Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s: Things Are Coming Together

It seems things are on the up, and I got quite a bit of work done yesterday, and hopefully more today.  I have some excursions planned for the weekend, so that will be good. Although none of the places are new, so you will have to be content with the same places again. I hope you won’t mind.

Today I have some photos for you that I have taken in the last week. On Saturday I went to Marysville again. This time it wasn’t raining and we took some photos of the waterfall.  Because of all the rain, the waterfalls were running very fast. I used one of my new Formatt Hitech Filters, the .9 Nd Grad hard for it, though I used it as a full filter rather than the grad. Then later that night we had dinner in Marysville and then headed up to a look out to try our luck with some astrophotography.

The other night I headed out with a couple of ladies to some piers along Port Phillip Bay here in Melbourne and I got to use quite a few of my new filters from Formatt Hitech.  I used the Firecrest 16 and found a great app for my phone to help me work out the exposure times with a little help from a friend. The monochrome image of the pier was taken with it, and was a five minute exposure.  I used Silver Efex Pro 2 to process it. It was great for getting rid of some of the rubbish in the sky.

We were also surprised by a sunset that was amazing, and so surprising.  I used my new Formatt Hitech .6 ND Grad reverse for it, didn’t expect to get to use it so soon. I used it for the photo of the sunset, but it was also a HDR done with Photomatix Pro.

Just quickly before I show you the photos, I have had another article published on the Digital Photography School.  This one is about How to Give Your Macro Photography a Fine Art Touch in Post-Processing.  I hope you will go and take a look, and share it please.  Remember those macro shots that were dark, this will tell you how I did them.

Here are the images I was talking about above.  I hope you have a great quiet day.

52 Comments
  1. I love it😍

    May 21, 2015
  2. Great to hear you are using the new filters and seeing a few images taken with them. What does the reverse one do?

    May 21, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, I really like them. The reverse one is good for sunsets and sunrises, so the darkest part is where the sun is setting or rising.

      May 21, 2015
  3. Nice work Leanne – I have been contemplating astro-photography for a while now. Unfortunately I have to invest in some gear and processing software I’m afraid…

    May 21, 2015
    • You would be surprise how little gear you actually need, well just to do the milky way. All you need is a wide angle lens, a camera that will let you do do 30 second exposures and a tripod. I process the photos in lightroom or photoshop.
      Thanks.

      May 21, 2015
  4. Karen #

    These are beautiful!

    May 21, 2015
  5. Some really beautiful shots. I’m interested in checking out some ‘learning’ links. While I’m fair to middlin’ when it comes to things such as composition and having an ‘eye’ for photography, I need to take the time and make the commitment to getting the basics down when it comes to the more technical aspects. I understand a lot of it on a high level but unless and until I practice, practice, practice (!!), I’ll just never get it!

    Anyway, love your photos!

    May 21, 2015
    • Yes, that is hard, you do need to practice it all, I practice a lot, lol, the technical aspects can be hard, though it is also good to work out exactly what you need to know and what you don’t need to know.
      Thank you so much Julie, this is new for me too, these long exposures, but I do really like it.

      May 21, 2015
  6. Fantastic work! Those filters sound very interesting…

    May 21, 2015
    • Thank you, they are, I’m really starting to get my head around them now. I will do a post on them soon.

      May 21, 2015
      • Yikes! I’m falling behind on my WP!
        I’ll look forward to a posting about them. So far the only filter I’ve used on my current Nikon is a UV filter, which actually does do what it’s suppose to on bright, sunny days… um, wen we get them!

        May 23, 2015
      • I know that feeling. 😉
        I’m not sure when I will, but soon, I hope. that’s good to hear.

        May 23, 2015
  7. So beautiful. I love dark photography. Well, not dark in spirit, but in tone, and with its colors deeply saturated. Blessings to you.

    May 21, 2015
    • I love it too Shirley, sounds like we will get along very well. Thank you.

      May 21, 2015
  8. What fantastic results using the filters. They are beautiful shots.

    May 21, 2015
    • Thank you, it was great having them to use, can’t wait to try them again.

      May 21, 2015
  9. Busy girl .. I’ll help over to DPS now 🙂

    May 21, 2015
    • Yes, always busy, thanks Julie. 🙂

      May 21, 2015
  10. Sue #

    Love the monochrome of Port Phillip Bay….

    May 21, 2015
  11. anita ibeakanma #

    Reblogged this on Anita.com.

    May 21, 2015
  12. I understand the concept of three of your four awesome photos. But astro-photography is still a miracle to me. Maybe because we do not have these night skies very often here in North Germany. But maybe I only have to try it a little bit harder. Do you think a D800, a 28mm 2.8 AIS and a solid tripod will do? I saw one example where the image came out pretty dark of the camera. But after some post-processing in LR and PS they looked gorgeous. Anyhow I like your series very much. All the best to the other side of this world. Reinhold

    May 21, 2015
    • Astrophotography is quite amazing. The gear you have would be fine, I use my 14-24mm lens. The trick is really about the settings you use on the camera to get them. You should be able to see the milky way in your photos, it is when you are doing star trails that it is hard to see them until you put all your images together. You might have trouble seeing it there, I don’t know, come to Australia Reinhold, you don’t have to go far to see it and photograph it. Thank you, and all the best to you too.

      May 21, 2015
  13. photography=love. isn’t it

    May 21, 2015
  14. Beautiful…

    May 21, 2015
  15. leecleland #

    Great article over on ‘dps’ I didn’t realise you’d done such a lot of processing on those dark and wonderful flowers. Love the sunset above very rich.

    May 21, 2015
    • Thank you Lee, yes, there is a bit, though none of it really hard.

      May 21, 2015
  16. Reblogged this on annamariepanique.

    May 21, 2015
  17. absolutely breathtaking Leanne- I’m running out of adjectives and becoming redundant but I mean it!!! 😀 That last one of the sky set the heart afire!!

    May 22, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, it so easy when you are given beautiful places to photograph. Great sunset. 😀

      May 22, 2015
  18. gorgeous

    May 22, 2015
  19. Fantastic works and thanks for sharing.

    May 22, 2015
  20. amy #

    Holy mama, that sunset!! :-O breathtaking!!

    May 23, 2015
  21. Lovely photos.

    May 23, 2015
  22. Your work never ceases to amaze, Leanne! And that sunset is unbelievable!!

    May 26, 2015
    • Thank you Stacy, it was a great sunset.

      May 26, 2015
  23. Thank you Leanne wonderful new Photograph as usual Hope your Month end has been completed with good results.

    June 1, 2015
    • Thank you Donna, it has been a good month.

      June 1, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Quiet Thursday’s: Things Are Coming Together | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

