Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Things Returning

Tuesday is here again, how quickly it comes around.  Things have been happening here, though perhaps I’m still going out and taking too many photos. I know, I can’t help it, but I also have to think it is a good thing, I do need to take photos, but I also need to speed time at home.  I know I keep saying this, and I am getting better. Anyway, let’s see what else has been happening.

Tamron Sp 150-600mm Lens

I knew it was going to happen eventually, then again, I was hoping Maxwell International Australia might forget that I had the lens, but it seems they have decided they do need it back. I was gutted when I heard that. I have been very lucky and got to use it for a while and I’m fairly certain that my next lens will be this one.

banyuleflats-tawny-frogmouth-australia-birds-1025I have loved having it and using it.  It has been great for the birds, not only those around me but in other places as well. The Melbourne Zoo was a brilliant place to try it out. The images I got from there were amazing, I was so happy with them.

So in memory of the lens I thought I would show you a selection of some of the photos that I have taken with the lens.

Travelling to the USA

I haven’t spoken about my trip for a while, but I assure you, as far as I know, it is still on.  I think I will be arriving around the first of September.  Plans are underway and I have started looking at getting some sponsorship for my trip. Maxwell International Australia have said they will lend me some Tamron lenses for the trip, which is great. It will be healesville-sanctuary-australian-birds-animals-1002nice to see how they are on my trip.  I’m hoping to get the 15-30mm and the 28-300mm, which I hear is a great travel lens. I will be well covered with both of those.

I did send an email to Nikon, but haven’t heard anything back from them as yet.  I wondered if they would lend me a camera, maybe something like the D750. Then today I started thinking about a tripod, and wandered if maybe I could get a travel tripod from someone.  Would be nice to get a lend of some gear for the trip.  Time will tell what happens.

Dynamic Range

I’ve received the first article for the magazine, and it seems the putting together of it all is about to start happening. It is exciting.  I’ve been talking to lots of people and getting lots of ideas from them and they’ve been giving me lots of things to think about.  I’m a bit worried I’ve got myself in over my head, but I’m happy to go with the flow, see what happens.

Hopefully things are still on track for the end of June.

I’ve started trying to work out how people can pay for it and download it at the same time. I also need to work out how I can do subscriptions for people, though I don’t want to offer subscriptions until we know how the magazine will go.banyule-flats-egret-bird

One on One Photography Sessions

I’ve been getting more requests from people to do them which has been great. It is nice to do them. They have been happening in lots of interesting places.  I get to take photos in some great spots and the zoo is working out to be a great place for them.

Social Snappers

Well, I’ve been struggling to work out what to do with them. People sign up and don’t show up.  If I charge money no one signs up, so I’m starting to wonder if it is time to give up on them.  The other option is to charge a small amount, like $20 and just have them once a month.  I might do that, but I am only going to do them for one more term and if the results are like they are now, I am not going to continue doing them.  So I will know soon.

I’m going to leave it there for today.  I hope you enjoy the gallery of images taken the Tamron 150-600mm lens.

55 Comments
  1. woo, awesome macro and amazing beautiful shots. Thanks for sharing and enjoy see so many wildlife in one gallery. thanks Leanne.

    May 26, 2015
    • You’re welcome, glad you enjoyed seeing it all, good lens for it. Thanks Cattan.

      May 26, 2015
  2. Wonderful gallery. Lens or no lens, you have a very creative eye with capturing unique moments. 🙂

    May 26, 2015
    • What a beautiful thing to say Olga, thank you so much. 🙂

      May 26, 2015
  3. Beautiful photos as always, Leanne. I hope your trip to the States will be a great experience. 🙂

    May 26, 2015
    • thank you John, I am excited about the trip and hoping to meet a lot of people, though I am limited with what I go, but that’s okay. 🙂

      May 26, 2015
  4. Darrell Curtis #

    Awesome post, and excited you’re coming to the U.S. Should you find yourself in Louisiana, give me a shout! We’ll find you some bayou country to photograph. Best, Darrell Curtis

    May 26, 2015
    • Thank you Darrell, I wish I could get there, would love to take photos of something like that, unfortunately this trip is limited to San Francisco and New York. Maybe another time.

