Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Getting Organized

It has been manic around here, and perhaps I’ve been a naughty girl by going out so many times to take photos. It has been nice, but it means not enough time at home on the computer.  Things are going to have to change.

The Book

The time I was given to do my book as stipulated by the grant is half way over, so I need to start working on it. To remind you about the book it is to be about the local wetlands, Banyule Flats. We are all sitting on the edges of our sccreswick-hpm5666bseats as we wait to hear if it is going to be destroyed by a freeway going through it.

As time is running out I really need to start getting on top of it.  I have made an appointment with someone to talk to them about putting the book together.  I made the decision that I should get help with the design of it and where I will get it published.  Hopefully it won’t be too hard. I have taken hundreds of photos from down there, so that shouldn’t be a problem.

I am also going to talk to the publishers about the magazine and see if they can help or make some suggestions.

Getting Organized

It is time to get serious, I have to stop going out and taking photos all the time and start spending more time at home sccreswick-hpm5743working on other projects.  I have articles to write, books to organize, photos to process, and magazines to put together.

I am starting to see that the only way I can do all that is if I have days at home specifically for those things.  So the plan is to start having days that I can’t go out and take photos on.  From now on I will have to have at least 3 days at home, or 4 would be better.  They will become my work days and I will have to be strict about it.

Formatt Hitech Filters

I got my new filters the other day.  I have now added a Firecrest 16 to my kit, plus a 0.3, 0.6 and a 0.9 ND Graduated Hard filters and finally a 0.6 ND Reverse Graduated filter.  I used a couple of the graduated ones the other day in Marysville, and they worked really well.  I’m hoping I will get to use the Firecrest tomorrow and maybe the reverse graduated, but will depend.

They look great, the only thing is the Firecrest didn’t come with any instructions, so I don’t know about exposure times. sccres-hpm5786-7 I need to work it out, hopefully tomorrow will give me a chance to do that.

Photos

Today’s photos, as usual, are from the archives and from back when I was photographing cycling.  They aren’t cycling photos but were some landscapes and building shots I took while I was photographing the racing.  It is an area I keep thinking I should go back to, but never seem to.  It is a country town, Creswick, I will go back.

60 Comments
  1. Great stuff as always

    May 19, 2015
  2. I’m having the same problem with not being productive enough. In my case, I’m home but spending so much time on the job search, dealing with paperwork from all kinds of things, and spending time with the family that I’m not taking pictures nor am I being much creative with anything. This will get resolved, but it’s frustrating for now.

    Remember – it’s a new routine that you’re after. And new routines always take a while to get established. As I shake the finger back at myself!

    Nancy

    May 19, 2015
    • Seems we are opposite Nancy, maybe I can tell you when I am going out, and it will inspire you to go out, and you can tell me I’m doing it too much, haha. I think my biggest problem is that I have made so many new friends that are into photography, that now I keep getting asked to go out. Oh dear, what a problem to have. I hope you get yours sorted, not good for a creative person to not be creating.

      Thanks for that Nancy, I will remember that.

      May 19, 2015
  3. I used to be partial to naughty girls. When did a naughty girl evolve into a woman taking photos? I missed something. But I do know what you are talking about. My wife and I had plans for a book to be out by last Christmas and missed that deadline- basically for the same reason you state: not sitting home and doing the work! But isn’t going out to take photos more fun? OK, I’ve been a bad boy. And my wife has enabled me. Maybe by 2017 we’ll get this darn book out!

    May 19, 2015
    • I was always warned against naughty boys, LOL. They grow up unfortunately. Yes, seems I need to start making more time to do that, the plans are there, now to stick to them. There is still time to get your book out for this Christmas. We both need to be good, and get down to the serious work. Thanks Emilio.

      May 19, 2015
  4. Superb photoset Leanne. I look forward to your posts – you are an inspiration 🙂

    May 19, 2015
    • Thank you so much, what a lovely thing to say. I love seeing your photos of the moors as well. 🙂

      May 19, 2015
  5. Really like the dreamy quality of your photos. Good luck with all your projects!

