Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Early Trip to Flinders

flinders-blowhole-water-waves-rocks-107

Back in January I took a trip to Flinders, a town on the coast and while I posted the photos that I took around the Flinders pier I never showed the ones of the blowhole that I took just out of town. I was thinking of using them and to my delight I discovered I had already processed them.  Today I thought I would show them to you.  I plan on showing some other photos of the same place soon, maybe tomorrow, but taken about a month ago.

flinders-blowhole-water-waves-rocks-101

The sun was out on this morning, but the tide was coming in so we couldn’t see a lot.  Apparently there is a blowhole there, one day I’m sure I will see it, but I haven’t yet. I really like the rocks.

flinders-blowhole-water-waves-rocks-103

I tried doing some long exposures.  The wind was going in the wrong direction however, so the clouds were going across.

flinders-blowhole-water-waves-rocks-108

This was the view from some of the steps.  There were quite a few steps down, but it is nice down there. One of the advantages of getting there early is that no other people were around.

flinders-blowhole-water-waves-rocks-114

I was a bit naughty and climbed a fence to take some photos of the bay next to the blowhole.  It looked like people were allowed up there at some stage.  It isn’t something I would recommend.

flinders-blowhole-water-waves-rocks-116

The landscape in the area is very barren looking. I love the rolling hills with no trees, and the large crevices in the land.

It is a very lovely world down there, but very rough.  I mean the weather is.  The wind whips around and it can be very cold, like bone penetrating cold. I still like going down there to take photos.

I was down there about month ago for Social Snappers and the weather was very different.  Very moody, but you will have to wait for those, maybe tomorrow.  I hope your weekend starts out well and you get lots done. I have a fairly easy weekend planned which is nice.  Here is a gallery of more images for you.

60 Comments
  1. Beautiful. I understand your feelings about the long exposures, but I do like the whipped potatoes (?) look of the clouds. And I love the subtle colors of the sea and the shore. 8^)

    April 25, 2015
    • Thank you, I like them too, but I like it more when the clouds are going in the right direction, LOL, well right one for me. Just means I will have to go back I suppose.

      April 25, 2015
  2. As always, wonderful captures Leanne! I hope you have a lovely weekend.:-)

    April 25, 2015
    • Thank you Jackie, I hope you do too.

      April 25, 2015
  3. Reblogged this on Iconic Tonic.

    April 25, 2015
  4. Beautiful images Leanne. An amazing place! Have a great weekend.

    April 25, 2015
    • Thanks Robyn, it is quite amazing, and I hope you have a relaxing weekend.

      April 25, 2015
  5. I love the power of water. You captured it beautifully.

    April 25, 2015
    • I do too, nothing stops it. Thank you Elen.

      April 25, 2015
  6. The one middle left gives an amazing sense of oppression.

    April 25, 2015
    • Thanks colonialist, I think I know which one you mean.

      April 25, 2015
  7. Stunning… as always!

    April 25, 2015
  8. I could photograph the exact same scene you did – and the effect would not even be anywhere close to this beautiful. very inspiring!

    April 25, 2015
    • But the difference might be in the processing Eunice, my straight photos don’t look that different to others, it is what I do to them on the computer, I think. I have a friend and when she comes out with me she watches and then copies what I do. Thank you.

      April 25, 2015
  9. The basalt rocks are amazing and so dark looking. Beautiful gallery as always Leanne.

    April 25, 2015
    • I love that rock, so black, looks like an oil spill. Thank you Chris.

      April 25, 2015
  10. Great photos. I did my first Social Snappers yesterday and have another article for your E-Magazine. A lot of salespersons for camera equipment are men. They seem very knowledgeable about the products that they sell. Two women yesterday had cameras that they didn’t know the first thing about. Canon doesn’t come with a manual. It needs to be downloaded – a lot of pages. One had her camera set on RAW. For someone who has no clue about photos it is better to start of with jpegs. They had absolutely no clue what the symbols were – portrait or landscape etc. All the men were concerned about was selling the cameras. But not necessarily finding the correct camera to the person within their budget range.
    So maybe something about what the symbols are and what different cameras are good for what a person wants to do. Just an idea.

    April 25, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, that is a great point, men often sell things to women and give them all the technical mumbo jumbo but don’t really explain why the camera would be good for them. I didn’t know that Canon’s didn’t come with Manuals, I think Nikons do, I’ve got manuals with all my cameras. We used to do a series of questions when I worked in a bike shop, we would work out what would be the right bike for what they wanted to do, then find out their budget and then explain why they didn’t need to spend that much money or why should spend more, the goal was to get the customer the right bike to suit their needs. Great point and maybe a good topic for the magazine, thanks Raewyn. How did it go?

      April 25, 2015
      • It went well. The three ladies really want know about their Cameras. But also want to learn about editing. One had even done a course in Photoshop but gave it up because it was too difficult. So we will be doing a mixture of going out to take photos as well as photo editing. They also didn’t know much about using their cell phones as cameras so will be teaching them a bit about that as well.

        April 25, 2015
      • Take what I am about to say with a grain of salt, but be careful you don’t get taken advantage of. You aren’t charging for them, so it is nice you are doing the groups, but it could all too quickly become this thing where all you are doing is teaching and then you don’t get to enjoy them. I’ve started doing mine for free, but I won’t really be helping with cameras or anything. I feel if I am organising them and doing all the background work then I should enjoy them as well. As I said, you don’t have to take any notice of what I say. Good luck with it.

