Skip to content

UfD: 5 Things I Wished I’d Never Wasted Money On

Since last week we talked about what we couldn’t live without, so this week it seemed only fitting to talk about the things we wished we had never bought. I know I have a few, luckily for me none of them were really expensive, but still, there were a few things.

1 – Remote shutter release off Amazon

When I was giving up the cycling photography and taking up more landscape and architectural photography I knew I would need a remote shutter release for my camera. I went searching for a Nikon MC-36. They aren’t cheap and I thought I’d got a great deal on Amazon, so I got it, cost me just over $100.  When it arrived I was concerned about the quality, the cover for the batteries kept coming off and I had to tape it up.  Then after about two months it stopped working.  I had a close look at it and realized it was broken.

melbourne-fitzroy-gardens-conservatory-flowers-9I did two things, I contacted the people I had purchased it from, and they told me the return period was over and there was nothing they could do, or would do.  I also contacted Nikon and asked them why they were producing sub standard products, where in I was told, or advised, that possibly the real problem was that it was a fake Nikon product.  The penny dropped, so to speak there. I was out of pocket just over $100.  Apparently the tip off was the price, it should have cost a lot more money.

I ordered another one, this time from a reputable company and then compared them.  It was amazing how similar they were, but there were tiny differences and if you didn’t know what you were looking for, you would’ve had no idea.  So getting my MC-36 Remote Shutter Release ended up costing me a whole lot more than it should have.

2 – Cheap ND Filters

When I first started getting into using ND filters I bought some online, from Ebay somewhere.  I had no idea what I was looking for and it was hard working out what was good and what wasn’t.  The problem was that brand names weren’t big and it was hard to work out what was good and what wasn’t.  Of course these days if you were thinking of getting filters, you could ask me and I would be able to help a lot more.

I ordered some filters, I don’t remember how much they were, but I was so excited to use them.  I went away for the weekend down to Sorrento and I took so many photos with them. When I saw them on the computer all I could see was magenta, a lot of magenta.  They gave a melbourne-fitzroy-gardens-conservatory-flowers-11very bad colour cast, money wasted.  I did a lot more research when I went looking for my next one, spent more money and made sure I got one from a reputable company.

3 – Variable ND Filter

I have to admit, I knew I was wasting my money when I ordered this.  It was $12, but I thought, you never know, maybe, maybe I can get something with it.  I was doubtful, but you never know.  Well it arrived and as I thought, it was a total waste of money.  One of those if it seems to cheap to believe, then it probably is.

4 – Tamrac Camera Strap

None of my cameras have the straps that came with them.  Nikon advertise on their camera straps and I didn’t like walking around with a camera that had a strap advertising exactly what camera I have, and to certain extent how much the camera was worth.  If people get close enough they can see what it is, but I prefer not to advertise too much.

melbourne-fitzroy-gardens-conservatory-flowers-4For my previous cameras I bought a couple of Crumpler camera straps.  They were a bit pricey, but they were great.  Very comfortable to use.  When I got my new camera I thought I would try a different one and I purchased a Tamrac Camera Strap. It wasn’t as expensive, and it was comfortable to use, but then one day I was out and looked at the strap and realised it had almost come undone. If I hadn’t looked when I did my camera would have dropped to the ground.  I did it up again, and over time I realised it kept doing it.  I wasn’t comfortable with the strap doing that, so I had to take it off and put one of my Crumpler camera straps back on. It has been on the camera ever since, with the Tamrac one in the cupboard, possibly being assigned to the bin soon.

5 – Canon IXUS Camera

A couple of years ago I went to photography show and they were selling some small Canon IXUS compact cameras very cheaply, $100.  I suspect they were old stock and they were getting rid of them.  They seemed like a bit of fun, so why not.  At the melbourne-fitzroy-gardens-conservatory-flowers-2time the camera on my phone didn’t work very well, so I thought it could be a good alternative.  Not long after I got it, my phone was replaced, so I had a camera that worked.

