Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Putting it Out There

Busy day for me today, my personal life is getting in the way of my photography unfortunately, so today I am just going to show you some of the photos I’ve had on my social media sites.  I also have some news.

ESSENCE OF PIERS EXHIBITION

I don’t know if you remember that I was in an exhibition earlier in the year, one on street photography.  Not really something that I do a lot of, however the group, SITHOM was asked if they wanted to provide work for an exhibition for the Boating Industry Association of Victoria – Melbourne Boat Show.  So emails went around and I was a definite yes as soon as I heard about it.  An exhibition about the waterways around Victoria, more my thing.  The images could be of anywhere, but had to have some element of boating.  We were each allowed to enter 3 images, and I’m going to show you mine now.

It is nice to be getting more work in another exhibition.  I have a press release on it as well, let’s see if I can get this to work. Media release May 3 2015.

The exhibition is on during the Boat Show, from June the 12th to the 15th, at the main Exhibition Centre in Melbourne.

Birds in Banyule Flats

I was out taking photos with a friend last week and we went looking for the Tawny Frogmouths, but only found two. They were very cooperative and let us take lots of photos of them. One was doing its impersonation of a branch, which was fun.

Boating Industry Association of Victoria - Melbourne Boat ShowThe image was taken with the Tamron SP 150-600mm lens, and this time I was trying out a Velbon monopod with a ball head.  The monopod comes with the ball head, which is nice.  I found I couldn’t get the head tightened up enough that it would stay absolutely still, or be fixed tightly, but in the end that worked out well.  While the camera wouldn’t go swinging around on it, there was enough give that you could easily move the camera and lens around on it.  It was good, I could move the camera and lens quickly.  I will definitely use it again with the lens.

I’m leaving it there, I hope you have a nicer day than I’m going to.  Take care.

88 Comments
  1. AJ #

    The lighthouse photo is spectacular.

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you, I wonder if anyone will buy it.

      May 14, 2015
  2. Congratulations on another exhibit Leanne! Love, all the images on this post!

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you John, nice to be getting some work out there.

      May 14, 2015
  3. Reblogged this on O LADO ESCURO DA LUA.

    May 14, 2015
  4. Fabulous (as always)

    May 14, 2015
  5. Great boat themed shots, Leanne, and those birds are cool. He does look like a branch!

    May 14, 2015
    • Doesn’t he, so funny, thank you Jane.

      May 14, 2015
  6. Congratulations on the exhibition. The last picture with the big lens is wonderful

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you and I thought you might like the Tawny’s.

      May 14, 2015
  7. Congratulations Leanne! It’s nice to get your work out there. I loved the Tawny Frogmouth impersonation 🙂

    May 14, 2015
    • I love the way they do that so cute. Thank you the exhibition should be good.

      May 14, 2015
  8. Great minds think alike. Big Frogmouth splash today! Check out http://sv-takeiteasy.com/2015/05/14/bird-photography-challenge-18-tawny-frogmouth/
    Beautiful, beautiful images for the boat show. Well done on being invited to exhibit. You are a champ!

    May 14, 2015
    • Oh yes, I will take a look, have to wait until I get home. Thanks Chris they should look good, the show should be great too.

      May 14, 2015
  9. Congratulations on the exhibit. The lighthouse is a stunner!!!!

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you Cate that was an image I was determined to get.

      May 14, 2015
      • “How I got That Image” might be a good theme for articles for the new magazine!

        May 14, 2015
      • I like that, so do you mean, like a tutorial, or from taking the photo to the final image?

        May 14, 2015
      • As a tutorial would be great.

        May 14, 2015
      • I will add it to the list Cate. I have been thinking about doing some similar things there too.

        May 15, 2015
  10. Congrats on the exhibitions Leanne – that’s always a good thing to be out there 🙂 Great images too.
    Love the owls.. aren’t they characters?! I never see these, so it’s such a treat to see them so closely.

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you Robyn, it is good, another one for the CV.
      I’m surprised you don’t see these guys where you are, they are very good at hiding.

      May 14, 2015
  11. You’re going to stun at the exhibition, Leanne. Even among the best, the range and beauty of your 3 selections will stand out (in my amateur opinion).

    May 14, 2015
    • thank you for saying that, although I think there will be many stunning images, the group I’m exhibiting with are very talented. You are so kind. 😀

      May 14, 2015
  12. Amy #

    Remarkable lighthouse shot! Magnificent sunset capture, Leanne!

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, I love the lighthouse shot, might have to try more of those this winter.

      May 14, 2015
  13. Wonderful lighting on these images.

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you Tim, it is great when the lighting works in your favour.

      May 14, 2015
  14. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Good catch, Leanne. Those Tawny Frogmouths are very peculiar birds. 🙂

    May 14, 2015
    • Yes, they are Jackie, so cute too, don’t you think, I love the whiskas. 🙂

      May 14, 2015
  15. Lovely, Leanne!

    janet

    May 14, 2015
  16. wow – I was so excited to see the pair of tawny frogmouth owls!! how wonderful – you got a fantastic shot of them, love it!

    May 14, 2015
    • Though Debi, they aren’t owls, though many people think they are, they are just wonderful though, I’m so glad you like them. Thank you.

      May 14, 2015
      • ah ha! tricky little devils 🙂 very hard to spot, I’d bushwalked for years in NSW before seeing any. Once.

        May 14, 2015
      • Oh yes they are, I have been told where they are here, so I know where to look, that helps a lot. Come to Melbourne Debi and I will show you where some are.

