Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Photographing Bays in a Bay

daveys-watkins-bay-melbourne-longexposures1053

Melbourne is in Port Phillip Bay, I’m sure I’ve told you that before.  It is a large bay, and the city itself is around an hour and a half to two hours to the coast.  In some ways we are very protected in our bay.  Though lots of ships do come in and go out through it.  However, because it is so large there are so many different little bays inside the main bay.  Last Tuesday I got to visit two of them, which I was excited about, as it was also the first chance I had to use my new Formatt Hitech Firecrest 16 filter.

daveys-watkins-bay-melbourne-longexposures1050

The first bay we went to was Davey’s Bay.  There is a little pier there and not much else.  It is quite secluded and very nice. I am glad I went with others as I’m not sure I wouldn’t have found it by myself.

It was a great little spot and perfect to try out the Firecrest 16.  This is  ND Filter, or a Neutral Density filter. The idea of the filter is that it is dark in colour and it stops some of the light going through to the sensor so you can get different exposure times, or rather longer ones.  The darker they are, the longer the exposure.

They are called neutral because they are meant to be neutral in colour, so supposedly they don’t effect the colour of the image when it’s taken.  If you buy cheap ones you will often find they have a colour cast. Though some of the good ones also have them as well, I’ve noticed that my Lee Big Stopper can give a blue cast.

The Firecrest 16 is a 16 stop ND filter, so if my camera says for a normal exposure you will need a shutter speed of 1/250 of a second, then with this filter you could get an exposure of around four minutes.  It means you can get that smooth water and blurry clouds. Most of these images were done with a six minute exposure.

I decided to convert many of the images into monochrome, but to do this I used Silver Efex which is part of the Nik Collection by Google.

I took a lot of images around this area with that filter and got lots of long exposures, before we went to the next bay, Watkins Bay.

daveys-watkins-bay-melbourne-longexposures1059

This area had a few piers, some good, some not.  The bay was so still here, and there really wasn’t any need for the 16 stop ND Filter.  I think I took one photo with it, but then it was getting too dark and the exposure times were getting too long. I did start using the the new ND graduated filters, but used them as full ones rather than as graduated.

I have a gallery for you now, I really like the effect of the filters, and I will be trying some more this weekend.  I hope you have lots of plans for photos this weekend.

71 Comments
  1. Super Leanne so beautiful !!!!

    May 23, 2015
  2. Gorgeous photos as always and a most refreshing walk with you, Leanne!
    Wishing you a great weekend, Dina

    May 23, 2015
    • Thank you Dina, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend as well.

      May 23, 2015
  3. great shots… love them all! 😍

    May 23, 2015
  4. I love the effects that this filter allows, with the smooth water and blurred clouds. My favorite shot in this series is Davey’s Bay – the one without the pier. I like the pier shots, but Davey’s Bay has a lot of natural serenity to it.

    May 23, 2015
    • It is quite amazing the effects you can get, I’m looking forward to seeing what else I can do with it. It is the only time I’ve been there, it looked a bit like a construction site, but I’m sure that is only temporary. The tide was in too so we couldn’t move too far. Thanks.

      May 23, 2015
  5. This is amazing!

    May 23, 2015
  6. Wonderful long exposure photos:)

    May 23, 2015
  7. Sounds like a really useful filter to have!

    May 23, 2015
  8. These photos are fantastic. I kept thinking “That one is my favourite … No that one … Actually that one” all the way through.

    May 23, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, I was so happy with them, can’t wait to go out again with those filters.

      May 23, 2015
  9. Beautiful photographs as ever, Leanne. Love the blue in the first one.

    May 23, 2015
    • Thank you, the blue worked quite well.

      May 23, 2015
  10. I was looking at these filters . . . they range in prices from the low $100 (USD) to the mid $500 (USD). As far as I can tell, this has to do with the thickness, although some looked the same and were described the same and varied significantly in price. I’ll have to read up on these.

    A lot of people I read use The Big Stopper.

    One of these days I’ll have to invest and really liven up my landscape shots.

    . . . wait . . . I don’t have water anywhere near.

    May 23, 2015
    • They do vary a lot in price and it seems to be the darker the filter the more expensive it is. The Formatt Hitech ones seemed to be good value. Yes, the thickness of the black, or grey, whatever they use to do the neutral density. The darker the filter. It also depends on what the filter is made from, glass seems to be more expensive as well.
      I have the big stopper as well, though it is only 10 stops, so now I have a 10 stop and a 16 stop.
      I would recommend starting with some ND graduated filters, they are cheaper and not a bad way to start. I am going to do a post on them soon.
      YOu don’t need water, look for days where the clouds are moving and you do it for the clouds.
      Thanks Disperser.

