Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Birds in a Sanctuary

bird-healesville-sanctuary-spirits-lyre-1033

The other day I had another opportunity to go to Healesville Sanctuary. I had a One on One Photography session there which was fantastic, always good to met new people and just go out and take photos. One of the things we wanted to do was photograph the Spirits of the Sky show.  It was very overcast and threatening rain the whole time, which also meant dark conditions for the birds.

bird-healesville-sanctuary-spirits-lyre-1034

I got to get photos of some of my favourites, like this wedge tail eagle.  It was great getting this close up.

I got some nice shots, but then there were lots of others that I just had to delete, and then some others that I probably should have deleted, but I liked the movement in them, like the next one.

bird-healesville-sanctuary-spirits-lyre-1025

So a substandard image from me.  I just like the way the bird was side ways, but the head had turned so much.

bird-healesville-sanctuary-spirits-lyre-1038

The best place for the day was the big aviary. There was lots of birds in there, like the one above.  I have no idea what sort of bird it is, sorry, but I do know what the next one is.

bird-healesville-sanctuary-spirits-lyre-1044

These are a couple of lyre birds. The one with the big tail feathers is the male. He is very noisy and does a lot to impress the female.  One of the things that lyre birds do that is very impressive and not something I’ve ever seen before is something with their tails.

bird-healesville-sanctuary-spirits-lyre-1043

The feathers go over the top of the bird and he just displays it for a little bit. Then . .

bird-healesville-sanctuary-spirits-lyre-1040

. . . he starts a little dance and shimmies the feathers. It is quite extraordinary and so amazing to watch.  I’d never seen it before. and it is not something many people get to see.  They are shy birds and tend to stay away from humans. I tried recording the noises he was making, but there were too many people around.

It wasn’t a total waste.  I got to use the Tamron SP 150-600mm lens again.  It is so good for this type of photography.  I enjoy using it. I am going to put the above photos and some others into a gallery for you now.  I hope your weekend is going well, the weather has finally cleared up here and we are getting some nice weather.

64 Comments
  1. Just BEAUTIFUL Leanne!

    May 17, 2015
  2. Lovely set of photographs of some colourful wildlife…………..

    May 17, 2015
    • Thank you, it is lovely to be able to photograph them like that.

      May 17, 2015
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I love these birds. They look amazing going about their business. 🙂

    May 17, 2015
    • Thank you Jackie, they are amazing, I loved watching them.

      May 17, 2015
  4. These are cool Leanne, the first eagle really looks as if it has something to say!

    May 17, 2015
    • Yes, I love the look on her face, they way they look is like they are constantly worried. Thanks Gypsy.

      May 17, 2015
  5. That sideway photo is awesome–substandard for you or not! What a cool shot, Leanne. And that chubby little bird with the red mask…I must have a thing for chubby birds. This one is adorable.

    May 17, 2015
    • I liked it too Lois, it would have been nice if the head was in focus. Oh well, I will be able to go back and try again. Haha, I loved that little one too, the little birds are so hard to photography. Thanks Lois.

      May 17, 2015
  6. I wish we had some more colourful birds here in Germany too. However, it’s still interesting to take photos of ours.

    I wonder if we have a skyshow with eagles here too, I might need to research. Would be a great opportunity to practice to take photos of flying birds, because I don’t get good results at the moment. On the other side, it would be bad to go there with too less practice.

    Your photos are cool. Apart from the fact that your images are beautiful, it also looks as if you can create some great bokeh with the Tamron lens. I like that so much when I see photos.

    May 17, 2015
    • We have a lot of colourful birds here, I don’t know why, it is a bit strange.
      Who would know Dennis, just go and keep going. I am not that good at the shot I go to, but I figure I will get better as I practice, well I hope I do.
      Thank you, and yes, the bokeh is nice, but that is more to do with the wide aperture, most telephoto lenses will give you that with a wide aperture.

      May 17, 2015
  7. My favorite is image 2. I love the expression and that prominent eye brow ridge. Looks like a wonderful sanctuary.

    May 17, 2015
    • It is a great sanctuary, and you can tell the keeps love the birds. I love that too, gives them a worried look. Thanks Judy.

      May 17, 2015
      • Yes exactly, he looks worried or very concerned..:)

        May 17, 2015
      • Glad I’m not the only one that can see that Judy.

        May 17, 2015
  8. johnholding #

    Nice collection of bird shots Leanne.

    May 17, 2015
    • Thanks John, the sanctuary is a great place to practice getting the shots.

      May 17, 2015
  9. That’s a Red-browed finch – we get flocks of them in the garden sometimes – beautiful! We must try to get to Healesville sometime, since Bryan is a birdo!

    May 17, 2015
    • Cool, thanks for the Sukie, I am getting better with the names, but still there are so many I don’t know, I thought it was a finch or something like that. Yes, the sanctuary is great for seeing the birds, the spirits of the sky show is amazing, I think Bryan would love it.

      May 17, 2015
      • We plan to take Juniper some time – when she’s a bit bigger 🙂

        May 19, 2015
      • Fantastic, I’m sure you will all love it.