My girls and I went to the beach and they took off with the compact camera.  They mucked around taking lots of photos of themselves and other thing. By the time they were finished and the camera was handed back to me, something wasn’t working.  The lens cap shutters weren’t working anymore. it wouldn’t close or open properly.  They were too fiddly.

I put it away and forgot about it. A couple of times I’ve brought it out and the lens shutter thingy plays up at times, so it has become something I can’t rely on.  Late last year I got another new phone, and I tend to use the camera in that a lot more. So the reality is I do wish I had never purchased this camera. It isn’t that it is a bad camera, but just not something I should have bought.

There you are, my 5 things.  Do you have things you wished you had never purchased?  I think we all do.  The photos today were all taken with the Canon IXUS compact camera.

130 Comments
  1. Sucks to buy things & find out or see that you shouldn’t have.

    I have a nice list of things.I will share 2.
    Many years ago – I bought a stupid overrated & overpriced rainbow vac.
    What the hell was I thinking?
    I wasn’t.
    A couple of years ago I bought a patio umbrella at Restoration Harware outlett store & it didn’t even last half a summer. They would not accept a return or a refund. Per their policy – I had 30 days. Sorry- but – if I pay a certain amount above average for something – I expect it to last longer than half a summer. Poor customer service.

    Anywho- great pictures! 😀

    May 15, 2015
    • It does RoSy, though I suppose that is always the risk of buying things on the internet.
      Sorry to hear the things you shouldn’t have bought, thanks for sharing those RoSy. 😀

      May 15, 2015
  2. It’s surprising how much fake, branded equipment is out there, especially with accessories. As for the Canon IXUS, only the spec sheet was impressive.

    My daughter, Tara, her iPhone 1 & 3 were always one problem after another. Laurie ended up replacing it with a Samsung Galaxy 3. This past Christmas, the daughters’ phones were upgraded to BlackBerry Z10’s – got a good deal on the plans from my service provider.

    May 15, 2015
    • Yes, it is, you really have to be careful, I’ve heard of fake lenses, and cameras, so best to buy from reputable places, where you know you get that warranty. It wasn’t a great camera.

      I have the Galaxy Note 4, it takes great photos, not so good in low light, but that is to be expected. Thanks for sharing that David.

      May 15, 2015
  3. The only thing I regret buying is the 18-55 mm kit lens that came with my D5100. I do not use this lens anymore and it not really a good lens, average for the quality of the image, the focal length is good only for portrait or family photo.

    I should have bought the body only and another lens separately. A 50 mm f/1.8 would have been better but I was getting back to photography, did not know much about lens and the main driver behind my purchase was the money.

    May 15, 2015
    • That’s interesting Nelson, I haven’t got that lens, all the cameras I’ve purchased, I just got the body and then added the lenses I wanted to them.
      I think that is something that happens to many people when they start, not really knowing what they are buying. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

      May 15, 2015
  4. the images are beautiful and yes, I hear you!! However, I am thinking of purchasing a full frame camera off ebay- am I taking to0 big a chance? lol. I have limited funds at the moment!

    May 15, 2015
    • Thanks Cybele, I don’t know, I’ve never bought anything like that from ebay, how reputable is the seller, what rating do they get. Though you can’t trust those, I’ve given people bad ratings and then they come back and offer you money to remove it, I haven’t accepted the money and left it there.

      May 15, 2015
    • Cybele, Ask for a JPEG and get a shutter actuation (available online) count – match the metadata from this JPEG when you get the camera to make sure the serial# is the same…if not, complain to ebay (quickly) – low clicks lowers your chances of a dud…

      May 15, 2015
      • Can I add, make sure you pay with Paypal, they will make sure you get your money back if it turns out to be a bad deal as well.

        May 15, 2015
      • thank you Robert!!

        May 15, 2015
    • I have bought a D3 and a D3s new off EBay and a D800 from an Australian etailor. I find the Hong Kong vendors are usually pretty reliable. However, it is a good idea to look up online reviews of the seller.

      Second hand is more of a lottery because you may be buying a camera someone has hardly used or they might be selling it because there is something wrong with it. Either way, you’ll probably get a large saving on the new price. In this case, consider the plausibility of the seller, check their return policy and test the camera thoroughly when you get it. For an even safer option, buy from KEH or the second hand departments of B&H or Adorama.

