Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Tree Tops at Apollo Bay

apollo-bay-tree-tops-rainforest-1039

In a couple of months I’m going to Apollo Bay for a few days.  I’m looking forward to it, but it also reminds me of the trip I had there last year and there was one excursion that I never showed any photos of, well except for a couple of special ones. We had gone to the Otway Fly Treetop Adventures and went to do the Treetop Walk. It was quite an amazing walk. Lovely to walk above the rainforest.

apollo-bay-tree-tops-rainforest-1045

There is the path, up there in the sky.  It is not for the faint hearted, and I think if you were not good with heights it wouldn’t be good to go.  It is very solid, but you can see straight through the bottom and every time someone moves the whole platform shakes.  We were lucky and for the most part it was just the two of us on it.

apollo-bay-tree-tops-rainforest-1033

This was probably one of the scariest parts.  It is on the platform and then you climb even higher.  It sways, you can feel it swaying, but you have to believe that it is solid and you won’t fall off it.  The views up there were quite amazing.

apollo-bay-tree-tops-rainforest-1034

You really are up in the treetops.

apollo-bay-tree-tops-rainforest-1032

The views straight down were quite surreal too. It isn’t often you get to see the trees from the top down.

apollo-bay-tree-tops-rainforest-1026

Rainforests are so pretty and everywhere you look you find something new to photograph.

apollo-bay-tree-tops-rainforest-1031

This image was one that as I was trying to get it I realised how much I wanted a macro lens.  They were so tiny, and my lens just wasn’t getting what I wanted.  This image has been cropped a lot.

It is a lovely place to go, but be aware, you go a long way down to get to the platform to take you around, and then you have to walk all the way back up.  It was worth it though.  You do have to pay money to do it, but you have to do that for a lot of things these days.

I have more photos for you now, which I will put into a gallery for you.  I am off for more photography with the filters again this morning. I hope you are having a lovely weekend where ever you are in the world.

67 Comments
  1. That is some beautiful work!!

    May 24, 2015
  2. M E Cheshier #

    Beautiful pics!

    May 24, 2015
    • Thank you.

      May 24, 2015
      • M E Cheshier #

        You are very welcome!

        May 24, 2015
      • 😀

        May 24, 2015
      • M E Cheshier #

        Ditto! 🙂

        May 24, 2015
  3. Stunning work. I love the two little mushrooms. Blessings………

    May 24, 2015
    • Thank you Shirley, I love those too, though I can also remember how frustrated I was trying to capture them.

      May 24, 2015
  4. Such a great idea. I would love it if there were a place like that here. I guess I need to start saving for a trip down under. Thanks for sharing Leanne.

    May 24, 2015
    • It is, though hard to take photos on, good that we were basically by ourselves. Maybe Jimmy, sounds like a good idea. I’ll be here. Thank you Jimmy.

      May 24, 2015
  5. Fantastic! All the best, Leanne! 🙂

    May 24, 2015
    • Thank you Fabio. Have a great weekend. 🙂

      May 24, 2015
  6. Marvelous set of what we can see when we move our sights upward…

    May 24, 2015
    • Thank you Sally, so very true, lovely looking down on such beauty.

      May 24, 2015
  7. Would love to climb these structures!

    May 24, 2015
    • I’m sure you would have a great time John.

      May 24, 2015
  8. That’s a neat place. Nice to both visit and photograph.

    May 24, 2015
    • I agree, nice to do both, hopefully will get another chance to do both in July. Thanks.

      May 24, 2015
  9. Wonderful pictures of the forest, especially of that mossy tree.

    May 24, 2015
    • Mossy trees are great, don’t you think? Thank you.

      May 24, 2015
  10. Beautiful. You’ve taken me somewhere I’m never likely to go myself. Heights and me are not a good match. Thank you Leanne!

    May 24, 2015
    • That is wonderful to hear Ardys, so happy to have taken you there, yes, I don’t think it would be a good place if you didn’t like heights. Thanks Ardys.

      May 24, 2015
  11. Apollo Bay is one of my favourite places and I love going out and up to the fly. I hope you did the drive on the Beech Forrest-Mt Sabine Rd, a continuation of the road to the fly. It is one of the most beautiful tracks through the forest I have been on. I usually do the round trip Lorne- Dean’s Marsh- Forest- Beach Forest – Lavers Hill then back along the Great Ocean Road. You get the best forest and coastal drives I have been on in Australia. enjoy your trip I look forward to your photos. Karen

    May 24, 2015
    • I love it there too Karen, such a great spot and so much there. I will have to remember what you said, about the way to go. We did head down a long dirt road that went past another waterfall and those big Californian red something or another. Thanks Karen, we have three days down there, so it should be fantastic.

      May 24, 2015
  12. Love the Otway fly – beautiful shots. Particularly like looking up the tree trunks from the bottom! Took my sister there when she was over from France last time. Wonderful place.

    May 24, 2015
    • I wasn’t keen on the fly bit, but wanted to do the treetop walk, it was great. It is a great place, I’m sure I will have to go back there soon. Thanks Chris.

      May 24, 2015
  13. Amy #

    Amazing tree shots, Leanne!