        May 14, 2015
  17. Leanne these are 4 incredible photos you are sharing on the page. I especially love the lighthouse night shot effects . The Mopokes are great . If you have time check my Tawny Frogmouths at https://haikuhound.wordpress.com/2015/01/12/go-away/

    May 14, 2015
    • thank you Denis, they are great birds, I love being able to see them anytime. You have some good photos as well. I will have to keep trying.

      May 14, 2015
  18. The boat related photos are breathtaking!

    May 14, 2015
  19. Good news about the exhibition Leanne!

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you Gypsy, it is good news, nice to be in some shows again.

      May 14, 2015
  20. Love the one with the lighthouse!!! As if launching a cruise missile ( 😀 )

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank Herman, it worked it pretty well. 😀

      May 14, 2015
  21. Your exhibition photos are gorgeous Leanne. Will they be for sale in the exhibition?

    May 14, 2015
    • Thanks Carol, yes they will be for sale, not a lot of money, but that’s okay, they can be sold multiple times. It will be interesting to see if anyone buys any.

      May 14, 2015
  22. Wow these are great! I love them 🙂

    May 14, 2015
  23. Wonderful .. Wonderful photos. You are so clever. Congrats too. I hope all is ok?

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, not sure about that, but I have a few tricks up my sleeves. Yes, all good.

      May 14, 2015
  24. Beautiful photographs….and congratulations on your upcoming exhibition!

    May 14, 2015
  25. WOW! Stunning photos! :}

    May 14, 2015
  26. poppytump #

    Ah SO nice to hear of your success on the Exhibition front Leanne ! All very striking images and with the Leanne Cole stamp 🙂
    How comical are those owls ! Last time I saw an owl he was taking flight out of his hidey hole after some woman with a camera came looking for a shot . one that definitely got away Lol

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you Poppytump, nice to show some work in the real world, as opposed to the virtual world.
      They are cute little ones, they hunt at night and sleep during the day, though apparently not owls, not sure exactly what they are. Sorry yours got away, maybe next time LOL. 🙂

      May 15, 2015
  27. What great timing on your lighthouse and Milky Way capture, Leanne. And the other “boat related” images are just great as well. Bravo my friend :-))

    May 14, 2015
    • Shh Dan, it was planned, haha. I had been there a couple of days before and knew it was possible, so when I went back I looked for a spot where I could get that shot, it was exactly what I wanted. Thank you Dan.

      May 15, 2015
      • Well, good planning nonetheless. And I’ll definitely mumms the word, lol :-))

        May 15, 2015
      • Thanks Dan, though it worked better than I thought, which was brilliant. 😀

        May 15, 2015
  28. LOVE the pic of the birds! CUTE lil creatures. 🙂

    May 14, 2015
    • Thanks RoSy, they are funny one. 🙂

      May 15, 2015
  29. Congratulations on the exhibit, Leanne! Absolutely stunning images! As for the birds, just saw these on Chris’s site – what fun to go out together 🙂

    May 14, 2015
    • Thank you Stacy, Yes, has a few on hers too, funny we both posted them at the same time. It was, good fun, we often go out together, it is great having people to go with. 🙂

      May 15, 2015
  30. Always beautiful ❤

    May 15, 2015
  31. You know – I only spotted the second owl, when I read your comment about ‘impersonating a branch’!! Wow… that was such a weird moment, I had to do a double-take. A well-captured shot.

    May 15, 2015
    • Thank you Reggie, they do that when people come close, it is their way of trying to stay camouflaged, I’ve seen it a few times now.

      May 15, 2015
  32. All these photos are totally stunning Leanne. The three for the Piers Exhibition are superb…and that would have been enough and you go and stun us with the bird shot. You are so, so good and it was a delight to see them.

    May 15, 2015
    • Thank you Karen, had to pick some of my best. I’m lucky the birds are near when I live, so I can photograph them any time. I’m glad you enjoyed seeing them.

      May 15, 2015
  33. the lighthouse pointing to the Milky Way is poetic and my inspiration for the day!!

    May 15, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, I do love that shot, it was the shot for that night.

      May 15, 2015
  34. Congrats on the exhibition, Leanne!! The lighthouse is my favorite of the pics. Did you use one of ND filters to take it? I saw Chris’s photos of the TF birds – how cool are they?!?

    May 15, 2015
    • Thank you Kirsten. No, I didn’t use any filters for the lighthouse, you don’t need them for shots like that. Oh yes, funny we both posted our photos at the same time, what are the odd? They are very cool birds.

      May 15, 2015
  35. Congrats on the exhibition! Beautiful shots.

    May 15, 2015
  36. Those birds are adorable–especially that little chubby one sitting down! Such a great photo.

    May 15, 2015
    • They are Lois, I like that I can usually find them to photograph. Thanks.

      May 15, 2015
  37. Reblogged this on DJ Images.

    May 15, 2015
  38. Those birds are so interesting and new to me..thanks for sharing them!! I enjoy lighthouse photography but have never tried anything like you have with the lighthouse and milky way!! It is really wonderful! I hope your day ended up nicer than you expected!

    May 16, 2015
    • You’re welcome, they are quite funny birds, I love them. I like trying things, and this was a image I had in my head, but the reality of it worked out far better I think. Thank you so much Judy, it was a great day, but it is over, and onto the next step now.

      May 16, 2015
  39. Absolutely stunning~ I am in love with the lighthouse image!

    May 18, 2015
    • Thank you Cynthia, I hope others feel the same way.

      May 18, 2015

Comments are closed.

