Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Autumn Afternoon Along the Yarra River

melbourne-city-river-autum-sunset-1043

Autumn has to be one of the most stunning times to see Melbourne.  The weather is often just beautiful, lots of sunny days, cool evenings and mornings.  Then you have the landscape doted with trees changing colours as they get ready for winter. Unlike many other countries, most of our indigenous trees don’t lose their leaves for winter, so we don’t get the vibrant colours that other places get, but it is nice to see some of it.

melbourne-city-river-autum-sunset-1025

In the city there are trees everywhere that have been planted and are in the process of changing colours.  Well, they were last weekend when I spent the afternoon doing a One on One Photography session and taking photos along the Yarra River.

melbourne-city-river-autum-sunset-1028

The weather was stunning that day, and we haven’t had much weather like it since.  You can see in the sky there that there isn’t a cloud any where.

melbourne-city-river-autum-sunset-1036

This was a typical scene, look at the contrast of the autumn trees against the background buildings.

melbourne-city-river-autum-sunset-1038

One of the walking bridges over the Yarra River has been converted to a lock bridge and there are hundreds of locks on it.  I thought this one was really interesting.

melbourne-city-river-autum-sunset-1050

We headed down to the Seafarers Bridge to see if we could photograph the sunset, and we did. It wasn’t a brilliant sunset, but good enough.

melbourne-city-river-autum-sunset-1055

Of course we had to turn around to look back at the city.  This was one of the last images I took. The city lights were coming on and the clouds were moving by.  I should have tried a long exposure, but I didn’t think it was an appropriate thing to do with a student, the excursion was for them not me.

I had a lovely afternoon and think I got some wonderful photos to show how beautiful Melbourne can be in autumn.  I am fairly certain my student also got some great photos, some very similar to mine as well.

I hope your weekend is going well. It is Mothers Day here in Australia and I’m hoping my daughters are going to do french toast with strawberries for breakfast, but who knows.  I hope you have a lovely Sunday, we will be staying it, the weather is going to be horrible.

62 Comments
  1. Happy Mothers Day!

    May 10, 2015
  2. Great shot of the building reaching into the clear blue, blue sky framed by the trees in their autumn colours. 🙂

    May 10, 2015
    • That is the tallest building in Melbourne, so nice to get shots with it framed, thank you Ellie-Dee. 🙂

      May 10, 2015
  3. Lovely photos. I miss the changing of the foliage. Those living on a tropical island are deprived of nature’s autumnal changes.

    May 10, 2015
    • I wondered what happens in tropical places, that must be weird. I think I would miss seasons, though not summer so much. Thanks Jade.

      May 10, 2015
  4. Lovely shots. Our autumn has been breathtaking this year. The lighting has also been amazing. A great time of the year to be a photographer

    May 10, 2015
    • Ours has been good too Raewyn, though spoiled by constant rain now and no chance to get out. It is a great time of year to be a photographer, I love this time of year. Thank you Raewyn.

      May 10, 2015
  5. Such a beautiful city 🙂

    May 10, 2015
    • I think it is one of the best. 🙂

      May 10, 2015
  6. Beautiful handling of the light, Leanne. All those wonderful blues and golds are really appealing. I first saw “love locks” on a fence along the River Seine many years ago now and it seems like in the past couple of years the tradition has taken off all over the place. I am not surprised your eye was drawn to that fish lock. It is much more charming than all the standard padlocks. Extra brownie points to which ever lover chose that lock.

    May 10, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, the city along the river was lovely with those colours. It has taken off, this one is becoming full of them, I loved the fish lock, quite unusual. Oh yes, a lot of extra points.

      May 10, 2015
  7. I sometimes forget we are in opposite seasons, Leanne…we are having our springtime now, and the leaves have returned to their myriad shades of green. The pink and white dogwoods and colorful azaleas bloomed and peaked in April. Seeing your gorgeous images reminds me that, although we are seasons away from each other, we both love the same scenes. Enjoy.

    May 10, 2015
    • Yes, it is easy to forget, sounds like it has been lovely where you are Sheila, I guess we will get the same in a few months, though we don’t tend to get the same level of change that the northern hemisphere get, most trees here keep their leaves during winter. We also get a lot of natives that will start flowering in winter. It is lovely, but then we don’t get much colour in summer. Thanks Sheila.

      May 10, 2015
  8. Lovely set of Melbourne shots. Like Wellington the trees off set the concrete jungle. Des.

    May 10, 2015
    • They do Des, it is lovely to see the bits of colour in a grey world. Thank you.

      May 10, 2015
  9. Stunning photos as usual Leanne. Wow. I love the lock shots especially. Can you tell me what that structure is – the man holding what looks like a shovel? Happy Mother’s Day. Fingers crossed for strawberries!!

    May 10, 2015
    • Thank you Desley, I’ve never photographed the locks before, there are some interesting ones there. It is a sculpture, part of a whole heap that are on a bridge, if you go two shots back you can see more of them. They are huge and very hard to photograph, I find anyway. Thank you, and yes, I am hoping for strawberries as well, hopefully they will wake up sometime today.

      May 10, 2015
      • I’ve been to Melbourne a million times and never seen them before. How cool. LOL still in bed! I’m still in pjs, I should get organized and head to mama’s now….

        May 10, 2015
      • They are on the Sandringham Bridge, I think it’s called, the old railway bridge that they converted to a walking bridge. It is between the white arch bridge with all the locks and the Queen Street bridge. Haha, I’m still in my pj’s but on my computer, think I might need another coffee, Have a nice time with your mum, I better ring mine.