      May 15, 2015
      • You have to be careful doing that too though, Nikon won’t give the warranty if it was bought from a non Nikon dealer, so if there is something wrong with it, then you’ve done your money. Unless you are lucky enough to buy it from a dealer that will give you their own warranty.

        May 15, 2015
      • thanks Murray!

        May 15, 2015
      • That applies to cameras but not to lenses which have a world wide warranty. Anything you buy you need to test carefully and send it back if required. Sellers of new cameras usually have their own warranties if Nikon’s does not apply. If it doesn’t fail immediately it will probably keep going for quite a while. Worst case, you’re probably up for the cost of a repair rather than a new camera. It’s not like the US here where Nikon refuse to repair grey imports.

        I once bought a 300mm f2.8 through EBay from Hong Kong (well, that’s the sort of thing you only do once). The autofocus failed when I was testing it on the first or second day. I used the seller’s courier to send it back to him at no charge and received a new one (a different lens) from Nikon a week or two later.

        May 15, 2015
      • I haven’t had to test that here, but I know Nikon here don’t accept grey imports, I learned that the hard way.
        You were lucky I think. I just don’t do it. I buy here.

        May 15, 2015
      • I think that would be for cameras. On the Nikon site they have a heading: “NIKON WORLDWIDE SERVICE WARRANTY (For film products and lenses)”. Hence I could return the lens and it was under a Nikon warranty.

        For the last year or so buying in Australia is usually cheaper than Hong Kong anyway.

        May 16, 2015
      • You might be able to do that, as I said I’ve never had to test it, but you wouldn’t be able to if it was bought on the grey market. If it isn’t purchased from an authorised Nikon Dealer, they won’t help you.I have enough gear to be a member of their NPS but because I purchased a bit of great on the grey market they won’t acknowledge that I have it.

        May 16, 2015
      • I found an interesting quote on this on the net: “…If you buy a Nikon lens it comes with an international warranty which applies everywhere INCLUDING AUSTRALIA. Nikon have an amendment to the warranty posted on their web site [http://ww2.nikon.com.au/warranty.php] which says you must purchase through an Australian Nikon dealer for the International warranty to be valid. A friend has recently tested this with VCAT who upheld his claim against Nikon Australia and affirmed Nikon international lens warranties must be honored by Nikon Australia.

        Clearly, Nikon has tried to change things to suit themselves and avoid servicing legitimate Nikon products – that just happened to be bought overseas and which carry an Nikon Corporation international warranty. So, it appears with lenses you are safe…”

        May 16, 2015
      • I am saying that if the product is not purchased through an authorised Nikon Dealer then they won’t honour it. If you buy on the grey market and get a lens or camera from a non authorised place, then you want get a Nikon warranty. There are stories of people buying what they thought were Nikon products and it turns out they were fakes. I’ve had it happen to me.

        May 16, 2015
      • I’ve never thought about joining NPS. I’m a full time photographer but don’t seek income from it. That’s probably OK. According to their definitions I have 3 professional cameras and 7 pro lenses. The cameras I probably bought in Oz but may not have receipts for. Of the lenses, one was purchased second hand, one is a Sigma (35mm f1.4) and I think the other 5 were all purchased in Hong Kong. So no, no chance for me either.

        May 16, 2015
      • Well if you buy gear on the grey market you won’t be accepted. I found that out the hard way. I had one camera purchased here with an authorised dealer, the other two were from a grey market company getting gear from Hong Kong, so I missed out.

        May 16, 2015
      • That’s certainly true for cameras. There’s no world wide warranty for them.

        May 17, 2015
      • No, there isn’t, though that is the same for many brands.

        May 17, 2015
      • Fakes are a different matter. You wouldn’t expect them to accept a warranty on those.

        May 17, 2015
      • No, and from what I’ve heard from Nikon there are a lot out there.

        May 17, 2015
  5. the only items I would not have purchased would be clunky photo apps or bad camera apps for my phones. The stock camera on most phones are junk.