      May 26, 2015
  5. Was the bat in the sunlight or was it artificial light?

    May 26, 2015
    • It was natural light Gypsy, they were outside.

      May 26, 2015
  6. I’m excited to hear that the magazine is coming together Leanne.

    May 26, 2015
    • Thank you Carol, yes, I hope so, I will find out if I know what I’m talking about soon. or know what I’m doing LOL.

      May 26, 2015
  7. Looks like a great lens.

    May 26, 2015
    • It is Tootlepedal, I think I am greiving its loss.

      May 26, 2015
  8. I know that I get all moody when it has been a while since I have been out shooting…

    May 26, 2015
    • I get a bit the same Robert, I’m always planning my next trip. Thanks.

      May 26, 2015
  9. Beautiful photos, Leanne. It’s a shame people sign up for things and then don’t show up. I wish you well with getting some committed, paying students!!

    May 26, 2015
    • Thank you Ardys, I think it has something to do with it being free, they think who cares if they don’t go. I hope something happens with them. I’m starting to think my customers are not in Melbourne.

      May 26, 2015
  10. Really nice gallery of images. How did you find the lens in low or poor light? Did it hunt much? I haven’t been able to rent it yet, but hope to soon.

    May 26, 2015
    • Thank you. It wasn’t great in low light, pretty much what you would expect from any lens with the widest aperture being F6.3, I had to turn up the ISO a lot, but in other conditions it was great. I hope you get to try one.

      May 26, 2015
      • I’m going to be going on a pontoon boat over in Monterey County birding in late July so, I’m going to see if the lens is available to rent that week-end. I didn’t order it early enough for this past week-end’s birding trip and made due with what I own.

        People are really keen to check it out and like me think that renting first is a great option to see if it would be a good fit.

        May 26, 2015
      • Thank you sounds like a good plan, I hope you can rent it. I’ve love it.
        It seems to be a lens that many people are keen to use and try. I think I would love to own one, so I will be working towards that, but perhaps not right now. I’m sure you will love it.

        May 26, 2015
      • P.S. I am concerned about “hunting” because the mornings in the Spring/Summer months here are mostly overcast and gray. That’s just between you, me, and the fence post! 😉

        May 26, 2015
      • Okay I won’t tell anyone, mum’s the work LOL 😉

        May 26, 2015
  11. I think $20 is a great price Leanne. You’re right, if it’s free, people can get more complacent but if they’ve paid something, they feel they have to go. It encourages people to push themselves a bit more..

    May 26, 2015
    • Thanks Livonne, seems like a reasonable price. Yes, I’ve seen the complacency happening.

      May 26, 2015
  12. Your photos and my own experience, Leanne, show me why I am so happy to have purchased the Tamron 150-600mm. It takes some getting used to and has some limitations, but is capable of producing some amazing results, as this gallery of photos so clearly demonstrate. My favorite is the one with the gorilla baby, an image that I love from the moment I first saw it in one of your earlier postings.

    May 26, 2015
    • Thanks Mike, I think it is a great lens and certainly a great alternative, or in some cases a better alternative to the big prime lenses. I totally agree with you. Thank you, I went to see the baby again the other day but they weren’t out, then I found out yesterday that one of the senior gorillas, Julia died on Sunday, she was injured by the male on Friday. So sad.

      May 26, 2015
      • So sorry to hear about the gorilla. I might eventually choose to get a big prime, but for now the Tamron better suits my desired style of walking around a lot in relatively wild areas.

        May 26, 2015
      • It is very sad. I don’t know that I could ever justify the price of a prime, but I would happy with getting the Tamron one, I will have to save up.

