Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Photos Along the Bay

Mordialloc-seaford-water-piers-sunset-1022

Melbourne was settled inside Port Phillip Bay, and many suburbs are on beaches, but because they are in the bay there aren’t big waves.  The other afternoon I went to Seaford and then Mordialloc, two suburbs on the bay, to take photos. It is an area I am not familiar with and when a friend suggested going down there I thought why not. We were met by another friend as well.  Always nice going out with friends to take photos.

Mordialloc-seaford-water-piers-sunset-1002

We started at Seaford pier.  It was a lovely afternoon, not a cloud in the sky, a little windy, a bit chilly, but perfect for autumn. The water was a gorgeous aqua colour and so clear you could see through it, though I did a long exposure here and got that flat/smooth look on the water.

Mordialloc-seaford-water-piers-sunset-1005

There were a couple of fisherman out on the pier and they were very chatty and we were having great fun talking to them.  It was pretty funny. They kindly let us take photos of them.

Mordialloc-seaford-water-piers-sunset-1011

Once we were done there we headed down to the Mordialloc marina and looked around at the boats.  The sun was starting to set, but with almost no clouds we knew we wouldn’t get a brilliant sunset.  Still there was a golden glow.

Mordialloc-seaford-water-piers-sunset-1015

The sun set, as you can see lots of orange, not much of anything else.  It was nice, but it could have been a lot better.  I don’t know why I never seem to get all the clouds.

Mordialloc-seaford-water-piers-sunset-1025

So with not much colour in the sky it was all about the foreground and what we could do with it.  The above image was processed in Photomatix Pro and is a HDR and then I have done a lot more processing to it.  It wasn’t a long exposure, as in I didn’t use a filter, but it was a 5 image bracketed shot and those were all used in the HDR.

For those that don’t know bracketed shots are where you take a series of images at different exposure levels. With 5, one image is the correct exposure, two are under exposed, one more than the other and the last two are over exposed, one at one stop over and the other one at two stops over.

It was a lovely evening for taking photos anyway.  Though one of us, not me, didn’t come prepared for how cold it got and she was regretting not bringing a coat.  Not pointing the finger at any one.

I am going to leave with a gallery now.  I hope your Saturday is good and you have lots of things planned.  I will be off to meet a new person for a one on one photography session in the city today.

68 Comments
  1. beautiful shots and always appreciate your commentary. Would sure love to visit there!!! 🙂

    May 2, 2015
    • Thank you Jodi, and I hope you get to one day, there are so many great places to visit here.

      May 2, 2015
  2. So tranquil, peaceful 😊

    May 2, 2015
    • Great words to use John, it was both of those.

      May 2, 2015
  3. Beautiful shots Leanne!

    May 2, 2015
  4. What a fun day you had Leanne. To images do tell the story. I think you made the best of not having any drama (clouds) in the sky. Well done :-))

    May 2, 2015
    • Thank you Dan, it was fun, I guess when you don’t get what you want you always have to go with something else, be prepared to shot something else as well. Thank you.

      May 2, 2015
  5. Lovely ~Rita

    May 2, 2015
  6. the colour of the water is gorgeous.

    May 2, 2015
    • Oh yes, I love it when it is that colour. Thanks.

      May 2, 2015
  7. Great boat photos and with stunning light!

    May 2, 2015
    • Thank you Gypsy, have to love golden hour for that light, magic.

      May 2, 2015
  8. Nice shots Leanne, I would be very happy if I had a batch like that! I so admire your dedication to getting out early, it’s not easy, but that’s when the magic happens!

    May 2, 2015
    • Thank you Ardy, I’m not unhappy, just would have been nicer if there had been more clouds, would have been stunning then. These were all taken in the afternoon, so that was easier, haha, though I actually find it easier to get out in the morning than the afternoon, I often feel dead in the afternoons.

      May 2, 2015
  9. I love the colour of the sea at Seaford.

    May 2, 2015
    • Isn’t it a beautiful, the conditions have to be just right to get that colour.

      May 2, 2015
  10. A stunning gallery!

    May 2, 2015
  11. I love that smooth water look!

    May 2, 2015
    • Same Linda, I especially like it when it just happens. We have a Social Snappers in the city first thing tomorrow morning and I’m hoping the Yarra will be like that, and very reflective.

      May 2, 2015
  12. 😛 haha yes, will put some clothes on next time 🙂 how ever a good afternoon despite the arctic conditions

    May 2, 2015
    • Haha, now I wasn’t naming names Ms Chris, haha. 😛 it was fun though, I really enjoyed it, can’t wait to go out again.