      May 23, 2015
  11. Leanne. These are remarkable. The skies!!! The effect is stunning. And the colour shots are amazing as well. Wow!

    May 23, 2015
    • You do get a great effect with the filter, wonderful, thank you Desley.

      May 23, 2015
  12. Spectacular!!

    May 23, 2015
  13. Beautiful Leanne. I love those long exposure photos with the dreamy water and skies.

    May 23, 2015
    • Thank you Ardy, I really like them too, I could become addicted.

      May 23, 2015
  14. Beautiful work as always Leanne!

    May 23, 2015
  15. Very nice images.

    May 23, 2015
  16. You must have been so happy with these …..absolutely sublime and beautiful portraits of place!!! Love them! : ) Trees

    May 23, 2015
    • I was Tiny, very pleased. I love that word sublime. Thank you Trees.

      May 23, 2015
  17. Intriguing results.

    May 23, 2015
  18. Beautiful Leanne… Love them all. You have quite a collection of filters now! Did you need to get a bracket for them or are you able to use your Lee one?
    Having a play too at the Gippsland Lakes… Lots of jetty shots and sunset photos to sort through!

    May 23, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, I am getting quite a collection and yes they all fit the Lee hold, so that was good.
      I think I like jetty’s, I might have to follow you there one weekend. 🙂

      May 23, 2015
  19. Gorgeous. I really like the effect of the filters.

    May 23, 2015
    • Thanks Nicci, it is quite an effective effect.

      May 23, 2015
  20. twoblindcatsandcrew #

    Love the beautiful picture.

    May 23, 2015
  21. So smooth… Great work…

    May 23, 2015
    • Thank you.
      YOu don’t need to include your link, you turn yourself into spam doing it, I think, and your name links everyone to your blog anyway. I have removed it.

      May 23, 2015
  22. superb photographs, wonderful compositions. what magic those filters make – I like it!!

    May 23, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, they are quite magical, I love the effects, can’t wait to use them again.

      May 23, 2015
  23. Inspiring photography as always Leanne 🙂 Thank you for sharing your techniques.

    May 23, 2015
  24. you got alot from this shoot Leanne, very nice, the filter is impressive I may have to get one I think dont think Ive ever done 6 minutes ,I think my longest was about 3 always later in the day though

    May 23, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, or scrapping the barrel, LOL. I would like to do some more work on some of them, but not sure when. The filter was great. It is nice to have the choice I think. I’m hoping to try it in the city tomorrow.

      May 23, 2015
  25. Great shots Leanne .. I have been thinking about getting a ND filter .. Better get the tripod first though 🙂

    May 23, 2015
    • Yes, probably best to get a tripod first, LOL, too funny. Thank you Julie 🙂

      May 23, 2015
  26. Breathtaking photographs! I have so much to learn about all these filters. Great info.

    May 24, 2015
    • Thank you Nato, I’m still learning, and I’m finding the more I learn the more I want to go out and use them.

      May 24, 2015
      • It’s addicting to keep shooting the more you learn. One of my blogging goals was just that-learn more to raise my technical skills. Now I just need to keep up with all the info I’m getting 🙂

        May 24, 2015
      • Oh yes, it really is, and then you start learning something new, it seems to never stop. That is a great goal. I think it is also important to work out what you need and what you don’t need right now. Work out what you want to learn and go from there. 🙂

        May 24, 2015
  27. luisquintela #

    Reblogged this on myphotofeeds.

    May 24, 2015
  28. Wonderful gallery Leanne with gorgeous colors. You’re having too much fun; love it 🙂

    May 24, 2015
    • Thank you Andrew, I am, it is amazing the images you get with these filters. 🙂

      May 24, 2015
  29. These images are magical, Leanne! So much serenity, beautiful light.

    May 25, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, though it is such a beautiful place.

      May 25, 2015
  30. so beautiful, out of this world!!!

    May 25, 2015
    • It is that, spectacular. Thanks.

      May 25, 2015
  31. londonaspie #

    Lovely pictures!

    May 25, 2015
  32. Harish KP #

    Awesome 😍

    May 25, 2015
  33. Some lovely LE work there!

    May 25, 2015
  34. Absolutely stunning images!

    June 4, 2015

Comments are closed.