    May 24, 2015
  14. Awesome spectacular place , wonderful photos makes me want to go there

    May 24, 2015
    • Have you been there Chris? It’s a great place, can’t wait to get back there with my macro lens. Thank you.

      May 24, 2015
  15. they are are filled with lovely mood and atmosphere Leanne! I’m really drawn to the closeups with the soft diffusions in the background though. I love the tree branch with the 4 sunlit upturned moss fronds. …… you are inspiring me! going to get a better Lens definitely soon 🙂

    May 24, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, I love the closeups too, I so want to visit again but this time with my macro, get really close. Hoping to do some of that tomorrow. I thought that was well spotted. I am happy to help you get a lens Debi, I mean in if I can offer any advice. Good luck

      May 24, 2015
  16. Beautiful photos. That is one place I could never climb. No matter how fantastic the photos would be. You are indeed very brave

    May 24, 2015
    • I am not afraid of heights Raewyn, so it isn’t an issue for me, but you would have trouble getting me under water. Thank you.

      May 24, 2015
  17. What a magic place! That tower is so not me .. Made me feel unwell reading about … Swaying! Crikey .. Love the shots of the fungi Leanne ..

    May 24, 2015
    • I didn’t feel so good on it, and have to wait, I didn’t stick around on the top for very long. I love the fungi, I want to get back with my macro lens. Thanks Julie.

      May 24, 2015
  18. Great views! Love those little mushrooms. That platform looks scary but fun!

    May 24, 2015
    • Thank you Cynthia, I love them too, it was a bit weird, but the views were amazing.

      May 24, 2015
  19. What a beautiful place! I just love the size of those trees, and the way that the light filters down. Lovely shots, Leanne 😀

    May 24, 2015
    • They are huge aren’t they. I love the light at the bottom it is quite amazing. Thank you 😀

      May 24, 2015
  20. That looks great! Probably worth a trip down from Canberra just for that. Maybe with the vibrations the solution would be a belt-mounted monopod for long lens support. (I’ve previously used that from ships in the Arctic and Antarctic).

    May 24, 2015
    • Apollo Bay is a great place to go and take photos Murray, there is so much around there, and not too far from the 12 apostles and lochard gorge, I’m looking forward to going back in July. I didn’t have any trouble taking photos, just a matter of keeping still and telling my friend to do the same, I don’t know how I would have gone if the school group had caught up to us. LOL. Thanks Murray.

      May 24, 2015
  21. Absolutely gorgeous. We saw the signs to this when we were last there. Wish I was going with you. I was so looking forward to it but blasted life……!!!

    May 24, 2015
    • Thank you Suz, it is so disappointing that you can’t come, though there will be other opportunities to catch up with us. I know it.

      May 24, 2015
  22. It looks pretty solid to me, but then I’ve been on a rope and wooden one in Ghana.

    May 24, 2015
    • It is very solid, I was worried that it would fall or anything like that, but it does move. I would be more scared on that Gypsy.

      May 24, 2015
  23. Looks like a peaceful beautiful place! If the platform shakes and the structure sways that would be scary but it looks worth it to see the views!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    May 24, 2015
    • It was worth it Lisa, I didn’t mind the swaying of it, my friend didn’t like it too much. The only time it annoyed me was when I was trying to take photos,LOL. Thanks Lisa, it was very peaceful, but we could see the peace was about to be disturbed by a whole heap of school kids.

      May 25, 2015
  24. loving this post and looking down as well as up!! I’m bookmarking this!!

    May 25, 2015
    • thank you Cybele, looking down the trunk of trees was so amazing.

      May 25, 2015
  25. I love treetop walks like this and there seem to be more of them than ever before. It’s great being up so high.

    May 25, 2015
    • I liked being up that high too, quite weird, but you get such a different perspective up there. Thanks Carol.

      May 25, 2015
  26. Great post Leanne love the trees. Have a great day. -Max-

    May 26, 2015
    • Thank you Max, you have a good one too.

      May 26, 2015
  27. Beautiful pictures, and what an amazing place.

    May 26, 2015
    • thanks Nicci, shame we couldn’t have gone there, not always enough time, maybe another time.

      May 26, 2015
  28. Wow – great photos – and this is a great experience – I tried treetop walking in Borneo 4 years ago (photos still waiting to be posted on my blog 🙂 )

    May 26, 2015
    • Thank you Truels, glad you like them. It is a pretty amazing, I loved being up there. Seems there are few like it around the world. It took me almost a year to process them, which is a long time for me. 😀

      May 26, 2015
  29. LB #

    Awesome!! I’d love to do this tree top walk! The one I walked over in March was 20 ft lower but still quite the view.
    That swaying though would have had me holding on tight!

    May 27, 2015
    • Haha, the swaying was a bit weird, but you really only noticed it when you stopped to take photos. It is quite a walk, I didn’t like the walk back up. Thanks Laurie.

      May 27, 2015
  30. I only had a few hours there in February, thoroughly enjoyed it despite the lack of time. Wish we could have gone on the fly though – just not enough time as usual. My blog has my thoughts on the hour or so. Wonderful place.

    May 29, 2015
    • It is quite an amazing place, the more I visit rainforests the more I love them. They are so fascinating. Time is always an issue. Thank you.

      May 29, 2015

Comments are closed.

