Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Things are Getting Busy Again

Seems like heaps has happened this week and none of it to do with taking photos, though I am very happy to report that I have made a couple of times to take photos this coming week, which will be nice.  Things are starting to get very busy again, but that is okay, I do feel like I’m getting somewhere at this point in time.  Here are some of the things that have been happening.

My Website Theme

Maybe time to start looking for a new theme for my website.  The problem is finding a theme that will actually work.  I’ve been looking around, but they all seem to have problems.  They charge you money for them and then the things that are supposed to work on them don’t. I recently found sccity-hpm0418-embout that my contact form doesn’t work.  I’ve had it up there for months, and no one ever contacted me. Not that that means anything, but then recently someone found my email address and asked if I had got the first email they sent me, which I hadn’t.  Since I have removed the contact form, I’ve had further emails about potential work.

One on One Photography and Editing

It has been quite amazing how many enquiries I’ve been getting since I removed the contact form and added my email address. If you were someone who sent an a message through the contact form and didn’t get anywhere with it or I didn’t respond, I can pretty much guarantee I didn’t get the email, so I hope you will try again.

While I’m at it, can I give myself a plug.  I just want to remind people that I do One on One Photography sessions, they can be arranged to suit you, not just what we learn but also when.  If you are interested, take a look at this page, all the information you need to know about what I offer is there.

Dynamic Range – Magazine

I got some great ideas for the magazine last week, thank you to everyone who made suggestions.  I guess now it is about making it happen.

sccity-nikon9674One thing I need to do is get a design or something with the name.  I need to find a graphic artist who can put together something for the magazine.  Then I thought, what if we do it like the name, so if you are a graphic designer and would like to have a go at doing the logo, I guess that is what it will be called, then please, send me your ideas.  Once I have a few then I can show them here and everyone can vote on the best one. Perhaps the winner can get a free ad in the first issue.

I’m afraid at this point I can’t offer any monetary reward for it, but hopefully if the magazine is successful then we will be able to pay people with the money we make from selling advertising space.  Though, the space for advertising will be limited and we only want to get enough money to pay for people, if that makes any sense.  I hate those magazines that are full of advertising, so advertising will be kept to a minimal.

We are looking for contributors, so if you are a woman and think you can write an article for it, I would love to hear your ideas.

I think that is all I have about the magazine at this stage.  I’m really excited about putting it together, and I hope you are looking forward to getting it as well.  It is my hope that you will all share it everywhere.  Get as many people reading it as possible.

Digital Photography School

I have another article coming out for the Digital Photography School, I believe.  It is on Landscape photography this time and taking your own photos and processing them your way.  I don’t have the link yet, but when it is published I will add it here.

It has now been published, here is the link, Putting You Into Your Landscape Photography. So please share and leave your comments there as well if you don’t mind.  Would love to hear from you over there.

Photographing the Milky Way

screflect-city-hpm6482-2I going to try running a class on how to photograph the milky way in June.  I had a few people asking me last year if I would teach them, so here is the class. It is going to be down at Sorrento for anyone who is interested.  I have a Social Snappers Meetup Group so that might be a good way to keep up to date with excursions and classes that I am running.  The link is Social Snappers Meetups.

Social Snappers in the City

There is a Social Snappers outing this weekend. We are meeting at 6.30am in the city and the excursion is Take Early Morning Photos Along the Yarra. So hopefully we get some sort of sunrise, and a very calm mirror like river.

The photos that are in this post were taken of the city in 2012 and 2013.  You will see what I am hoping for on Sunday morning. I need to go and do some more planning. I hope you are keeping busy as well.

61 Comments
  1. Nice article Leanne. Interesting about your contact form not working. Hmmm. Can’t help you on your new theme either. I’m not overly excited about both the free and the paid one’s. I’m eager to see what you learn.
    The image in this post are amazing, btw. Well done my friend 🙂

    April 28, 2015
    • Thanks Dan, I know, it is so annoying, and I can’t believe how much work I’ve got since I removed it. It seems to be with all the themes, somethings work something don’t. Then I better keep you updated Dan, thank you, I need to get back to doing some like that, take care. 🙂

      April 28, 2015
  2. Though the photos are only as illustration of this post, they are very clear and crisp, I love them…

    April 28, 2015
    • Thank you, I have had some great days taking photos in the city.

      April 28, 2015
  3. If the contact form is a plugin, it may need an update. Not sure if you are self hosting. I tried self hosting, it isnt.worth the hassle for my needs.