        April 25, 2015
      • I am getting a gold coin donation from them. I am not going to go into depth with the editing. Just showing a free software for basic editing – Photoscape. It is just to show how to upload photos, do basic editing and then loading onto Facebook or other social media. I am still learning myself. I just want to focus on the fun aspect and not get too bogged down with the technical side of things. Plus I need to have something for wet weather days.
        Thanks for your concern.

        April 25, 2015
      • Oh that is good to hear Raewyn, I speak from personal experience thinking you are just helping a person and then they start expecting it and want you to keep doing more and more. So that’s great that you have thought about it.

        April 25, 2015
      • I agree about the manual. My new Panasonic only came with a digital manual and it’s 360 pages. So much to wade through and the index is terrible so when I’m looking for something in particular it’s hard to find.

        April 26, 2015
      • The problem too is that it is too big to print and a pain to read on the computer. It is much easier to get through a paper one. Perhaps people should start complaining that they want the manual to be included with the camera.

        April 26, 2015
      • It would be better if they had a really specific index so you could easily find a particular topic. I started working my way through gradually but it is still taking a lot of time.

        April 26, 2015
      • I agree, sometimes you have to wonder who writes them. Do they get people who don’t know the camera to test the manual?

        April 26, 2015
      • You should offer to do it for them.

        April 26, 2015
      • Haha, I don’t think I would be very good that.

        April 26, 2015
  11. the landscape is wonderfu, leanne, and you have captured some powerful images. i especially like the long exposure with the clouds racing across to blur.

    April 25, 2015
    • Thank you Vanillarock, I love long exposures, but I think I like them more when the clouds are at more of an angle.

      April 25, 2015
  12. You climbed the fence that says WARNING/DANGER?? 🙂 Wonderful photos!

    April 25, 2015
    • Haha, sshshhh Lois, not too loud. I was very careful and stayed away from the edges, and I really made sure I didn’t go anywhere near anything dangerous. There was a path on it, so I stuck to that. Thank you. 🙂

      April 25, 2015
  13. Reblogged this on Giai01's Blog and commented:
    xem

    April 25, 2015
  14. have a lovely weekend, leanne.
    ken

    April 25, 2015
    • Thanks Ken, you have one too.

      April 25, 2015
  15. Lovely fruits of your wandering, Leanne. Beautiful landscapes and seascapes. Loved this post especially much 🙂

    April 25, 2015
    • That is fantastic Tiny, I love out coast, thank you. 🙂

      April 25, 2015
  16. Great photos, Leanne! You and the family have a terrific weekend!

    April 25, 2015
  17. Wonderful photos, Leanne. The colors are rich and gorgeous.

    April 25, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, I love it down there.

      April 25, 2015
  18. These are spectacular

    April 25, 2015
  19. Really good photo shots, and great pictures 🙂

    April 25, 2015
    • Thank you Davor, glad you like them.

      April 25, 2015
  20. That almost looks like an Indigenous fish trap Leanne. I must check it out some time.

    April 25, 2015
    • What does Denis? It is a great place for photos.

      April 25, 2015
      • The water space that is enclosed by rocks, it almost looks like it is created. Indigenous people often created fish traps in rocky areas on the waterline and in rivers and swamps. I have seen some in the Western District. I will check out this spot next time I am down there at low tide.

        April 26, 2015
      • That is really interesting, I guess things do get caught in the rock pools. I’ve never fish, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen. You will have to let me know if you go and what you find, please.

        April 26, 2015
  21. I can almost feel the roaring of water watching these pictures, an epic sense of sublime through these dramatic landscapes. Thanks for sharing

    April 25, 2015
    • I love the sublime, so happy to hear it being used with my photos. Thank you.

      April 25, 2015
  22. The cloud direction is indeed a bit unfortunate but for one of the pictures it actually works for me – it focuses the eye on the sea and instead sets a lovely tone for the image. Did you use a neural density filter for these?

    April 25, 2015
    • That’s good to hear, you never really know and unfortunately the wind can’t always be blowing in the direction we want. I did for some, on the ones that have the blurred clouds. I try to do a mixture of some with and some without. Thank you.

      April 26, 2015
  23. I remember back when I would clamber over fences, up the sides of mountains and hike mile to get that picture. These days, I stick closer to the main road, but I love your forays into the outer places where nature is still running rampant 🙂

    April 26, 2015
    • I’m usually too scared to do it, but the friend I was with, just said go for it. So I did. Thank you Marilyn, we are lucky that they have kept some places like that. I also like that here in Australia individuals can’t own beaches, so you can always get access. 🙂

      April 26, 2015
  24. a fabulous coast there which your pictures do great justice.

    April 26, 2015
    • Thank you, I love our coast line.

      April 26, 2015
  25. I love your images and your style. My wife has also has a blog that I would invite you to view. lindsayroycroftphotography.com She’s an aspiring portrait photographer. If I haven’t already said this, thank you so much for visiting my site.

    April 26, 2015
    • Thank you John, I took a quick look, I don’t do portraits, but they look good. You’re welcome.

      April 26, 2015

Comments are closed.