    May 15, 2015
    • I have to admit, I don’t think I have bought any of those, then again, I’m not trying to get by using my phone as my main camera, you’ve been doing lots of experimenting. Thanks John.

      May 15, 2015
    • I have to admit, I don’t think I have bought any of those, then again, I’m not trying to get by using my phone as my main camera, you’ve been doing lots of experimenting. Thanks John.

      May 15, 2015
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    “Never gamble more than you can afford to lose.” I’ve found that if it seems to good to be true, it probably is. When researching things, check to see if they have a brick-and-mortar store – an address you can look up on Google Earth. The ‘street view’ will let you see a storefront. See if there is a phone number with people who speak English. If you have a problem, an owner speaking your language will help.

    We are near New York and they have a terrible time with counterfeit or fake merchandise so we are extra careful. However, my husband used to take the girls there once a year to get fake watches. It was not to get a great watch as much as a tradition. Anyway, sometimes the products will fall apart in your hands and on rare occasion some work pretty good. Again, never gamble than you can afford to lose. PS: Camera shops sometimes get taken by the “safe money bug”, too.

    Amazon will refund your money if you do it within the time frame. In Amazon, if you need to refund or you never received the merchandise, you can google “Contact Amazon.com” or “Call Amazon.com” and get to a page that offers options to contact them: E-mail, telephone call (they call you) or by chat.

    Amazon here has been contracting out to the United States Postal Service (USPS) to deliver packages. The problem I find is that things never arrive. I got a human at Amazon and explained that it just never got to my door and I either get replacements or a refund.

    My husband looks for cheap and I look for quality; this week he had to return cheap printer toner that would not work. He ended up buying the brand that cost more but he knows it will fit. Cheap things waste time, money and aggravation. I had a boss once that used to calculate the cost of refunding things against the value of his time.

    I liked this post. 🙂

    May 15, 2015
    • That’s a good point Jackie, and I usually think that too. Most of the stuff I’ve got has been from Chine or Hong Kong, somewhere like that. All on ebay.
      I tried to contact Amazon, but didn’t get anywhere, I just never buy that sort of thing from them, unless I do my research on who they are, especially now that Amazon is selling stuff, or rather providing a market place for shonky dealers, like what you find on Ebay.
      I’ve had lots of parcels that have done missing, well a few and Amazon, just send it out again, always good to know that.
      I look for both, I work out what I want, then decide where I am going to buy and from whom.
      Thanks Jackie, glad you liked it.

      May 15, 2015
    • Amazon doesn’t ship photographic equipment to Australia.

      May 15, 2015
      • Some things they do, some things they don’t, depends on what it is. But Amazon also are like a department store now for other dealers, which is where I got mine from.

        May 15, 2015
      • You’re right. They’re not as restrictive as I thought. At a quick check, they won’t ship cameras or batteries but they will ship tripods and lenses.

        May 15, 2015
      • Yeah, there are things they will and things they won’t and some of it is just silly.

        May 15, 2015
  7. There is a pawn shop which is fraudulent. I wish I hadn’t gone there. Substandard AND overly expensive ware. :/

    May 15, 2015
    • Isn’t that what pawn shops are all about, I have never been to one. 😐

      May 15, 2015
  8. OMG — I love your photos!!

    May 15, 2015
    • thank you Julie, these were just taken with that cheap compact camera.

      May 15, 2015
      • It’s all photographer, then!!!

        May 15, 2015
      • I don’t know, maybe. 😀

        May 15, 2015
    • Just to post on the web you don’t need an expensive camera. 6MP should be enough resolution. You’re more limited for light conditions and focusing on moving objects but for flowers there is even something of an advantage because a small sensor camera inherently has a large depth of field.

      May 15, 2015
      • Thanks for that Murray, so you are saying that my photos have nothing to do with me taking them.

        May 15, 2015
      • No, I’m not saying that. I’m just saying it’s open to everyone to take good photos, almost irrespective of equipment, as long as you are aware of the limitations of that equipment and how to use it optimally. Most people don’t but they could.

        Good flower photos.

        May 15, 2015
      • Yeah, that is very true Murray, I agree with that.

