Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Early Morning in the City

melbourne-city-river-autum-morning-1024

A couple of weeks ago I joined some other lovely ladies and we spent the morning taking photos along the Yarra River in Melbourne. The river was calm and clear.  It wasn’t mirror like, but still very nice and we managed to get some lovely reflections in the water along with some great colours.  It was a very peaceful morning.

It was meant to be a Social Snappers Event, but many didn’t show up, so here is what they missed.

It is a busy weekend for me, so I am just going to leave you with the photos today.  My weekend includes lots of photography, and I hope you are going to have a similar weekend.

51 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on photos.

    May 16, 2015
  2. There’s nothing like the feel of a city in the early morning before it has got into its stride. Captured perfectly, Leanne.

    May 16, 2015
    • I think so too Tish, it is so peaceful, thank you so much.

      May 16, 2015
  3. The photos of your city are beautiful Leanne. They make me want to visit 🙂

    May 16, 2015
    • Thank you Colline, maybe you should come and visit, would love to see you. 😀

      May 16, 2015
      • My aunt lives in Melbourne and she tells me the same thing.. A bit expensive though to travel with the children.

        May 16, 2015
      • Yes, travelling anywhere with kids is expensive. Still, if you ever come we have to meet up.

        May 16, 2015
  4. Beautiful…and it’s always nice to have company!

    May 16, 2015
    • Thank you and yes, I think so too, always very good, makes it a lot more fun too.

      May 16, 2015
  5. Very nice . . . almost makes me want to visit a city. Almost.

    May 16, 2015
  6. Lovely images Leanne – have you had a look at my Paris-Melbourne page? You might find it fun! http://www.goatshiteambulance.com

    May 16, 2015
    • I took a quick look. Thank you.

      May 16, 2015
  7. Beautiful city! I absolutely love city scapes… I’m obsessed. I have a hard time taking pictures of them that are worth looking at. But I still try!

    May 16, 2015
    • I love them too, I really need to start doing more again. Just keep going, you will get there, and I’m sure they are already good, we are always our own worse critics.

      May 16, 2015
      • Thanks I appreciate that 🙂 Well yours are wonderful so keep them coming!

        May 16, 2015
      • I will, well try to. You’re welcome too. 😀

        May 16, 2015
  8. What a nice way to showcase our city! I need to have a go on morning before going to work!

    May 16, 2015
    • Let me know when you want to, and I will meet you, I love early morning in the city. Thanks Chris.

      May 16, 2015
  9. Just enough distortion in the river to create some interesting reflections. Beautiful!

    May 16, 2015
    • Yes, that is what I thought, of course mirror flat would have been perfect, but I will get that one day. Thank you Schwister.

      May 16, 2015
  10. Oh glorious photos as usual Leanne. Really fabulous. That portrait shot of the city reflected in the water is just stunning.

    May 16, 2015
    • Thank you Desley, yes, I spotted the big buildings reflection and wanted to see if I could get it a bit better, I think that worked.

      May 16, 2015
  11. I just love your reflections. My social snappers group are so much fun. It is nice to go out with like minded women and discover what is around us.

    May 16, 2015
    • Thanks Raewyn, the reflections turned out so well. That is wonderful to hear, I wish mine were doing as well, oh well.

      May 16, 2015
  12. Gorgeous city! Love the reflections ..

    May 16, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, I love it when you can get reflections like that.

      May 16, 2015
  13. just gorgeous… I look, and feel in all of them the depth and strength that you’ve conveyed so well. Nice lovely lines, and great negatives spaces with surprises peeking out from within them. Great photos!

    May 16, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, I love what you have said about them, wonderful.

      May 16, 2015
  14. Happy weekend sweetie

    May 16, 2015
    • Thank you, I needed that, you have a good weekend too.

      May 16, 2015
  15. Some very nice photos! As a former pilot, I would call it glassy water! One of the most dangerous conditions for landing a float plane. It does make for some great photos using reflection. I actually enjoyed making glassy water landings with my Luscombe! Sorry, about the rabbit trail! Keep clickin’ and posting your wonderful photos!

    May 16, 2015
    • Yes, that is a good description, it is like glassy water. I have never been in a plane doing that. I love the reflections you can get, so cool. No need to apologize Marland, not at all, thank you so much and I will.

      May 16, 2015
  16. Wow, these are stunning. The mirror and the pop of red on that building are my favorites. Sounds like a great weekend, Leanne! Enjoy. I will be writing. I’m up against a deadline.

    May 16, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, I love that mirror reflection. It has been so far, enjoy your writing.

      May 16, 2015
  17. Reblogged this on nailsglueandscrews and commented:
    I love going places and seeing new things. I have a board on Pinterest that features Places to Travel and The Scenery… Check it out at https://www.pinterest.com/msstephaniekaye/

    May 16, 2015
  18. Melbourne looks better than I remember it

    May 16, 2015
    • Especially early in the morning thank yous Rajiv.

      May 16, 2015
  19. Hi Leanne, lovely shots hope you have a great weekend whatever you are up to xx

    May 16, 2015
    • thank you Athena, you have a good weekend too.

      May 16, 2015
  20. These are lovely! I always love looking in still waters for reflections – something really calming about them. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    May 16, 2015
    • Same Debby, how amazing are they, and so hard to get, especially in something like a river. Thanks and you enjoy yours too.

      May 16, 2015
  21. I love the reflections of light on water. Beautiful pictures.

    May 17, 2015
    • It is quite amazing what water does to light. Thank you.

      May 17, 2015
  22. Lovely reflections Leanne!

    May 17, 2015
  23. Beautiful Cityscapes!

    May 18, 2015

Comments are closed.