    April 28, 2015
    • No, it was just part of WordPress, it has worked before. MY website is self hosted, which is where it doesn’t work. I have my website with a blog on it, but I rarely blog on it, I find this one enough work. thanks John.

      April 28, 2015
  4. I’m glad you’re getting busier and hope lots of work comes along, you deserve it.

    April 28, 2015
    • Thank you Gypsy, lots of work would please my husband.

      April 28, 2015
  5. I hope you find your new theme. WP has done a better job recently of increasing the selection of free themes. While I don’t expect to receive much email through the WP contact form, I believe it relies upon Akismet spam filter to sort through the contact form inquiries – at least that’s how I understood it to be.

    April 28, 2015
    • Oh, so maybe it treats all my emails as spam and I don’t get them. That is crazy, and now they want you to pay for that akismet I believe. Well, since I put my email address there I am getting lots more emails, so that is good, though I do wonder how much work I’ve lost because of it. Thanks David.

      April 28, 2015
      • That is how I understood WP contact form to work. The akismet feature is for all WP blogs, free or those with paid upgrades.

        April 28, 2015
      • I’m sure you’re right David, but it isn’t working properly. I update everything when it says updates are available. I tried to put it on a friends self hosted blog and they wanted her to pay something like $5 a month for it, so we didn’t worry about it.

        April 28, 2015
      • Ask me, WP has let some things slide while working to make everything mobile friendly.

        April 28, 2015
      • I agree, and they are so focused on making it work on that that it doesn’t really work for anything, I hate trying to show people photos from my blog. It is so frustrating.

        April 28, 2015
  6. Reblogged this on Victoria 2070 a.d. and commented:
    Breath Taking Photography

    April 28, 2015
  7. Marvelous cityscapes…enjoyed all your bits of news.

    April 28, 2015
  8. Love your photos.

    April 28, 2015
  9. A great set of pictures today.

    April 28, 2015
    • Thank you Tootlepedal, it is nice to get some out from a while back and give them another airing.

      April 28, 2015
  10. Great photos as always but funny thing about landscape photos…I usually get mine aren’t processed or “popped” enough. Don’t you just love critics 😉

    April 28, 2015
    • Thank you, who is saying that to you? Oh yeah, you have to love them, or not. Critics are the worse kind I find. I was talking to someone yesterday who was devastated by something that someone said to her, it just isn’t right. 🙂

      April 28, 2015
  11. Sounds like things are beginning to move for you Leanne. 🙂 Congrats.

    April 28, 2015
    • I hope so Sue, I’ve been trying stuff for so long, it would be nice if something actually was successful LOL. Thank you 🙂

      April 28, 2015
  12. Hi Leanne, well I finally decided to follow you from my new blog 🙂 I had you on my other one, but it wasn’t working for me either. I know these things can be buggy. I sure hope you find the solutions you are looking for, it sure is a lot of work I know …sigh…but if it is your passion, then it is well worth it, too bad we couldn’t just do what we love and have it automatically go out there 😀 Well it is nice to connect again. All the best.

    April 28, 2015
    • Thank you, your site looks good. I am sure I will find some solutions, having my email address there has worked wonders so far. It is too bad, yes, nice to connect and all the best to you too. 😀

      April 28, 2015
  13. Congrats on the article (and others as well)! I just started using Squarespace for my “official” website. It has a really great look and requires no coding knowledge. So far it’s flawless.

    April 28, 2015
    • Thank you Shane, it has been really nice, I hope they want me to continue. I haven’t heard of that, can I have a link to it and to you “official” site.

      April 28, 2015
      • Squarespace is just http://www.squarespace.com/ and there are a load of YouTube reviews (& other written reviews). And don’t laugh, but my site is still a mega work in progress http://www.shanefrancescut.com/ I have just started working on a really cool project that you can read about in my blog on that site.

        April 28, 2015
      • Okay, I took a look, the $16 a month or $20 is something that I would have to think about. I laughed my head off when I saw you site, well of course I didn’t, it looks good, quite professional. So are you giving up your wordpress blog, do I need to subscribe to the other one now? Can I subscribe.

        April 28, 2015
      • I use the $8 per month option and found a 10% discount code that can be used. They’re pretty easy to find by Googling for them but you can also use the codes “FRO” or “ADAM” who are two American photographers I follow.