      May 2, 2015
  13. A beautiful collection Leanne …..water is such a wonderful subject! And how amazing its texture. You have a great weekend too. : ) Trees

    May 2, 2015
    • I agree Trees, I love photographing it, whether in a swamp, a river or the ocean. Thank you and you have a good weekend too. 😀

      May 2, 2015
  14. Beautiful shots. It is always fun to go somewhere new. Love your sun setting.

    May 2, 2015
    • Thanks Raewyn, it is and with others too, love having company when I go out.

      May 2, 2015
  15. Looks like you were out at the perfect time of day!

    May 2, 2015
    • Oh yes, and a perfect autumn day it was. Thank you.

      May 2, 2015
  16. Love the close up of the knot, and the beautiful color of the water as well!

    May 2, 2015
    • Thank you Cynthia, glad you like it/them, I loved the colour of the water.

      May 2, 2015
  17. sumedhasamaga #

    Amazing pics! Absolutely mesmerizing ! 😀

    May 2, 2015
    • Thank you, great word to use to describe them. 😀

      May 2, 2015
  18. beautiful water images and I love the wall art!

    May 2, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, I had to photograph the wall art, it looked so cool.

      May 2, 2015
  19. The closeup shots of the water have such a lovely shade of green 🙂 The night lights over the water was also a really nice shot.

    May 2, 2015
    • It is a beautiful colour, I love it when the water looks like that. Thank you. 😀

      May 2, 2015
  20. These are all so wonderful! It must have been such a wonderful evening.

    May 2, 2015
    • It was Debby, always good when you are with friends and taking photos. Thanks Debby.

      May 2, 2015
  21. poppytump #

    Love the pier and waters Leanne .. how good it is to still be finding new places to explore not so far away and with friends ! From the fisherman to the person reflecting on the sunset there’s a really nice mellow feel about the scenes . Clouds … huh … don’t you just ’em AND hate ’em 😉

    May 3, 2015
    • It is nice, there are still so many places to find and every day, well nearly every week I find new things to photograph, it is wonderful. Yes, to go with friends is great. I know, the clouds can be your friend or your enemy. Thank you Poppytump.

      May 3, 2015
  22. Beautiful Leanne … thanks so much for sharing. I have to try HDR sometime soon 😉

    May 3, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, you’re welcome and add it to the list. 😉

      May 3, 2015
  23. Wow, I love the one with the guy looking out from the pier!

    May 3, 2015
    • Thank you Steve, that’s great, though it was a women, hard to tell there.

      May 3, 2015
      • Ah ok. Still just as cool lol

        May 3, 2015
      • Yeah, it doesn’t really matter, man woman, I liked the silhouette as well.

        May 3, 2015
      • I love photos taken of people from behind, I don’t know why. If you look at some of my photos you’ll see that there is a lot of that type.

        May 3, 2015
      • I like the silhouettes, possibly because they aren’t always easy to get. I took a quick look Steve.

        May 3, 2015
  24. Such a beautiful series, Leanne.

    May 3, 2015
    • Thank you Seekraz, it is a very peaceful part of Melbourne.

      May 3, 2015
  25. Looks like a lot of fun 🙂 Great shots!

    May 3, 2015
  26. Beautiful images, love the boaties at Mordialloc!

    May 3, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, lots of them there.

      May 3, 2015
  27. Your style is as magnificent as your images.

    May 3, 2015
    • what a lovely thing to say, thank you.

      May 3, 2015
  28. Love the photo of the pier with the aqua water behind. Lovely!

    May 3, 2015
    • Thank you Vincenza, I love the colour of the water when it is like that.

      May 3, 2015
  29. I live close to Seaford Pier, love walking down there as it so often is uncrowded, has a great view to both sides of the bay and some decent cafes nearby. Excellent shots!

    May 7, 2015
    • I don’t know the area very well, but I’ve been trying to get down there more to see what I can get. Nice to explore new areas. I will be down there more. Thank you and thanks for the reblog.

      May 7, 2015
  30. Reblogged this on oceanicexplorer and commented:
    Seaford Pier is my new local spot – our family loves the short walk from home to the foreshore for coffee and a wander. There’s a great market once a month organised by Rotary close by, very good and cheap coffee from the local bookshop/florist/cafe and a brilliant Spanish bar that never seems to close! Leanne captured the foreshore brilliantly in these shots

    May 7, 2015
  31. Great shots Leanne, you didn’t miss anything. They all made me feel like I was there with you on the outing… what a lovely and interesting place 🙂

    May 11, 2015
    • What a beautiful thing to say Karen, it is great place, we might have to check it out. 🙂

      May 11, 2015
      • That would be great…..sounds like I’ll need a month there’s so much to see ! ! 😆

        May 11, 2015
      • Haha, we will have to make the most of the time we have, fill it up, luckily it is winter and you can shoot all day here in winter.

        May 11, 2015

Comments are closed.

