Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Early Morning Along the Yarra River

Melbourne-city-yarra-river-morning-1026

This morning, not long after this post publishes I will be in a similar place with lots of other ladies photographing the river and the city over the river.  Mornings in Melbourne can be a great time to get so beautiful photos of the city and if you are lucky get it reflected very nicely in the river.  Unfortunately on this morning the river wasn’t being nice and wasn’t smooth, but we still go some great shots.

Melbourne-city-yarra-river-morning-1025

This was one of the first shots I took, you can see that with no clouds we weren’t going to get a good sunrise, still the colours were nice.

Melbourne-city-yarra-river-morning-1029

I know it wasn’t one of those brilliant red sunrises, but the orange and the silhouette or the surrounds is quite good.

Melbourne-city-yarra-river-morning-1035

The rising sun painting the city with gold, I like it when that happens in the morning.

Melbourne-city-yarra-river-morning-1040

We headed into the city and played around with the wide angle lens seeing what things up close looked like with it.

Melbourne-city-yarra-river-morning-1044

It was just before Easter, so I  had some fun taking some photos of the Easter eggs in the shops.

Melbourne-city-yarra-river-morning-1047

We went for a wander along Collins Street to Southern Cross Station and took photos along the way.

It was a lovely morning for photos and I really enjoyed it.  I am hoping that this morning is just as nice as well, maybe even nicer. It is going to take me a while to respond to comments, but I will get to them when I get home. I hope your morning starts off well and you have a great Sunday.

38 Comments
  1. Beautiful morning light. And I love the Haigh’s eggs and the shot up at the station ceiling.

    May 3, 2015
    • It was Desley, it is great when you get that. I love their eggs too, though my favourite from there is rocky road. Thank you.

      May 3, 2015
  2. Reblogged this on William Chasterson.

    May 3, 2015
  3. Excellent, tranquil landscapes. Thank you once again for inspiring us and continuing to share your knowledge and love of photography! I am excited to see other pictures from your trip. Have a great weekend as well. 🙂

    May 3, 2015
    • Thank you, and you’re welcome, I got lots of great photos last and this morning, so hopefully some good in them.

      May 3, 2015
  4. The colours of the sky are lovely x

    May 3, 2015
    • It was lovely, glad you like it Jo.

      May 3, 2015
  5. Just stunning!

    May 3, 2015
  6. Beautiful Photos! Do you make use of Flickr?

    May 3, 2015
    • Thank you Peter, yes I do use Flickr.

      May 3, 2015
  7. lmarea3070 #

    Very nice lady!

    May 3, 2015
  8. Great set. You have the knack of getting the spirit of Melbourne. Des.

    May 3, 2015
    • Thank you Des, what a lovely thing to say.

      May 3, 2015
  9. I love your photography Leanne and just wish I could visit the places you present so beautifully. Then I realise I can! It is our Melbourne, but looking glam. Thanks. xx

    May 3, 2015
    • Exactly, there aren’t too many places that I visit that people can’t go too. There are so many great places to visit here. Thank you, I hope you have fun exploring.

      May 3, 2015
  10. Lovely early morning photos, Leanne.

    May 3, 2015
    • Thank you Christine, it is one of my favourite times to take photos.

      May 3, 2015
  11. Lovely images….

    May 3, 2015
  12. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend Wanderings: Early Morning Along the Yarra River

    May 3, 2015
  13. Great shots, they really show a flavour of Melbourne mornings 🙂

    May 4, 2015
    • Thank you, it was a great time taking photos, Melbourne in the mornings is wonderful.

      May 4, 2015
  14. Looks like you had a lovely morning there Leanne. It makes me want to plan a weekend in Melbourne. 🙂

    May 4, 2015
    • I did Karen, it was wonderful, always good spending time with friends and taking photos. 🙂

      May 4, 2015
  15. Love the shots looking up at the buildings. I immediately felt the height of the building as if I was there 🙂

    May 4, 2015
    • I quite like that view too, Thank you. 🙂

      May 4, 2015
  16. Being of a celtic nature the misty old bogs always appeal!! 😀 I love your bogs and marshes. bridges, architecture, the streets of Melbourne in the morning and chocolates too!!

    May 5, 2015
    • I love that word Celtic. 😀 That’s great Cybele, I love all the bridges we have, and always look forward to photographing them. We had that chocolate at easter, it was very good. Thank you.

      May 5, 2015
  17. Love all the angles on the building shots.

    May 5, 2015
  18. Wow really amazing photos. 🙂

    May 5, 2015
  19. A wonderful glimpse of early morning Melbourne city life 🙂

    May 11, 2015
    • Thanks Karen, it was a lovely morning for photography, I wonder if we will get that when you are here. 🙂

      May 11, 2015

Comments are closed.

