Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Another Trip to Flinders

flinders-blowhole-ocean-pier-rocks-1012

As I mentioned yesterday I spent another morning at Flinders a few weeks ago for Social Snappers. It was a different morning and the sea was angrier.  There was no sunlight until later in the morning and definitely not while we were at the blowhole.  We went for breakfast and then down to the pier.

flinders-blowhole-ocean-pier-rocks-1002

It was threatening rain the whole time and we did think we would get some, but we didn’t.  Windy was really how it was. There is such a mixture of colours over the rocks.

flinders-blowhole-ocean-pier-rocks-1006

The waves were banging against the rocks and I was trying my best to get the waves as they exploded.

flinders-blowhole-ocean-pier-rocks-1009

There was a heap of foam in the water.  I don’t know, it was really disgusting, but I don’t know what it was. Any ideas?

11062045_990688397608873_8264246917406070566_n

We went into Flinders for breakfast. While we were sitting out the front there was a big commotion out the front of the place we were at, in the main street.  It turns out a koala was crawling along the ground and then climbed up a tree. Not something you see every day in towns. I took this with my phone and put it on Instagram.

flinders-blowhole-ocean-pier-rocks-1021

After breakfast we went down to Flinders pier, though we walked in the opposite direction towards this old pier, not much of this one left.  You can see the sky had cleared and the sun was out in little bits.  It did turn out to be a lovely day.

I’m off on another adventure today, exploring yet another part of my wonderful state.  Not sure if I will get a lot of photography done, suspect it will be more of a scouting trip, check it out for future trips.

I have all the above photos and a whole lot more for you to look at and will put them into a gallery for you. I hope your weekend isn’t as wet as mine.

53 Comments
  1. Wow photography

    April 26, 2015
  2. Reblogged this on طبيب حر الى آخر العمر.

    April 26, 2015
  3. Weekend Wanderings The PIER at Flinders in photography Wonderful

    April 26, 2015
  4. That koala is saying, ‘Where is my modelling fee?’ What a snooty look!

    April 26, 2015
    • Haha, I think it was actually saying, damn I’ve climbed the wrong tree and I can’t eat this and now there are a heap of people down below, what the hell am I going to do?

      April 26, 2015
  5. Love the more restless sea shots. Not a very swimmer-friendly locality, though!

    April 26, 2015
    • I like those too Colonialist, no you couldn’t swim there, not many places around there you could, it is very rocky and dangerous. Thank you.

      April 26, 2015
  6. The pictures are wonderful, but the koala photo is just so darn cute!

    April 26, 2015
    • thank you Lois, the koala was getting a lot of attention, I hope it managed to get away.

      April 26, 2015
  7. An angry sea makes for great photos 🙂 There is so much power revealed in the crashing of waves. It is awe inspiring. Great shots, Leanne 🙂

    April 26, 2015
    • I love an angry sea too Kirsten, as you said, great photos. The waves make me glad I’m on the shore away from them. Thank you. 🙂

      April 26, 2015
      • You have to be careful with photography it can be dangerous. When I’m doing city shots, I forget to pay attention to traffic. Thankfully my dad directs traffic around me or yells to get my attention!! Lol

        April 27, 2015
      • Oh it can be, I have scared the hell of friends walking into intersections to get photos. LOL. Though the place I find the scariest is on the coast, the water can come in very fast.

        April 27, 2015
  8. Beautiful work as always.

    April 26, 2015
  9. Great photos. I have seen that sort of scum before but sorry but can’t tell you where it comes from

    April 26, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn. Someone said it was something to do with chemicals or something being washed in the ocean and the churning sea does that, I don’t know either.

      April 26, 2015
  10. Amazing shots! What a wonderful spot for a weekend trip! The koala is adorable ❤

    April 26, 2015
    • Thank you Lucy, I love that I can go there for the day, though getting a sunrise is a bit hard, a very early start then. 🙂

      April 26, 2015
  11. Like the pictures – looks like pollution ?? I just love lively seas

    April 26, 2015
    • Thank you Diana, that is what a friend said, the chemicals or something that have gone in there. I love them too.

      April 26, 2015
  12. Great photos, love the sea! I found an article on the nasty looking foam:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sea_foam

    April 26, 2015
    • Thank you John, and thanks for the link, so it is a naturally forming thing, just bad if there are toxins in the water as well. I felt like I should be scooping it out.

      April 26, 2015
    • That was my guess, too, when seeing it in the photo. I also saw it every now and then. It seem, it needs certain conditions to appear.

      April 26, 2015
  13. amatasta #

    these are gorgeous. i love to wander along the coast in autumn, it’s soothing and peaceful.

    April 26, 2015
    • Same Amatasta, it is always fantastic, I must go again this week. Thank you.

      April 26, 2015
  14. Such dark foreboding shores with the black basalt, but great shots in the agitated sea!

    April 26, 2015
    • Oh yes, they are my favourite time, I love it when the weather is bad and the waves are fierce. thanks Chris.

      April 26, 2015
  15. Gorgeous pics Leanne, and the koala made my son’s day- he’s always on the hunt for koalas in gum trees 🙂

    April 26, 2015
    • That’s great to hear, glad your son liked it. thank you 🙂

      April 26, 2015
  16. Reblogged this on Giai01's Blog and commented:
    xem

    April 26, 2015
  17. You just totally ruined my stereotypical images of The Land Down Under. Whaaaaat? Koalas walking around downtown in every city and burg isn’t normal? :::sobs::: Next you’ll tell me you don’t all have 4 kangaroos of various sizes living in your yards.

    April 26, 2015
    • Oh no, sorry to do that, kangaroos don’t jump down the main street, but my husband was riding his bike home on the street where we live and he looked beside him and a kangaroo was jumping right beside him, scared the hell out of him. It was a big one too. Then more recently he got held up on the bike track by a wombat. does that make you feel better.

      April 26, 2015
  18. Leanne, I love your photos of all those rocks! I believe rocks, in certain locales are wonderful, beautiful creations.

    April 26, 2015
    • I agree, I love the rocks on the shore line, must get back down there, love the coast. Thank you.

      April 26, 2015
  19. You are so, so good at these action, water shots and they are brilliant! It can not be easy to capture the drama and power of the water without making it look frozen in time. (I hope that makes sense)?
    I was just smelling the salty sea spray when…up pops a Koala Bear ! Now that made me smile 🙂

    April 26, 2015
    • Thank you Karen, I just take lots and lots. I love the smell of the ocean, and yes, that koala bear was so cute, not something you see every day. 🙂

      April 26, 2015
  20. The clarity and colour of the water in some of these rock pools is wonderful Leanne. The sea foam from my understanding is just all the organics in the sea water getting churned up near the beach in rough weather. It can get pretty thick. Wes

    April 26, 2015
    • Thanks Wes, I really like how clear the water is and how you can see what is in them. It is pretty yuck too, I keep thinking I should scoop it out.

      April 26, 2015
  21. Your second picture of the rocks surrounding the still water is absolutely stunning. You’re a truly talented photographer. I look forward to keeping up with your creations.

    April 26, 2015
    • Thank you, that is lovely of you to say.

      April 26, 2015
  22. Beautiful shots! I do understand, it’s hard to capture those banging waves.

    April 27, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings: Another Trip to Flinders | Donna's Blog
  2. The great state of Oregon – should we keep it a secret?  | OldPlaidCamper

Comments are closed.