        May 15, 2015
  9. Interesting and helpful! Just wondering what amazon had to say about the retailer who was selling the counterfeit Nikon shutter release. Did they get involved at all?

    May 15, 2015
    • I don’t remember really, I think I had trouble getting onto them, that’s the problem with these big companies now, too big at times. Nikon just said it was a fake, and that I need to be careful where I buy it from.

      May 15, 2015
      • Wow that’s really disappointing to hear about amazon. Sorry you had to deal with that mess.

        May 15, 2015
      • It was a lesson learned, and one that I never repeated, so in that respect it was good.

        May 15, 2015
      • Nice of you to pass the story on to others as a warning!

        May 15, 2015
      • It is good to let people be aware.

        May 15, 2015
  10. Very helpful – thank you. I know what I need to think about when buying a remote shutter release now.

    May 15, 2015
    • Yes, make sure you buy one from stores that have a good reputation. You’re welcome, glad to have helped.

      May 15, 2015
  11. There seem to be a lot of places where you can spend money or save money. When purchasing photography gear it seems like you have to spend. If you try to save, you’ll probably end up losing.

    May 15, 2015
    • It does, what I tend to know is work out what I want, then shop around for, still looking for the best price, but from places I know I will get what I am ordering. If you try and save too much, yes, you can get bitten, that’s for sure. Thanks Emilio.

      May 15, 2015
    • You’re right Emilio. I bought 3 knock off batteries for my Canon, 2 still work but the third doesn’t

      May 15, 2015
  12. A very expensive regret. Leica M240. Great paperweight, poor camera.

    May 15, 2015
    • I thought they were supposed to be like the Rolls Royce of cameras, that would be a massive regret. Thanks for sharing that Andrew.

      May 15, 2015
  13. Probably all those film cameras and great lenses purchase but not used much because I was always involved in something else. Figured I’d use them more once I retired but then digital came along. They’re now worthless.

    May 15, 2015
    • Oh that would be a big disappointment. Though there is a market for film cameras, lots of young people want them because they think film is better. So you might be able to sell them. Thanks for sharing that.

      May 15, 2015
  14. I don’t have 5 things, but I did purchase a box of inexpensive colored filters. I haven’t even used them yet because I haven’t a clue why I would use a purple filter for a picture. Is there a reason to use a color filter?!?

    May 15, 2015
    • I got some of those too. I have no idea what you would use them for, like the red one, perhaps with black and white film photography I can see a use, but not these days. They were good for B&W film, you could get some good effects, but much of that you can now do in Photoshop.

      May 15, 2015
  15. I have the older Sigma 50mm lens I wish now I hadn’t bought because it’s upgrade, the 50mm Art lens, is soooooo much better! Anybody want to buy a barely used lens? 🙂

    May 15, 2015
    • Haha, sorry, I have a 50mm already, I’m sure you could sell it on ebay. I hate it when that happens, just get something, and then they bring out something better. Thanks for that. 🙂

      May 15, 2015
  16. I am not that far as I didn’t buy much extra gear yet, however, I got a free lesson already that could have cost money if my uncle would not have gifted me a tripod 😀

    It’s just two weeks ago when my uncle called me by phone to tell me that he found a great tripod in his basement (he didn’t stay interested in photography). He said I could have it, and I got it. At home when I played with this thing my first thoughts were “Man, I don’t but a $1000 camera on that thing” 😀 I called him and asked that it was nice of him and asked if he wants the tripod back as it seemed too instable for a semi-pro DSLR. He said put it on Ebay or whatnot.

    The company is called Hama and they offer a lot of cheap tripods in the local stores. If my uncle wouldn’t have gifted me his tripod, I would have bought one of these tripods because the prices look satisfying, I would have learned the lesson with money then I think, but now it was free 😀

    May 15, 2015
    • Lucky for you that uncle had already bought one of those tripods. You do have to be so careful with what tripod you use, I’ve heard of too many people breaking cameras because of tripods. Thanks for sharing your experience there. 😀

      May 15, 2015
      • Thanks for sharing your experience, I was for example not aware that buying filters from different companies would make a difference. I will take care there too now. At the moment I just have one UV filter for protection but I plan to buy a polarizing filter some day, so, I will research in the future to get something good.