        You can subscribe to my blog by clicking on “comments”. I’m trying to figure out how to add a subscribe button that’s more visible 🙂

        No, I won’t be giving up my WordPress blog any time soon. I have put too much time into it to stop now, but we’ll see how things play out in the future.

        Thanks for checking the site out!

        April 29, 2015
      • Yeah, not sure I want to subscribe to another thing. It is already costing me heaps. I guess I can be hard to move. I will have to try that way of subscribing.
        I’m glad you won’t be giving up the WP blog. You’re Shane, always good to hear from you.

        April 29, 2015
  14. Strange how the contact form was not working. WordPress is quite awesome in some ways, but still has plenty of glitches. You still seem to be keeping quite busy though. Loving your photos, they have incredible clarity.

    April 28, 2015
    • I agree, somethings they do very well and others not so well. I try to, though I have to be careful not to let thinks get out of hand. Thank you, I never tire of hearing that.

      April 28, 2015
  15. Thanks Leanne! Lots of interesting stuff to think about here, and great photos too.

    April 28, 2015
    • Thank you, yes, lots to work on as well.

      April 28, 2015
  16. How bad about that contact form! I can imagine how annoying that feels to you now. I recently had someone contact me over the form and was glad to see that it worked! 🙂 I will ask around in my friend circle if someone would be interested to work on that logo of yours.

    April 28, 2015
    • Oh yes, I can’t help wondering how much money I have potentially lost because of it. If what has happened since I got rid of it, a lot. My contact form was on my website, so it is self hosted, and I think that is different. That would be great, thanks Sarina.

      April 28, 2015
  17. So good to see everything is coming together for you, Leanne. You worked hard for it and deserve it! Can vouch for the value of your online sessions and looking forward to the Milky way workshop!

    April 28, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, it is good, I am enjoying everything happening which is great. Thank you for vouching for me, I might have to see if I can get a testimonial from you when we are done. I’m so glad you are going to join us for the milky way, should be fun.

      April 28, 2015
  18. Beautiful photos, Leanne. Sharp and very vivid. Brilliant reflections. Good to hear that your are busy, it’s always good to be busy! 😀 Good luck with finding a new website theme – it’s so hard finding one and customising it to your own liking is also challenging. I’m happy I’ve tweaked my blog template to how I want it to be but it took ages. Good luck with Social Snappers this week. 🙂

    April 28, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel. It is good, though finding time to do some things is hard sometimes. Yes, I am starting to think that it wouldn’t matter what theme I got there would be problems. Thanks full house for the social snappers this week, so that is good. 😀

      April 28, 2015
  19. Your Bits and Bobs cover so much ground, I’m exhausted! Beautiful photos!

    April 28, 2015
    • Haha, thanks John, it can be exhausting at times.

      April 29, 2015
  20. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    That stinks about the contact form; that is so important now especially. You are like a whirlwind getting all this together; I get tired just reading about all you are juggling. 😀 I wish you all the best as this takes off.

    April 28, 2015
    • I agree, I’m so annoyed, I do wonder how much work I’ve lost because of it. I think people forget sometimes that this is all I do, really all I do, you should see how messy my house is. LOL. thank you so much Jackie. 😀

      April 29, 2015
  21. Stunning shots! I don’t always like cities, but you captured them in such a way which made them look absolutely beautiful. I love to see the world through your lenses. Have a great evening! x

    April 29, 2015
    • Thank you Lucy, what a beautiful thing to say. I love taking photos and it is good that it comes out in my images.

      April 29, 2015
  22. So much going on Leanne! It’s fabulous 🙂

    April 29, 2015
    • Yes, so much, hopefully I can keep up with it all. 😀

      April 29, 2015
  23. phenomenal reflections!!

    April 29, 2015
  24. Wow, you have so much on! Best of luck with that logo Leanne ..

    April 29, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, yes busy busy, but good busy.

      April 29, 2015
  25. Looks like its going rain again in Melbourne. Good for the city and gardener.

    April 30, 2015
    • I hope not, though I think only a shower or two.

      April 30, 2015
  26. So much wonderful news in your post Leanne! And doing an article for DPS is just awesome. One of my favorite sites. I’ve just hopped over there to read what you wrote and left my thoughts there 🙂

    May 9, 2015
    • Thank you Stacy, it is quite amazing and hopefully there will be more articles to come. I saw your comment there and will respond to it soon. Thanks for doing that. 😀

      May 10, 2015

Comments are closed.