        May 10, 2015
      • Thanks Leanne. You too.

        May 10, 2015
      • 😀

        May 10, 2015
  10. What a way to showcase Melbourne! Great shots and I love the last one with the reflected city lights… Stunning😊

    May 10, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, I love seeing the reflected city in the river.

      May 10, 2015
  11. An entertaining set of shots. Thank you.

    May 10, 2015
  12. Happy mother’s day! Hope you enjoy some pampering!

    May 10, 2015
    • Thank you Cynthia, is it Mothers Day where you are Cynthia, Happy Mothers day to you too. I have to wait for the pampering, they may wake up around lunchtime.

      May 10, 2015
      • Thanks, yes it’s Mother’s Day tomorrow. I’m excited about the rum cake that I’m baking to take to my mother-in-law’s house tomorrow 🙂

        May 10, 2015
      • Oh yes, the time difference, I forget about that at times, the rum cake sounds good, send some my way, hahaha. 😉

        May 10, 2015
      • It’s still baking, but hopefully almost done. Then it needs to sit for at least 12 hours to soak up all the syrup that you pour on when it comes out of the oven….I only make this for a special occasion, it’s not exactly an everyday cake. But really delicious and worth the effort and calories. I’ll send you a virtual piece tomorrow!

        May 10, 2015
      • Ooohh I look forward to the Cynthia, I want a description of how good it is too.

        May 10, 2015
      • I posted a few photos of it plus a link to the recipe if you ever want to give it a try! https://cynthiamvoss.wordpress.com/2015/05/10/mothers-day-rum-cake/

        May 11, 2015
      • Thank you Cynthia, I might have to give it go.

        May 11, 2015
  13. Great pix Leanne. I love the sunset pic.

    May 10, 2015
    • Thank you, it is nice to get one finally, I always seem to miss out.

      May 10, 2015
  14. Karen #

    Beautiful shots Leanne, and happy mothers day.

    May 10, 2015
  15. Great autumn pictures! Happy Mother’s Day, Leanne!

    May 10, 2015
  16. Great pics! Thank you for your “like” on my page.. really appreciate it. Come visit again soon (:

    May 10, 2015
    • You’re welcome, will do my best.

      May 10, 2015
  17. Loved this set Leanne – particularly the one under a bridge and also looking up at the tall building from underneath some bridge like structure, cool shots 🙂

    May 10, 2015
    • Thank you StillWalks, I love taking photos under that bridge, it is a challenging one. It is a bridge, one with an arch over the top. 🙂

      May 11, 2015
  18. Some lovely colour contrasts there with the autumnal hues in counterpoint to the steely glass blues. Also liked the fish padlock – nicely spotted. Hope you were treated to your eggy bread!

    May 10, 2015
    • Thank you Graham, I love autumn and it does like quite interesting against that backdrop. I thought the fish padlock was amazing, not sure I would have left it there if it were mine, but nice to see. I was, lovely french toast with strawberries, bacon and maple syrup.

      May 11, 2015
  19. Gorgeous shots! And happy Mother’sDay, hope you had your special breakfast ! 🙂

    May 10, 2015
    • Thank you Zelmare, is it Mother’s Day there as well, happy mother’s day to you too. I did, my girls finally woke up and I got french toast with strawberries, bacon and maple syrup, very nice.

      May 11, 2015
  20. I love these photos! The colours are just so beautiful, loved this post 🙂

    May 11, 2015
  21. Answering my longstanding question: Does the foliage change on the other side of the world. If you stick a pin through the earth in Boston, it would come out more or less in Melbourne, so I’m glad to see you have autumn too. It’s our best time of year.

    May 11, 2015
    • It certainly does Marilyn, and the weather is usually really good too. Though not all our trees do, most don’t, but there are enough to make you realize it is autumn. How funny we are almost opposite, Boston sounds beautiful. Thanks Marilyn.

      May 11, 2015
  22. You have such a beautiful city Leanne. I have to come back one day. Thanks for the great gallery today. Best wishes 🙂

    May 11, 2015
    • I think so Andrew, I love it here, you will, come and I will show you around. You’re welcome and thank you too. 🙂

      May 11, 2015
  23. Great pictures!

    ———–
    http://travelingrockhopper.com

    May 11, 2015
  24. LB #

    The contrast between the trees and the buildings is striking. Love the reflections, the bridges and the different architectural elements. What a great day to be outside, walking and taking photos.

    May 11, 2015
    • It was a great day Laurie, then the weather turned and it has been horrible nearly every day since, oh well. This weekend is meant to be nice. Thank you.

      May 12, 2015
  25. What wonderful shots. That lock was the best ever. Beautiful.

    May 12, 2015
    • Thank you Elen, I loved that lock too.

      May 12, 2015
  26. Hi Leanne,

    Great photos! You did get the clouds to blur. That looks good. The fish lock is amazing. The colors and composition of that photo are beautiful too. I saw my first lock bridge in Paris in 2013. I didn’t know what it was from a distance. It looked weird. We were on a boat on the Seine. When we walked over it, my husband explained it to me. Anyway, that’s an interesting shot. I love the sunset too. They are all amazing.

    Nicci

    May 12, 2015
    • I did, that was more the time of the day rather than the me doing anything though. I loved that lock, don’t think I could have left it there. It only started here recently, well a couple of years ago. I’ve heard they want to cut them off because they are getting too heavy for the bridge, but that could just be a story. Thanks Nicci.

      May 12, 2015

Comments are closed.