        May 15, 2015
      • Oh yes, there are lots of dodgy fakes out there, just make sure you buy from companies that have good reputations. Good luck.

        May 15, 2015
  17. I’m always suspect when things are so much cheaper than the real deal, your post confirms it. Great message in here Leanne!

    May 15, 2015
    • Yes, lucky for me, I did lose a lot of money, but I’m certainly more careful now, and I make sure I only shop from places where I’m confident I will get what I am meant to be purchasing.

      May 15, 2015
  18. When my first SLR died (Mamiya DTL 500) from over use, I bought a new SLR (Fujica AX-1) – on specs alone…I HATED the camera and it chewed through batteries like there was no tomorrow. I made the switch to Nikon (FM) and have not looked back.

    May 15, 2015
    • I have never bought a camera on specs, interesting, so good lesson learned Robert, thanks for sharing your experience there.

      May 15, 2015
  19. I can relate to the cheap knock off remote, I did the same thing, absolute rubbish, ended up getting a proper Nikon one

    May 15, 2015
    • Mine was meant to be a Nikon one Julie, it had the brand on it, was packaged in Nikon box, for anyone looking at it, you would think it was. The quality, just wasn’t there, which was my first hint, that not all was good, but I thought maybe Nikon’s standards had slipped, which can happen with companies. I made sure the second one I got was from a company that had a good reputation and I could trust, have pretty much done that ever since.

      May 15, 2015
  20. Do you mind me asking what ND filter you would recommend?

    Great post and photos btw!

    May 15, 2015
    • I would stick to good brands, Cokin isn’t bad and a good place to start experimenting. I am getting Formatt Hitech filters now, I haven’t used them yet, but I’ve been told they are very good. Expensive, but if I was going to recommend one, I would start with something like .9 ND filter, so not for really long exposures, but will help get slower exposures and then build up from that. I might do a post on filters soon.
      Thank you.

      May 15, 2015
  21. Yes, I do and bought lot of stuffs and not using it. So it will end up in the bin soon. Always been attracted to the value listing in there that is cheap and it is alright so once I have it, it either the thing is not something I expect or it is useless piece waiting for me to bin it.

    The photos which you have taken by are gorgeous even it has a bit of manufacturer problems. Thanks for sharing this tips with us so that I will be more cautious buying cheap stuffs for the camera.

    May 15, 2015
    • Oh yes, Cattan, that happens a lot, I try to be a lot more careful now with what I buy, and where I buy it from, just not worth it.
      Thank you, it was working okay on this day. Yes, be careful, it is all about doing your research I think. Photography gear is not cheap, and it is worse if you waste your money on it.

      May 15, 2015
      • Thank Leanne and I will and have a wonderful Day, my friend.

        May 15, 2015
      • You too Cattan, take care.

        May 15, 2015
  22. Amy #

    Thank you for sharing the list. These flower photo are so beautiful, Leanne!

    May 15, 2015
    • You’re welcome Amy, thank you.

      May 15, 2015
  23. Excellent post, Leanne and a great follow-up to your previous “Can’t Live Without” post. Looks like you have validated those old syaings such as: “If it looks too good to be true….” or “You get what you pay for.” or “Buyer Beware.” After getting burned a number of times in the early years,I finally adopted the philosophy of saving up until I could afford the better quality product.

    May 15, 2015
    • Absolutely Robin, I do the same now, I only buy things that I know will be good and the seller is someone that can be trusted.

      May 15, 2015
  24. The only 3 photographic things I regret to have bought were 2 kit lens with my very first DSLR (a 75-300 zoom and 18-55) and a cheap Velbon Sherpa 600 tripod I never used because it was so heavy and clunky. I have still got these, probably should try and flog them on eBay. It was very early days, I didn’t know any better at that stage. These days, I do my research, talk to peers, read lots of review – save the $$$ and get the best I can afford. Re buying on eBay, I have had great experiences and I pay through PayPal.