        May 19, 2015
  10. Great shots – despite the weather… I too was glad to have braved the drizzle!

    May 17, 2015
    • Did you get some good shots? I bet you saw some amazing birds. We will have to organise another outing there.
      Thanks Chris, the weather made it very slow for the camera.

      May 17, 2015
      • I did – saw a couple of new ones! It was sooo muddy out there, you should have seen the state of the car afterwards! Will post something soon. Used my 1.4 extender with the 100-400 lens and it worked a treat despite the greyness!

        May 17, 2015
      • That’s great, I went to Marysville yesterday and the car was very muddy after that too, mud everywhere at the moment, at least you didn’t get bogged. Cool, that’s great, I’m looking forward to seeing what you got.

        May 17, 2015
  11. These are really great shots Leanne. What a great day you had. I love the chubby little red faced bird too 😊

    May 17, 2015
    • Thank you Desley, I did have a great day, the weather could’ve been better, but it was still good. How cute it is, and it was so small.

      May 17, 2015
  12. By the way that little bird with a red strike and beak is a Red-browed firetail – very pretty!

    May 17, 2015
    • Someone else said something similar too, I will learn what they all are one day, lol. Thank you.

      May 17, 2015
  13. Lovely photos.

    May 17, 2015
  14. Exceptional opportunity. Stunning work. Blessings…….

    May 17, 2015
  15. beautiful- I love the lyre birds with his spiderweb tail!!!

    May 17, 2015
    • The lyre bird really put on a great show, I was entranced watching it. Thanks Cybele.

      May 17, 2015
  16. Great Shots, despite the light. The eagle in flight is supurb.

    May 17, 2015
    • Thank you, Jack, I will have to try some more. I love getting the eagle in flight.

      May 17, 2015
  17. Beautiful shots of beautiful birds Leanne.

    May 17, 2015
    • Thank you so much Carol, have you been to see the show there?

      May 17, 2015
      • I’ve only been once and that was when Melissa was a baby, in 1988! I can’t even remember if they had a show.

        May 18, 2015
      • You might have to see it again Carol, it is a lovely spot.

        May 18, 2015
  18. poppytump #

    My word you got some super shots here … such a great place to practice quick camera skills … oh the lyre bird … isn’t that tail something so fine and showy .. they are such mimics we were stopped in our tracks on a walk when we heard a lyre bird call …
    The little dinky *blue bird is so cute … you did well to catch him before he hopped away ! So often I focus and then get my eye up to the viewfinder to find >>>> *nothing* 😀

    May 17, 2015
    • It is a fantastic place to practice you skills, I love it for that, I think I’ve photographed it a few times now. Oh yes, great tail, you don’t get to see it like that very often.
      Thanks, I didn’t get much chance to get photos, it was there once and then gone. I know what you mean. Thank you Poppytump. 🙂

      May 17, 2015
  19. Wow! Beautiful clicks, thanks for sharing 🙂

    May 17, 2015
    • You’re very welcome Atul and thank you 🙂

      May 17, 2015
  20. Woah, I love this collection very much. 🙂 Good job! What camera did you use by the way? Hehe..

    May 17, 2015
    • That is wonderful, so glad. I use a Nikon D800 with the Tamron 150-600mm lens. Thank you. 🙂

      May 17, 2015
  21. These are all so lovely! There is something quite magical about birds – they are so interesting and can be fast! It is always a fun challenge to cpature them in full flight – and I really love your sideways flyer!

    May 17, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, I agree, there is, and they are so challenging to photograph. 🙂

      May 17, 2015
  22. Wow! I wish I could take so good and amazing photos like these! :O Great work!

    May 18, 2015
    • It is all about practice Indiana, I think because I used to photograph cycling I learned some of the skills then, still it is a hard thing to do, I find it very challenging and have to delete many photos. Thank you.

      May 18, 2015
  23. These are just wonderful photos Leanne.

    May 18, 2015
  24. The Traveloholic #

    The Owl was my favorite. Great pictures.

    May 18, 2015
    • That owl is so hard to take photos of, I find it very challenging. Thank you.

      May 18, 2015
  25. My goodness, but your country has magnificent birds of infinite variety. And you do them such stunning justice with your photos. Beautiful!

    May 18, 2015
    • We do, we are very lucky, lots of very colourful ones. Thank you Mary.

      May 18, 2015
  26. Hey Leanne .. I sat here and ohhed and ahhed. Magic photos …

    May 19, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, they are so hard to get, but I think I am getting better at it.

      May 19, 2015
  27. Some wonderful shots Leanne. One thing I love is that you have many different birds in Australia than we do in North America.

    May 19, 2015
    • We do have lots of different birds and many are very unique to us. Thank you.

      May 19, 2015
  28. LB #

    How cool those lyre birds are!
    How are you? It’s been so long since I’ve been able to visit …

    May 27, 2015
    • I know they are very cool, it’s the first time I’ve ever seen them doing that.
      I’m good, very happy today. It is lovely to hear from you, I see you’ve been travelling.

      May 27, 2015

Comments are closed.