    May 19, 2015
    • I hadn’t thought of that dreamy quality, sounds good, thank you Julie.

      May 19, 2015
  6. Can you explain what a “Reverse Graduated filter” is? I’ve neen using Singh Ray graduated ND filters for years. They are rectangulare sheets of optical-grade polycarbonate with a coating applied to make them graduated ND. I can’t imagine what it means to be “reverse” except to turn one upside down (i.e. clear on the top, dark on the bottom), but that is trival to do, at least with the Singh Ray system. I have a 2-stop soft and a 3-stop hard.

    May 19, 2015
    • I see you found out what it was. I will do some posts using it, I just have to wait for some sunrises and sunsets. The Formatt Hitech filters are pretty much the same as the Singh-Ray, I have been looking at those as well, but with the exchange rate in Australia and the price they charge for shipping, it puts them right out of my price bracket. Thanks Doug.

      May 19, 2015
  7. Oh… never mind my question about a revere gradient ND filter … I figured it out.

    Thanks

    May 19, 2015
    • That’s good, as I said I will do a post with some photos when I get some.

      May 19, 2015
  8. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I love those old structures. 🙂

    May 19, 2015
    • Me too, I really want to go back and see if I can more images of them, I was a bit pushed for time that day. 🙂

      May 19, 2015
  9. I think blocking the days in your diary and not deviating from it is the answer… And getting started… I just hope friday is your day off!

    May 19, 2015
    • It might have to be rotated with Thursday’s, as long as one of them is at home, then that should be fine. Thanks Chris.

      May 19, 2015
  10. You can guarantee that the best weather for taking pictures will arrive in one of your staying in days. Good luck with the plan.

    May 19, 2015
    • Yes, probably, though, I can be flexible, swap days, that won’t hurt, as long as I don’t go both days, if you get what I mean. Thanks.

      May 19, 2015
  11. Amy #

    Taking photos and putting them on the computer can consume so much time… It has been part of my daily life. 🙂 Congratulations to your upcoming book and the magazine, Leanne! Great photos, as always! I think I hit the post by accident a moment ago, sorry about that.

    May 19, 2015
    • It can, I think it is something we all understand. Thank you, hopefully it will be good. Yes, I think you did, but I deleted it, I hope that was okay. Thank you again Amy. 😀

      May 19, 2015
  12. Love those photos makes me want to go there , Well you wilhve to be naughty again today I’m afraid , can’t wait o go out , sometimes I feel trampled by my other job , and that it stops me from going out ,but I guess we all have our issue’s

    May 19, 2015
    • We will have to go Chris, it is a lovely place. I was naughty again, but shh don’t tell too many people. We do, there is always something. Thanks Chris.

      May 19, 2015
  13. In the opening chapter of the Peter and Gertrud Klopp Story on my blog, I addressed the very same problem that you are facing, Leanne. I called the monster, which tried to prevent me from writing our family history, PROCRASTINATION. There are not only the pleasurable things that hold us back, but also the perceived other things that need to be done first, before we think we can sit down and write. Good luck with your project.

    May 19, 2015
    • Oh yes, there is that too, I am guilty of that one. I have to get serious and just start working. Thanks Peter.

      May 19, 2015
  14. I always enjoy your Tuesday posts, Leanne. (I actually enjoy all your posts) I think it’s because you give us a glimpse of the talent woman behind the camera. I seem to have more work days than photography days. I did do some indoor photography of a flower bouquet my roommate received – way too exciting, I know! Lol I’m going to try to do a sunrise at the beach this weekend. I can do it, yes I can!! 🙂

    May 19, 2015
    • That is great Kirsten. Or maybe a glimpse of how crazy I am, LOL. That sounds good, my daughter got some flowers and I must photograph them too. You can do it, how exciting. Have fun, thanks Kirsten. 🙂

      May 19, 2015
      • Well, I will be over at the beach so that is a very good start. I won’t have to drive an hour to get there for sunrise. A 10 min drive sounds much more doable. I am such the lazy photographer 😦 lol

        May 21, 2015
      • That is a very good start, I must email you. I hate having to drive to get a sunrise, but sometimes that is the only way. You aren’t the only one there. 😦 haha.