    May 15, 2015
    • Yes, people will buy them, I’m sure. I do the same, if I am going to spend money then I want to make sure it is money that is well spent and I will get my money’s worth out of it. Thanks for sharing that Chris.

      May 15, 2015
  25. I bought a lightning trigger that sort of works. I think you have to be pretty close to the lightning strikes for it to trigger the shutter. Probably should have gone with the one that was more expensive and safer!

    May 15, 2015
    • I’ve never heard of those, wow, that would make shooting lightning so much easier. Sometimes it is just better, I agree, I do that with my filters now. Thanks Michael.

      May 15, 2015
  26. Uh oh … I ordered a few camera-related items off Amazon and had them sent to my parents in the US (free shipping). I’ll pick them up in a few days when I see them in Canada. Among them were … a remote shutter release and a cheap ND filter. Also a set of three macro filters that screw onto the end of the lens. I too had my suspicions about low cost equalling low quality, so I’ll soon find out! Hopefully, my experience will be happier than yours.

    May 15, 2015
    • You might be fine Karen, that was just my experience, the ND filters probably won’t be any good, but if you are planning on doing some black white they will be fine. Good luck and let us know how you go. Thank you.

      May 15, 2015
    • It’s up to you what you think of the macro filters but the good ones have two elements (eg from Canon, Nikon, Leica) and they are not cheap. Better quality cheap macro options may be extension tubes or reversing rings but they require patience and dedication.

      I’ve bought a few cheap remote releases and they’ve died quickly – your experience may be different.

      May 16, 2015
      • Thanks for the input, Murray. I don’t really have high expectations of my inexpensive purchases — but only time will tell! I’m not willing (yet) to spend a lot of money on camera toys.

        May 16, 2015
  27. Great post Leanne, and a great discussion! I’m thinking of a full frame 2nd hand…need to think about that carefully.

    May 15, 2015
    • I think you just need to be careful who is selling it, look for the Dune Mouses comment, she is thinking of doing the same and some others gave her some good advice.

      May 15, 2015
  28. this was another great educational post Leanne 🙂 tempting as it is to buy online….. I’m not in a big hurry LOL Thanks for Sharing !

    May 15, 2015
    • I buy online all the time Debi, I’ve just learned to be careful who I buy from, do your research, that is the main thing. You’re welcome. 😀

      May 15, 2015
      • might I ask you about the Canon 100mm f2.8 macro lens? I’ve just got the kit lens on my Canon EOS 600D ! +an old telephoto. so rather than getting a nice NEW camera?? would that lens be another good option? hmmm… thanks for your input 🙂

        May 16, 2015
      • I’m not a Canon user Debi, but I believe it is a very good lens, and the people I know that have them love them.If you love macro and close up photography it would be a fantastic option. The 600D is a good camera, so I would go the lens, but that’s just my opinion. Love my macro. 😀

        May 16, 2015
      • thanks so much for your opinion ! would love to get a ‘better camera’ … but am sure its the operator, not so much the camera lol 🙂

        May 16, 2015
      • It is a good camera, and I’m sure your images are fine. You’re welcome Debi. 🙂

        May 16, 2015
  29. KristerP #

    Reblogged this on A hobby photographer and LaPerm owner and commented:
    We often see tips on what to buy – but here’s an even better one from the very productive Leanne Cole. Mandatory reading: What NOT to buy 🙂

    May 15, 2015
  30. KristerP #

    Reblogged. An excellent post , we are too often bombarded with tips on awesom gear, but to tell the truth a list of bad things is even more helpful :).

    I intentionally bought dead cheap close up lenses for comparision when I managed to track down and buy the Canon 500D close up lens; and needless to say the cheap ones were sub par, some of them even unusable.

    You’ve got an awesome blog Leanne 🙂

    May 15, 2015
    • I hadn’t thought of it like that, but I guess you are right.
      I think many us have similar stories, thank you so much, and that is wonderful that you liked it and reblogged it. 😀

      May 15, 2015
  31. I guess, everyone has such products. I could underwrite for the IXUS. Another product was a remote shutter, too. The connector broke away at the first use and stuck inside my camera. Although, I got my money refund, I have had to pay for the camera repair 😦
    I also bought some things, I’ve never used since. But, I thought, I would need them absolutely. i.e. my extension tubes were in my closet for years until I used them this year for the very first time.

