Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Grey Outside and Not Much Else

The weather here is very unpredictable at the moment and the forecast for the next week is shower or two every day.  So we are going to be getting wet a lot. It is frustrating, but it has also been windy, so I should get some great opportunities to get out with my ND filters to do some long exposures.  I don’t have the Formatt Hitech ones yet, but I can still take my Lee Big Stopper out and see what I can do with it.  I have some plans.

I’ve been out a few times to take photos, which is always good and I’ve been putting some photos up on Social Media sites like my Facebook Page and Google+.  Some are from Instragram and others I took with my Nikon D800.  I have one of the full moon that I took the other night with the Tamron SP 150-600mm lens, I think I am getting better at doing them.

full-moon-may-2015

There are three images of the same bridge, the Seafarers Bridge in the city. One taken with my phone and the other two with my Nikon D800.  Two taken at sunset, and one taken very early in the morning.

There is a photo of a cattle egret that I got at Banyule Flats. It was just sitting on top of one of the dead trees just looking around. I did have to crop it quite a bit. Again taken with the Tamron SP 150-600mm lens that I have on loan from Maxwell International Australia.

banyule-flats-egret-bird

There are a couple of other sunrise shots, taken with my phone, one morning earlier this week.  I knew there was a very good chance for a sunrise, but well, I slept in and these photos I got around my house.

I spent the whole day regretting I didn’t make more of an effort to get to Banyule Flats. It would have been amazing.  We haven’t had another beautiful sunrise since.  The skies have been too overcast or not the right conditions.

I’m off on another trip today, I think.  It is going to rain, so I don’t know how we will go, but hopefully it will be good enough for it.  Going to a park or sanctuary up in the Dandenongs, but you will have to wait and see.  I am going with my friend, so it should be lots of fun.  I will put all the above photos into a big gallery for you now.  I hope you have a good relaxing day.

52 Comments
  1. fantastic

    May 7, 2015
  2. Here at New Jersey, today, overcast, grey day.

    May 7, 2015
    • We seem to be having grey weeks at the moment, hopefully some sun will come too.

      May 7, 2015
      • I think that I will make a note on weather for each day. More cloudy days than sunny!

        May 7, 2015
      • See what you get, should be interesting.

        May 7, 2015
  3. Love the egret. Curious how it would look without that second perch.

    May 7, 2015
    • I guess we will never know John, LOL. I like the second one, gives it context of a dead tree.

      May 7, 2015
  4. Les #

    Seems that you are having the same problem as I have the past few day’s. One day is so nice that I just had to get “out there” with my Nikon and then the next day is cloudy, windy, and just not so nice as 24 hr. ago. Don’t know why it’s like that. Mother Nature just can’t seem to make up Her mind! Today was mostly cloudy, spitting rain, and cool. Tomorrow is supposed to be nice! Just can’t seem to make up it’s mind!

    May 7, 2015
    • We are getting lots of it right now, lots of grey days, though the sun usually come out eventually. I hope it hasn’t made its mind that we are going to have another grey wet winter, not good at all. Thanks Les, I hope you get some sun.

      May 7, 2015
  5. I love the sunrise shots… Trees and all! 🙂 🙂

    May 7, 2015
    • Thank you so much, that is wonderful, 😀

      May 7, 2015
  6. grey or not they are lovely and those sunrises are gloriously ablaze!

    May 7, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, we do get some nice days and even on grey days the sun usually shines at some stage.

      May 7, 2015
  7. fantastic captures!

    May 7, 2015
  8. Sunrises have the wow factor and usually win with me but of your three bridge photos my favourite is actually the one taken at dawn. There’s something about the blue-grey tones that works exceptionally well with the angles of the man-made structure which then accentuates it within the image – if that makes sense.

    May 7, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, I love those bridges too, so I am pleased you like it too. I love the one taken at dawn as well. It does make sense and I like what you have said a lot.

      May 7, 2015
  9. Amy #

    What a treat to see these breathtaking shots! Thank you, Leanne!

    May 7, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say Amy, thank you so much.

      May 7, 2015
  10. Wow that bridge is amazing.

    May 7, 2015
    • I think so too Desley, thank you.

      May 7, 2015
      • Well what I meant to say is that you’ve captured the bridge beautifully. Really lovely.

        May 7, 2015
      • That’s great to too Desley, thank you so much.

        May 7, 2015
  11. love the moon shots, brilliant. Which sanctuary are you going to?

    May 7, 2015
  12. GOOD SHOTS! Was the long exposure shot of the bridge HDR? It favours it very much. And BTW, love the moon shot!

    May 7, 2015
    • Thank you, no it wasn’t one, the one with no sunrise was a HDR. Thanks again, I like photographing the moon.

      May 7, 2015
  13. Australia has some really interesting architecture and bridge designs from what I can tell from my visits and some of my relatives pictures. The grey clouds reflecting on the water under the bridge was really cool. Loses the feeling of water and bridges the gap between the surface and the sky.

    May 7, 2015
    • We do, it has been great to see some amazing buildings being built here, oh and bridges. I love it when you can get clouds reflected in water. Thank you.

      May 7, 2015
  14. I am becoming to like the overcast days. You will get better sunsets than usual.

    May 7, 2015
    • I love overcast days as long as there is definition in the clouds. Thanks Kevin, nice to meet someone else who likes them too.

      May 8, 2015
  15. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Great images! The one of the full moon is one of the best I’ve ever seen. I looked through a telescope once and this reminds me of that. I wonder if you are actually closer to the moon at this time of year? The craters are amazing.

    May 7, 2015
    • Thank you Jackie, there are lots of good photos of the moon, but glad you said that. I don’t know, I have no idea really, I should learn more about it. I still can’t get over the different view of it we get here.

      May 8, 2015
  16. Really wonderful images.

    May 7, 2015
  17. I love the Cattle Egret shot, all others are excellent too, of course.

    May 8, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, the cattle egret was a great capture.

      May 8, 2015
  18. Hey Leanne .. I have to try HDR don’t I? Top shots. You amaze me. I don’t know how you find time to do all the other social media .. makes me tired thinking about it 😀

    May 8, 2015
    • Why not Julie, we can take a look at them. I don’t have another life Julie, this is all I do, LOL. I get tired too. 😀

      May 8, 2015
      • You are amazing! LOL … You don’t have any time for anything else do you! That’s what I call passion!

        May 10, 2015
      • You’ll give me a big head Julie, haha, no not really, I am so busy, my head spins sometimes, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Passion, or my husband would say obsession. LOL

        May 10, 2015
  19. wezlo #

    That moon disk shot is stunning. If you do the same technique at a quarter or crescent moon the results will show even more detail at the terminator!

    May 29, 2015
    • I might have to try it sometime, though the lens I used for that has been returned, might have to try something else. Thank you.

      May 29, 2015

Comments are closed.

