or architecture, or that they all only take photos of people, so I wanted something that shows that women can do any type of photography they want, and can write about it as well. So it will be a magazine written by women for women. I don’t see any reason why men couldn’t pick up tips from it as well, however. I hope that makes sense.

      April 21, 2015
      • Oh. Yeah, I understand about the mag. It’s just that I feel left out when something is just for women. How about if I write for the magazine as Vivian Badfish? And I know…about P-shop, I want to learn, just will not do it. When I used to develop film (!), “working” the light and then watching the photo emerge in the tub…such a delight.

        April 21, 2015
      • Well you can give ideas of things if you like. Not sure that would work badfish. LOL That is up to you really isn’t, I don’t think everyone has to use it, I just don’t like it when people who don’t use it criticize those that do. I used to do stuff in the darkroom too, hated it in the end. I like getting a raw image and then seeing what I can do to it.

        April 21, 2015
      • No. I get it. Women for women. And I was upset no one ever nominated me that badge with the blue jeans…Sisterhood of blah-blah bloggers or something. Poop. Sometimes it sucks being a man.

        What’s the difference between a raw image and not…for post editing?

        April 23, 2015
      • Haha, well I could nominate you, then again I don’t do awards, haha, maybe you need to turn into a woman, LOL It sucks more being a woman, believe me.
        Raw image is straight from the camera and has no processing at all done to do, but jpegs have some editing applied to them by your camera, they are often compressed so not as much information in the files.

        April 23, 2015
      • Raw…OK, thanks for the info.

        April 24, 2015
      • You’re welcome.

        April 24, 2015
  19. poppytump #

    I’d forgotten about this gallery of working with antique layers Leanne ! Another reminder to self to get a little more creative 🙂 Your tutorial looks very clear – well done on another article published . Look forward to seeing the magazine take off and all the other stuff going on too x

    April 21, 2015
    • It is lovely being creative, don’t you just love doing it? Thanks for looking at the tutorial, good to know that it is clear. Thank you Poppytump, it was nice to get another done. So much happening, so hopefully it will all come together.

      April 21, 2015
  20. Fantastic images, I particularly loved Ocean ant 4007, it caught my imagination for some strange reason. I wonder how Bob would look if he was layered?

    April 21, 2015
    • That’s great to hear, good to know which ones people like. You might have to try and see what happens. Thanks Maria.

      April 21, 2015
  21. I always get so much fantastic information visiting your site Leanne. Thanks for sharing your time and beautiful photography 🙂

    April 21, 2015
    • That’s wonderful, I do like hearing that. You’re very welcome and thanks for visiting. 🙂

      April 21, 2015
  22. Lovely to read about another positive Tuesday post, and really good to hear the magazine is progressing along. Dynamic Range sounds fabulous. Magazine by women photographers for everyone, and everyone who is interested in photography can pick up and learn a few tips or tricks. I’m really new to photography, but I’m so excited for your magazine and am certain I will learn a lot from it.

    Interviews with photographers on what they do or their take on a particular kind of photography would be something cool to read. There’s so much diversity in photographer and so many aspects of it to cover. I’m sure the hard part would be picking what goes into the magazine. Good luck 🙂

    April 21, 2015
    • thanks Mabel, it is progressing slowly, but that is good I think. That is what I am hoping for, it would be nice if it showcased womens photography but also had appeal to a wider audience. I hope so.
      I think interviews are important, have to start looking for female photographers to interview. That is so true, it is a diverse subject. I hope it all comes together, but I dare say it will be a bit hit and miss to start with.

      April 21, 2015
  23. Great series of photos, nicely edited.

    April 21, 2015
  24. Nice textures. Look forward to your magazine

    April 22, 2015
    • Thank you Luis, seems it is definitely going to happen now.

      April 23, 2015
  25. itisawarmday #

    Reblogged this on Little Ones : ) and commented:
    feels the lost.

    April 23, 2015
  26. Reblogged this on ademijuc's Blog.

    April 23, 2015
  27. I do like the antique look, especially when composition ans subject matter complements the treatment.

    May 2, 2015
    • I do too, I agree, the subject matters has to compliment it as well.

      May 2, 2015

Comments are closed.