        May 26, 2015
  13. Great shots, shame about the lens going back. Social Snappers once a month is a good idea. Price is OK by me, but free is good too, especially if it’s somewhere you have to pay to get in.

    May 26, 2015
    • It is a shame, but I guess I will have to start saving. Yeah, I think so too. Glad you are okay with the price Julie, guess will have to find places that don’t cost anything. Thanks.

      May 26, 2015
  14. Your photography is mind blowing, Leanne. Absolutely breathtaking!!! Love, Amy ❤

    May 26, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say Amy, thank you so much. Love back.

      May 26, 2015
  15. Fabulous news and fabulous images Leanne. How exciting! Tamron lens is wonderful!! Where are you going in the states- New York?!!

    May 26, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, it is wonderful, I feel like I’m grieving as I prepare to send it back, haha. Around San Francisco and New York are my destinations. wish you weren’t so far.

      May 26, 2015
      • I may be over in Bonny Scotland then again!! But yes, wish I could go to SF. Hopefully you may see LM and a few others there!!!

        May 26, 2015
      • Oh wow, how lucky for you, I will get there one day. I’m hoping to see and catch up with a few people.

        May 26, 2015
  16. Awesome! (y) loved them

    May 26, 2015
    • That’s wonderful Ruchi, thank you.

      May 26, 2015
  17. Beautiful photos! Enjoy your trip over here! As a northern Californian who has spent time in Melbourne and Sydney, I can say that if you like those cities you will love San Francisco. I hope you get a decent length of time to explore there!

    May 26, 2015
    • Thank you Melissa, I’ve heard that about San Francisco which has always made me curious about going there. I’m in the area for about 2 weeks, so not a lot of time, but I will have to make the most of the time I have.

      May 26, 2015
  18. If you were near me I might gave a hug for beautiful pics friend because I don’t have camera but desire to become photographer amazing

    May 26, 2015
    • Thank you, that is a lovely thing to say.

      May 26, 2015
  19. Sensational! I would be gutted too .. I can’t see why people can’t pay Leanne, even a nominal amount.

    May 27, 2015
    • Haha, wouldn’t that be nice, I will have to work up to it. Thank you Julie.

      May 27, 2015
  20. We’ll still be in town beginning of September. Going to be away for a few days in the middle of the month, but otherwise, home. If you feel like visiting the lovely Blackstone Valley, let me know. I have a travel tripod, but I don’t like it. It’s light, but it feels flimsy to me.

    May 27, 2015
    • Thank you for the offer Marilyn, my trip is fairly short and I’m limited with where I can go. I’m hoping some WP people will come and meet me in San Francisco and New York. I think you have to have a tripod you trust. I would like to get a travel one, but will have to see how I go. Thanks Marilyn.

      May 27, 2015
  21. Hi Leanne, am liking some of your blogs and photo’s, thought I would give you a little info on your comment “I did send an email to Nikon, but haven’t heard anything back from them as yet. I wondered if they would lend me a camera, maybe something like the D750.” If I was you I would be staying away from that Camera, as for most/all us photographer we shoot in RAW and the D750 has not got any support for editing and viewing photo’s on any PC, don’t take me wrong I love Nikon I my self shoot with 2x D610, I know Nikon will have this problem sorted but can not see it happening soon, in the near future, the problem is also with D7200, anyhow keep up your good work, keep shooting !!

    May 27, 2015
    • Thank you John, I don’t know much about the camera, except that it is new. So that is great to hear. I doubt Nikon will lend me anything for the trip, so I thought, ask big. I love my Nikon too, my D800.

      May 27, 2015
  22. Sorry I’m so late in commenting… “sinking not waving” at work! Great set of photos with the Tamron.

    May 27, 2015
    • That’s okay Chris, I understand how it is. Thank you, I’m very sad that I won’t have it for much longer.

      May 27, 2015
  23. Reblogged this on Santa's Reindeer.

    May 27, 2015
  24. Wonderful!

    May 28, 2015

Comments are closed.