        May 21, 2015
  15. I love your country photographs and also your post processing which gives them more richness and stands them out…. any hints 🙂

    May 19, 2015
    • Thank you Kaz, that was back when I was doing lots of HDR’s, it is quite amazing looking back at them. We will have to work on some in Apollo Bay, 😉

      May 19, 2015
  16. Great shot.

    May 19, 2015
  17. I swear the days are getting shorter and shorter, with more photos to be taken. Lovely photos.

    May 19, 2015
    • I hear you Raewyn, funny thing though, is that they are, LOL, well until June 21st, thank you.

      May 19, 2015
  18. I hope the flats will be spared!!! ( pave paradise and put up a parking lot!) Great images Leanne!

    May 19, 2015
    • I know, I really hope so too Cybele. Thank you.

      May 19, 2015
  19. Leanne, It is interesting to see the photos of Creswick.

    May 19, 2015
    • Do you know Creswick Margarent, I need to get back there and just spend some time taking photos. Thank you.

      May 19, 2015
  20. Go, Leanne, go! It’s time to spend more time on your book! Cheering you from my corner 😀 It’s good to hear you’ve taken a lot of photos from the area. Maybe you’ll have a hard time whittling them down to the number you need. I’m sure you’ll get lots done when you stay at home – no distractions. And it’s winter and the weather looks like it’s going to be raining from next week…you picked a good time. Good luck 😀

    May 19, 2015
    • I know Mabel, things are starting to move, which is good, appointments made, that sort of thing. I will, but I think I will get help culling them down. Oh yes, so much more rain, not all bad, good for long exposures. Thank you so much. 😀 I hope you are going well.

      May 19, 2015
  21. Let us know how your work days turn out. I’m curious about ‘forced’ productivity. I have a 9-5 so i know about that. It’s on the creative endeavors that i struggle with time management and forcing the housekeeping, book writing, etc.

    May 19, 2015
    • Yes, that is what I need to do, force myself to treat it like a 9-5, I’m sure there will be times it doesn’t work, and other times, it will work brilliantly. Housekeeping, I’m trying to pretend I don’t know what that is. Thank you.

      May 19, 2015
  22. Wonderful photographs, Leanne. You never disappoint!

    May 19, 2015
    • thank you Shawn, that’s good to know.

      May 20, 2015
  23. A lot of great shots! I particularly like the one of the can that became a mailbox.

    May 20, 2015
    • Thank you, it is amazing what people will use for mailboxes.

      May 20, 2015
  24. I love your photography

    May 20, 2015
  25. I absolutely love those dilapidated farm scenes

    May 20, 2015
    • Thank you, there is something about them.

      May 20, 2015
  26. Good luck with all you are doing Leanne! I know exactly what you mean about allocating days to specific tasks.
    I like these photos – love the country town feel.
    Enjoy your new filters too 😃

    May 20, 2015
    • Seems like a good thing to do, I think I would feel less chaotic if I did that.
      Thank you, taken a while a go, but they remind me I must go back.
      I used them yesterday and they were fantastic, can’t wait to get out with them again.

      May 20, 2015
  27. jessmiller2 #

    Reblogged this on jessthejournalist97 and commented:
    My favourite thing to photograph is rural life. These are stunning!

    May 20, 2015
  28. You’re funny about being naughty taking photos but you have a lot going on!

    May 23, 2015
    • LOL, yes, probably too much, but I am enjoying myself. Thanks

      May 23, 2015

Comments are closed.