    May 15, 2015
    • The connector is what broke on mine as well. I didn’t get my money back, but I never bought from them again.
      Haha, I don’t think I have anything I haven’t used, but certainly things that I haven’t used a lot.
      Thanks for sharing that Solaner.

      May 15, 2015
  32. well. leanne, my grouse is with some of the hoya filters where the glass element catches dust/grime a lot esier/faster than the likes of b&w filters. they also come loose and rotate along when you try to clean them. i just dont have the problem with b&w filters, but they are more expensive. at the end of the day, you pay for what you get.
    wishing you a good weekend, leanne.

    May 16, 2015
    • Oh I’ve found that with my Hoya ND400, and I find it very hard to clean. I haven’t used the B&W filters, but I think you are right, you do get what you pay for.
      Thanks Ken, you have a good weekend too.

      May 16, 2015
  33. Super lightweight tripod. It’s easy to carry, but unstable with any camera attached. About 6 camera bags, all too small or poorly designed. A lot of filters (never use them). Wide-angle extension — terrible quality.

    Cheap is sometimes too expensive!

    May 16, 2015
    • Cheap is sometimes, especially really cheap, thank you Marilyn for sharing what you have wasted money on.

      May 16, 2015
      • I wish I could say it will be the only wasted money … but alas. Much more waste will surely follow.

        May 17, 2015
      • I have to agree Marilyn, though hopefully it will lessen with time.

        May 17, 2015
  34. You live and you learn. It is very easy to get ripped off on photography gears.

    May 16, 2015
    • YOu really do Noel, and I couldn’t agree more, thanks.

      May 17, 2015
  35. look at your photos, all taken with the ixus. can you blame the camera for them? not at all, they are beautiful photos. i have an old ixus (not too much in use these days) but that camera never let me down. i wouldn’t blame the camera for not working and i don’t want to be rude but just think of what you did: you brought the camera on the beach! very easy to get a bit of sand behind the lens shutters, all you need is a bit of cleaning.

    May 16, 2015
    • It is a bit weird, it works sometimes and other times not. Though that is not really the reason I wish I hadn’t bought it, I just don’t use it, I use my phone for that sort of photography. Though having said that you should be able to take the camera to beach, people do it all the time. Thank you.

      May 17, 2015
  36. Interesting post, Leanne. I expect you’ve got good camera straps by now, but for the D700 and D800 I use Optech Pro Loop straps, which are simply wonderful at spreading the weight. Adrian

    May 17, 2015
    • I have some Crumpler ones, they are okay, but they do keep putting my hair out. I am always on the look out for a new one, I looked at those Black rapid, I think they are, but they are really designed for men and not women. I might look up the ones you have said, thanks Adrian.

      May 17, 2015
  37. Off brand batteries from BestBuy. They do not last and are as expensive as the original. I have bought off brand lenses in the past. As they say, you get what you pay for. Thanks for sharing

    May 21, 2015
    • I don’t know them, so probably not going to be a real issue for me. Yes, you often do, thanks for sharing that Luis.

      May 21, 2015
  38. I’m the same with camera straps….its almost like a weird status thing “Look at me I got the latest (whatever)”
    I brought a light meter when I first set up my studio, used it once and then never played with it again lol

    May 28, 2015
    • Yes, that’s exactly what I thought, also the new camera strap is so much more comfortable.
      I’ve never had a light meter, never felt the need for one, though I don’t do studio work. Maybe you will use it again. LOL
      Thanks for sharing that.

      May 28, 2015
      • Lol I sold it when I moved from the UK to Australia….hopefully the new owner uses it more than I did 🙂

        May 31, 2015
      • There goes that idea then, I suppose it is better where is it now, LOL

        May 31, 2015
  39. somdattadeb #

    both educational and hilarious

    June 14, 2015

Comments are closed.

